Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 49 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

49 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

49 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

65%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 stars
8
1-20 of 41 total reviews
65%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
Clunky,slow
7/25/2007

Customer review by Ziggyrules

2.0 stars 7/25/2007 by Ziggyrules
by Ziggyrules

I purchased for the ATSC tuner to see how it would funstion with my analog tv. It received some beautiful looking broadcasts in my area. All the over-the-air broadcasts looked like I was watching them on DVD. But, there were many features I was not pleased with on this model. It seemed as if this was rushed to market and not fine tuned. It is kind of bare bones model without all the bells and whistles. I did not keep it long, maybe in a few months a better product will be available at this low price point. THE GOOD, It received digital broadcasts, Fairly easy to record to DVD, Fast playback of DVDs (fast play, slow play, skip 30sec, zooms,etc.), Cheap compared to others avaliable at this time. THE BAD, Very slow channel changes of digital broadcasts (4 to 15 seconds), Remote layout (no last channel button,small buttons for all functions), Recording timer/clock resets when power fails, When you turn it and are watching a show and if you have a disk already in the drive it will read and pop up the disc menu.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ziggyrules
Lafollette,TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A good DVD recorder for the price!!
2/24/2008

Customer review by Rbratcherjr

5.0 stars 2/24/2008 by Rbratcherjr
by Rbratcherjr

Worked great first time out of the box. Hooked it up to my cable TV DVR to record shows from it. A bit slow when loading a blank or recorded disc but that wasn't a major problem with me. Recording & playback is very good but I don't suggest recording any slower than 3 hour speed as picture quality suffers. Plenty of inputs & outputs to hook up to almost anything. Doesn't have HDMI input or output. For my system I used S-video & the RCA inputs to record from my cable DVR plus componant video output (instead of S-video) and the coaxial digital audio out for playback to my television and stereo reciever. Please note: This recorder is a standard definition unit & will not upconvert DVD playback to HDTV quality however it will play Dolby Digital 5.1 commercial DVD's in great quality with the digital audio out jack or in stereo/Dolby Surround using the RCA audio out jacks. The SDTV tuner will convert HDTV (from an antenna) broadcasts to standard definition for recording or playback on any TV whether HDTV or analog TV. In other words you can use it for watching digital over the air TV stations with a regular TV set that doesn't have a digital tuner. The recorder does not have an RF adapter to hook up to older TV's that don't have line in jacks. I'm very happy with this recorder except for the menu editing feature which I didn't like very well. Have not useed the timer fuction at all so I can't comment on it. The manual says the recorder works with 4x to 16x media which is quite correct as I've tried all 3 speeds of DVD media in it with very good results. It records in realtime with any + or - R DVD recordable media you put in it. As to recording time it does a bit over each time stated for the disc and onscreen time left display. I get 2 hours & 12 minutes for a disc recorded at SP (2 hour) speed and about 2 hours 45 minutes for a disc recorded at the 2.5 hour speed. 3 hour speed is near 3 hours and 20 minutes in total recording time. Can play audio CD's as well as VCD discs but will not play an SVCD disc nor will it play DIVX, XVID or other computer video formats. The manual is written very well. Anyone can figure out how to use the recorder from it without any problems. I'd suggest this DVD recorder to anyone...

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rbratcherjr
Houston Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome DVR
3/7/2008

Customer review by danny2112

5.0 stars 3/7/2008 by danny2112
by danny2112

I actually purchased this product to upgrade my analog signal to digital hd-tv. I have a 13" Sony Trinitron tv with a 44" Philips indoor antena (rabbit ears). I can receive about 20 channels --the picture quality is crystal clear!! Basic setup was a breeze though I must say- my tv has audio and video "in" which simplified things. I record my fave soaps and Judge Judy daily and the occasional special to archive. Awesome Dvr at a great price!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
danny2112
CAROL STREAM,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just what I had in mind
1/16/2008

Customer review by workslate

4.0 stars 1/16/2008 by workslate
by workslate

I work evenings and record a lot of programs to watch later. My vcr died and I wanted to be able to move the disk to any room I may be in. This product allows me to record and then play on my regular dvd players (also Magnavox) and still be able to reuse the same disk multiple times. I can erase what I have watched, or leave it alone. It has a digital tuner which is supposed to be necessary in 2009, so my bases are covered. Who needs a vcr any more???? The programming is a bit difficult at first, but easier when I had done it a few times. You don't have to be a rocket scientist.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
workslate
2065
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Disappointing Performance/Complicated Setup
2/24/2008

Customer review by RockiesFan

1.0 stars 2/24/2008 by RockiesFan
by RockiesFan

I knew from the beginning, based on the price, that this product would not be a "top notch" performer. However, I wanted a DVD-Recorder *with* an ATSC tuner and this item fit that description. My first disappointing discovery was when I began to connect the recorder to my analog TV. I thought that it would simply connect to the TV exactly like the VCR it would replace, but no. First off, the recorder does not have an RF modulator. This means that you must connect the recorder to your TV with RCA cables. The recorder does have a coax input and output, but this only allows the signal to pass through the recorder for recording. It does not send any audio/video from the recorder to your TV through the coax. My TV has two RCA inputs available, so it wasn't that big of an issue. If your older TV only has a coax connect, you'll need to purchase an RF modulator. Okay, so I finally managed to get it hooked up and running. After scanning for all the digital channels in my area, I immediately noticed that the picture was much darker than before I connected the recorder. I adjusted the brightness on the TV, but now when I watch my satellite receiver, the picture is too bright. Aggravating. I shouldn't have to reset the brightness each time I switch between the recorder and the satellite. The next disappointing discovery involves the aspect ratio. As I flipped through the channels, programs that were being broadcast in letterbox format looked great, but anything broadcast in 4:3 format was small on the screen. It looked as though the full-size image had simply shrunk on the screen on all four sides. You can set the recorder to display a 4:3 letterbox picture, 4:3 pan and scan picture, or 16:9 so I set it to 4:3 pan and scan. This solved the problem of the 4:3 broadcast image appearing shrunk on my screen, but anything broadcast in letterbox format had the ends chopped off. I don't understand why it was doing this. Before installing the recorder, the picture was displayed on the screen in either 4:3 or letterbox automatically. I didn't have to switch settings each time the program changed. Aggravating! Okay, the next disappointment had to do with the process of recording a program. When I inserted a blank dvd-r it took about 60-90 seconds before the disc was mounted when you could actually begin to record. Playback was also slow to initiate from the time a disc was inserted until it actually began to play. Maybe this is normal for all dvd recorders though. This is my first. The quality of the recording was okay. It has several quality settings to choose from. The best quality will record 1.5 hours onto one dvd while the lowest quality will record 6 hours onto one dvd. I noticed that the video was good when recording in the low quality mode, but the audio seemed muffled. That is to be expected though as it was set to low quality. My final disppointing discovery with this recorder was the no-frills onscreen display of program information and the poorly designed remote. You can't feel your way around the remote because all of the buttons are near equal in size and they are in a very linear pattern. After an afternoon of messing with it, I've decided I'm taking this unit back for a refund and saving my money for something more substantial. My suggestion is that if you have anything beyond a simple setup, don't buy this recorder.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RockiesFan
Greensburg, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
AWESOME PRODUCT!
3/27/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/27/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The ease of use and the picture quality are excellent. I was looking for a DVD recorder that did a good job of getting digital TV channels and this product has exceeded my expectations with respect to this. Great job in coming out with this excellent DVD recorder!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Niagara Falls, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
does what it's supposed to
12/18/2007

Customer review by momofonelittleboy

4.0 stars 12/18/2007 by momofonelittleboy
by momofonelittleboy

i would rate this product just 'ok'. the programs recorded are a little fuzzy, but it gets the job done. i like how it has a timer so you can program it to record the shows and don't have to worry about it when the show comes on.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momofonelittleboy
Fort Stewart, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
somewhat disappointing
12/21/2007

Customer review by NVretiree

3.0 stars 12/21/2007 by NVretiree
by NVretiree

Will not connect to older TV's with only a single input without purchasing a $25 adapter. Slow in switching channels. DVD's with minor scatches will not play. Initial programming too complicated. On the plus side, it does receive digital TV signals from an antenna and will play them on an analog TV just fine.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NVretiree
NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wroth missing
1/26/2008

Customer review by randys440

1.0 stars 1/26/2008 by randys440
by randys440

I return this one twice, both had the same problem loses it’s programming 2 or 3 times a week. So if you’re looking for a DVD recorder with digital tuner that will loses it’s programming 2 or 3 times a week, then this is the one for you, that way you can miss all those programs that you setup the timer for. Very Frustrating

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
randys440
Salt Lake City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Memory loss is an on going problem.
3/26/2008

Customer review by FriarLarence

1.0 stars 3/26/2008 by FriarLarence
by FriarLarence

My first machine kept losing it's memory. I took it back and got a 2nd recorder. This one has the SAME PROBLEM. I have to keep re-setting it 2 and 3 times a week. This morning it's memory is GONE again. I will be taking this back to Walmart. I'm DONE with this model.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FriarLarence
Would recommend to a friend? No
Never Has Worked
5/12/2008

Customer review by BiscuitShooter

1.0 stars 5/12/2008 by BiscuitShooter
by BiscuitShooter

I've had this recorder since the first week in January 2008. It never has worked since it's been out of box!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BiscuitShooter
Sparks, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
90 day wonder
5/16/2008

Customer review by Phiil

1.0 stars 5/16/2008 by Phiil
by Phiil

I purchased my unit on Feb, 13, 2008. It stopped working May 16, 2008. If you want a unit that lasts exactly ninety-three days then this is the one for you. Now I get to see how well Magnavox service is.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Phiil
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
nice gift
12/21/2007

Customer review by nanaET

5.0 stars 12/21/2007 by nanaET
by nanaET

This is a very nice dvd recorder,I bought it for my husband for Christmas. He really likes it,and it is easy to understand.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nanaET
Evansville,IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
User Friendly
12/25/2007

Customer review by LadyGadget

5.0 stars 12/25/2007 by LadyGadget
by LadyGadget

This DVD recorder was easy to set up and use right out of the box, without reading the instructions! I was able to connect it to my tv and transfer my recordings from my directv dvr (which eventually loses the data because the hard drive dies) to a dvd. I like the ease of choosing the format right from the remote, giving me the ability to choose 2hrs, 4hrs, 6hrs. I used 6hrs and did not notice too much picture quality integrity loss. The only feature I missed is an hdmi connection.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyGadget
Chicago, Ill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great value for money
4/2/2008

Customer review by NonTech

5.0 stars 4/2/2008 by NonTech
by NonTech

We are thrilled, not being technically minded - we are amazed we have been so successful so easily, playback is better than on our previous (much more expensive recorder) and we have managed to finalize our discs for playing on other DVD players.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NonTech
Kissimmee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Happy with product
8/9/2008

Customer review by blester

5.0 stars 8/9/2008 by blester
by blester

I purchased two of these dvd recorders just over a year ago while shopping for my daughters birthday present and have been satisfied with how well this recorder works. The only problem I have had was setting up to record shows when I am away from home but read the manual to figure it out. The digital tuner works great with my cable provider giving me a few extra channels I was not picking up on my older DVD Recorder. I recently asked my daughter how hers was doing and receive a positive response from her also.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blester
Ramseur, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
vcr/dvd/combo
2/14/2008

Customer review by SouthernIndiana

5.0 stars 2/14/2008 by SouthernIndiana
by SouthernIndiana

After figuring out the proper connection from the diagrams of which took awhile and getting it all in operation I tried each of the procedures that it was supposed to do. I was quite satisfied with the results for dubbing either way and withe recording from the TV and also the dubbing from a camcorder. I recommend this product for the price and the performance.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SouthernIndiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what the DR. ordered!
7/1/2008

Customer review by rusty7dusty

5.0 stars 7/1/2008 by rusty7dusty
by rusty7dusty

Very user friendly! Digital tuner is a great plus!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rusty7dusty
Eastern KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
11/13/2008

Customer review by HookedOnRecording

5.0 stars 11/13/2008 by HookedOnRecording
by HookedOnRecording

I've owned this DVD Recorder now for several months, and I'm very happy with the product. Learning new things everyday. I've been able to edit out the commercials when I use a rewritable disc. However, I would like to be able to do this on a DVD/R disc and then play on an other recorder commercial free, but this doesn't seem to be available. I can play them back on the recorder commercial free however. I like the option of being able to record one show, and watch another show on a differant channel at the same time. Over all I'm very please with this recorder. My next project is to figure out how I can hook up just a DVD player, and record shows on the DVD recorder, and watch movies on the player at the same time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HookedOnRecording
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Product! A++!
12/13/2007

Customer review by corndog06

5.0 stars 12/13/2007 by corndog06
by corndog06

This is an excellent product. I had no problem setting it up. Quiet, fast, great quality video and easy to use. On screen display allows you to name your own titles with your remote! Only one style of disc menu though. Up to 6 hrs of recording! and has timed recording. Records right from cable like a DVR. I bought it on sale for $49.00.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
corndog06
Dayton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews