Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

25 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

25 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 22 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews
12/28/2007

Customer review by peterscs

2.0 stars 12/28/2007 by peterscs
by peterscs

The web site description did not state that all of the hardware required to mount was not included. Brackets required are listed in the instructions as not supplied and an 800 number is given to obtain the brackets at additional cost and additional shipping charges.

Was this review helpful? (34) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
peterscs
Tidewater, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice board for the price
1/2/2008

Customer review by Shop319365

4.0 stars 1/2/2008 by Shop319365
by Shop319365

The construction of the frame is nice, and the hoop secures tightly to the system. I was a little worried about the flimsy nature of the plastic backboard itself at first. But after I got it up, it seems fairly sturdy. The ball deflects off it as you would expect it too rather then being too much of a cushion that stops the bounce. Or being too hard to make it seem to bounce off harder then it was thrown. It's not professional grade by any means, but for a home backboard for my kids to play around with, and for it's under one hundred bucks price range it gets the job done.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shop319365
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Waste of money
3/1/2011

Customer review by usewisely

1.0 stars 3/1/2011 by usewisely
by usewisely

I have owned this less than two years and the acrylic is shattering to pieces. My oldest (11yrs old) was trying to make a three pointer and hit the upper left corner and chunks came falling down. The acrylic is only 1/16" thick, so it's designed to break. Frame and rim are good though. May slap some plywood on the frame and call it good.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
usewisely
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Better than expected
3/29/2009

Customer review by hoopstar

5.0 stars 3/29/2009 by hoopstar
by hoopstar

This is a well-constructed and solid backboard and rim for the money. The ball reflects off of it very true and accurately - it is not a flat "thud" like one might expect.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hoopstar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
not even 2 years
4/26/2011

Customer review by min22

2.0 stars 4/26/2011 by min22
by min22

We had this backboard for just 2 summers. We live in Michigan so it only gets use during the summer. It started falling apart at the end of the 1st summer and it is now the beginning of the 3rd and it just shattered. I do not recommend this if you want it to last more than 2 years.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
min22
Would recommend to a friend? No
8/17/2011

Customer review by MCooo

3.0 stars 8/17/2011 by MCooo
by MCooo

Thought the backboard would be a bit more substantial.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MCooo
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Easy to install as a replacement backboard.
9/4/2012

Customer review by ray61

5.0 stars 9/4/2012 by ray61
by ray61

Would have liked an option for just the backboard without the goal as my old goal was in good shape.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ray61
schaumburg, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
3/7/2011

Customer review by firstcrashqueen

3.0 stars 3/7/2011 by firstcrashqueen
by firstcrashqueen

Works OK. Can not figure out why mounting hardware was not included. I knew this when I bought it but really, it is necessary to use this product so why is it not included? Keep this in mind. Other than that, the backboard seems sturdy and after we accomodated "other" mounting hardware, it installed easily.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
firstcrashqueen
Potlatch, Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Will break in a short time period!
5/27/2014

Customer review by BiggerTV

1.0 stars 5/27/2014 by BiggerTV
by BiggerTV

Bought this, and it lasted last than 3 months! Cracked when my '6 year old' made a shot in the CENTER of the back board. The Plexiglas is way too flimsy and thin. It is a total waste of money!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BiggerTV
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
ok
11/8/2013

Customer review by sctoad

4.0 stars 11/8/2013 by sctoad
by sctoad

this was a replacement for a spalding basketball system that the backboard cracked after about 5 years. it was smaller than the original but the brackets fit.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sctoad
raleigh, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
best
3/1/2009

Customer review by jamacia

5.0 stars 3/1/2009 by jamacia
by jamacia

i love this backboard easy to fit up my sons love it and they play with it everyday i recommend it to anyone

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jamacia
brooklyn ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value for the price
5/9/2014

Customer review by Stevomac

5.0 stars 5/9/2014 by Stevomac
by Stevomac

This is an excellent replacement backboard and net for what you pay. Very easy to assemble which surprised me. It comes with all of the nut and bolt hardware needed for different types of installations, so you end up with extra hardware! I had one part that was broken during shipping but a call to the toll free support number had a free replacement at my door within 48 hours! Sure there are more heavy duty models out there but you pay a lot more for them. I think this is an excellent value for the price and it should last a few years. It looks even better than the manufacturers pictures!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stevomac
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/18/2011

Customer review by gopher79

4.0 stars 7/18/2011 by gopher79
by gopher79

I replaced the backboard & rim on my old Huffy in ground goal with this model. It took about 2 hrs total time with no major issues. The Spalding acrylic board looks really nice. Its not overly large like some high end models. The rim is very solid. It dosen't have plastic hooks that hold the net (tend to pull off) like my old Huffy model. The net was low end quality. The ball bounces true enough off the thin acrylic backboard, however it does sound like a "thud." It dosen't seem to bother my 13 year old son. He's happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gopher79
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
never delivered
12/23/2012

Customer review by NoChristmas

1.0 stars 12/23/2012 by NoChristmas
by NoChristmas

Ordered this item in plenty of time for Christmas, was told item would be here by Dec. 17 at the latest. It is now two days till Christmas and still MIA!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NoChristmas
MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great backboard - great value
9/23/2014

Customer review by bballkid2

5.0 stars 9/23/2014 by bballkid2
by bballkid2

This was a replacement so needed to do some "retrofits". Directions provided for many install options as well as hardware.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bballkid2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Spalding NBA Acrylic
5/8/2011

Customer review by browneyes4

5.0 stars 5/8/2011 by browneyes4
by browneyes4

Great buy looks very nice my son and husband love it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
browneyes4
Eureka Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
easy to install
10/3/2013

Customer review by lcord75

5.0 stars 10/3/2013 by lcord75
by lcord75

I bought this replacement after the first one cracked grom long exposure to the sun. I know I will have to purchase a nrw one in another year or so. They are not build to be longlssiting.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lcord75
Cape Coral, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Replacement Backboard to Pole
5/5/2010

Customer review by EEZZ

4.0 stars 5/5/2010 by EEZZ
by EEZZ

Easy replacement to an existing Huffy system. Universal fit allowed use of existing hardware to put this up. Adjustable tension for rim allowed customization for "give" on the rim. Easy processing and pickup. Smaller package size than I would have expected. Easily transport in a car.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EEZZ
Scranton, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Holding up so far.
9/26/2013

Customer review by letsgetmoving

4.0 stars 9/26/2013 by letsgetmoving
by letsgetmoving

Backboard seemed a little thin. But so far is holding up. Have only played a few games but am satified with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
letsgetmoving
Schenectady, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
As advertised
5/16/2010

Customer review by ScampiDude

4.0 stars 5/16/2010 by ScampiDude
by ScampiDude

As advertised... nothing disappoint but nothing to rave about either... Fairly easy to install...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScampiDude
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews