Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 72 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

72 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

72 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
12
1-20 of 65 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 65 total reviews
1-20 of 65 reviews
excellent buy
8/29/2007

Customer review by dfwaj

5.0 stars 8/29/2007 by dfwaj
by dfwaj

for a couple of months i went from store to store checking out tvs and found this to be the best tv for me. i live in an apartment and its like having a mini movie theater at 10% of the price! video games and movies are great on it and my friends don't scoff and say "polaroid?" they say "woah... sweet!" and now the details, good and bad good: a samsung hdtv is what you want if you have the money to blow on one. about $1500-2000-3000 should get you 40". but at HALF the price (allowing me to live with myself) for the "bang for your buck", this is THE tv to get. get something smaller or bigger and the value decreases considerably. good: other reviews said that 480 & 720 look good, they do, as one would expect blowing up a bad tv signal to 40" would make it noticably worse than on a smaller tv. and 1080 is obviously amazing, it made my dad almost buy the same tv (he ended up making no purchase of any kind) good: there is a guide button that displays show information and whats coming on that (hd) channel for like the next 6 hours which is nice. bad: as far as features worth mentioning the guide button is it and thats only worth mentioning if you don't have tivo or something digital that does that for you. bad: the sound quality is ...weird and maybe this is my fault but. for ps2 games, some the sound can be at 15 (15 out of 100, which is what normal antenna tv is watched at) and the speakers are crackling but other times they don't crack but the bass is non-existant. dvd's are never played at 15, more like 45... so if you forget and turn the channel... boom. and there have been times i've cranked it up to 100 and only then was satisfied with the volume. (fyi i'm not hearing impaired) this tv is THE best deal. i would buy it now or wait until the next amazing deal comes along... but who knows when that may be?!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dfwaj
fort worth, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice Product............
9/3/2007

Customer review by tonetls

5.0 stars 9/3/2007 by tonetls
by tonetls

I purchased this tv after looking at several from no-name to brand-name and now I know I made a excellent choice. The preset factory settings "stink" but after I tweeked the colors by raising the red levels, unset vivid setting, set brightness to 50-53, lowered the contrast to 7-12 and used the sharpness set at 5-6, this thing looks incredible using a cable box. Even the regular channels look good to great. Add the $60 extended warranty for 2 yrs compared to $200-$300 at CC or BB. After all its new to the market but "WHY" pay 2-3 times more for a brand name when quality is what you want. Thats why the big names are suffering. My opinion only! I will buy a 46" for my living room!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tonetls
Lees Summit, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value and Quality
7/5/2007

Customer review by thetiger01

4.0 stars 7/5/2007 by thetiger01
by thetiger01

Buying your first big screen TV is an exciting time, and I was even more thrilled when I brought home my Polaroid LCD TV. At a fraction of the cost of the "Big Boys" the Polaroid delivers excellent pictures to a very impressive 40 inch LCD. Living in an apartment the room itself isnt that bug so when cou can choose to save $100 by dropping 2 inches, its worth it. This TV is excellent for those looking to get into the HD market.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thetiger01
Valparaiso, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
stopped working after 1 year
12/23/2007

Customer review by madcustomer

1.0 stars 12/23/2007 by madcustomer
by madcustomer

We bought this tv because we heard it was a good brand. We have had it for 13 months and it wont turn on anymore. There was a one year warranty on it so we are out of luck. We called polaroid and they will not help us. So basically we spent a lot of money on a tv that worked for one year. I do not recommend this television to anyone to buy unless you want to waste your money!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
madcustomer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Polaroid? You bet!
10/13/2007

Customer review by rasjmt23

5.0 stars 10/13/2007 by rasjmt23
by rasjmt23

I almost went with another brand. Polaroid? I thought they made just camera's. I reviewed several brands on-line and really wanted the Sony; but way out of my price range. I purchased this TV at my local Wal-Mart store. I like the ability to access each TV's MENU section to see how easily it functions and Wal-Mart let me do just that. The Polaroid was super simple. Also, like an earlier review person stated: Hooking up additional equipment is a snap. My wife hooked up our computer to it and I was amazed at the picture quality. Other than the price the picture sold me. It is awesome. Just the let you know I specifically bought this TV for gaming. The first thing played on it was Halo 3 and the end result was perfect. This 40" HDTV also has great sound ( for integrated speakers ). I recommend this TV only because I spent 2 months looking at several brands, thus trying to understand the difference between Plasma, LCD, DLP, Rear Projection etc...it gets crazy. LCD in 720 seemed to fit what I wanted to use it for...Gaming. I hope you enjoy yours as much as I have mine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rasjmt23
Gallatin TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice product
7/25/2007

Customer review by GeoIZsik

5.0 stars 7/25/2007 by GeoIZsik
by GeoIZsik

Great Tv. Better than I expected Pros- Nice Picture at 480p or 720p Nice and big Great Price for tv Cons- I had a "stuck pixle" tht was blue in top right corner of tv but would come and go at random times not a big deal Speakers are on bottom not that great could be better if they were on the side

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GeoIZsik
Dub Ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice TV for the price
11/18/2007

Customer review by unanimous415

5.0 stars 11/18/2007 by unanimous415
by unanimous415

I have only had this TV for a few weeks but I was happy with it out of the box. I have not had any problems with it. The picture quality is nice with the HDMI. The sound is ok nothing to brag about but who needs it when you have a home theater system. I looked at other TVs for around the same price and this one blew them out of the water with it's fetures and picture quality. All around nice TV.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
unanimous415
San Diego, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great tv
1/18/2008

Customer review by electronics101

4.0 stars 1/18/2008 by electronics101
by electronics101

I use this TV every day and it works great could of used pip and the sound can get scratchy when it is lows but that is expected I have used this for every thing ps3 cable box both 720p HD and VGA computer and the all work great could of used more HDMI ports though.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
electronics101
winfield KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Consider This Review Before Purchasing
12/19/2007

Customer review by Jaice

3.0 stars 12/19/2007 by Jaice
by Jaice

I researched this television before purchasing it on 8/25/07, so the expectations that I had were not that high, which is why I gave it a five. I went to purchase it knowing the repercussions. On Saturday, December 15, 2007, this television's control box blew out on me; 23 days after the 90 day return period. Luckily, I still have the manufacturer's warranty so I need not worry for right now; but it is disheartening. On the upside, while the TV was operational, there was no problem with anything whatsoever. The picture quality is awesome, the sound is fantastic; but there are not many sound customizations such as echo or orchestra or things of that nature. My advice for purchasing this television is to get the warranty that Wal-Mart offers along with this purchase. If you do not and chose to stick with the manufacturer's warranty as I did, you may find yourself sitting at home for a couple of days without your main TV (which was also my computer monitor for the media center I set up in my living room. The control box that is coming in the mail is out of stock (*angry*) so I have to wait until one is in stock before they FedEx it to me (that's right, at least it's FedEx). Two days after the shipment, a service technician is suppose to call and do the labor; all covered by the one year manufacturer's warranty. I thought I would give a full length review of this product because of the cost. My final review is that this is a EXCELLENT television for the price. If you are new to purchasing HDTV's, please understand that you need to purchase an HDMI cable to get the full functionality of HDMI equipment such as HD DVD players and so forth. Do not expect to get a digital cable box and expect miracles because this is not how the technology works. Even digital cable boxes have HDMI outputs for this reason. Digital does not mean clearer, it just means that it is a different broadcasting signal. Know your purchase before buying this. Even the DVD Upconverts that are out now give out 720i resolution with a HDMI cable. The Toshiba HD DVD player I purchased at Wal-Mart gives 1080i resolution (The Bourne Ultimatum was awesome). Good luck with your purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jaice
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Picture Blackout
3/20/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 3/20/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My picture blackout and you can still hear the show. I have to turn it off and on again before the picture comes back. It does this to me once a day. I am taking it back to the store because I only had it for 3weeks. I love the picture and the price but I will make sure I get an extended service agreement.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
no good
11/2/2007

Customer review by dude1065

1.0 stars 11/2/2007 by dude1065
by dude1065

this tv cost me over $1,000.00 dollars. bought 03/03/07, went out in 7 months. can not get any support from polaroid. do not reccomed this tv.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dude1065
ogden,ut.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
worst tv yet
9/16/2007

Customer review by joseph86

1.0 stars 9/16/2007 by joseph86
by joseph86

I bought my 1st tv and there was a pixel out.I though I was good when i returned it and my second one lasted a month and now it will not turn on.I think I am done buying this tv.I do not recommend this inless you enjoy returning it often.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
joseph86
tacoma WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Great TV for the money
9/30/2007

Customer review by Georgi

5.0 stars 9/30/2007 by Georgi
by Georgi

I purchased the 40"Poloroid HDTV about 2 months ago. It has exceeded my expectations in picture sharpness and color. It is used every day and I have had no problems. Although I took the 2 year additional warrranty because of the great price, I doubt I will need to use it. I would highly recommended this product and Wal-Mart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Georgi
Mason, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
great
4/4/2008

Customer review by leeandjenn

5.0 stars 4/4/2008 by leeandjenn
by leeandjenn

wanted a big tv plus an upgrade so i could get a better viewing experiance and couldnt be happier this is an amazing tv picture is perfect and for as small as the built in speakers are the sound is great i would for sure get this tv for the price it looks just as good as the 1900.00 one right next to it

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
leeandjenn
waterloo,iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
10/10/2007

Customer review by EdwardsMomma

5.0 stars 10/10/2007 by EdwardsMomma
by EdwardsMomma

My husband and I spent a few days looking for the PERFECT tv to spend his deployment money on and found this one. We are extremelly happy with our purchase. I dont see where some have said that its blurry on channels that doesnt have HD. We have the HD service but hardly use it and I have never noticed that its blurry on normal channels. I also enjoy that the buttons are on the side of the TV making it hard for my 11 month old to change the channel. That was a big plus for us. I also love the fact of all of the inputs as we have a home theater set hooked up, cable box, xbox 360 and wii all hooked up with it and didnt have to purchase something else to do it. I also enjoy the fact I can hook up my computer to it. Who wouldnt want a 40inch computer screen.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EdwardsMomma
Watertown, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT TV FOR A GREAT PRICE!!!
7/30/2007

Customer review by jsn33

5.0 stars 7/30/2007 by jsn33
by jsn33

This is probably one of the best HDTV's for the money. The picture and sound quality are excellent. This TV has plenty of features to include picture in a picture. You cant beat the price for this TV.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jsn33
Laurel, Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
worth the wait
8/21/2007

Customer review by Maureen44

5.0 stars 8/21/2007 by Maureen44
by Maureen44

I really pondered on the idea of getting this tv for months. I went to Walmart and picked it up, got it all hooked up and still I wasn't sure weather I had made a good purchase and about 3 hours after watching it, it blew up, went totally black. I contacted polaroid right away and went back to Walmart with the tv, both places were more than helpful. I got the new tv home and hooked it up and now that I have one that isn't defective, it is wonderful and I don't regret a thing I had to go through as long as I ended up with this tv. The picture is great and I see in other reviews that people are complaining about the speakers but mine are great. I would suggest buying this tv to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Maureen44
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Product is great, shipping was bad!
11/27/2007

Customer review by cimpalaman

5.0 stars 11/27/2007 by cimpalaman
by cimpalaman

The first TV was broken when it arrived and would not work. The shipper (Seko) called 3 days before it arrived to let me know the set was damaged and wanted to ship it back to the distributor. I let them go ahead and ship the broken set because I was promised it could be returned to the local store for replacement or refund which is what I did. The store personnel were most helpful and exchanged the set for the last one they had. The new set works great and I am pleased with both the set and the Walmart Service -Fort Oglethope, Georgia store! The choice of shipper could be better but at least they called to let me know there was a problem.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cimpalaman
Ringgold, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great tv
12/3/2007

Customer review by devils

5.0 stars 12/3/2007 by devils
by devils

the tv I purchased is very good nice size and price was very good

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
devils
east stroudsburg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice TV
9/9/2007

Customer review by KentA

5.0 stars 9/9/2007 by KentA
by KentA

We looked at many TV's in other stores and Walmart. This TV for the price was the best value. It's picture compared to one's $600 more, stood out to be a better quality. It's a great TV for our first flat screen.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KentA
Cedarville, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 65 total reviews
1-20 of 65 reviews