Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 57 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

57 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

57 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
1-20 of 49 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews
lasted a 1 1/2 years
10/12/2013

Customer review by FtWayneShopper

2.0 stars 10/12/2013 by FtWayneShopper
by FtWayneShopper

I got this backboard a year and a half ago. We were very pleased with it, no scratches or cracks, etc.. Today, however, my 11 year old son made a shot and a huge hole popped out of the backboard. The hole is the exact size of the basketball and almost as perfectly round. Not happy now! The warranty is for one year. We have had it for 1 1/2 years. Not worth it considering that I now need to buy a new one and go through the hassle of putting another basketball goal together and mounted :(

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FtWayneShopper
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
IBMGuru
4/7/2010

Customer review by IBMGuru

4.0 stars 4/7/2010 by IBMGuru
by IBMGuru

I was heistant on buying a plastic backboard, or acryllic, I wanted the heavy professional looking plexiglass. This back board was light enough for me to install myself. I had to modify and drill two holes in my 1980s old style pole as the cross brackets were too far apart to meet the upper and lower mount points. I drilled a couple more holes in the extra steel brackets that came in the box to make the backboard secure. My son and I are out every night shooting since I put it up 2 weeks ago.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IBMGuru
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good bacsketball goal BUT
3/28/2011

Customer review by Deanzo

4.0 stars 3/28/2011 by Deanzo
by Deanzo

I purchased this backboard to replace existing one that cracked. After reading reviews I felt confident that I did not need to purchase any mounting pieces because what was existing on our pole should work...WRONG, if it is a different name brand it will not work. Ended up having to spend another $100 to get the mounting piece--finally got it up and it looks and works great! I could have saved myself some money if I would have known in the beginning that it wouldn't work.

Was this review helpful? (39) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deanzo
Caledonia, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
basketball backboard and rim
6/28/2016

Customer review by Peter

2.0 stars 6/28/2016 by Peter
by Peter
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It came with two right corner protectors and no left corner protector. Fortunately the backboard I was replacing had a left corner protector. Though not new it worked. Everything else was as expected.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Peter
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product - Great Value
10/10/2013

Customer review by boywonder

5.0 stars 10/10/2013 by boywonder
by boywonder
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My grandson needed his backboard and rim replaced, and we began looking for brands that would fit. We soon realized that since the old backboard and rim were made by Huffy, we would have to replace it with the same brand, which is now Spalding. We could have gone another route with a more expensive backboard and rim, but we would have had to have bought more hardware to make it fit. In addition, Walmart's price was the best of all the vendors we checked. We ordered it online, and it came promptly. The Spalding 48" backboard and rim combo fit perfectly with the old hardware, which was over 15 years old. There was hardware supplied that allowed us to attach it to the goalpost with not a lot of effort. This is a good first time or replacement; it's well made and should give us many more years of pleasure.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
boywonder
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not bad for the price
4/9/2016

Customer review by Llebles

4.0 stars 4/9/2016 by Llebles
by Llebles

The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is that the Polycarbonite seemed a bit flimsy. The frame is solid and the hoop is sturdy and well made, the graphics are nice and it comes with tons of extra hardware for different mounting options. I mounted mine to a Spalding Uturn adjustable bracket. Between the two kits, all hardware is there EXCEPT whatever you need to mount the Uturn to a roof or wall, it only comes with complete hardware for pole mounting. Both were easy to install, It took about 2 hours for me (46 year old mom) to install by myself. The instructions do say to have a helper, but I didn't find that necessary. My son loves it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Llebles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
parts mismatch
4/4/2010

Customer review by Vilhelm

3.0 stars 4/4/2010 by Vilhelm
by Vilhelm

The product itself works fine. We'll see how it holds up over time. We had several installation and design issues. There are no cross braces provided, even though they are shown in the manual. Fortunately, I had a couple on hand, but mine extend to the outer upper corner of the backboard, and there are no pre-drilled holes there. So I had to drill my own holes. In my opinion, braces only going to the midpoint on the board (as shown in the manual) would not be supportive anyway. We never could install the slammer-jammer spring with our extension arm mount because the hardware provided is a mismatch. Another larger diameter washer would be needed in addition to the large washer provided. It isn't really necessary as we don't allow anyone to hang from the rim anyway. (That used to be a technical foul and grounds for ejection.) The rim has a more solid feel without it. There are nice trim pieces for the lower corners of the backboard, but unfortunately none of the metal screws provided is the right size for the pre-drilled holes. So we'll have to wait on that until the next visit to the local hardware store.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vilhelm
Winnsboro, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
so far, so good!
1/6/2010

Customer review by alljays

4.0 stars 1/6/2010 by alljays
by alljays

We purchased this for our son for Christmas and are very pleased with it. It looks nice mounted on the house and seems to have a good bounce in the backboard. Wal-mart beat everyone's price and it shipped within a week. We have only had it for about 2 weeks but, so far, so good!

Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alljays
so. cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fit Perfectly, but apparently manufactured to fail
4/14/2013

Customer review by AdoptiveDad

4.0 stars 4/14/2013 by AdoptiveDad
by AdoptiveDad
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My teen sons managed to break a hole in the center of the backboard. It was a 44" backboard, but I hoped that this slighter larger 48" backboard would fit the same brackets. It did and gave a slightly larger area to play off of. Perfect fit to the existing brackets and easy to replace and assemble. I did add a support piece across the back of this backboard which will hopefully prevent further incidents of this type, but who knows? It seems a mystery to me why the manufacturer does not support the Plexiglas above the rim area, but probably just so we all have to buy replacements after a year. The holes for the horizontal bracket are already pre-drilled, so why not build it right in the first place? We had this set for about 1 1/2 years prior to the damage, so I hope this last longer with daily use. I gave it only a 4 stars rating because it could be supported properly with the pre-drilled holes but Spalding chooses to manufacture something that will fail in time. The $150 price tag for replacement is almost as much as a brand new basketball system, but I did not want the hassle of moving 300 lbs. of sand somehow out of the current base to a new one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AdoptiveDad
San Antonio, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Basketball Goal
3/12/2011

Customer review by JUJU0

4.0 stars 3/12/2011 by JUJU0
by JUJU0

I happy with the product itself, what I was not happy about is that I was shorted 4 bolts that I needed to put the item together and then after I had it together I then realized I needed to order a mounting bracket for the product because it did not come with one. So I have had the item now for two weeks and am still waiting on the bracket to put the backboard up, so even though I got the item together in just a couple of hours I still cant use it because I did not have all of the items. But on the plus side, I dont think this goal will ever break.

Was this review helpful? (13) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JUJU0
Kansas City, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product
5/5/2016

Customer review by JWTOOL

5.0 stars 5/5/2016 by JWTOOL
by JWTOOL

Work very well, neighborhood kids love it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JWTOOL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Deal
4/22/2009

Customer review by Colvinden

4.0 stars 4/22/2009 by Colvinden
by Colvinden

Backboard and rim were easy to put together and are sturdy enough for our driveway games. Not a heavy duty unit, but for the price you can't beat it especially when other stores are selling the exact same unit for $50 more.

Was this review helpful? (14) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Colvinden
Northwood, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Backboard replacement
2/14/2016

Customer review by Eric

5.0 stars 2/14/2016 by Eric
by Eric

Our backboard cracked and we needed a replacement. We found this easy to install. It fits multiple types of hoop systems.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eric
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this product
5/6/2011

Customer review by Arwhen

5.0 stars 5/6/2011 by Arwhen
by Arwhen

My grandchildren love this basketball backboard and rim. It's a nice big size and it looks great. Don't bother to spend more, this one is terrific.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Arwhen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Backboard Bonanza
9/1/2010

Customer review by Meritman

5.0 stars 9/1/2010 by Meritman
by Meritman

The backboard,rim,net, and parts in one box. Delivered in 3 working days. Awesome. opened the box and assembled the unit within 45 min. Good instruction manual. any issues toll-free no:# provided for any questions. Great unit. Hey it will be outside in the yard 365 days a year and get weather-beaten. can't beat the price. Definitely worth going with this unit. Same item at Dicks, or Dunhams is $100 more.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meritman
Richmond Heights, OH.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent backboard, but not too sturdy
2/7/2014

Customer review by CDFetts

3.0 stars 2/7/2014 by CDFetts
by CDFetts

Overall, the backboard is not bad, but not great. when a ball hits most parts of the board, it makes a loud sound, more than would be expected. This is caused by too much flexibility in the board... it is not as rigid as I would have hoped. This not the case if the ball hits directly in front of one of the support bars, which makes me wonder if the bounce is consistent across all parts of the board. Assembly was OK, but needed to be forced quite a bit.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CDFetts
New York Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/22/2011

Customer review by Bram22

5.0 stars 4/22/2011 by Bram22
by Bram22

My son loves his new backboard. The assembly was a little tough because I had to tweek the directions a little to make it work with our pole. But I figured it out and it is doing the job. My son loves the bounce off of the backboard and the rim. Other than trying to have it shipped site to store and it taking almost a month, they cancelled it and reissued us another one and it was here in a week!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bram22
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good backboard
4/1/2009

Customer review by kvol2000

4.0 stars 4/1/2009 by kvol2000
by kvol2000

When i unpacked the backboard it was more light weight than what i expected, however after i mounted it to a homemade pole with a steel plate, it was very sturdy and exceeded my expectations. I am very pleased

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kvol2000
tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Backboard broke
9/8/2012

Customer review by PLM2

2.0 stars 9/8/2012 by PLM2
by PLM2

We've had this backboard for about 5 years. Have been happy with it up until now, but today I bounced the ball off the backboard, and the backboard broke. It left a great huge hole where the ball hit. Not looking forward to replacing it, since it was somewhat troublesome to install over the garage to begin with ... but it does get a lot of use!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PLM2
Ferndale, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great product. Great service.
6/23/2014

Customer review by BasketballDaddy76

5.0 stars 6/23/2014 by BasketballDaddy76
by BasketballDaddy76
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great as expected. It was missing some hardware and the center section on the bottom pad, but I called Spalding and they sent everything that I asked for.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BasketballDaddy76
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews