Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.6out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 | 89 reviews
5 stars
69
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
Sort by: 
1-20 of 74 reviews
1-20 of 74 reviews
1/29/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have bought these two detectors and so far they are working fine, A small price to pay for your life.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good product!
1/16/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Pros: Compact design. Cons: It is extremely difficult if not impossible to insert the 9V battery into this unit. The manufacturer's response was that they are aware of this problem and have re-designed the unit to accept three AA batteries (these work well). Just ensure that you get the new design unit with the AA batteries (this will be stated at the rear of the package). Other thoughts: This model does not have a digital display. Pressing buttons to 'Test" tells me nothing except that the alarm sounds at some pre-determined value or per some pre-programmed function which may or may not be related to CO levels. This means that consumers have to place their trust in what the manufacturer states. What would be the price of device malfunction or product design failure? The customer has no way to verify the device calibration. A continuous digital display in PPM of CO levels would be a step in the right direction. The unit that I purchased is going back to the store because there is no way I can install the 9V battery (newer models utilize AA batteries which are fine).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
THIS PRODUCT SAVED MY FAMILY'S LIFES LASTNITE
6/9/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have this in my home. Lastnite it started going off. I had never heard one go off before. I got my kids and pets out of the house and called the fire department. They arrived and found that my house was at 50% full of carbon monoxide where my water heater is at. The water heater was the source of the problem. If it was not for this alarm my children and I would not be here today. This alarm SAVED our lives. I am going to invest in one of these for each room of my house.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (103)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect Product!
8/29/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I looked at CO2 Alarms for a week. This was perfect. Low cost, easy to install. Can't beat the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
nice size
11/2/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
was a replacement for one that died. this one is a nice size. plugged into the bottom socket doesn't interfere with top socket.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Piece of mind:
2/8/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great product and price point from Wally. I ordered it site to store, and it arrived in a few days. The instructions are expanded, so that you can get a complete understanding of how Co detectors work. It also comes with a 9V battery for the backup portion. Another feature that I liked was the fact that the plug is located near the top of the unit, so with it plugged into the bottom outlet, you still have the top outlet available.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not the unit advertised
7/1/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I ordered this model due to the advertised "easy open battery compartment", "front access", "AA batteries" and the "cord" to allow flexible placement. What I got was the same model number with 9 volt battery, back compartment door that was extremely difficult to open and no cord. I specifically chose this unit because it had the features I have been looking for. Now I've been forced to return it and go back to searching... How can the same model number have two different units??? EXTREMELY frustrating!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
First Alert Model CO606
2/6/2009
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this First Alert Model CO606 less than 6 months ago and the light went out and the batteries were not even lasting a day. I don't recommend this product to anybody. I also called them and there mailbox was full and they don't have a way to contact them thru email. I will be looking for another resource for Smoke or Carbon Monoxide Detectors.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A Small Price to Pay For Staying Alive
10/27/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Although you must have a malfunction in a CO2 producing item to rate this product's ability to give warning, it is an absolutely needed item. The test alarm is piercing and loud. Only the drugged would sleep through it. If you use gas of any type, propane, natural, butane, you MUST have one of these. Please.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
First Alert CO605
2/26/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Best price on replacing testers that no longer worked. Battery backup is extremely important feature in my frequent power outage area.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Like my purchase.
6/27/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Arrived quickly. Good packaging. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worth having
1/12/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The CO monitor is reasonably priced and is made by a well known company. I purchased one for each floor of the house including the basement
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Carbon Monoxide Alarm
7/10/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This First Alert carbon monoxide alarm is replacing one I've had for several years. I like the quality, ease of use, - - and the reasonable price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not so sure
12/4/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We had had one of these for years and it worked great. When trying to put the battery in this new one...we could not get it in. The design is poor! It will beep low battery every minute without the backup battery when plugged in! Returned it. Will look for one where the battery is more accessible.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So far so good
2/2/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We only bought this alarm a couple of weeks ago, but it seems to be functioning very well, and the price was about half of what it sells in a different home supplies chain store for the exact same item. So, overall, if it continues to work well, it definitely seems like a good purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awful product
2/21/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I had to return it the next day bc the alarm kept beeping bc the battery never attached. So annoying. A review had said that the manufacturer fixed it by getting triple A batteries but the one sent to me had the old type of battery. Would never buy this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Simple and it works
5/25/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Ordered it over the internet picked it up at the store...was glad to see that a battery was included. Plugged it in tested it and good to go!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ugh...wrong batteries!
1/7/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Advertised with two AA batteries. Received 9V unit. Returning it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
DISAPPOINTED
10/22/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
THIS DEVISE MAY WORK WELL BUT MY DISAPPOINTMENT WAS THAT THIS DETECTOR USED V9 BATTERY INSTEAD OF WHAT THE DESCRIPTION STATED ON THE WALMART WEBSITE. I SPECIFICALLY WAS LOOKING FOR ONE THAT USED AA BATTERY BUT INSTEAD RECEIVED ONE THAT USED V9 BATTERY. NOW I HAVE TO RETURN THIS AND IT IS JUST FRUSTRATING TO HAVE TO TAKE THE TIME TO RETURN SOMETHING BECAUSE THE INFORMATION IS INCORRECT ON THE WALMART WEBSITE! BUT ALL IN ALL I HEAR FIRST ALERT IS A GOOD PRODUCT. I COULDN'T SAY IT IS A BAD PRODUCT. I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND THIS ONE TO A FRIEND IF THEY ARE LOOKING FOR ONE THAT USES AA BATTERY.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Get this!
10/21/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Every home should have one or more. It even comes with the battery that's needed for backup if power goes out.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641774, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-