Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 52 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

52 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

52 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 44 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews
Good bacsketball goal BUT
3/28/2011

Customer review by Deanzo

4.0 stars 3/28/2011 by Deanzo
by Deanzo

I purchased this backboard to replace existing one that cracked. After reading reviews I felt confident that I did not need to purchase any mounting pieces because what was existing on our pole should work...WRONG, if it is a different name brand it will not work. Ended up having to spend another $100 to get the mounting piece--finally got it up and it looks and works great! I could have saved myself some money if I would have known in the beginning that it wouldn't work.

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deanzo
Caledonia, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
so far, so good!
1/6/2010

Customer review by alljays

4.0 stars 1/6/2010 by alljays
by alljays

We purchased this for our son for Christmas and are very pleased with it. It looks nice mounted on the house and seems to have a good bounce in the backboard. Wal-mart beat everyone's price and it shipped within a week. We have only had it for about 2 weeks but, so far, so good!

Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alljays
so. cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Deal
4/22/2009

Customer review by Colvinden

4.0 stars 4/22/2009 by Colvinden
by Colvinden

Backboard and rim were easy to put together and are sturdy enough for our driveway games. Not a heavy duty unit, but for the price you can't beat it especially when other stores are selling the exact same unit for $50 more.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Colvinden
Northwood, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Basketball Goal
3/12/2011

Customer review by JUJU0

4.0 stars 3/12/2011 by JUJU0
by JUJU0

I happy with the product itself, what I was not happy about is that I was shorted 4 bolts that I needed to put the item together and then after I had it together I then realized I needed to order a mounting bracket for the product because it did not come with one. So I have had the item now for two weeks and am still waiting on the bracket to put the backboard up, so even though I got the item together in just a couple of hours I still cant use it because I did not have all of the items. But on the plus side, I dont think this goal will ever break.

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JUJU0
Kansas City, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
parts mismatch
4/4/2010

Customer review by Vilhelm

3.0 stars 4/4/2010 by Vilhelm
by Vilhelm

The product itself works fine. We'll see how it holds up over time. We had several installation and design issues. There are no cross braces provided, even though they are shown in the manual. Fortunately, I had a couple on hand, but mine extend to the outer upper corner of the backboard, and there are no pre-drilled holes there. So I had to drill my own holes. In my opinion, braces only going to the midpoint on the board (as shown in the manual) would not be supportive anyway. We never could install the slammer-jammer spring with our extension arm mount because the hardware provided is a mismatch. Another larger diameter washer would be needed in addition to the large washer provided. It isn't really necessary as we don't allow anyone to hang from the rim anyway. (That used to be a technical foul and grounds for ejection.) The rim has a more solid feel without it. There are nice trim pieces for the lower corners of the backboard, but unfortunately none of the metal screws provided is the right size for the pre-drilled holes. So we'll have to wait on that until the next visit to the local hardware store.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vilhelm
Winnsboro, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product - Great Value
10/10/2013

Customer review by boywonder

5.0 stars 10/10/2013 by boywonder
by boywonder

My grandson needed his backboard and rim replaced, and we began looking for brands that would fit. We soon realized that since the old backboard and rim were made by Huffy, we would have to replace it with the same brand, which is now Spalding. We could have gone another route with a more expensive backboard and rim, but we would have had to have bought more hardware to make it fit. In addition, Walmart's price was the best of all the vendors we checked. We ordered it online, and it came promptly. The Spalding 48" backboard and rim combo fit perfectly with the old hardware, which was over 15 years old. There was hardware supplied that allowed us to attach it to the goalpost with not a lot of effort. This is a good first time or replacement; it's well made and should give us many more years of pleasure.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boywonder
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Backboard Bonanza
9/1/2010

Customer review by Meritman

5.0 stars 9/1/2010 by Meritman
by Meritman

The backboard,rim,net, and parts in one box. Delivered in 3 working days. Awesome. opened the box and assembled the unit within 45 min. Good instruction manual. any issues toll-free no:# provided for any questions. Great unit. Hey it will be outside in the yard 365 days a year and get weather-beaten. can't beat the price. Definitely worth going with this unit. Same item at Dicks, or Dunhams is $100 more.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Meritman
Richmond Heights, OH.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
lasted a 1 1/2 years
10/12/2013

Customer review by FtWayneShopper

2.0 stars 10/12/2013 by FtWayneShopper
by FtWayneShopper

I got this backboard a year and a half ago. We were very pleased with it, no scratches or cracks, etc.. Today, however, my 11 year old son made a shot and a huge hole popped out of the backboard. The hole is the exact size of the basketball and almost as perfectly round. Not happy now! The warranty is for one year. We have had it for 1 1/2 years. Not worth it considering that I now need to buy a new one and go through the hassle of putting another basketball goal together and mounted :(

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FtWayneShopper
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this product
5/6/2011

Customer review by Arwhen

5.0 stars 5/6/2011 by Arwhen
by Arwhen

My grandchildren love this basketball backboard and rim. It's a nice big size and it looks great. Don't bother to spend more, this one is terrific.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Arwhen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fit Perfectly, but apparently manufactured to fail
4/14/2013

Customer review by AdoptiveDad

4.0 stars 4/14/2013 by AdoptiveDad
by AdoptiveDad

My teen sons managed to break a hole in the center of the backboard. It was a 44" backboard, but I hoped that this slighter larger 48" backboard would fit the same brackets. It did and gave a slightly larger area to play off of. Perfect fit to the existing brackets and easy to replace and assemble. I did add a support piece across the back of this backboard which will hopefully prevent further incidents of this type, but who knows? It seems a mystery to me why the manufacturer does not support the Plexiglas above the rim area, but probably just so we all have to buy replacements after a year. The holes for the horizontal bracket are already pre-drilled, so why not build it right in the first place? We had this set for about 1 1/2 years prior to the damage, so I hope this last longer with daily use. I gave it only a 4 stars rating because it could be supported properly with the pre-drilled holes but Spalding chooses to manufacture something that will fail in time. The $150 price tag for replacement is almost as much as a brand new basketball system, but I did not want the hassle of moving 300 lbs. of sand somehow out of the current base to a new one.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AdoptiveDad
San Antonio, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good backboard
4/1/2009

Customer review by kvol2000

4.0 stars 4/1/2009 by kvol2000
by kvol2000

When i unpacked the backboard it was more light weight than what i expected, however after i mounted it to a homemade pole with a steel plate, it was very sturdy and exceeded my expectations. I am very pleased

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kvol2000
tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Replacement backboa
3/16/2014

Customer review by Fedexman69

5.0 stars 3/16/2014 by Fedexman69
by Fedexman69

This was a replacement backboard for the one my kids broke. It bolted right in place and fit perfect.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fedexman69
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A very good replacement backboard!
5/31/2014

Customer review by plantmanager500

5.0 stars 5/31/2014 by plantmanager500
by plantmanager500

I liked the fact that the product perfectly fits the Spalding pole. It is the same quality as the original backboard and works to perfection.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
plantmanager500
west monroe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product. Great service.
6/23/2014

Customer review by BasketballDaddy76

5.0 stars 6/23/2014 by BasketballDaddy76
by BasketballDaddy76

Great as expected. It was missing some hardware and the center section on the bottom pad, but I called Spalding and they sent everything that I asked for.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BasketballDaddy76
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/22/2011

Customer review by Bram22

5.0 stars 4/22/2011 by Bram22
by Bram22

My son loves his new backboard. The assembly was a little tough because I had to tweek the directions a little to make it work with our pole. But I figured it out and it is doing the job. My son loves the bounce off of the backboard and the rim. Other than trying to have it shipped site to store and it taking almost a month, they cancelled it and reissued us another one and it was here in a week!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bram22
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product
5/11/2013

Customer review by TechGirl28

4.0 stars 5/11/2013 by TechGirl28
by TechGirl28

Product was exactly what I expected and had a lot of hardware to fit different types of installation options.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TechGirl28
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Backboard broke
9/8/2012

Customer review by PLM2

2.0 stars 9/8/2012 by PLM2
by PLM2

We've had this backboard for about 5 years. Have been happy with it up until now, but today I bounced the ball off the backboard, and the backboard broke. It left a great huge hole where the ball hit. Not looking forward to replacing it, since it was somewhat troublesome to install over the garage to begin with ... but it does get a lot of use!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PLM2
Ferndale, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
10/23/2013

Customer review by shipfitter1

1.0 stars 10/23/2013 by shipfitter1
by shipfitter1

I got the bundle with the converter, board, and ball.Many parts were missing and directions,well,there really were none.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shipfitter1
san diego
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Replacement Backboard
9/4/2010

Customer review by Not2handyman

5.0 stars 9/4/2010 by Not2handyman
by Not2handyman

I thought it would really be a hassle finding a replacement backboard for my portable Huffy system. I didn't know the model number. I took a chance on this one. It was much cheaper than anything I could find at Dick's. When it arrived I followed the instructions and had it installed in a couple of hours.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Not2handyman
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
9/18/2013

Customer review by Bigbow12

5.0 stars 9/18/2013 by Bigbow12
by Bigbow12

Very happy with this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bigbow12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews