Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 190 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

190 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

190 reviews | 4 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
99
4 stars
53
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 stars
26
1-20 of 162 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 162 total reviews
1-20 of 162 reviews
Super System!
1/2/2008

Customer review by possumpecks

5.0 stars 1/2/2008 by possumpecks
by possumpecks

I received this system for Christmas and am TOTALLY impressed! I am a 52 yr. old grandmother and was able to set this up alone with the instruction booklet. We have a 37" Olevia LCD TV and a Comcast HD/DVD Cable Box. The sound from this is Unreal!! I only have tried it at half sound, because that nearly broke my eardrums and made the walls rumble! DVDs look Awesome! The grandkids think this is the coolest thing in my house. As far as some of these reviews and claiming it doesn't have cetain options....look closer and READ the instruction book...Worth the time. No root menu for DVD's....WRONG! Look at your remote....the Disc Menu button? Also, you CAN adjust Each speaker volume in the Setup menu. I have done it several times now. The option of all the different sounds is fun to play with too. If you have the money to buy a $1000 system, go for it, but if not, you cannot get anything better with this much power and options to use! TOTALLY SATISFIED Customer here!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
possumpecks
York, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceptional Value
8/19/2007

Customer review by Josh0351

5.0 stars 8/19/2007 by Josh0351
by Josh0351

I was skeptical about this system based in the cost, however other reviews were mostly favorable. The display model at the store was not turned on the day I made my purchase and I really wanted to hear the system before making a final decision. Neither of the sales associated had the key to access the control module, so I decided to buy it without hearing it. The only option this system did not include that I was looking for was 1080p DVD upconverter as opposed to 1080i. In a nutshell the system sounds great after tweaking speaker positions and a few configuration settings in the setup menu. I like the fact that you can adjust the sound level and delay of each speaker, including the sub. Setup is easy and doesn’t take more than 15 or 20 minutes. I also like the 1000 watts of power and many options normally reserved for systems in the $500+ price range. The system has plenty of power to fill a medium sized family room. (*Our family room is probably 20’ by 30’ with vaulted cathedral ceilings and the system had NO problems filling the entire room with great sound – most of the time in fact, we did not even near the half-way mark for max volume.) Overall sound quality was very good, but not equal to some of the other high-end systems that I’ve heard. TV sound quality is mediocre, as it is on other systems so no points deducted in this category. DVD, radio, CD and MP3 (USB / flash drive) audio are on par with my Pioneer rack system and outstanding. In home theater mode playing a DVD the sound clarity and quality was exceptional. A friend has one of the Bose Lifestyle systems. This system obviously can’t run with his Bose from a sound quality standpoint, however the Bose DVD does not have any sort of DVD format upconverting as far as I know, not to mention the Bose system does not have the features this system does - it's mainly just high-quality sound. (Not to mention the Bose system will run you quite a bit more.) The bottom line is this is a solid system for the money you’ll pay, and cannot be beat in my opinion without spending several hundred dollars more. PROS +Cost / value +Great sounding system (*better than I expected, actually) +Plays MP3’s from USB drive +iPod dock +Adjustable individual speaker volume & delay +Easy to use +Power (1000w) CONS -Proprietary speaker connectors hard-wired -Speakers are wired and not wireless -No other as of yet…

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Josh0351
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dont be fooled by the price
8/16/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/16/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was kinda sceptical of it at first, it was a little too inexpensive. I figured I could always bring it back. I am EXTREMELY surprised by its performance. I hooked it up in about an hour or less. We set up the sound, it was easy, and commenced to watching 300 on DVD. It was rediculous. Almost too loud at medium volume but not just loud, extremely clear with minimal distortion. Every bit of the surround effect came through. It has been a long time since I bought any home theater components, but I will say the last receiver i bought cost 4 times what this whole kit cost. This set blows it AWAY! I couldnt believe it also controlled the IPOD too. How can so much stuff fit into such a small package? I havent even started to mess with the HDTV stuff yet but it does all that too. The only thing I dont like are the prewired plugs on the speakers. Its not enough to make a fuss over though. Enjoy it, I sure am.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product, highly recommend
7/28/2007

Customer review by Wise

5.0 stars 7/28/2007 by Wise
by Wise

After reading the other reviews here, I bought this product yesterday. Setup is easy, sound is excellent better than the $400 home theater system I bought a few years ago. FM radio works well with the supplied FM antenna. Progressive scan works well too. I am waiting for the HDMI cable I ordered on line to try the up conversion feature. Yes you need HDMI cable to enjoy the up conversion. Updated the firmware without problem. I love the Ipod docking station supplied with this unit. Other ipod docking station alone sells for over $30. Excellent value for the money. I would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wise
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Pretty good
11/26/2007

Customer review by Wildermonkey

4.0 stars 11/26/2007 by Wildermonkey
by Wildermonkey

Overall, I think this is a decent product. This is my first home theater system, so in my limited experience, I think it sounds alright. I wanted something with a little more bass however. As far as I can tell, you cannot adjust any of the speakers so that is kind of a bummer. I initially wanted to take it back the same day I bought it but decided to sleep on it (I cut my finger trying to push in the plugs for the speakers into the back of the receiver...very frustrating. Those things fit really tight). I was excited to watch the first movie on the new system but was quickly agitated when the remote would not operate the DVD player. I could not skip chapters, pause, play, stop, or even access the root menu. I could only use the volume control. I will probably be contacting Philips to see if I can get a new remote. Oh, and for some reason, the unit powers on by itself. I'm not sure what that is about but it is not that big of a deal to me. I like that I can hook my Playstation to it. Surround sound defintely gives gaming a new dimension.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wildermonkey
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Why Pay More
10/18/2007

Customer review by JCKS

5.0 stars 10/18/2007 by JCKS
by JCKS

This system absolutely amazed me, setup was a breeze. Manual tells you everything you need to know, whether you know it at first or not. Remote takes a little getting use too, but thats life. Disc player, AM/FM radio, CD player, etc. This system does just about everything my component sterio system does for a fraction of the cost. Not sure about those tiny speakers, they will blow you mind and rattle the windows with out turning the volume way up. Now the con- the system in very capable, but if you are use to looking at your remote and hitting a button to change a setting you may be diappointed. You can make all of the adjustments needed but you must go through a series of menus, but once again the manual takes you right through the process. FM anntenna is short but works, does not come with AM anntena, I have not hooked up the ipod yet so I will not comment on it. Biggest drawback to absolutely get the most out of the system you really do need to read the manual, you can just plug it in and go and more than likely be satified, but if you take the time, I think it will amaze you at what you get for your money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JCKS
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Sound, good buy
7/3/2007

Customer review by Gavo61

4.0 stars 7/3/2007 by Gavo61
by Gavo61

I bought this unit for my bedroom, previously not having any kind of sound system in there. It arrived in a timely fashion, but after setting it up and getting speakers installed I found out the FM/AM and iPod functions were inoperable. I called Customer service (wonderful person, very helpful) and she found a replacement nearby. I only had to return the reciever unit itself, which saved me from unstringing my speakers. Anyhow the unit has great sound and is quite powerful. Remotes buttons are small. My biggest complaint is that the speaker wires have integrated "plugs" color coordinated things that are about 1/2" across which mean rather large holes drilled in floors and walls. Would rather have standard speaker wires. All in all it works fine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gavo61
Pinehurst, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great value
11/21/2007

Customer review by dixlee

5.0 stars 11/21/2007 by dixlee
by dixlee

The Phillips home theatre system is a great value for the money. Partnered with the Vizio 42" LCD HD TV recently purchased from Walmart, it makes for a great audio-visual experience. It takes a little getting used to, but the remote is very functional. The sound quality is great although I would would have liked to see a little more UMPH in the sub-woofer but it's not bad. And plenty of volume is available on this unit. The best feature, in my opinion, is that the DVD not only plays DivX but it plays AVI format videos burned directly from my desktop. I also like the fact that it comes with a iPOD or GoGear docking unit as well as a USB and line line-in port. A very versatile system well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dixlee
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
excelent buy for the money
1/6/2008

Customer review by GillIsTheMan

4.0 stars 1/6/2008 by GillIsTheMan
by GillIsTheMan

My friends and i live in a medium sized apartment, and we recently got an HD LCD tv. What we didnt have was a hd dvd player, or surround sound, so i decided to buy this. For an entry level surround sound system, this thing is awesome! BUT, If you want an ultimate system, this isn't it. The speakers are hard wired to plugs, and they offer limited length from the receiver. we had to extend one wire in order to hide it under the rug. The sub woofer is unexpectedly loud and quite clear. Our downstairs neighbor complains now, even at 4 pm on a saturday. It plays movies in HD quality through the HDMI, which looks great on our TV. The Ipod Dock is AWESOME. Since everybody has an Ipod, we can play any type of music any time. You can even control the Ipod with the remote. We haven't even used the parallel mp3 port yet, we really have no need. For Us, this is everything we need and more. We never turn it even half way up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GillIsTheMan
Park City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great with an iPod
9/24/2007

Customer review by live4tech

5.0 stars 9/24/2007 by live4tech
by live4tech

This is an excellent home theater system. I bought it for $179.99, so you might want to try and find it on sale. I'm not sure what "WeluvWii" meant when he said you can't control your iPod with the remote because you absolutely can. However, I couldn't get my 80GB iPod Video to play video on my TV using the dock (they supply a cable for that). That said, I wouldn't trade this system for any in its price range.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
live4tech
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WOW
7/12/2007

Customer review by a89warren

5.0 stars 7/12/2007 by a89warren
by a89warren

Can’t go wrong! For the price we paid, the product we received… wow! My wife and I have the system in a smaller living room than normal (13’ X 15’). Sound is incredible! The best feature I think is the HDMI up conversion. Talk about sweet picture quality from our TV! Awesome HD television, but you have the other side of the HDMI, right? I strongly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
a89warren
Central Point, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
awesome
7/4/2007

Customer review by jassi

5.0 stars 7/4/2007 by jassi
by jassi

i searched a lot for something with HDMI upconvert and nice sound output. I hooked it up with my LCD TV and running it on 1080i mode and its awesome. Image is very clear and sharp with good resolution. This home theatre in a box is a good one for the price. I would definitely recommend this.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jassi
Sunnyvale, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product
8/14/2007

Customer review by Jman2007

5.0 stars 8/14/2007 by Jman2007
by Jman2007

First off I would like to say when your in the market for a home theater system always go for brand not watts. I have owned two previous home theaters. The first came with our tv and it was the biggest load of junk, It was a off brand and only had 100w. I have always wanted a movie theater experiece in my home as I am a huge movie and music fan. I wasnt satisfied with the surround sound I had so I purchased a new one. The one I purchased was a off brand but specs looked good for the price. It said 500w 5 disc changer wich was alot better. Or so I thought. It ended up bieng the biggest way to waste 150 bucks. No bass and it skipped like no ones business. I was beggining to think there was no way the get a movie theater experience without spending 1000 dollars. Untill I purchased this system. Wow would pretty much describe it. Great sounding system with so many features. 1000 watts and believe me you hear every bit of it from cars zooming around the track to wall shaking explosions you hear every detail. Amazing quality for the price and probally the best investment I have ever made. Trust me its worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jman2007
Phenix City AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Let down
9/11/2007

Customer review by ibboo72

3.0 stars 9/11/2007 by ibboo72
by ibboo72

Yes the sound quality on this system is excellent...But I purchased this system to go with my new Plasma to get the entire experience. I purchased a Phillips HDMI cable to attach the player in hopes of 1080i output. It said it was at 1080i, however...the image was identical or lets say not noticable when compared to my 29.99 DVD player with progressive scan and no HDMI cable. I am taking this product back, because I wanted the clarity the HDMI is supposed to provide....It's not hard to hookup...so I know I didnt do anything "wrong", It's just no better than a cheap DVD, with the exception of awesome sound.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ibboo72
Pittsburgh PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
big disappointment
1/14/2008

Customer review by tedc34

1.0 stars 1/14/2008 by tedc34
by tedc34

I brought this home and spent more than an hour unpacking, running the wires and getting all the equipment located where I wanted it. When I plugged it in, I noticed a spark from the outlet to the plug. Then I went to turn it on and NOTHING. Took it out of the entertainment center to another outlet and still NOTHING. Then I read these reviews and found that other people have had the same problem. Spent another hour tearing down and packing everything back in the box and returning to the store. That's over two hours of my time wasted. Didn't get another because of the realibility issue. Next time, I'll stick with Bose, because I trust that name. Yeah, it will cost more, but its worth it not to waste time buying and returning and knowing that you have a quality product. My grandfather always said, "You get what you pay for."

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tedc34
Cleveland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Perfect, almost
2/17/2009

Customer review by Nemo326

4.0 stars 2/17/2009 by Nemo326
by Nemo326

I bought this system for the 15 x 15 office I work in. The eight of us pitched in to buy it. There are two or three of us each shift. We listen to music pretty much 24/7, so the unit is almost always on. We range in ages from 25 to 65 so our musical tastes vary. We listen to everything from country to jazz to rock with the help of our satellite radio. The sound quality is perfect and it is plenty loud enough. After I hung the speakers and ran the wire through the ceiling tiles, it took about five minutes to hook up. Mind you, we did not hook a tv up to it. I did have to bring one in to adjust the speakers via the video out. I wish the wire to the subwoofer was longer because we have the system on a shelf six feet off the ground which limits the placement of the woofer. Other than that, we are all very satisfied with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nemo326
Cleveland Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
nice turns to junk
11/27/2008

Customer review by lazars

2.0 stars 11/27/2008 by lazars
by lazars

when i got this i had no probs hooking it up till i wanted to hook more then one item to it i found out that i could only set it up to one thing at a time so whent out got a switcher box so i could put cable on one switch and then game on a nother and so forth. powered up just fine sounded good. then one morning i got up for work and turned it on to watch TV before i left and it powered up but no sound came out checked to see if plugs came loose and all where in good left it on and fixed something to eat and somewhere between 5-15 min the sound came on and where i had been messing with it was way up and woke my wife. since that day any time i turn it off it takes any where from 5-30 min or so to come on started to just mute it and turn every thing else off. started out as a great sound sys then all whent down hill.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lazars
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Must have
9/4/2007

Customer review by Navyman

5.0 stars 9/4/2007 by Navyman
by Navyman

if your looking to buy something on a budget that will give you a great sound this is it. I used to have the cheap $80 system from walmart but It was time to upgrade and this items does it all. The movie sound is awsome. i recently went over to a friends house and he has a 1000 dollar system. Put them both together and all that he beats me is in the payments hes making on it. Overall great system, definately recommend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Navyman
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A very excellent product
3/1/2008

Customer review by Jay26

5.0 stars 3/1/2008 by Jay26
by Jay26

I have owned this home theater system for a month now and I have to say it is very impressive. The sound is incredible you can hear everything so clear and the bass is awesome. It was easy to hookup and I had no problems with this system. I have owned philips products in the past so I know they are good. The price of this system was good. I recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jay26
MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is a great system!
8/26/2007

Customer review by Shadowschick

5.0 stars 8/26/2007 by Shadowschick
by Shadowschick

This system has great sound, is super easy to hook up and connect to give your television veiwing the option of surround sound as well as your DVDs. It is an exceptional value for the money. If you are looking to upgrade from a low wattage system or this is the first time you're considering Home Theater I highly recommend this system.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shadowschick
West Point MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 162 total reviews
1-20 of 162 reviews