Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 67 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

67 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

67 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
13
1-20 of 65 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 65 total reviews
1-20 of 65 reviews
Excellent TV
8/1/2007

Customer review by JAlmanzar

5.0 stars 8/1/2007 by JAlmanzar
by JAlmanzar

Excellent product. Other customers complain about sound, but belive me, I have had no other TV with this kind of sound. Any person who needs something more should seriously consider purchasing a home theater. The image is astonishing. I have it hooked to an XBOX 360 Elite and the 1080p resolution is unbelievable. It is the closest to a movie going experience you will ever get. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JAlmanzar
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Was skepticle
7/27/2007

Customer review by skeptic

5.0 stars 7/27/2007 by skeptic
by skeptic

I had been looking at Polaroid tv for several years when my 87 year old mom's 61" Phillips Magnavox went out. I was concerned that the smaller 46" Polaroid would not be large enough or loud enough to meed Mom's needs. After looking at many different brands and sizes and ruling out plasma sets I could see no alternative. I decided to try the Polaroid. Unpakaged the set and placed it on its table hooked the power cord and turned the set on. The set programed itself and a chanel appeared on the screen. It was clear and a good picture but not digital quality. I tried surfing through the chanels and could get only 11 chanels I was getting really concerned and kept getting this message in a blue box with the channel number that said over air. That made me really mad because I expected to get digital signals, and that's when the brick fell. I then hooked up the cable and the tv programed itself and I have been extremely pleased since! We have seemingly hundreds of music and alternate channels plus the full array of programing from charter. Mom listens to the tv with the volume set on serious shake and rattle and does not miss the extra inches. I thought this TV would do very well as a replacement for the 61" and must say it has done better than I expected!! We have exceptionaly sharp clear pictures plus hundreds of channels that we never had before. We have regained a significant portion of the living space in this room. The sound is good and significant but we may later need to hook up an amplifier to replace moms hearing aids. So far this is a great set and I am well pleased!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skeptic
Carrollton Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value for price....
7/9/2007

Customer review by LukeyLou

4.0 stars 7/9/2007 by LukeyLou
by LukeyLou

2 things present potential future service issues....only occassionally, but none-the-less, irritating, when I turn on the TV the TV sound does not come on. If you turn off and back on, it comes on, but not before you hear a distinct static charge sound in the speakers. Since this is brand new & in warranty, I am trying to make contact with a service tech. in the St. Louis area. Which presents the next potential issue....Polaroid service providers are not common, so I tried their website indicated ON THEIR WARRANY INFO. Website does not give any direction, so I called their toll-free #. After about 2 transfers I hooked up with a Customer Service Rep. who was going to research a St. Louis area service provider for me and get back to me within 48 hours-yet to get that return call !! Will keep you posted on how this goes.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LukeyLou
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A guide to Polaroid Problmes
9/15/2007

Customer review by DontBuyIt123

1.0 stars 9/15/2007 by DontBuyIt123
by DontBuyIt123

Don't buy the tv - while the price is attractive -especially given that it is equiped with 1080p. We got the tv and all seemed fine - sound is weak, but the picture looked good. We had to return the tv after 3 weeks because it clicked when ever it was on. This did not affect the picture - but was annoying to hear clicking everytime the tv was on. We returned the tv - exchanging it for another. The first night with the tv was great - watched movies and all worked fine. The next day we turned it on to watch football and there was NO PICTURE. There is sound but no picture. So we need to return this one. Save your time - spend the extra couple hundred dollars and avoid this piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DontBuyIt123
Des Moines, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome
7/14/2007

Customer review by Charles

5.0 stars 7/14/2007 by Charles
by Charles

Jaw dropping picture, even with plain sattelite, the color is amazing. DVD's look like HD. 46'' is huge on the wall. I made a very good choice in this purchase, You will be satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Charles
houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
THE BEST
7/25/2007

Customer review by BEAN

5.0 stars 7/25/2007 by BEAN
by BEAN

I am so glad that i bought this tv.It is the best LCD tv with 1080p that you will get for the money.The picture quality is amazing so crisp and clear. I bought 2 other lcd tv's but returned them both because they were garbage,and then I bought this one.You know how the sang goes ''you get what you pay for''. If you want a real good lcd tv go with this one all the way.or the smaller one.but polaroid is were it's at. by the way PS3 looks absolutly amazing on this tv....IT IS THE BEST. POLAOID BABY

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BEAN
SPRING HILL,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great LCD HDTV
9/8/2007

Customer review by Jaukain

5.0 stars 9/8/2007 by Jaukain
by Jaukain

Picture quality is outstanding. Great HDTV for Xbox 360 gaming, and HD-DVD picture just blows you away. Sound isn't the greatest but I suggest a surround sound system. Overall TV is a great deal, best TV I have purchased so far.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jaukain
Topeka, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GARBAGE
9/10/2007

Customer review by TVrater2

1.0 stars 9/10/2007 by TVrater2
by TVrater2

We went through 2 of these televisions thinking the first was just a dud, but after the 2nd one we realized that there is an internal problem from the factory, they look great, but after a few weeks of usage, the remote stopped responding, and also the side buttons stopped responding, so consequently we could not turn off the TV, the only way to turn it off was unplug it, then it would not turn back on! Would be a GREAT television if Polaroid had addressed these problems prior to shipping them out to Wal Marts.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TVrater2
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
SETUP DIRECTIONS
11/3/2007

Customer review by wayndeep

5.0 stars 11/3/2007 by wayndeep
by wayndeep

OK forget what you have read so far.....let me tell you HOW this tv works....first picture is beyond belief for price by ALL means,but you MUST do these things.FIRST after you purchase this tv,remimber you are buying the BEST possible picture you can purchase right now on the market HANDS DOWN 1080p(progessive is what the p stands for)do your research ,you will see.....anyways what that means is that it is the best picture quality you can get, provided you give that to the tv other wise you will just get an increase by 10 fold of the bad signal you are giving it,which brings me to our next STAGE of the game to getting your best picture,now FORGET cable,because this is not a tv designed for a cable signal,meaning,that most cable signals are 480i(less focus,signal...k?)if you increase the signal the tv can use it to what it was designed for....right...ok....now get the hd package from direct tv hd and add a surround sound system (hd package is free as long as you just upgrade for a few months,which is also free....lol win win...k now the surround sound is only 200 bucks,which you saved in the price of the tv and EVERYONE knows tv sound systems are NOT that great ANYWAYS....now hook the hd direct tv up through the hdmi cables that the installer of the satelite will do for you,buy an fiberoptic cable for audio(walmart when you buy the tv and surround sound system, sony or phillps best buy Ive found)he will hook ALL cables and signal up upon arivial to put your hd system in.....as well as hook the video red green and blue hook ups off of your dvd player to the TV...which will give you the BEST picture off of that as well and a orange cord that goes to the back of the surround sound system which he will know what to do with as well.....after that I PROMISE YOU,YOU WILL SEE THE BEST TV AND SOUND YOU HAVE EVER SEEN OR HEARD IN YOUR LIFE HANDS DOWN...just do what I say and you will be back to write FAR better reviews then what I read previous to this before I bought my tv and was scared that I had made a wrong choice hahahah was I wrong and so were the people that I read the reviews previous to this one....let us know how it goes....haha! BOTTOM LINE HOOK IT UP THE WAY IT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE HOOKED UP AND BOOOOOM>>>>>OUTSTANDING!!!!OH yea by the way if your worried about it breaking down the tv comes with a 1 year warranty and walmart offers the 2 year extra for 78 bucks,thats 3 years total....hmmmmm if mine EVERY breaks I just take it back and get a NEW one...lol

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wayndeep
kingman, az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/19/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/19/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Friends are jealous
9/20/2007

Customer review by viperRider

5.0 stars 9/20/2007 by viperRider
by viperRider

Bought this TV and had it for a week before it died on me - had a faulty video processor. Returned it to Walmart and got another one, and have run this new one through the ringer! The picture is fantastic, analog, digital, HD, even the computer monitor option! This tv can make even the worst analog tv station look good. Even though the first one I bought was a lemon, I would recomend this TV to everybody! The speakers are just regular tv speakers - obviously, you want awesome surround sound, then you had better buy an awesome surround sound system! And oh ya, all of my friends who have bought one, like mine better than the more expensive ones they bought (that are smaller to boot!)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
viperRider
Casper, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
polaroid 46 inch lcd tv
3/30/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/30/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Love the picture Love the sound Love the surround in silver and black, couldn't be happier with our new tv.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Fairfax, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good value - competitive LCD for the rest of us
8/19/2007

Customer review by LovinThisLCD

5.0 stars 8/19/2007 by LovinThisLCD
by LovinThisLCD

Any lcd is an improvement: Moving from a 57 inch hd-ready projection tv (an elephant in the room) to this 46 inch lcd has been a great experience. In addition to the fact that this unit can be wall-mounted and looks as clean/modern as any flat panel, the other thing that made an lcd desirable for me (more than plasma) is the brightness. We have many windows in our family room and with the proj tv had to close the blinds to watch tv during the day. This unit has such a bright crisp picture that we no longer have that problem. Picture quality: I don't have digital satellite (yet), but from what I've seen with my DVD player, the 1080 picture resolution/clarity is really amazing. Now - I am not one of those guys that really gets into having the best quality picture and I am sure that if you are a perfectionist you can find flaws with the refresh rate of this versus a 2 or 3 grand unit. Me personally I can't tell the difference so the extra money isn't worth it. Sound Quality: I also have a sound-system so the sound of this unit is really not important to me. A competitor of WalMart sells a similar unit for another $300 if you want better sound, but that seems like money better spent on a beginner surround system (they don't cost much more than that). Size vs. old format: Also, because of the letterbox (9:16?) format versus the old 3:4 format (think that's right) the screen is actually about the same width as my old 57 inch. I was debating the need for a 50+ inch lcd (still pretty pricey) and I'm glad I stuck with this. Any bigger would have been overkill in my family room.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LovinThisLCD
Montgomery, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far so good
12/2/2007

Customer review by Lookin4bestbang4thebuck

4.0 stars 12/2/2007 by Lookin4bestbang4thebuck
by Lookin4bestbang4thebuck

I was a little worried based on other feedback, so far, so good. I wish the guides worked more often but I think it's a cable thing not a tv issue. Picture is excellent on HD channels and pretty decent on non HD. Nice product for the price, serves my purposes and then some.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lookin4bestbang4thebuck
Novi, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not recommneded
8/24/2007

Customer review by Arad

3.0 stars 8/24/2007 by Arad
by Arad

Very Nice Frame and Stand, and it's attractive with it's huge display, but when it comes down to HD this TV is not gonna be the one you be highly satisfied with, first the pixels are obvious to see and sharpness is not quite impressive, Second becasue of the low contrast ratio, Whenever there is a dark spot, Blue and red Pixels are visible in it which doesn't give a very black/dark in every portion of display.( It is appeared to be view when It''s on the CINEMA mode) and at last , Speakers are not working properly . You don't hear that much on HD format even when Volume is on 100. Absolutely not Recommended

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Arad
Houston,TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Poor procuct
10/7/2007

Customer review by Jaytoy

1.0 stars 10/7/2007 by Jaytoy
by Jaytoy

Although I read several negative reviews about this TV I decided to buy anyway. One review stated that the picture went out shortly after buying. Said sound stayed on but no picture. That is what happened to the one I pruchaced. No picture but did have sound. This happened 3 days after purchace and setup. Returned to store. Will not buy another of this brand

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jaytoy
Dunnellon, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't bother buying this TV
11/3/2007

Customer review by Emilio7

1.0 stars 11/3/2007 by Emilio7
by Emilio7

I just returned this TV after a month of increasing disappointment. There is really nothing good about this TV. $1506.00 after tax is not really a low price. Mine had 3 stuck pixels, 1 red, 1 blue, 1 was just generally dark on any color. I really could have lived with that, but after 3 weeks I noticed that the center of the screen was flawless, but the left and right were always too bright in comparison. This was VERY HARD ON THE EYES. Literally. I really wanted to keep this TV set, but then it started to really annoy me when I saw better sets for only $200 more or so. SONY, PHILIPS. This TV doesn't even have PiP. I hope my review will help you.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Emilio7
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
If it looks to good to be true, it probably is
1/9/2008

Customer review by Faerieone2

1.0 stars 1/9/2008 by Faerieone2
by Faerieone2

This TV sounds like a great deal, looks like a great deal, but it's disappointing. I'm sure that those of you who are lucky enough to secure one of these TV’s that stays working, you’ll be extremely happy with it. The one I got worked great for 2 weeks. Then one day the sound went out. I tried to turn the TV up with the remote and then the buttons on the side of the TV to no avail. So I tried to turn the TV off. Then, once again, there was no response from the remote OR the buttons on the side. I had to unplug the TV to get it to turn off. I though maybe it got to warm or something, so we left it off for 4 hours. I plugged it back in and couldn't get anything to work. No response from the remote or the buttons on the side. So I delved deeper into the problem and found out that many of these larger TV’s are having the same problems. Not just the Polaroid brand. It seems to me that the only brand you can truly trust in large HD TV’s is one the big name brands.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Faerieone2
Central Wi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
sorry service
11/18/2007

Customer review by missingsam

1.0 stars 11/18/2007 by missingsam
by missingsam

I purchased this product on 9/8/07 and it stopped working on 11/15/07. Called for service and they say it will be 3 to 4 weeks to get part, Then another 2 days to get service man to repair....Will never buy another Polaroid product

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
missingsam
Tenn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
tin-box sound kills this otherwise great lcd tv
8/29/2007

Customer review by therica

4.0 stars 8/29/2007 by therica
by therica

We're extremely disappointed in the tin-box rattling low-powered sound and audio of this television. I'd read carefully through the ratings for just about every large LCD television listed on walmart.com, and the great number of reviews plus the great overall reviews for this tv led to our purchase, a week ago. // Yes I saw that the overall consensus on the audio was that it was adequate but not spectacular. That's all we expected-- dependable adequate audio. This television falls far short. For general viewing, it seems fine. But watch a dvd or music-show with any sort of recently-popular low-bass rumbling and this unit begins to rumble like a tin-shack sitting next to a railroad track. The audio also lacks much quality-- overall it sounds like a cheap $25 boom-box. We even tried plugging in better speakers to the audio-output. Apparently the audio-output requires a separate amplifier-- no sound output simply through regular speakers. // On the plus side: 1) The visual is pretty fantastic. We watched all the large LCD tv's on display at our local Super-Walmart, and this one definitely stuck out-- it was the best, other than the plasma-screen ones (which I understand tend to burn-in after several hours of viewing, unfortunately). 2) The setup was relatively easy. // On the down-side: 1) For accessing different inputs, there are no separate instant-select buttons (ie dvd, vcr, antenna/cable). Instead, there is one "input" button that you push, which pulls up a list of all the inputs (used or not) which you must scroll down to select. 2) The set-up menu display is rather small, and difficult to even see from more than 6 feet away. Conclusion-- this television is going back to Walmart, unfortunately. We're not all that picky, and usually settle in and find satisfaction while overlooking the lesser points. This television, however, has SUCH SUB-STANDARD AUDIO that it might as well say "separate audio required."

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
therica
Hagerstown MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 65 total reviews
1-20 of 65 reviews