Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 168 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

168 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

168 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
58
4 stars
36
3 stars
12
2 stars
19
1 stars
43
1-20 of 156 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 156 total reviews
1-20 of 156 reviews
Cool TV/DVD Player
6/24/2008

Customer review by dancinlady

5.0 stars 6/24/2008 by dancinlady
by dancinlady

This tv is great. The DVD player is cool and I love all the other features. Like being able to use my memory card from my digetal camera to view pictures on the LCD screen. The tv does seem to put off a lot of heat so would be better if hung on wall rather than in a TV Armoire. I just can't seem to find an inexpensive wall mount for it. I made a mistake and bought a universal one from Target, it didn't fit at all....I lost my receipt and unlike Walmart they wouldn't even give me credit for it. That's $50 down the drain. At least WalMart would have given me a gift card. Believe me this was the first thing I've ever returned without a receipt there because I always shop at WalMart! Plus I love Walmart.com, it's the best !!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dancinlady
New Caney, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not bad but not great
7/4/2007

Customer review by Steelerway

3.0 stars 7/4/2007 by Steelerway
by Steelerway

This isn't the greatest LCD out their but it isn't the worst either. It has a lot of great features like the built in DVD player, usb port and a card reader to display your digital pictures, watch movies or hook up other digital equipment to use with the TV. I have a Samsung 40 inch LCD and this TV has a picture that is at least just as bright and colorful. It isn't quite as sharp as the Samsung but overall it is pretty good. My only gripe is that when on the non HD channels (you need to purchase this service as well) the TV tends to cut off the heads of people in the wide screen or full screen modes. That also goes for subtitles as well. For the price the TV has a lot to offer but the cut off heads are hard to get used to. If all channels were HD then this wouldn't be an issue. Until that time this could be a problem.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Steelerway
Port St John, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Overall TV with quality
8/3/2007

Customer review by ScottyD30

5.0 stars 8/3/2007 by ScottyD30
by ScottyD30

I did my fair share of browsing for months over tv's with built in DVD players. All the name brand ones, had similar features but a very steep prices. Polaroid had a name you could trust and for the price was a great deal. Pros- Universal remote, works with my comcast box. speakers are better than other LCD tvs, but for DVDs you need to turn up the volume. Picture is great!!! Allows full and widescreen modes. 1200:1 Contrast. Much better than any westinghouse or sylvania comparision. Allows for DVI and SD card outputs and computer hook ups Cons- DVD player can make some motorized noises when the turns starts and is turned on. Nothing too bothersome. Had one dead pixel on the first unit I purchased, but returned and got a new one and have been fine since. Takes a second to change channels when hooked up with hdmi, but I think thats all HD tvs. Great overall buy and I recommend it to anyone F

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScottyD30
Miami, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY THIS TV!
8/10/2007

Customer review by osufan

1.0 stars 8/10/2007 by osufan
by osufan

I bought this because it was a good price and had a built in DVD. Boy was it a mistake! The first TV worked only 3 weeks then the picture and sound just stopped. I called Polaroid and after another 2 weeks, they had a repairperson pick it up. It was in the shop 6 weeks and then determined it could not be repaired so they sent me a replacement. I guess there was some progress because the replacement worked 3 months instead of 3 weeks! Again, the picture and sound just stopped. I have never had an electronic product be as bad as this TV. Plus the Polaroid customer service is very bad, even though the TV is still under warranty it takes them forever to respond. Trust me, buy something else!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
osufan
Oklahoma City
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DVD PLAYER RUINS THIS TV!
11/7/2007

Customer review by 01cvpi

1.0 stars 11/7/2007 by 01cvpi
by 01cvpi

DVD player died again. Last time I exchanged the TV for the same model. This time WalMart will be giving me a better TV and some extra money in my pocket to buy a quality DVD player that does not make noise every 50 seconds or cause DVDs to freeze, skip, or not load at all. Funny.... my 3 year old SONY PLAYSTATION 2 has worked just GREAT as a DVD player (especially at playing the DVDs the Polaroid TV can't!) over the years and if it only had component or HDMI hook ups I'd STILL be using it! DVD player controls on the remote do seem as an afterthought, so many functions (like subtitle scrolling) are missing. Picture looks sub-par on non-HD channels (maybe Time Warner's fault, an HD box with no HDMI hook ups??), but even with HD very bright colors and whites get burned together and skin tones get blurred. "Feature" sticker on front of TV left adhesive all over, not easy to remove. There are better deals out there!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
01cvpi
Milwaukee Wi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I wouldn't purchase this product!
11/15/2007

Customer review by specialK07

1.0 stars 11/15/2007 by specialK07
by specialK07

My husband purchased a Polaroid 32 inch HDTV flat screen TV less than 15 months ago and it's completely died!! We didn't purchase an extended warranty as we thought an expensive TV should last longer than 15 months!! It's been very disappointing!! I will never purchase a Polaroid TV again!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
specialK07
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Poor Quality
8/8/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 8/8/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

AVOID this product and opt to invest in a better television. I have had this televisions for about 8 months. It was fine up until yesterday when the screen grayed out. I called the support line and the representative told me right away that the control box is out. Sounds like it's a common defect bcs she diagnosed it quite easily. She then placed an order for part, and when I called today to check the status of the part order and found out it is on back order and will take 4-6 weeks before the parts will come in. Then some additional time for them to ship it to me, and then I need to schedule an appointment with a tech so they can come and fit it. I'm looking at perhaps 1- 2 months before I can get this resolved. After reading some reviews on-line, it appears this is a common occurrence with Polaroid TV's... defective parts and poor response time. Even if this does get fixed no telling how long the second control box will last. I even asked if there was any way to purchase the control box and the answer was 'No.'

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful TV
7/24/2007

Customer review by Scotty5909

4.0 stars 7/24/2007 by Scotty5909
by Scotty5909

I had looked around and TV's for awhile and decided to take a chance with this model, I liked that it had the build-in DVD player(which plays all your DVD's in 720i HD which really makes the differnce. The picture quality is one of the best around.I have owned this TV for over a month and have been completely happy with it. My only problem with the TV is that you really need extra speakers. Like all LCD and Plasma TV's the speakers are only so powerful, I do have to say that the speakers are better than my friend who has a much higher priced LCD. The full screen and wide screen is alittle tricky to use at first, Full is best for TV watching and Wide is the best for DVD. I've hooked up my memory card and photo's show up in HD, and I was also able to hook up my IPod. I would totaly recommend this TV to anyone who is looking for quality with a low price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scotty5909
Plano, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Over all a good TV!
8/30/2007

Customer review by mreeed

5.0 stars 8/30/2007 by mreeed
by mreeed

I purchased this model because of three main reasons. 1) ability to change aspect ratio on the fly 2) built in DVD player 3) high wattage stereo amp..20W compared to most others at 10W. The first one I purchased lasted 5 minutes do to LCD screen burned out. Would not display a picture after that. I took it back the next day and got a second one of same model. This one lasted a little over two weeks until the DVD player went out. It would not accept or play any more discs. I took it back and am now using my third one of same model. I am crossing my fingers in hope that this one will be the keeper. I REALLY don't want to have to find a different brand so I will take back as long as Wal-Mart will allow if they keep on breaking. Wal-Mart's customer service was very very nice and understanding. No questions ask. they were kind of in shock as I have been with me being on my third TV.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mreeed
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Definitely Not Worth It
11/8/2010

Customer review by tictock

1.0 stars 11/8/2010 by tictock
by tictock

I've had this TV just about 3 years (the warranty expired 3 weeks ago) and it's done. No picture, no sound, no nothing. DON'T waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tictock
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good TV for the money
10/15/2007

Customer review by Ivorytiger

5.0 stars 10/15/2007 by Ivorytiger
by Ivorytiger

I bought this TV and so far it is excellent. It has a beautiful picture. Is easy to operate and set up. I wanted the DVD play built in so I didn't have to hook up another function in addition to the cable box. I couldn't be more pleased. The screen resolution is very good. The details are excellent. I find the wider screen needs time to adjust to but I would recommend this TV for sure. It wasn't expensive and lives up to it's claims. Also the TV remote will operate the cable box which is helpful. So far so good. If any thing changes come up I will add another update.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ivorytiger
Southeast Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Well- I told you!!!
9/25/2007

Customer review by amfmradio

2.0 stars 9/25/2007 by amfmradio
by amfmradio

Polaroid is out of Business. I drove past world Headquarters on RT128 outside of Boston..It's closed!! So what do you do 1-2-3 years from now if something breaks in the extended plan. The remote does not work anything else and my "universal" remote does not program all the buttons. So when using with my VCR-DVD-Playstation...I have to use a multitude of remotes...My universal remote gives me VCR-DVD Then on the TV gives me channel changing and volume along with on off. I have to use the supplied remote to change inputs...so much for "universal" Going from an 18 year old RCA to this means a nice picture and sound, but it was 18 years old. At least my 18 year old RCA I could use 1 remote for everything...DVD-VCR-PLAYSTATION. It's obvious someone is making them for Polaroid... ?Regarding my top of the line 18 year old RCA- I paid $499.95 then...I have to ask...my 18 yo RCA cost me...53 cents a week...will this one?? Answer is NO..The only redeeming feature is if it fails during the service contract and they can't fix it, I get a new one...So I got the service plan..the best deal for $58.88

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amfmradio
Boston Surburbs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/8/2007

Customer review by Animalfriend

4.0 stars 8/8/2007 by Animalfriend
by Animalfriend

Great TV for the price. The picture is clear, the sound is very good. I am 'electronic' illiterate though and the manual doesn't at all describe how I have had to hookup the set. FYI my set gets a picture on Video 5 and the Playstation is hooked up where the manual shows to hook up a camera!! I did not find much help at the Tech. Support number either. Disappointed with such a large corporation for that.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Animalfriend
Ft. Worth TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Broke in 1/2 hour
7/11/2007

Customer review by master12

1.0 stars 7/11/2007 by master12
by master12

Screen went out in 1/2 an hour. Called customer service for Polaroid and he said it sounded like tuner went out. By the sound of his voice and familiarity with the problem this might happen often. Maybe its just my bad luck, but other TV's I've purchased and ones my friends have purchased have never had these types of problems on newer LCD's

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
master12
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Awful customer service
10/3/2007

Customer review by dixiedo

1.0 stars 10/3/2007 by dixiedo
by dixiedo

I purchased this TV in Feb 07 and it ceased to function on Aug 6. As of this date I have gotten absolutely no resolution from Polaroid. A control Box has been "backordered" for 8 weeks. I would caution consumers to be very wary to purchasing a Polaroid TV .

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dixiedo
Sumter, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Worst TV EVER!
9/22/2011

Customer review by gigigayle

1.0 stars 9/22/2011 by gigigayle
by gigigayle

I bought this TV 2/10/08. Cost- 755.66. We had to return it to Walmart on 2/11/08 because the DVD player quit working. On 6/4/08, the DVD player quit working again. TV still under warranty so Polaroid mailed a new DVD player. I had to take out the old one, replace it with the new one and then mail the old one back to Polaroid, which meant a trip to the post office. Today, 9/22/11, the TV screen went out. The TV isn't even 4 years old. We had a Zenith last 25 years. But Polaroid will not fix it this time. They said they could mail yet another part to my house at a cost of $145 and it will take 6-10 days to get the part. Well, TV prices have come down so much, I'm thinking I'd be better off buying a new and DIFFERENT BRAND TV so I'll have it tonight and hauling this piece of junk to the recycle bin. If you like replacing your TV every 3 years, this is the television for you. Otherwise, I'd suggest buying ANY other brand. Hmm. But Kodak replaced a part for my All in One printer for FREE and shipped it over night, and the printer was 3 years old too. Think my next camera will be a Kodak and NOT a Polaroid too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gigigayle
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
product service
11/8/2007

Customer review by cheech

4.0 stars 11/8/2007 by cheech
by cheech

I had bought one of these at walmart last year and liked it so I purchased another (but this time on-line). I was not able to get it set up and finally called Polaroid tech support. They were great and after some time, the guy said "sorry, but I had a bad one and would have to return it". I was 150 miles from the walmart I purchased it from so I went to another store that was close by. They immediately gave me a cash refund, and then I discovered that the store had the same TV in stock. A few minutes later, I had a new one, and when I got home it took about ten minutes to get it set up and working fine. Polaroid was great and so was walmart customer service (as always).

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cheech
Chesapeake, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice Upgrade!
1/1/2008

Customer review by allybellsdad

4.0 stars 1/1/2008 by allybellsdad
by allybellsdad

We purchased this flat screen for my daughters bedroom which had become a bit constricted with all her toys and a 10 year old 31" "box" tv. We like the aspect of having the built in dvd player since she watches a lot of movies. It has saved us enough space, with the wall mount, for my wife to buy more toys to cover the floor! The picture is good with the standard coaxial. We never tried to hook it up to the digital cable in the living room. Sound is fine. One thing that is a bit annoying is the polariod logo pops up on the screen every time you turn the tv on. Remote is fine but may a bit confusing for some. DVD player loads fast and has a last memory function which is great. Switching inputs could be a bit easier. All around great tv for the money, my wife and I are thinking about purchasing another for our room, and kick out the old "box". Good Buy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
allybellsdad
myrtle beach, sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not Recommended
10/11/2007

Customer review by ChristineT

1.0 stars 10/11/2007 by ChristineT
by ChristineT

I purchased this TV several months back and returned it about two days later. For as much as this TV costs, I would've expected a much better quality. When I saw this TV in the store I thought the picture on this model was the best of all the TV's on display. When I got it home and hooked it up, I was not very pleased with the picture quality. Then I put in the DVD movie "Finding Nemo" and was surprised to see how distorted the colors were. At first I thought maybe it was just the DVD player, but then after watching and episode of "CSI Miami" every brightly colored screen-shot was also color-distorted. In some of these shots the picture was so blurry that you couldn't tell what was happening in the background. So I decided to return this TV and keep the old TV that my parents purchased back in 1988 that has a better quality picture than this model.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChristineT
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very disappointing
12/16/2007

Customer review by w9rat

2.0 stars 12/16/2007 by w9rat
by w9rat

We've only owned this polaroid for 24 hours - but the quality issues are obvious. Picture quality is good - but 2 major issues with the screen. Top left there is an obvious manufacturing issue - looks like an internal seal or mount not square, resulting in an obstruction sticking down about .25" into the viewable picture area. Another problem is the screen/picture itself. While the overall picture is very good (the main reason we purchased), when watching something dark (night scenes, etc.) all 4 corners of the screen are very light - almost like a backlight is on. The dvd player works very well - much quicker in response time than external dvd players we've used before. Overall - a very big disappointment. The main reason people purchase these is for the picture quality. This one will soon find itself in the return bin at customer service.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
w9rat
plymouth, in
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 156 total reviews
1-20 of 156 reviews