Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 52 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

52 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

52 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 42 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews
Sony DCR-DVD108 Handycam Mini-DVD Camcorder
1/7/2008

Customer review by RedSox1

4.0 stars 1/7/2008 by RedSox1
by RedSox1

The Sony DCR-DVD108 Handycam Mini-DVD Camcorder is really easy to use, and the zoom works great for concerts. As of yet I haven't figured out the settings for the Still pictures using the memory stick. Great product for the price. I would recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RedSox1
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
11/27/2007

Customer review by GAPCAPJWS

5.0 stars 11/27/2007 by GAPCAPJWS
by GAPCAPJWS

Excellent product! I strongly recommend this to any family to capture precious moments and to just have FUN!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GAPCAPJWS
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Little Unit For The Money
10/31/2007

Customer review by Squirtn83

4.0 stars 10/31/2007 by Squirtn83
by Squirtn83

After reasearching this unit and comparing it to others, I chose to purchase this one. Overall I am happy with it. However there are some aspects of the camcorder I wish were different, but for the price I can't complain. Yes it is true the camcorder does not like other disks than Sony, but it runs just fine with any other disks as long as you format it beforehand. The zoom is excellent, and compared to other camcorders around the same price it was the best at 40X, which was one of the main reasons I chose the Sony Handycam. As far as the limits I read about on the video editing, just don't download the sony software on your computer. I have had no problems just using other software for editing, and I have had no issues in downloading the video from the disk to my computer. My only actual disapointment is that the mic on the unit picks up the sound of the lens zooming in and out. The noise is heard only in complete silence, so if there is other audio durring the time of the zoom, there is no problems. Overall I am glad I purchased this product, and would recommend it to any one looking for a decent camcorder for around $400

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Squirtn83
Sacramento CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent Product
12/26/2007

Customer review by bbbird

5.0 stars 12/26/2007 by bbbird
by bbbird

Purchased this camcorder 3 weeks ago after doing a lot of on line research and never owning a camcorder before, I know now that I made the right choice. I used a disc for practice and after doing so and knowing where I made my mistakes my next disc was almost flawless. Very easy to operate and to finalize the discs. The zoom is wonderfull Night time shots were good. I havent used the still camera yet so I can't rate that. I used the recorder Xmas eve and xmas day great shots. The reason I bought the recorder is for a trip to Cuba in January where my daughter will be getting married. I did purchase an extra battery. My future son inlaw was skeptical when I bought this camcorder but now after reviewing the discs and what the camcorder can do he says that I made a good choice. If you are in the market for a camcorder I highly reccommend this product. Price is right and quality is very good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bbbird
Hamilton Ont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Don't buy this camera!
11/15/2007

Customer review by fishhead316

2.0 stars 11/15/2007 by fishhead316
by fishhead316

I bought this camera to take to Disney, and I chose a Sony based on my previous Sony camcorder that I loved. This camera is AWFUL! I bought memorex Discs, but when I tried to use them I got a 15 second "splash screen" that came up EVERY TIME I tried to take a video warning that "Only SONY Discs Recomended". They did not mention this on the box! Lots of missed shots because of this. Also, the unit had difficulty focusing in lower light conditions, and I had poor sound quality throughout. Color quality came and went from scene to scene. Menu settings are a pain to edit- common settings are hard to get to while taping. Also, if you like to "fade" in and out of scenes- you don't have the option to do it as you choose- It is a setting deep in the menus that you either turn on or off- and it stays that way!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishhead316
Sturbridge MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You will love this camera also:
1/28/2008

Customer review by BeautifulAlaska

5.0 stars 1/28/2008 by BeautifulAlaska
by BeautifulAlaska

I have honestly shopped nearly a year and a half to purchase a dvd camcorder. Comparing prices store to store, and waiting for the best sale I could get, I finally decided I was going to buy this camcorder. Opening this box was so exciting, as the camera is absolutely beautiful for the money. It charges super fast, and we purchased the re writable mini dvd's along with the camera, which I suggest and within hours we were filming! Finalizing the disks are just a touch of the screen, taking seconds, and your memories are being filmed that quickly. It also takes still pictures if you purchase a memory stick. Our entire family uses this camcorder. It is so easy to use, my preteen children have filmed each other singing and playing guitar! It is so comfortable that it is compact. I am not camcorder saavy by no means, and this camcorder is so easy to use, that I recommend it for that person who just wants to plug in and film right away.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeautifulAlaska
Beautiful, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Solid Video Recorder
10/2/2007

Customer review by LoveToReview

5.0 stars 10/2/2007 by LoveToReview
by LoveToReview

I've had the video recorder for several weeks. Pros Very nice profile! Easy to begin using! Nice bundle package (included bag and tripod) Cons Transferring not as easy Need two batteries

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveToReview
Harrisburg, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Very user-friendly
11/11/2007

Customer review by Bopsy

5.0 stars 11/11/2007 by Bopsy
by Bopsy

I've had the Handycam for a few months. I bought it to take on vacation with us. I shopped around a little and decided to buy this brand and model because it has a touch screen and is very easy to use. I barely read the user's manual and could still easily do a lot with the camcorder. The zoom is great and the picture is very clear. I like the fact that I can play the mini DVD in my DVD player without using any extra accessories. The price was okay and the warranty that I purchased covers any damage to it. I am very satisfied with this product and I'm sure it will last a lifetime.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bopsy
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
I Love This Camcorder
11/30/2007

Customer review by bossie

5.0 stars 11/30/2007 by bossie
by bossie

We bought our Camcorder while we were at Stanford University for Medical easons. We had time in between test and went shopping. This Camcorderr is so easy for me to use. My only problem is my husband put the charger up and now we can't find it so now i have to buy a new charger. It takes great videos, we bought it mainly to take videos of our Granddchildren. We are very pleased with the ease of handling, great videos and we are not dissatisfied in any way. We would recommend this to everyone. If I had to buy another it would be the same kind.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bossie
Hanford, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great tech product
12/19/2007

Customer review by baboo

5.0 stars 12/19/2007 by baboo
by baboo

very good value and a great camera that does many things

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
baboo
paulden az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A nice surprise!
1/8/2008

Customer review by NCMomof3

5.0 stars 1/8/2008 by NCMomof3
by NCMomof3

I read a lot of reviews on a lot of different camcorders before deciding to purchase my sony. I felt confident that I would be satisfied with my purchase based on the positive reviews I read about this camcorder. I wasn't disappointed and was actually pleasantly surprised. I had previously owned a Samsung miniDV camera and was very unhappy with indoor picture quality and the fact that it completely stopped recording video (but not audio) after only 2 years of use. The ease of using a DVD camcorder is so nice and the great surprise was that I didn't even realize that the lcd screen on the camera was a touch screen for the menu. It is very user friendly (I am not a technology person) and I am very happy with the picture quality, crystal clear! Indoors or outdoors it looks great and sounds great. My son likes to watch the videos as soon as we're done and I like that the lcd screen flips completely over and fits back into the camera so that you can view the screen without having it sticking out. So far, this camera has lived up to the rave reviews that I read. I am very pleased with my purchase and will probably stick with sony in the future.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NCMomof3
Clinton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Camera!
11/23/2007

Customer review by Powelltnt

5.0 stars 11/23/2007 by Powelltnt
by Powelltnt

We just recently purchased this camcorder and LOVE it! The picture is clear and the sound is great! Another reviewer mentioned the splash screen that comes up when first powered on and its not too bad an annoyance in my opinion. We also purchased memorex discs and the screen is only up for a few seconds. The color and clarity of the picture is excellent and the camera itself is very very user friendly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Powelltnt
Kalispell, Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great cam
11/16/2007

Customer review by oysterman

4.0 stars 11/16/2007 by oysterman
by oysterman

Purchased this cam for a trip to Disneyworld. It was a great size and the picture it produces is great. The only thing that is not great is that you have to independently open the shutter before you start recording and there is nothing to let you know if you failed to do this. Some type of indicator alerting you of such would be great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oysterman
long island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
A wonderful camera
10/3/2007

Customer review by TvilleWalmart

5.0 stars 10/3/2007 by TvilleWalmart
by TvilleWalmart

I really love this camera. It is so handy. It is so simple to use. All you do is record and take the disk out and watch it. You do not have to worry about downloading it onto anything. I have enjoyed having it. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TvilleWalmart
Tompkinsville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Sony camcorder
12/29/2007

Customer review by FastLearner

3.0 stars 12/29/2007 by FastLearner
by FastLearner

I am beginning to get comfortable with using this camcorder. The instruction manual needs to be more "user friendly". The instructions for deleting are very confusing. Several people who are considered extremely capable with electronics asked if I was sure I had the correct manual, as they also found the instructions confusing, if not, wrong. I really like the convenient compact size. The amount of recording time is a disappointment, however.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FastLearner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this camera!
1/26/2009

Customer review by Spencersworld

5.0 stars 1/26/2009 by Spencersworld
by Spencersworld

I have had this camcorder for a little over a year now. I waited to write my review so I could try it out in different scenarios. I have had no problems with the camcorder at all. It zooms very nicely. The touch screen is nice. If you want a simple video camera for taking videos of the kids at the beach, band concerts and sporting events then I would recommend this to you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spencersworld
Hot Springs, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Easy to use
1/8/2008

Customer review by brownsburgmomof2

5.0 stars 1/8/2008 by brownsburgmomof2
by brownsburgmomof2

I received this as a christmas gift. I have found this easy to use and figure out with minimal use of the user guide. I like every about it, but I do wish I had the option of taking video on the memory stick or burning a still picture on the dvd. We love the fact it creates video menu's for you. It makes it easy if you just want to view one section of video.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brownsburgmomof2
Brownsburg, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Mini Camcorder
11/6/2007

Customer review by VIDEOcamFREAK

5.0 stars 11/6/2007 by VIDEOcamFREAK
by VIDEOcamFREAK

I love this product it is really easy to use, it has amazing graphics, the zoom feature is outstanding!, easy to use record take out the disk and watch it! I got mor than my moneys worth, and i would have never asked for anything more! Since i am not very good at computers and tecnology this is really simple and it is outstanding!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VIDEOcamFREAK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I love my camcorder!
1/3/2008

Customer review by smartwalmartshopper25

5.0 stars 1/3/2008 by smartwalmartshopper25
by smartwalmartshopper25

I would reccomend this product it is very easy to use. The only thing that I am not completley satisfied with is you have to purchase sony disc in order to be able to take the disc out of the camera and put it into any DVD player to watch. If you use another brand disc you have to use the camera its self to watch the DVD.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smartwalmartshopper25
Jenklins KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
BUY THIS CAMCORDER
1/21/2008

Customer review by AGENTSEW

5.0 stars 1/21/2008 by AGENTSEW
by AGENTSEW

It was 10 Days before I was taking my family to Disney World. We needed a new camcorder to capture the family trip. This mini DvD camcorder was GREAT, very easy to use and Wal-Mart got it to my house in time!! You do need a suitable vcr that can play the recording, but the piture is wonderful and very clear!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AGENTSEW
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews