Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 125 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

125 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

125 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
77
4 stars
28
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 stars
4
1-20 of 118 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 118 total reviews
1-20 of 118 reviews
hardcore gamer!
9/22/2007

Customer review by MRH1POW3R13

4.0 stars 9/22/2007 by MRH1POW3R13
by MRH1POW3R13

I've had this tv for about 3 weeks, and i have a 360 elite with HDMI and it looks really good!. i also have a PS3 with HDMI it looks outstanding. so this tv works great with games. look at my pics!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MRH1POW3R13
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice!
11/5/2007

Customer review by shopperloverguy

4.0 stars 11/5/2007 by shopperloverguy
by shopperloverguy

I had purchased the 32” Sanyo being sold at Walmart prior to purchasing this TV. The 32” Sanyo was a nice television, but after it was set up in the TV room my family felt it to be too small and I brought it back for an exchange for this 42” TV. The two TVs are very similar in their operation and the remotes are identical. This television has a great picture and is the right size for a small to medium size room. Setup was easy and it looks great and has a wonderful picture. Both cable signals and DVD looks super on it. We are very pleased with the color and the operation. It is in a bright sunny room and is easy to watch at all times. We had considered purchasing a slightly larger Plasma model, but opted for an LCD because they are better to watch in a bright room. We have 3 Sanyo TVs in the house now and all have performed flawlessly. One is an older flat screen tube TV, one is a smaller LCD and now we have the 42” rated here.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shopperloverguy
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Lord...
10/20/2007

Customer review by MJF1

2.0 stars 10/20/2007 by MJF1
by MJF1

I don't understand it. I bought a Sanyo 26 inch hdtv and was completely satisfied with it. Great picture, color, etc. Not bad for the price. Anyhow I decided to go with the 42 inch version. It is totally different. Maybe this is how it is supposed to be but most of the channels look grainy. Only two or three of the HD channels have a great picture. My PS2 games looked crisp and clear on the 26 inch but look like crusty nintendo cartridge games on this one. I've tried two different HDMI cables and still got a similar result. Grainy picture. The sound is lousy but what can you expect for the price? I use my home theater system anyhow. I probably will return this but I don't know what the better alternative would be.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MJF1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Happy :)
11/8/2007

Customer review by London

5.0 stars 11/8/2007 by London
by London

We have had this TV now for 6 months and truly love it. Started using it on plain old cable and was able to also pick up 6 digital channels (4 high def). The high def picture is absolutely stunning. The regular cable channels are very good too. Before we settled on this TV we tried and returned a 32" Vizio (poor picture on cable), and then a 32" Samsung (very poor sound quality due to rear speaker and a picture not as sharp as the Sanyo). We are so happy we decided to go with the 42" Sanyo as the size is just perfect for our fairly large living room. The sound is very good for a TV and we seldom use our stereo speakers now. The only things we'd like to see are the ability for the remote to store favorite channels (it doesn't), and to be able to visually see the volume moving up and down not just the up and down arrow - but these things are quite minor compared to how much we love the picture! We love this TV so much that we will be replacing another TV with this exact one next month. Very happy that we returned the first 2 let downs.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
London
Peoria, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
for the price I couldn't ask for more
11/16/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/16/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have had the 42 inch lcd now for about two months. I was not sure how Sanyo would match up with some of the more popular sets out there because I couldn't find out much from the so-called experts. Originally, I was interested in the 1080p models but they were all out of my price range. Having done a considerable amount of research I finally took a chance on the Sanyo. I'm glad I did. The picture quality is outstanding, especially in high definition. It looks great compared to my old tv because the glare is almost non existent with lcd and there is a lot of light in my living room. Even the SDT channels look very nice. As far as the sound quality goes, I have a very adequate surround system so I never use the sound from the tv set anyway. I will have to wait to buy an hd dvd player but my current standard one gives me execllent picture quality with this set so I see no reason to rush out and spend the extra money. So far, I love my set-up and and would recommend it to anyone in the market for a new HD televison at a resonalbe price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Salem, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not good if you don't have cable
2/22/2008

Customer review by ftwmom

4.0 stars 2/22/2008 by ftwmom
by ftwmom

We get HD stations from an antenna and not from cable or satellite. The picture and sound were great with this TV, however, the annoying thing is you can't delete the channels you don't want if you receive them from an antenna. (I even called the customer service and asked.) So you get all the HD stations, with their sub-channels (i.e. the weather, the airport) which you can't delete, and then all the analog channels too when you try to scroll through using the channel up key. If you're watching channel 58 and you want channel 4, you have to scroll all the way back down to 4. You can't even type in the numbers because the HD stations are 4-1, 5-1, etc. It sounds minor, but it was really annoying to us. We took it back and got the Vizio 42". We can choose the channels we want to watch and delete all the other ones we don't ever watch - like Spanish channels and sub-channels. I guess this doesn't happen with cable or satellite, but it does with an antenna so beware! We like the Vizio much better and the quality is about the same.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ftwmom
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't pass this one up!
8/31/2007

Customer review by Jigen78

5.0 stars 8/31/2007 by Jigen78
by Jigen78

Shopped around for quite a while to find a good HDTV at a decent price. Was going to spring for the 42 inch Vizio at first, but after seeing a side-by-side comparison with the Sanyo (not to mention my old Sanyo CRT has been alive and ticking, so I didn't question quality), the picture and color quality on the Sanyo was the best by far. Brought it home, hooked up my Xbox 360, fired up Bioshock and Gears of War and was blown away at how gorgeous games look on this set. The color and sharpness on this set will make your eyes bleed out of your head. I expected half-decent sound quality from this set, however, which is why I purchased a great digital surround sound system. Absolutely satisfied with my purchase!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jigen78
Hazleton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome Tv!
3/14/2008

Customer review by PunkRawkerChick

4.0 stars 3/14/2008 by PunkRawkerChick
by PunkRawkerChick

My husband bought this tv for me, he searched around and found this to be the best. I must say, he did good! I LOVE this Tv! Especially since it has its own stand, so we didnt have to buy one. We could use the one we had our old tv on. Now i will admit, it doesnt look the best (but not bad!! just kind of pixel like when images move fast) if its not hooked up to HD. But why bother getting a HDTV if you dont plan on hooking it up that way, right? Once we got it hooked up to HD a couple days later..WOW! We watch HD alot now and oh! Nascar is UNBELIEVEABLE on it! Actually any HD channel. I'm a stay at home mom, so this Tv is on almost all day long, i'm very happy with it. Alot of our friends are envious that we got this for such a great price and they all seem to want one now. The colors are very vibrant, sound is excellent. i have no real negative feedback to report on this Tv. Go out and get yourself this Tv, if your looking for a LCD HDTV at a excellent price!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PunkRawkerChick
Lawrence, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wow!
9/13/2007

Customer review by vcrmstr

5.0 stars 9/13/2007 by vcrmstr
by vcrmstr

This TV totally blew us all away when we got it home. It far exceeded our expectations. My brother bought a 50 inch plasma, and even he sat there in amazement. He paid double for his TV. Best value in electronics in a long time! Thanks.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vcrmstr
Kingman, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great HDTV
12/19/2007

Customer review by Pat7

5.0 stars 12/19/2007 by Pat7
by Pat7

After sorting through many HDTV products, I decided to get this Sanyo 42" HDTV. This process included hands on at local Walmart stores (a lot lf them in So Cal). If you are in the middle of nowhere then you should not have any doubt about this tv. This is my second Sanyo which now ranks up with Sony in performance. But it's in value where it is superior to all but a few other products. My surprise when I firs plugged it in was the tremendous number of local digital (and analog) channels when I activated to search feature. None lf the other products I'd acquired over the years could do it any justice. I have since replace my old satelitte equipment with the new HD receiver and dish, as well as I now have a new DVR and DVD burner. They all work great. If you get one of the sight unseen, you be very impressed with it, but you will have to update all of your equipment. Be prepared to do this. Otherwise, you'll most likely be delighted with this Sanyo HDTV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pat7
Grand Terrace, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV
7/20/2007

Customer review by bschmee

5.0 stars 7/20/2007 by bschmee
by bschmee

This Sanyo LCD is comparable in picture quality to any other LCD and many plasma tv's I have seen. The audio is adequate but I found I really needed some additional speakers to enjoy big movies and sports. Great value and a must have for any HD fan.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bschmee
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very satisfied
2/13/2008

Customer review by memainor

5.0 stars 2/13/2008 by memainor
by memainor

Was very worried about buying a new HDTV. After long hours of research decided to buy this one because of size and price and past experience with Sanyo tv's. I have owned a 27" Sanyo for 14 years with no problems and it still has a great picture. I am very happy with my new HDTV. It has a wonderful picture and I could not have expected more. Is awesome with dvd's....unbelievable picture when viewing Disney dvd's. Thank you Walmart and Sanyo for meeting my expectations and more.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
memainor
Dalton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not happy
2/25/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 2/25/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Back in April 29th 2007 I purchased the TV because of the quality of the picture and the low price. Had the TV for only for 9 months and THE PICTURE WENT OUT but I could hear what was on the TV. I call Sanyo customer service to let them know the problem and and to have them tell my TV is still under warranty????? I had to go thru and give my info like address and city and they would call back in 24 hours to let me know who to call for the warranty work. I had to call them back because after 2 days because they didn't know of the town I live in because nobody know how to give a call back. I had to tell them of tell what the nearest city, which was 5 mile from me and also had to bring it to the repair shop my self. My Sanyo 42 LCD TV has been at the TV repair shop since January 29th 2008 and STILL WAITING for an answer on when The TV will be repaired. I keep getting the same answer and nobody can give me an answer. This has left a bad taste in my mouth about any Sanyo products. I can't even give a good review about the TV because of this.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Middleburg, Fl Just south of Jacksonville
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Great TV
7/29/2007

Customer review by Texus

5.0 stars 7/29/2007 by Texus
by Texus

I have owned this TV for about 3 months and every time I watch HIGH DEF tv channels I am still shocked at the picture quality. It exceeded all of my expectations. I was so worried about which TV to purchase with all of the confusing literature around about 720 vs. 1080, etc. I knew for sure that I wanted an LCD. I can't wait for more programming to come online in HD. Watching regular TV is nothing spectacular. Be sure you understand that these types of TV's are made for High Definition programming. Do not buy this or any other High DEF TV and expect to get a better picture when you're watching regular analog TV. However, when you watch HD TV programming on this Sanyo unit you will be absolutely blown away! My suggestion is to be sure and use the DVI cable connection. It assures the best picture quality in HD. The price on this TV is a real bargain. Thanks Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Texus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice TV !!!
4/21/2008

Customer review by iamschreff

5.0 stars 4/21/2008 by iamschreff
by iamschreff

I searched a while before I selected this TV. Was going to get the Visio but just didnt like the picture and the shiny black frame around the tv. It distracted ur eyes from the picture on the tv. I compared these 2 side by side and decided on the Sanyo. So far I haven't been disappointed. I love the TV!! It looks great with an HD picture. Regular cable looks like..well regular cable just stretched out. You can adjust the picture too, like width and all that if u don't like the regular cable all stretched out. It still doesnt look bad though. If u can though get the HDMI cable and get the HiDef. Remember though with Comcast not all the channels r HiDef. Also, definitely get the warranty for the TV. Your TV is an investment with that kind of money, protect it. It's well worth the money. I've had portable DVD players protected by the warranty and I haven't wasted a penny because I've needed them. You can't go wrong. Nice TV !!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iamschreff
Elizabethtown,Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sanyo 42" LCD HDTV DP42647
4/15/2008

Customer review by fcpga

5.0 stars 4/15/2008 by fcpga
by fcpga

I shopped for a TV for 3 months. This TV has surpassed my expectations. Sometimes the picture is not all that it should be but it is only when watching analog (Regular Cable channels 0-99). But with DVD, Digital Cable and the built in digital tuner, the picture is awesome. Channel 43 (TVLand) has ghost lines through it using the cable box, and not quite as many (or as bad) using the built in analog tuner. But I am quite certain that, since it is the only channel that does it and it comes and goes, it is a problem or noise in the cable not the TV. Watching digital cable (channels 100 and up) the picture is better than I have ever had on any TV. But watching an HD (or DVD) signal, I can actually see the threads in their clothing. It appears I am sitting in front of a stage watching it. It is an exceptional picture! Selling factor: 3 year extended service plan (4 years total) available. My TV is on 24 hrs a day, 7 days a week.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fcpga
Colonial Heights, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sanyo 42" HDTV
7/21/2007

Customer review by NewBuyer

5.0 stars 7/21/2007 by NewBuyer
by NewBuyer

Just got this TV. Picture is excellent. Nature shows unbelievable. Great price. Did a lot of comparison shopping. Recommend highly.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewBuyer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
WE LIKE IT!
8/22/2007

Customer review by TRUCKMAN

5.0 stars 8/22/2007 by TRUCKMAN
by TRUCKMAN

SD PICTURE IS WHAT YOU'D EXPECT FROM LCD. HD PICTURE IS EXCELLENT. SOUND IS FINE FOR EVERYDAY PROGRAMMING. I USE A DIGITAL SURROUND SOUND SYSTEM FOR MOVIES AND SOME SPORTING EVENTS. PS3 LOOKS GREAT AS WELL. WERE VERY HAPPY WITH OUR PURCHASE. CONSIDERED VIZIO 42" AS WELL (I LIKE MY FATHER'S 37" A LOT) BUT WASN'T IN STOCK AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE. I FIGURED IF I DIDN'T LIKE THIS SET I COULD RETURN FOR THE VIZIO. NO NEED TO.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TRUCKMAN
SOUTH FLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A good TV
7/16/2007

Customer review by chief

5.0 stars 7/16/2007 by chief
by chief

The TV is very good and great for the price. Ordering was easy and the pickup was just as easy.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chief
Niceville FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
More than we expected
3/30/2008

Customer review by Batmaniivi

5.0 stars 3/30/2008 by Batmaniivi
by Batmaniivi

This television is fantastic! Excellent sound and picture quality that surpassed my expectations. I hooked up an HD VCR, an XBOX360 and a PS2. I used the HDMI cables for the VCR & XBOX. Those cables give the best picture I have ever watched. Surround sound system connected also. There are connection ports behind the TV for everything you will need. (More than some other HDTV's that I looked at) For the best value for your money, I recommend this TV highly. Watching sports on it, I now see more of those referees's bad calls. I would love to purchase another one but not sure I could get it into the bathroom! :0)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Batmaniivi
Eastern Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 118 total reviews
1-20 of 118 reviews