Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 181 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

181 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

181 reviews | 4 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
93
4 stars
52
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 stars
24
1-20 of 154 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 154 total reviews
1-20 of 154 reviews
Exceptional Value
8/19/2007

Customer review by Josh0351

5.0 stars 8/19/2007 by Josh0351
by Josh0351

I was skeptical about this system based in the cost, however other reviews were mostly favorable. The display model at the store was not turned on the day I made my purchase and I really wanted to hear the system before making a final decision. Neither of the sales associated had the key to access the control module, so I decided to buy it without hearing it. The only option this system did not include that I was looking for was 1080p DVD upconverter as opposed to 1080i. In a nutshell the system sounds great after tweaking speaker positions and a few configuration settings in the setup menu. I like the fact that you can adjust the sound level and delay of each speaker, including the sub. Setup is easy and doesn’t take more than 15 or 20 minutes. I also like the 1000 watts of power and many options normally reserved for systems in the $500+ price range. The system has plenty of power to fill a medium sized family room. (*Our family room is probably 20’ by 30’ with vaulted cathedral ceilings and the system had NO problems filling the entire room with great sound – most of the time in fact, we did not even near the half-way mark for max volume.) Overall sound quality was very good, but not equal to some of the other high-end systems that I’ve heard. TV sound quality is mediocre, as it is on other systems so no points deducted in this category. DVD, radio, CD and MP3 (USB / flash drive) audio are on par with my Pioneer rack system and outstanding. In home theater mode playing a DVD the sound clarity and quality was exceptional. A friend has one of the Bose Lifestyle systems. This system obviously can’t run with his Bose from a sound quality standpoint, however the Bose DVD does not have any sort of DVD format upconverting as far as I know, not to mention the Bose system does not have the features this system does - it's mainly just high-quality sound. (Not to mention the Bose system will run you quite a bit more.) The bottom line is this is a solid system for the money you’ll pay, and cannot be beat in my opinion without spending several hundred dollars more. PROS +Cost / value +Great sounding system (*better than I expected, actually) +Plays MP3’s from USB drive +iPod dock +Adjustable individual speaker volume & delay +Easy to use +Power (1000w) CONS -Proprietary speaker connectors hard-wired -Speakers are wired and not wireless -No other as of yet…

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Josh0351
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product, highly recommend
7/28/2007

Customer review by Wise

5.0 stars 7/28/2007 by Wise
by Wise

After reading the other reviews here, I bought this product yesterday. Setup is easy, sound is excellent better than the $400 home theater system I bought a few years ago. FM radio works well with the supplied FM antenna. Progressive scan works well too. I am waiting for the HDMI cable I ordered on line to try the up conversion feature. Yes you need HDMI cable to enjoy the up conversion. Updated the firmware without problem. I love the Ipod docking station supplied with this unit. Other ipod docking station alone sells for over $30. Excellent value for the money. I would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wise
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Great with an iPod
9/24/2007

Customer review by live4tech

5.0 stars 9/24/2007 by live4tech
by live4tech

This is an excellent home theater system. I bought it for $179.99, so you might want to try and find it on sale. I'm not sure what "WeluvWii" meant when he said you can't control your iPod with the remote because you absolutely can. However, I couldn't get my 80GB iPod Video to play video on my TV using the dock (they supply a cable for that). That said, I wouldn't trade this system for any in its price range.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
live4tech
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
awesome
7/4/2007

Customer review by jassi

5.0 stars 7/4/2007 by jassi
by jassi

i searched a lot for something with HDMI upconvert and nice sound output. I hooked it up with my LCD TV and running it on 1080i mode and its awesome. Image is very clear and sharp with good resolution. This home theatre in a box is a good one for the price. I would definitely recommend this.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jassi
Sunnyvale, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WOW
7/12/2007

Customer review by a89warren

5.0 stars 7/12/2007 by a89warren
by a89warren

Can’t go wrong! For the price we paid, the product we received… wow! My wife and I have the system in a smaller living room than normal (13’ X 15’). Sound is incredible! The best feature I think is the HDMI up conversion. Talk about sweet picture quality from our TV! Awesome HD television, but you have the other side of the HDMI, right? I strongly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
a89warren
Central Point, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great value
11/21/2007

Customer review by dixlee

5.0 stars 11/21/2007 by dixlee
by dixlee

The Phillips home theatre system is a great value for the money. Partnered with the Vizio 42" LCD HD TV recently purchased from Walmart, it makes for a great audio-visual experience. It takes a little getting used to, but the remote is very functional. The sound quality is great although I would would have liked to see a little more UMPH in the sub-woofer but it's not bad. And plenty of volume is available on this unit. The best feature, in my opinion, is that the DVD not only plays DivX but it plays AVI format videos burned directly from my desktop. I also like the fact that it comes with a iPOD or GoGear docking unit as well as a USB and line line-in port. A very versatile system well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dixlee
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Sound, good buy
7/3/2007

Customer review by Gavo61

4.0 stars 7/3/2007 by Gavo61
by Gavo61

I bought this unit for my bedroom, previously not having any kind of sound system in there. It arrived in a timely fashion, but after setting it up and getting speakers installed I found out the FM/AM and iPod functions were inoperable. I called Customer service (wonderful person, very helpful) and she found a replacement nearby. I only had to return the reciever unit itself, which saved me from unstringing my speakers. Anyhow the unit has great sound and is quite powerful. Remotes buttons are small. My biggest complaint is that the speaker wires have integrated "plugs" color coordinated things that are about 1/2" across which mean rather large holes drilled in floors and walls. Would rather have standard speaker wires. All in all it works fine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gavo61
Pinehurst, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Why Pay More
10/18/2007

Customer review by JCKS

5.0 stars 10/18/2007 by JCKS
by JCKS

This system absolutely amazed me, setup was a breeze. Manual tells you everything you need to know, whether you know it at first or not. Remote takes a little getting use too, but thats life. Disc player, AM/FM radio, CD player, etc. This system does just about everything my component sterio system does for a fraction of the cost. Not sure about those tiny speakers, they will blow you mind and rattle the windows with out turning the volume way up. Now the con- the system in very capable, but if you are use to looking at your remote and hitting a button to change a setting you may be diappointed. You can make all of the adjustments needed but you must go through a series of menus, but once again the manual takes you right through the process. FM anntenna is short but works, does not come with AM anntena, I have not hooked up the ipod yet so I will not comment on it. Biggest drawback to absolutely get the most out of the system you really do need to read the manual, you can just plug it in and go and more than likely be satified, but if you take the time, I think it will amaze you at what you get for your money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JCKS
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great sound
7/4/2007

Customer review by movielover75

5.0 stars 7/4/2007 by movielover75
by movielover75

this sound system is better than being in the movie theater,sound is awesome, dvd quality great, and with the ipod dock is kicking. great price great sound, i love this system.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
movielover75
winter haven ,fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWESOME!!!
7/22/2007

Customer review by ElectronicsPro

5.0 stars 7/22/2007 by ElectronicsPro
by ElectronicsPro

I have Owned a lot of surround sound systems... This one Definitely tops them all....One of the best ones I have ever owned. It goes really well with the 26" LCD! IT ALSO SOUNDS GREAT!!!!!!!!! truly Awesome!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElectronicsPro
St. Petersburg, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A very excellent product
3/1/2008

Customer review by Jay26

5.0 stars 3/1/2008 by Jay26
by Jay26

I have owned this home theater system for a month now and I have to say it is very impressive. The sound is incredible you can hear everything so clear and the bass is awesome. It was easy to hookup and I had no problems with this system. I have owned philips products in the past so I know they are good. The price of this system was good. I recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jay26
MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dont be fooled by the price
8/16/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/16/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was kinda sceptical of it at first, it was a little too inexpensive. I figured I could always bring it back. I am EXTREMELY surprised by its performance. I hooked it up in about an hour or less. We set up the sound, it was easy, and commenced to watching 300 on DVD. It was rediculous. Almost too loud at medium volume but not just loud, extremely clear with minimal distortion. Every bit of the surround effect came through. It has been a long time since I bought any home theater components, but I will say the last receiver i bought cost 4 times what this whole kit cost. This set blows it AWAY! I couldnt believe it also controlled the IPOD too. How can so much stuff fit into such a small package? I havent even started to mess with the HDTV stuff yet but it does all that too. The only thing I dont like are the prewired plugs on the speakers. Its not enough to make a fuss over though. Enjoy it, I sure am.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is a great system!
8/26/2007

Customer review by Shadowschick

5.0 stars 8/26/2007 by Shadowschick
by Shadowschick

This system has great sound, is super easy to hook up and connect to give your television veiwing the option of surround sound as well as your DVDs. It is an exceptional value for the money. If you are looking to upgrade from a low wattage system or this is the first time you're considering Home Theater I highly recommend this system.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shadowschick
West Point MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Must have
9/4/2007

Customer review by Navyman

5.0 stars 9/4/2007 by Navyman
by Navyman

if your looking to buy something on a budget that will give you a great sound this is it. I used to have the cheap $80 system from walmart but It was time to upgrade and this items does it all. The movie sound is awsome. i recently went over to a friends house and he has a 1000 dollar system. Put them both together and all that he beats me is in the payments hes making on it. Overall great system, definately recommend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Navyman
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy As Pie - First Impressions
1/29/2008

Customer review by PanamaBob

4.0 stars 1/29/2008 by PanamaBob
by PanamaBob

We purchased this system (despite some negative reviews) and are quite pleased with it. I read almost 100 reviews and found most were approving, while others were extremely negative. We setup the entire system in less that 1 hour and were watching "upconverted" DVD movies in no time. Here is my opinion so far...... The system is VERY easy to set up (assuming you can read and understand English or French or Spanish - btw, pictures are also provided). We bought a HDMI cable at the same time we bought the system to connect the DVD player portion of the receiver directly to our LCD/HD TV to ensure the highest quality DVD picture we could get (gotta say... that 1080i looks pretty darn good!! on our 32" screen). Composite video may work as well, but for another $30 the HDMI seemed worth the expense. Next we ran the audio output from the HD cable box directly to the TV audio input on the receiver, by-passing the audio input/output on the TV itself to reduce loss and enhance audio quality (if you plan to use the system for TV audio, why go the long way? And, it keeps me from having to worry about the TV volume). Contrary to many reviews I read, you CAN fine tune EACH speaker in the "Setup" menu. If the rear speakers are too low, reduce input to the fronts and jack up input to the rears. Then when you raise the system volume, the rears increase proportionally to the fronts.. We watched the first "Indiana Jones" DVD to check the Surround Sound portions of the system. Those who claim that the system does not produce "real" surround sound must have watched something else..... When you hear Jones' whip start behind you and crack in front of you, that's close enough for me!!! The ONLY thing I found annoying so far is the length of the wire provided for the back speakers. If you have a room of any real size (ours is 21' x 20'), you will need more wire to get the rear speakers behind you - unless you can run directly from the receiver through the center of the room to the back speakers, not following any walls or doors or other normal items..... We will just splice in more wire to get the length we need... not a big deal, but would have been nice to have about 50-75' of pre-assembled wire to work with. The system is definitely worth the money if you cannot afford $$$$ to watch/listen to DVDs/Movies. Well, on to the AM/FM receiver portion of the receiver and setting up my universal remote to manage the whole shebang (Cable/TV/DVD/Audio)!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PanamaBob
Panama City, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Let down
9/11/2007

Customer review by ibboo72

3.0 stars 9/11/2007 by ibboo72
by ibboo72

Yes the sound quality on this system is excellent...But I purchased this system to go with my new Plasma to get the entire experience. I purchased a Phillips HDMI cable to attach the player in hopes of 1080i output. It said it was at 1080i, however...the image was identical or lets say not noticable when compared to my 29.99 DVD player with progressive scan and no HDMI cable. I am taking this product back, because I wanted the clarity the HDMI is supposed to provide....It's not hard to hookup...so I know I didnt do anything "wrong", It's just no better than a cheap DVD, with the exception of awesome sound.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ibboo72
Pittsburgh PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Very Good for the price
9/9/2007

Customer review by quis24

5.0 stars 9/9/2007 by quis24
by quis24

I've been doing alot of research and shopping around for which surround sound I should get and I saw this at a local walmart and tested it there and was surpurised at the quality and decided to purchase it. Once I got home to set it up it was real easy. The only thing im disappointed with is that fact that you can't change the the sharpness on the dvd player because on my xbox 360 its way clearer than the dvd it came with but I think just have to buy a component cable for better picture quality...but overall satisfied

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
quis24
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect aspect!!!!!
8/25/2007

Customer review by Savan

5.0 stars 8/25/2007 by Savan
by Savan

This is one of the best home theatre with gr8 price and quality.I would say just grab one wherever u see it cause u dont wana miss it!!!!! trust me

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Savan
Windsor CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
All that you want
9/4/2007

Customer review by WeluvWii

5.0 stars 9/4/2007 by WeluvWii
by WeluvWii

Easy to set up (I recommend HDMI cable) great sound, and the DVD player gives a great picture (tried it out with lord of the rings... wow) The MP3s dock is a nice bonus but no access to the iPod w/ remote (so use a playlist). The speakers are lightweight which make the rear speakers easy to put on a wall with only a single nail or screw. The only way that this would be better would be to have wireless speakers; but honestly for this price that would be asking too much.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WeluvWii
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't even bother!
3/20/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 3/20/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this system for my boyfriend for Christmas....I t was the most disappointing thing in the world to give him his big present and for the thing to not even be able to power on. Huge Waste of time

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 154 total reviews
1-20 of 154 reviews