Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

25 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

25 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 22 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews
Needs age requirements on product
6/18/2016

Customer review by jkmeyers

1.0 stars 6/18/2016 by jkmeyers
by jkmeyers

Set it up with some difficulty. The first time my grandson used this he hit a few clips with the ball and they broke.. The second time he used it the metal eyes that are around the sides have started ripping out. This product is definitely made for someone under the age of eight or ten. My grandson is fourteen. If he uses it again it will be close to trash. When we received the Multi Purpose Return it had the speed checker without tri-pod. The speed checker did not work. I emailed the company and they promptly sent me a new one and the tripod.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jkmeyers
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor Quality
5/30/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 5/30/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Was really excited, after the initial hour it required to set up. Thought it looked good and sturdy. After one afternoon of 10 and 11 year olds pitching into it, the catcher's side is ripped in several places. The canvas is torn and looks like it went through a tornado. If this is only appropriate for T-ball players who pitch 15 mph, then they should specify that. I will try to order another to see if this was just a one time failure.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Medina, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Deal
3/12/2008

Customer review by AllWorkNoPlay

4.0 stars 3/12/2008 by AllWorkNoPlay
by AllWorkNoPlay

This is a really good trainer. I work nights and it is hard to find time to practice with my son. The Franklin 2 in 1 allows him to practice throwing and catching on the ball return side. The angle adjustment is also nice, which can be changed to return line drives or pop-ups. Flip it around, and he can practice precision throwing and pitching. And this can all be done by himself. I love being there and helping him out, but this is the next best thing. It's not the easiest thing to put together, but can be tackled by an adult in about an hour. We have had this for about a month now and it seems to be pretty sturdy and should last a long time. We have left it out in the rain already once and you really couldn't tell. The fabric looks like a pretty strong canvas material that will hold up well to the elements.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AllWorkNoPlay
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for young kids and their dads!
2/7/2008

Customer review by CountryCritter

5.0 stars 2/7/2008 by CountryCritter
by CountryCritter

We got this for our 9-year old for christmas. We have have already used it a couple times. It is great! We practice throwing to each other off the netting and he has even started his pitching practice with the strike zone and catcher. From the dad's perspective, it is 10 times better than what I had when I was a kid and it is 10 times more fun. Although putting it together was a chore. Especially the netting. But heck, it is so worth it, especially the time me and my son spend with it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CountryCritter
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
OK for the price
5/27/2008

Customer review by shopnet

2.0 stars 5/27/2008 by shopnet
by shopnet

This product is nice for the price. However if you don't want to rig it a little then don't buy it. The net works great. But the pitching back stop doesn't stay on the hooks, I attached it w/zip ties. The metal stakes bend as soon as you try to put them in the ground, I put boards on the bottom to keep it from falling over. And one of the angle adjustment plastic pieces broke as I was putting it together, I had to duct tape it to stay in one spot. As long as we keep the same angle then it works fine. My son (8) loves it. He uses it everyday. I don't expect it to last a year.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shopnet
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
A very helpful product
6/3/2008

Customer review by MBFAIR

5.0 stars 6/3/2008 by MBFAIR
by MBFAIR

This has been wonderful for my 10 year old son who is learning to pitch. It has given him a way to practice while his dad is at work. I recommend this product for all inspired baseball players who want to practice but have to wait until their mother or father get home from work.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MBFAIR
Oxford, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great product
5/12/2008

Customer review by underandover

4.0 stars 5/12/2008 by underandover
by underandover

Our son is almost 9 and he really enjoys this product. So far he has enjoyed the side where you pitch to the "catcher" the best. In this mode you are pitching to the strike zone and if you are accurate the ball goes into the catchers "mit" - actually a hole in the plastic. The whole family has enjoyed playing in this mode. The other mode - pitching to the net which throws it back to you - is a little harder. It takes a bit of practice to master going quickly from pitching to catching mode. I think the more he practices the easier this will get. The price was right-it wasn't as hard to set up as I first thought it would be when I saw all the pieces in the box! I'd recommend this.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
underandover
Boston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Franklin Sports 2 & 1 ball return
6/30/2016

Customer review by RCRA

4.0 stars 6/30/2016 by RCRA
by RCRA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

only hand trouble with putting the net on frame rest was easy to put together. The kids and adults are enjoying it !! Much larger then I thought ....... didn't really look at the dimensions.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RCRA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pitchback a big success!
4/25/2016

Customer review by Zman

5.0 stars 4/25/2016 by Zman
by Zman

Sturdy and lots of spring back on one side and easy retrieval on the other!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great concept, lacks quality!
5/25/2008

Customer review by starkman

2.0 stars 5/25/2008 by starkman
by starkman

Once assembled it worked great...for about 1-2 hours of my 11 yr. old boy and my 13 yr. old girl throwing at it. The side with the catcher target on it is fine, however the side with the return net lacks quality. It started to let the balls thru the holes in the net due to broken strings. To make things worse 5 calls to Franklin went unreturned. While we will continue to use ours we would not recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
starkman
Middle Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Doesn't Last too long
3/28/2008

Customer review by Dogs24

3.0 stars 3/28/2008 by Dogs24
by Dogs24

We bought this last year for our sons and they used it alot but this year it is falling apart. We kept it in in the winter months and it just doesn't last for more than a year it appears. Have to purchase a new one this year.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dogs24
Norwich, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Poorly made
6/12/2016

Customer review by bamaroper

1.0 stars 6/12/2016 by bamaroper
by bamaroper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The connecting clips/hooks starting breaking as soon as my granddaughters starting pitching to it. The instructions are horrible. We finally had to just look at the box and rearrange things 10 times. I would pick another product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bamaroper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great practice tool for my little ball players.
5/18/2016

Customer review by Candi

5.0 stars 5/18/2016 by Candi
by Candi

Love it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Candi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good Idea poorly made
4/28/2008

Customer review by momofanallstr

1.0 stars 4/28/2008 by momofanallstr
by momofanallstr

I bought this product for my son less than a year ago. He was 9 at the time. It is extremely light weight and the mechanism that moves to raise and lowers it never worked properly. Every time you would throw something at it you needed to re-adjust it. He ripped the pitching screen side almost in half with his fastballs and bent the frame beyond repair. I'll admit my son throws a 50 to 60 mph fastball at 30 to 40 foot distance but for 70 bucks I expected it to hold up longer than it did. It now sits in the basement looking like it was in a car wreck.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momofanallstr
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2 in 1 pitcher worth buying
5/12/2008

Customer review by indianareviewer

4.0 stars 5/12/2008 by indianareviewer
by indianareviewer

I bought the Franklin MLB 2 in 1 Target and Return Trainer after reading reviews on the internet. My intentions were to help my 8 year old practice for baseball, without breaking the bank (especially if he didn't like it). Description:The pitch return is adjustable for pop ups to line drives, even grounders if you hit it wrong! As for the back side (the catcher--Pitch Target), it is average. The hooks to hold it on the frame are looser so it does not stay on very well, and the bag which collects the balls needs more snaps on the bottom part (the catch bag snaps inside the hole where the balls come out) because the balls currently roll UNDER the bag rather than into it. But, even so, it works very well for pitching practice. We have made adjustments ourselves for these issues. We do not leave it out in the rain, so I don't know about the rust complaints I have read in other reviews. It does collapse so you can put it right up next to a wall. It has 4 spikes that you can put into the ground to balance it, but we have yet to tip it over so we have not bothered with the spikes. It has markings on the angle adjustment poles so both sides are easily kept even. Set up was not hard and can be done by one adult without any problems or taking a long time. It is also very light weight for moving into and out of the garage. The quality seems just fine, I haven't noticed any problems. It really is a decent product for the price and, as of yet, no serious complaints. I also got free shipping since I had it shipped to the store versus my home. Opinion: My son LOVES it. He wants to use it all of the time. Mostly the pitch back net side, though. (he doesn't like trying to be so accurate on the catcher side). I and my husband also use it. It is very similar to the one I had over 30 years ago and works like I remember them working. My son also can do the adjusting for throwing angles himself so no real adult supervision is needed. I do recommend that parents have kids stand back farther due to the speed that the balls return...my son has beamed himself a couple of times for standing too close and throwing with all his might. We also use the catcher side to aim our pitches when we are having batting practice. This also keeps us from having to chase missed balls. Summary:All in all, very much worth the money. I was skeptical at first, but saw that I could return it to the store if I were unhappy (versus mailing it back). Ordering via internet to store was easy, pickup at the store was easy plus the free shipping because it was a store (this was all through Walmart.com). I recommend this if you are just beginning baseball or want something fun that is not expensive. There are MUCH more expensive versions out there, and those might be good, if there were other reasons to spend so much (on the high school team, etc), but for my son's needs (and mine) this was a GREAT match. And I am not worried if it doesn't last forever, I only paid about $45.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
indianareviewer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The Kids Love It
1/13/2008

Customer review by WannaBePhotographer

4.0 stars 1/13/2008 by WannaBePhotographer
by WannaBePhotographer

Reasonable price for this piece of equipment. We like the dual purpose sides. A little difficult to put together. Worried about the tension on the rubber like bands, how long they'll last? Doesn't fold up compact like some of the others. But its Ok, we like it so far.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WannaBePhotographer
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
4/11/2008

Customer review by mommyfish3

5.0 stars 4/11/2008 by mommyfish3
by mommyfish3

We bought this for my son's 7th birthday. It took some time to put together but he plays with it for hours! Well worth the money - and time to put together. I especially like the ball collection bag. Its really lots of fun for him and the rest of the family and is a good thing because we can't always play catch with him when he wants us to.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mommyfish3
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Double the Fun
7/1/2008

Customer review by momoftoocutetwins08

5.0 stars 7/1/2008 by momoftoocutetwins08
by momoftoocutetwins08

I purchased this for my nephew for winning his allstar baseball game. He absolutley loves it. He likes the double option. He can practice being a pitcher and a catcher. He is the talk of the town with his friends. They think that he is the coolest.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momoftoocutetwins08
Rocky Point
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Franklin MLB 2 in 1 Pitch
4/18/2008

Customer review by LibertyY

5.0 stars 4/18/2008 by LibertyY
by LibertyY

Not too difficult to set up. While reading instructions, review the picture on box for additional guidance. Great entertainment for both kids and adults.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LibertyY
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
nice product
6/10/2008

Customer review by tommyg21

4.0 stars 6/10/2008 by tommyg21
by tommyg21

nice product - however the clips/bungees that hold the canvas 'cathcher' on dont hold very well - i will probably tie them down with ty-raps myself

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tommyg21
Ambridge, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews