Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 56 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

56 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

56 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
1-20 of 43 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
GREAT PICTURE QUALITY
8/5/2007

Customer review by magadans

5.0 stars 8/5/2007 by magadans
by magadans

I GOT THIS TV COUPLE WEEKS AGO AFTER LOTS OF RESEARCH AND LOOKING AROUND. THE PICTURE QUALITY IS GREAT. I AM SO HAPPY (EVEN THAT I GET SO PICKY ) . I RECOMMEND THIS TV FOR MOVIE PLAYING, BUT NOT FOR HARDCORE VIDEO GAME PLAYERS CAUSE THE PLASMA TVS WILL NEED TO BE GIVEN A BREAK EVERY FEW HOURS.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
magadans
CANOGA PARK CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great HDTV!
8/2/2007

Customer review by spaghettios

5.0 stars 8/2/2007 by spaghettios
by spaghettios

Great value for a 50" plasma. Standard DVD's are breathtaking. Even standard def tv looks good on this set. Sounds great, looks very sharp on the wall. All around very happy. Cons: Remote could have been a little more substantial. No VGA in. Has 4 little nubs on back (I assume for use with some proprietary mounting system) which have to be removed before using a standard wall mount - all with absolutely no documentation for help. None of those cons take away at all from the fact that this would be a great tv for much more $$, let alone at the great price here.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spaghettios
Auburn, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Proud Owner
9/1/2007

Customer review by pickybuyer51

5.0 stars 9/1/2007 by pickybuyer51
by pickybuyer51

This is by far a great HDTV at such a great price compared to other stores with the same TV. The picture is awesome. Very easy setup and would highly recommend this TV to anyone thats shopping for a HDTV.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pickybuyer51
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
after 3 months, still happy
3/28/2008

Customer review by superdan

5.0 stars 3/28/2008 by superdan
by superdan

I read a lot of the reviews on tv's before buying and was cautious going into the hdtv project. After shopping around, I found Walmart had competitve prices including the extended warranty. I've had this tv now for 3 months and I've watched to see if the price had dropped... it hadn't - which is a bonus for me buying when I did. So far, the tv has been great. Hadn't run into any of the problems others have had (reviews). Picture is great. I get my local channels with a rabbit ears antenna. I wasn't overly impressed with my satellite reciever and upgraded to the hd dvr a few weeks ago. Both the over the air and hd satellite channels are excellant. Hard to watch the regular 480i programming anymore. I did contiplate between a 720p/1080i set vs. the new 1080p sets. For the price I paid, I'm glad I went the 720p/1080i route. I'm still a ways off from buying a blu-ray but I do have a hd upconverting dvd players and those movies look as good as the broadcast & HD satellite programming. Regarding the features, there is no picture-in-picture or split-screening, but that is an easy trade for the price. If your looking for a good entry level hdtv and want something big, I think this is a good set.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
superdan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Buy!
9/26/2007

Customer review by walmarttravler

5.0 stars 9/26/2007 by walmarttravler
by walmarttravler

I purchased this tv about six weeks ago. Its a great tv with great picture. Sound is to be expected with such a thin tv (not much room to put speakers). Plus when you buy a 50" plasma/lcd its suggested you get a seperate audio system. I got a dobby digital 7.1 which is awesome. The tv o/s is easy to operate, but if you went from a "dumb" tv it may be a bit of shock. The defualt picture was a little bright for my taste, but i lowered the brightness and its now good to go. A recommened product!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmarttravler
Branson, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent for the price!!!
10/22/2007

Customer review by redndal1

5.0 stars 10/22/2007 by redndal1
by redndal1

This is a great television. The picture is crystal clear. Make sure you have HDTV offered by your cable company. The difference in the analog broadcast vs. the HD broadcasts is night and day. The sound is better than I expected, but much better if connected to an external audio system. Does get a little warm. Would recommend putting the television in a larger room. Overall, I am very please with my purchase of this television.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
redndal1
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Philips Service
2/28/2008

Customer review by cncjmb

3.0 stars 2/28/2008 by cncjmb
by cncjmb

The power supply failed on my Philips 50" HDTV after two weeks of operation. It took six weeks for Philips to get the unit repaired. There are progressive scan lines in the picture even with the unit connected to a Comcast HDTV box. The TV screen gets extremely hot. When I purchase another TV, it will not be made by Philips Electronics.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cncjmb
Derry, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Couldnt Get A Better Deal!
2/4/2008

Customer review by CudaGirl71

5.0 stars 2/4/2008 by CudaGirl71
by CudaGirl71

My husband and I have looked and researched for a plasma tv for about 2 months. Well, we are sooo happy with this purchase! The colors are so vibrant and the quality of the picture is awesome! We have HD channels and of course the picture, colors, quality is outstanding but I cant be anymore pleased with the "regular" channels too. We love this tv!! We have a 51" DLP projection tv that we replaced this one with. DLP is supposed to give the best "quality, vibrant" picture......This plasma tv blows that out of the water!! I cant say enough about this plasma. The features are great and easy to use. And you cant get a better deal for the price and quality of this tv!! You cant go wrong with this tv! You wont be sorry if you decide to buy this tv!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CudaGirl71
Milford, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
sweet product
12/30/2007

Customer review by LikeARaccoon

5.0 stars 12/30/2007 by LikeARaccoon
by LikeARaccoon

the color and sound quality is amazing, the tv is really heavy make sure you have a secure/sturdy tv stand....great buy

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LikeARaccoon
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Absolutely A Great Buy
2/14/2008

Customer review by Blueboy1

5.0 stars 2/14/2008 by Blueboy1
by Blueboy1

This is ONE GREAT tv. I'm very pickey about products I buy. I read the spec's and features on this model and it has everything including a built in 30 watt amplifier, which is great for a tv. It's got an equalizer, pixel plus and many, many more features not found on other sets. Phillips is a well known brand that you have little to no problems with. I can't believe the price Wal-mart is selling it for. It's not a bargain, it's a STEAL. I mounted mine on the optional mounting stand I also got at Wal-Mart and it really looks great. It's like being at the movies. If you want a nice 50" tv with great features and a GOOD PRICE, than this is the one for you. I very, very highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blueboy1
Springfield, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent TV
3/13/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/13/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

After weeks of plasma vs. LCD research I found a plasma TV would be the best fit for me and my family considering our viewing habits. I shopped prices at a few of the big electronics stores and none could touch what I got for the price of this TV. Sure I could've paid $3,000 for a "big-name" 1080 LCD or 1080 plasma but I'm not about to pay that much money for a TV that will probably be technologically outdated in 5 years. Blacks are black and whites are white. Tons of color options. I LOVE IT and everyone else who's seen it loves it, too. Not too sure about the sound quality since I get my audio through a surround system. The only con is the remote. It's pretty much useless.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Lexington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT TV!!!
1/12/2008

Customer review by DABADGUY

4.0 stars 1/12/2008 by DABADGUY
by DABADGUY

GREAT TV 4 THE PRICE !!! N LOOKS GREAT ON MY WALL...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DABADGUY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very nice tv but there are problems
3/8/2008

Customer review by tonybee

4.0 stars 3/8/2008 by tonybee
by tonybee

The picture on this TV is superb! Sound is very good as well. However I use a Dolby Digital reciever system for most movie watching. Digital tuner is excellent. I am one who still use an outside tv antenna for my tv. The tuner pulls in all the analog broadcasts in my area no problem, just like my old tv did. It also picks up the digital broadcasts which are by far much more clearer. In addition there are many more digital channels being broadcast in my area than analog. When the TV autoprogrammed the channels it found fourteen analog stations compared with thirtyeight digital stations. And all these stations are free, over the air broadcasts with many of the programs in HD. The setup menu was very simple and adjustments are very easy to make. I do like this tv alot. However I did need to exchange it for another. The first one exhibited some problems making loud "clicks" and some times losing the picture and/or sound when it would click. The clicking sound was quite loud, it sounded like a relay being activatied. One time when the unit was off, (and had been off for 18 hours) it started clicking. Four or five clicks then silent for awhile then a few more clicks. At this point I decided to exchange it. I did read another post further down this thread where the reviewer indicates being able to se little green lights through the vent holes on the side of the tv. He states that Philips confirms that these lights should not be lit when the unit is off. When my tv was off, these lights would be on. Perhaps it is a faulty circuit board. Anyway I have exchanged it and the second unit is working good so far. And I do not see the green lights when the unit is off.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tonybee
chicagoland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sound quality is a huge plus!
12/16/2007

Customer review by MrPersnickety

4.0 stars 12/16/2007 by MrPersnickety
by MrPersnickety

I had heard many terrible things about Philips in the past, but I figured with a 2 year warranty and Walmart's return policy, I'm pretty well covered. It is definitely heavier than most units this size, so I was weary of wall-mounting it. The glass base is surprisingly sturdy and very stylish, but if you have young kids, definitely get an entertainment center that's high enough to prevent little fingerprints. After completing the initial setup, which gives a great amount of audio and video options in an easy-to-use on-screen menu, I started flipping through the channels that it had automatically found. Much to my delight, all of the HD channels from my cable provider were there, without even ordering the HDTV box that they said would be required (for an additional monthly fee). That is where the problems started though. After about 30 minutes, I noticed several thin, vertical, white lines forming on the left side of the screen. They persisted even after all of the troubleshooting steps on Philips' website. I called to have it repaired under warranty, they diagnosed the problem as a faulty logic panel, but Philips could not get anyone out to look at it for over 2 weeks. So I returned it to Walmart and got a replacement. That replacement has been working wonderfully, no complaints. One point that I feel is absolutely above and beyond all other choices is the sound quality. While most people may be using a surround sound system with a TV this size, that's not currently in my budget. That's what stood out while I was looking at all of my choices. While it's not Dolby 5.1 or "shake the house with your bass" quality, by any stretch, it's certainly the best out of all the Sony, Vizio, and Magnavox TV's of the same size, only this Philips was hundreds of dollars less! Don't listen to the other reviews about picture quality, it's all a matter of personal experience and opinion. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who's just getting their feet into the door of large-screen HDTV's and are on a budget.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrPersnickety
Athens, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A VERY POOR QUALITY TV
1/27/2008

Customer review by MossMS

1.0 stars 1/27/2008 by MossMS
by MossMS

I purchased this TV on 1/01/08. We installed the TV same day the picture is great However two days later I noticed that the TV just cut itself off for no reason. I noticed this three different times. Also When I would turn the TV off Sometime you would hear the relay in the back make a click sound other times you would hear nothing but the screen would shout down. I called Philips They had me to reset the TV by unplugging the TV and then plug the power back in after a minute or so. This seemed to be a short term fix the TV would do the same again. I took the TV back to exchange only to bring the second TV home and this TV sets in my home with the exact same problem. After Talking to Philips I got them to confirm that both TV’s that I have tried do have power board problems. The TV’s were manufactured only one month apart. Philips was of no help at all. They told me that since I had reset the board and it was working at the time that I was talking to them that there was nothing that they were going to do... So after that remark from Philips I will be taking this TV back tomorrow to Wal-Mart for refund And I will never purchase another Philips product Again. If you research the net you will also see other people have had the same problem. One word of advice if you own this set. Turn the set off and look through the back of the vent holes look to see if there are green led lights glowing after you turn the set off, You have the same problem as I do. This information is from Philips They told me that there should be no lights coming from the boards in the back of the TV The lights should only glow only when the unit is turned on. One word for Wal-Mart They is great they stand by what they sell. I would buy form them again and again no matter how much money you spend they are great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MossMS
York, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worse Tv Ever
4/5/2008

Customer review by KrazyKracker74

1.0 stars 4/5/2008 by KrazyKracker74
by KrazyKracker74

i bought this tv eight months ago. it was working fine then it got lines in it and would not come on half the time. so then wal mart swapped it my second one worked for four days. i will not buy another phillips tv. when it is working it great but it must be made out of cheap parts.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KrazyKracker74
thomaston, ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
THE BLACK SCREEN!!!!
9/30/2007

Customer review by eddiep

1.0 stars 9/30/2007 by eddiep
by eddiep

this tv lasted only 34 days before the "black screen" problem happened. do a search online youll see what im talking about. the product worked perfect, then suddenly the screen died, but the audio still worked. we took it back to walmart. i would not buy this.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eddiep
phoenix, az
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
gggrrreeeaaaaaat ddeeeaaalllll!!!...
2/4/2008

Customer review by nyfan4u

5.0 stars 2/4/2008 by nyfan4u
by nyfan4u

i love this 50"plasma hd tv,i bought it just in time for the superbowl and the picture and surround sound were amazing.i felt like i was at the game. my friends and family loved my 50"tv.my brother said he is definately going to upgrade from his 42 to a 50,thank you walmart.i saved a bundle by shopping at walmart,bestbuy,circuit city has nothing on you guys.thanks again on the huge savings and my 50" plasma hd tv",i love it".

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nyfan4u
alexandria,va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great
9/6/2007

Customer review by fase

4.0 stars 9/6/2007 by fase
by fase

this is a great tv the only thing is you get a horrible picture with regular cable other that do not put in a bedroom i put it in my bedroom and it gets really hot the screen gets almost too hot to touch

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fase
tulsa oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
IT"S A DOG
3/29/2008

Customer review by jpirishjpirish

1.0 stars 3/29/2008 by jpirishjpirish
by jpirishjpirish

We had this for 2 weeks . Then it would turn off by it self . I had to take it back . Picture was great . I wish that I did'nt get a dog .

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jpirishjpirish
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews