Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 168 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

168 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

168 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
58
4 stars
36
3 stars
12
2 stars
19
1 stars
43
1-20 of 156 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 156 total reviews
1-20 of 156 reviews
DO NOT BUY THIS TV!
8/10/2007

Customer review by osufan

1.0 stars 8/10/2007 by osufan
by osufan

I bought this because it was a good price and had a built in DVD. Boy was it a mistake! The first TV worked only 3 weeks then the picture and sound just stopped. I called Polaroid and after another 2 weeks, they had a repairperson pick it up. It was in the shop 6 weeks and then determined it could not be repaired so they sent me a replacement. I guess there was some progress because the replacement worked 3 months instead of 3 weeks! Again, the picture and sound just stopped. I have never had an electronic product be as bad as this TV. Plus the Polaroid customer service is very bad, even though the TV is still under warranty it takes them forever to respond. Trust me, buy something else!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
osufan
Oklahoma City
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I wouldn't purchase this product!
11/15/2007

Customer review by specialK07

1.0 stars 11/15/2007 by specialK07
by specialK07

My husband purchased a Polaroid 32 inch HDTV flat screen TV less than 15 months ago and it's completely died!! We didn't purchase an extended warranty as we thought an expensive TV should last longer than 15 months!! It's been very disappointing!! I will never purchase a Polaroid TV again!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
specialK07
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not bad but not great
7/4/2007

Customer review by Steelerway

3.0 stars 7/4/2007 by Steelerway
by Steelerway

This isn't the greatest LCD out their but it isn't the worst either. It has a lot of great features like the built in DVD player, usb port and a card reader to display your digital pictures, watch movies or hook up other digital equipment to use with the TV. I have a Samsung 40 inch LCD and this TV has a picture that is at least just as bright and colorful. It isn't quite as sharp as the Samsung but overall it is pretty good. My only gripe is that when on the non HD channels (you need to purchase this service as well) the TV tends to cut off the heads of people in the wide screen or full screen modes. That also goes for subtitles as well. For the price the TV has a lot to offer but the cut off heads are hard to get used to. If all channels were HD then this wouldn't be an issue. Until that time this could be a problem.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Steelerway
Port St John, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Definitely Not Worth It
11/8/2010

Customer review by tictock

1.0 stars 11/8/2010 by tictock
by tictock

I've had this TV just about 3 years (the warranty expired 3 weeks ago) and it's done. No picture, no sound, no nothing. DON'T waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tictock
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Overall TV with quality
8/3/2007

Customer review by ScottyD30

5.0 stars 8/3/2007 by ScottyD30
by ScottyD30

I did my fair share of browsing for months over tv's with built in DVD players. All the name brand ones, had similar features but a very steep prices. Polaroid had a name you could trust and for the price was a great deal. Pros- Universal remote, works with my comcast box. speakers are better than other LCD tvs, but for DVDs you need to turn up the volume. Picture is great!!! Allows full and widescreen modes. 1200:1 Contrast. Much better than any westinghouse or sylvania comparision. Allows for DVI and SD card outputs and computer hook ups Cons- DVD player can make some motorized noises when the turns starts and is turned on. Nothing too bothersome. Had one dead pixel on the first unit I purchased, but returned and got a new one and have been fine since. Takes a second to change channels when hooked up with hdmi, but I think thats all HD tvs. Great overall buy and I recommend it to anyone F

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScottyD30
Miami, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/8/2007

Customer review by Animalfriend

4.0 stars 8/8/2007 by Animalfriend
by Animalfriend

Great TV for the price. The picture is clear, the sound is very good. I am 'electronic' illiterate though and the manual doesn't at all describe how I have had to hookup the set. FYI my set gets a picture on Video 5 and the Playstation is hooked up where the manual shows to hook up a camera!! I did not find much help at the Tech. Support number either. Disappointed with such a large corporation for that.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Animalfriend
Ft. Worth TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A GOOD VALUE
7/1/2007

Customer review by MARYLAND

4.0 stars 7/1/2007 by MARYLAND
by MARYLAND

There are not a lot of choices out there for an affordable LCD/ DVD combo that are a reasonable price. This TV looks great, operates just fine, and I would recommend it. We have it in the bedroom, so it doesn't get as much "on-time" as a TV might in a family room or a play room.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MARYLAND
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awful customer service
10/3/2007

Customer review by dixiedo

1.0 stars 10/3/2007 by dixiedo
by dixiedo

I purchased this TV in Feb 07 and it ceased to function on Aug 6. As of this date I have gotten absolutely no resolution from Polaroid. A control Box has been "backordered" for 8 weeks. I would caution consumers to be very wary to purchasing a Polaroid TV .

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dixiedo
Sumter, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Broke in 1/2 hour
7/11/2007

Customer review by master12

1.0 stars 7/11/2007 by master12
by master12

Screen went out in 1/2 an hour. Called customer service for Polaroid and he said it sounded like tuner went out. By the sound of his voice and familiarity with the problem this might happen often. Maybe its just my bad luck, but other TV's I've purchased and ones my friends have purchased have never had these types of problems on newer LCD's

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
master12
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
DVD PLAYER RUINS THIS TV!
11/7/2007

Customer review by 01cvpi

1.0 stars 11/7/2007 by 01cvpi
by 01cvpi

DVD player died again. Last time I exchanged the TV for the same model. This time WalMart will be giving me a better TV and some extra money in my pocket to buy a quality DVD player that does not make noise every 50 seconds or cause DVDs to freeze, skip, or not load at all. Funny.... my 3 year old SONY PLAYSTATION 2 has worked just GREAT as a DVD player (especially at playing the DVDs the Polaroid TV can't!) over the years and if it only had component or HDMI hook ups I'd STILL be using it! DVD player controls on the remote do seem as an afterthought, so many functions (like subtitle scrolling) are missing. Picture looks sub-par on non-HD channels (maybe Time Warner's fault, an HD box with no HDMI hook ups??), but even with HD very bright colors and whites get burned together and skin tones get blurred. "Feature" sticker on front of TV left adhesive all over, not easy to remove. There are better deals out there!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
01cvpi
Milwaukee Wi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top notch product
12/25/2007

Customer review by tigbo

5.0 stars 12/25/2007 by tigbo
by tigbo

I bought one of these last spring and was so impressed I recently returned and bought my father one as well. I never knew Polaroid made a HDTV but if this is one of their first they seem to have gotten it right straight out of the box. We have it connected to our computer, have digital cable, use it for SD camera and video viewing and play digital music through it as well. The only thing that would improve it would be a easier or quicker way to toggle from one type of connection to another. Great tv

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tigbo
Martinsville, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
Awesome Product
8/28/2007

Customer review by Nightdame

5.0 stars 8/28/2007 by Nightdame
by Nightdame

This TV is the BEST! Great Picture and the sound quality can't be beat!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nightdame
Nampa,Id
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/27/2007

Customer review by ASBURY

5.0 stars 12/27/2007 by ASBURY
by ASBURY

The TV is so clear and of great quality I would definatly recommend this product to anyone. I started to get the one on the Blitz sale but so glad I paid that little extra to get this one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ASBURY
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good TV for the money
10/15/2007

Customer review by Ivorytiger

5.0 stars 10/15/2007 by Ivorytiger
by Ivorytiger

I bought this TV and so far it is excellent. It has a beautiful picture. Is easy to operate and set up. I wanted the DVD play built in so I didn't have to hook up another function in addition to the cable box. I couldn't be more pleased. The screen resolution is very good. The details are excellent. I find the wider screen needs time to adjust to but I would recommend this TV for sure. It wasn't expensive and lives up to it's claims. Also the TV remote will operate the cable box which is helpful. So far so good. If any thing changes come up I will add another update.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ivorytiger
Southeast Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
EXCELLENT!!!
11/1/2007

Customer review by LuanneInNY

5.0 stars 11/1/2007 by LuanneInNY
by LuanneInNY

Lightweight, easy to install and setup, features are also easy to use! I am very satisfied with the picture quality and sound is fantastic even without external speakers! The internal DVD player is also just as easy to use with just a few clicks on the remote and the HD is simply amazing! Best feature? Being able to adjust the picture height from letterbox to full screen! Really like that feature!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LuanneInNY
Ferndale, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It Works
8/1/2007

Customer review by Likewhatworks

5.0 stars 8/1/2007 by Likewhatworks
by Likewhatworks

This 32" Widescreen TV works. It worked right out of the box, first time everytime. You can manually adjust the picture color,brightness and contrast if you don't like the factory presets and you can adjust the sound, bass and treble. ( I liked the presets). I also like things that work the way they were made to, and this TV delivers. The large screen is easy on old eyes and the sound is far superior to other TV's. The remote is easy to understand and use. The owners manual needs improvement. Want a good TV? buy this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Likewhatworks
Mebane, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Buy!
11/14/2007

Customer review by Lizzy5

5.0 stars 11/14/2007 by Lizzy5
by Lizzy5

Am very pleased w/this TV/DVD. Can't beat the price for all you are getting. Love the built-in DVD player. Wouldn't even bother checking out the BIG guys as don't think you'll get a better price anywhere. Highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lizzy5
Ocean City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT PRODUCT
1/11/2008

Customer review by MRMRSSNOW

5.0 stars 1/11/2008 by MRMRSSNOW
by MRMRSSNOW

When our bedroom TV finally gave out we decided to get a better quality TV and because of our age a larger screen so we could see better. We checked out TV's at several stores. Polaroid was a known name, the picture was so clear and sharp compared to other models in the same price range. The sound is much clearer then our larger living room TV. The built in CD player was a plus. This was our Christmas Present to ourselves. We could not be happier. We had expected to pay more. Walmart had the best price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MRMRSSNOW
Pittsburgh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic Buy For The Money!!!
9/28/2007

Customer review by Katey

4.0 stars 9/28/2007 by Katey
by Katey

The only problem we had was with DVD player!! We called customer service (they were very nice and sounded like they knew their product very well) and they told us they would send us another module and someone to fix it within a week!!! Other than that small detail the tv is perfect!!! Great size, good picture, and really good sound!!! I like the fact that through the menu you can change all of the bass and treble to make it sound the way you want, and you don't have to buy hundreds of dollars worth of speakers to make it sound half way decent!! Defiantly worth the money!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Katey
Nacogdoches, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Picture, good. Extras so-so. Customer care? Erm...
10/5/2007

Customer review by Guyonahi

4.0 stars 10/5/2007 by Guyonahi
by Guyonahi

I purchased this TV after checking out a lot of sets. I didn't particularly want or need a built-in DVD but the TV had the best picture in the store so I just considered it an added extra. First off, whenever you buy a TV it will never look as good at home, unless you calibrate it. Right out-of-the-box I was so disappointed with the picture I may well have returned it. I used a calibration DVD (Discwasher) and now it has an exceptional picture (HD has to be seen). I emailed Polaroid the same day I bought it as the DVD kept whirring every so often when no disc was inserted. They responded by saying this was normal. I emailed them again asking if every 90 seconds was normal and they said it was! The only way around this (what I would call 'problem') is to leave a DVD or CD installed all the time. I have a DVD recorder hooked up externally so I really didn't need the internal one. I did take out the extended warranty so we'll see how it goes. Also on the DVD player, when you insert a disc the TV doesn't automatically switch so you have to bring up the Inputs menu and select DVD. Poor. There's an SD card reader which is a nice touch but also seems like an afterthought (like the DVD) because although it does display pictures, they are almost always over-exposed (they show perfect on my digital camera LCD and also print out ok on my photo printer) and the images take too long to come up on-screen. The rotate-image is a nice feature though. There is a USB slot that I have yet to use. Generally the menus have the settings you would expect on a set of this size. The remote is quite large as it has to accomodate the DVD control buttons but it was ill-thought out as the layout seems to have been decided at random. Also when you change channels, there is a delay of a couple of seconds. You have to press Enter after pressing your channel number if you want to switch immediately! Although the picture quality (now anyway) is very good, I still could not recommend this set due to the problems above and also how Polaroid respond to what I would class as an issue. Until I saw this set I didn't even know Polaroid made TVs (I just emigrated from the UK). If you only worry about picture quality then this set is great. If you want better navigation of your menu, good customer support and a higher resolution than 720p then go elsewhere. Luckily this was a bedroom TV. When I am looking for a larger screen TV in a few months for my main set, I will not be going with Polaroid.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Guyonahi
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 156 total reviews
1-20 of 156 reviews