Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 168 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

168 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

168 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
93
4 stars
55
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 153 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 153 total reviews
1-20 of 153 reviews
This isn't your momma's Schwinn!
8/19/2008

Customer review by flychick1970

4.0 stars 8/19/2008 by flychick1970
by flychick1970

I seriously doubt this will become a collector's item because the craftmanship isn't up to par with the Schwinn name. (See Pics) However, $160.00 doesn't buy much of a bike these days. I would consider this a starter cruiser. If you like it and use it (like I do) , you may be able to justify saving for a higher end bike. I will probably save for some wide white tires for the time being. After I got past my intial reaction, to the chipped paint, and poor rubber on the tires, I grew to love this bike for its usefullness. I live in a small town, and it is perfect for running to the library, or picking up items from the grocery store. I haven't started my car for days!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
flychick1970
Rural MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great bike, challenging assembly
10/26/2007

Customer review by khbTechie

5.0 stars 10/26/2007 by khbTechie
by khbTechie

I had to get someone to help me put it together, and also because one needs an extra pair of hands...strong hands preferably. The seat post would not go into the seat clamp (I was doing it correctly) and had to be toyed with and pryed at for over an hour. The handlebar wedge that goes into the fork came backwards, and so did the fork. The brake took a half hour of concentrating and hard work. After those hangups, however, assembly was fairly simple after I bought the right variety of tools. Make sure you have Allen wrenches, Philips head screwdrivers, and torque wrench set. Also, if you're not used to a cruiser it will take some getting used to the wide handlebars and upright stance. It truly is nice to ride and very pretty besides. The seat is comfortable and the shifter is very easy to use. It is also light (to me, a petite-sized woman), making it easy to carry.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
khbTechie
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
better then a 21 speed
8/1/2008

Customer review by nomofat

5.0 stars 8/1/2008 by nomofat
by nomofat

it came with a scratch they compensated me for that they put it together at site store my husband had to tweek it a bit got on it and rode off int the sunset i am 63 years old the handlebars allow me to sit up instead of hunching over and i can get off and on without having someone hold the bike for me i am very happy with it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nomofat
lake isabella ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Great but a few bumps along the road
7/9/2007

Customer review by rosebud

4.0 stars 7/9/2007 by rosebud
by rosebud

I love this bike, it looks great, and is a great find for it's reasonable price. The only problems I had, were first the fact that it was a little banged up when I got it, the seat was slashed and the front fender was bent. Also less than two weeks of having it and riding maybe four times I got a flat tire. This was dissapointing to me. Walmarts service was good though, free shipping to the store and having them put the bikes together for free was great, also they replaced the seat for free although it wasn't as nice as the one that came with it which would have been better. Overall I recieved so many compliments on how great it looks, it rides smoothly and was put together very well. I understand lot's of bikes tires get flat easily when you first buy them because the tires that come with the bike aren't the best quality but I love to ride it and the replacement tire is only about $7.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rosebud
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
good buy
11/5/2008

Customer review by SmartShopper1988

5.0 stars 11/5/2008 by SmartShopper1988
by SmartShopper1988

This is a good working bike… I use it to get around town and soon to get to classes. I looked online for a long time for the bike of my dreams, I bought this product for many reasons; style , color, the brand is tops, the back basket is a life saver , and the fact that it has gears and hand breaks …which most classic schwinns do not have. . I must say that it is a wonderful bike , lots of complements and all that . the only complaints I can think of at all are that the pain is kind of thin and it scratches easy . and that if you haven’t put together a bike in a while its hard to get everything strait. It was beautiful out of the box no tire or seat issues. I ride It every day almost a few miles and love it and the fact that I sit up strait and don’t lean forward helps me not to get back pain. ….i just wish the paint was thicker …. To stop t from getting rusty I keep it inside. I also recommend the car bike racks walmart sells for cheap, removable , light , racks …but only for short distances.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmartShopper1988
tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
That blur you see is me!
7/23/2008

Customer review by KyMama1

5.0 stars 7/23/2008 by KyMama1
by KyMama1

I received this bike as a birthday present from my husband. I had back surgery in April and was told I can no longer run for exercise. My surgeon suggested biking, if I could get a bike that would allow me to sit upright. We saw this online and on the morning of my birthday, he called me out to the garage, and there it was. I think he had a little difficulty getting the front wheel on--he had to take one of the brake shoes off first, then put it back on. The box was torn in shipping and there was a scratch on the back of the bike as a result, so that was disappointing, but otherwise I have been thrilled with this bike! The shifter is easy to use, the handles allow me to sit nice and tall, the seat is comfortable, and it is so cute. The red metallic paint is really pretty, and the platform on the back will be nice for a basket so I can take it on short errands. The only problem I've had riding it has been the recent heatwave! Once the weather cools, I plan to ride it every day.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KyMama1
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Schwinn Bicycle
3/13/2008

Customer review by Twacorbie

5.0 stars 3/13/2008 by Twacorbie
by Twacorbie

I purchased this bicycle yesterday and really like the way it looks and"handles". The 1950's look is really appealing to me and the fat tires really grip the pavement. The shifter is very easy and convenient to use. I also like having fenders on both wheels. Having an aluminum frame and stainless spokes are a plus as well--no rust! The color is quite appealing too--who can resist riding a bright red bicycle esp. on a warm sunny day--I'll sure get plenty of exercise now. : )

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Twacorbie
Nicholasville, Ky 40356
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
User friendly for athletically challenged
6/3/2008

Customer review by AriesGirl

4.0 stars 6/3/2008 by AriesGirl
by AriesGirl

This bike caught my attention because of the retro design. I was trying to be a frugal and opted for for less expensive bike. Two to be exact. The chains fell off, I could not shift the gears, and they lacked comfort. THIS bike is comfortable. It starts with the wide raised handle bars that keep you from feeling like you are suspended over bike. Unlike the typical bird perch seat this seat is wider and well padded. I am a full figured woman and I did not like I had to be a complete athete to use it unlike some of the other ones I tried. I have not owned a bike in more than 25 years so the apprehension of staying on the bike was a concern that is eleveated because of the "cruiser-like" design. It is really confortable and switching gears is easy, the chain has not kinked or fallen off. I love it asethically and mechanically! The issue I have experienced is that my feet are tender but that is probably because of my overzealous attitude about riding everyday. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AriesGirl
STL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Men's Bike!
9/4/2008

Customer review by biker7

5.0 stars 9/4/2008 by biker7
by biker7

I am a 54 year old 5'10" guy at 195 pounds with a 29" inseam. Needless to say that I can't do tall bikes, which eliminates most of the 700 and 26" bikes. I originally bought a 24" Mongoose XR-75. It ended up being too small and awkward for me to ride. Walmart took the return with no problems. The quality difference between the Mongoose and Schwinn are like night and day to me. The gears on the Schwinn are positive and easy to change where the Mongoose gears never worked right. I might miss the extra low gears on the Mongoose, but 7 should be fine for the moderate hills around Lancaster, Ohio. I don't miss the dual suspension. The tires and seat on the Schwinn are fine for me. The best part of all is that the bike is listed at $160 the checkout discounted it to $125. What a deal! Thank you Walmart. Thanks to the associate who took the time to adjust the seat for me. And thanks to Schwinn for the great bike. I usually don't write reviews of items, but this is worth the effort. I hope that this helps somebody.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
biker7
Lancaster, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very difficult to put together
3/19/2008

Customer review by NATM

4.0 stars 3/19/2008 by NATM
by NATM

The directions for putting this bike together are terrible! I had to pull up the photo on the Wal-mart website! If you are bike "literate" you will be fine. It is a very pretty "retro" looking bike. It is easy on the back. (No bending over the handle bars.) I had it delivered to my house. It comes in a very big box. I am not sure how I will get rid of the box!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NATM
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Fun and Comfortable Bike!!
11/1/2007

Customer review by lifeafterbell

4.0 stars 11/1/2007 by lifeafterbell
by lifeafterbell

I got this bike as a gift for my 53rd birthday. Wanted to get out and get some more exercise and enjoy the sights in the neighborhood at the same time. Boy, is this FUN! Seat is wide and fairly comfortable, it shifts very easily, and sitting more upright on a cruiser is much more comfortable and doesn't hurt my back. I love it. The only negative things I have to say are: 1) I couldn't get Wal-Mart to assemble it for me because they said it was a "dot-com" order and they don't do that. OK - no problem, but disappointed at how they responded to my inquiry, and 2) the front fender that came with it does not fit this bike. Called Pacific Cycle and they are very nice and quick to help. Sent out 2 more fenders but they sent out the rear fender and not the front fender. Another one is supposedly on the way and 3) the rear rack was bent up during shipping. My husband bent it back and it is hardly noticeable now. Could have returned it because of that, but too much hassle. Already had it together at that point. All in all, I highly recommend this bike.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lifeafterbell
Denton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
love, love, love it!!!
5/2/2009

Customer review by CruisinMyBike

5.0 stars 5/2/2009 by CruisinMyBike
by CruisinMyBike

i ordered my bike and did site to store shipping. it arrived even earlier than originally anticipated. when i went to the store to pick it up, the bike department had already closed for the evening so i asked if i could leave the package there and have someone put it together for me the next day. sure enough i came back the next day and my bike was ready to go. i immediately took my bike out for a test cruise when i got home. the speeds came in very handy since i live in a somewhat hilly beach community. the gears shift very easily and i found that i had a super comfy ride. this bike is very light weight even though it does have fenders on it (which usually add a lot of weight). i would definately say that this bike is 10 times better than my old heavy beach cruiser that didn't have any speeds on it. great value too....i was looking at similar bikes at local bike shops and for ladies beach cruisers with only 3 speeds, they were at least double if not triple the price of this awesome bike. a definate recommendation and would buy again for sure!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CruisinMyBike
Carlsbad, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
sweet bike
2/26/2008

Customer review by mamalovesaiden

4.0 stars 2/26/2008 by mamalovesaiden
by mamalovesaiden

I purchased the bike a few weeks ago at a Walmart where it was already assembled, I was surprised I found it because it took me 4 Walmarts to find it. I really like the style and the bike was not damaged, the one thing I wish the seat was a little more comfy but overall it is a good bike. I attach my 2 yr old son's cart to it and the rides are pretty smooth. I love the look of this bike and for the price it is a good purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mamalovesaiden
Southern Cali
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worked for me
9/5/2008

Customer review by ItIsElementary

4.0 stars 9/5/2008 by ItIsElementary
by ItIsElementary

I am very pleased with the beach cruiser. I get tons of compliments. I love that I can ride it in a skirt and on my way to work. I have riden it every day this week and plan to do so until the weather changes. It is pretty comfortable. I did not realize that it had adjustable speeds...I am so happy it does! I had a hard time getting it assembled. I did not know that .com items are not eligible for assembly. I nagged enough people at the local store and at the .com customer service to get it assembled. I knew of other people that bought it from the store and it was assembled. I could not find any in stock at 4 different stores so resorted to buying online. I also wish it was available in other colors. My bike is a twin with my secretary's bike. It also happens to be our competitor school's color. Oh well, for the value and style, I found it worth it...for now. I have made lots of recommendations to others!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ItIsElementary
Newman, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good-looking bike, bad packaging...
12/28/2008

Customer review by A1B1C1

3.0 stars 12/28/2008 by A1B1C1
by A1B1C1

The stars and recommendation thing is hard here, because the bike looked really good--just what I wanted--and I was excited about it until my husband began putting it together and discovered it had holes in the seat, a bent to the point of kinking metal piece (the thing behind the seat you can strap stuff to) and missing hardware for attaching the front fender. In the bike's favor, the components all seemed sturdy and it looked comfortable in its partly assembled state. I'd recommend buying it but I wouldn't recommend ordering it. Sadly, we returned it to our local store, where there was not a replacement to be had. The bike was shipped in two boxes but neither had any padding, and the instructions not to lay it on the side were printed only on the inner box, which of course wasn't visible to the shipper. Looked like it would have been a great bike. I'm greatly disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
A1B1C1
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser
4/18/2009

Customer review by BlackshirtJM

5.0 stars 4/18/2009 by BlackshirtJM
by BlackshirtJM

The Point Beach Cruiser is a classic, recalling the better days of Schwinn. The bike is comfortable and easy to ride. Assembly was very easy, being mainly the mounting of the front tire, handle bars, seat, and pedals. The frame is tubular aluminum, relatively light weight yet very solid, and the crank is a solid, one-piece design, usually found on more expensive bikes. The tires seem to be a better grade than found on most new bikes; they track well on both dry and wet pavement and add to the ride comfort. The only real detraction is the gauge of the metal used to make the front and rear fenders. Unlike the original American made version of this bike, the metal is quite thin and will bend easily if care is not used during assembly, but it does serve to keep the overall weight down. My wife and I bought a number of bikes as part of a family activity plan that doesn't involve TV. While this bike is obviously never going to win the Tour de France, it is more than up to the challenge of everyday use. The 7-speed derailleur makes the Point Beach Cruiser much easier to ride than a single-speed cruiser.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlackshirtJM
Smithville, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
FINALLY-A bike with Fenders & Gears
2/3/2008

Customer review by BillyMac404

5.0 stars 2/3/2008 by BillyMac404
by BillyMac404

My wife and I bought 2 of these bikes.We like the 7 speed shifter and the fact that there are actually fenders on the bike (when did fenders become optional??) The aluminum frame and stainless spokes are great-no rust. The paint job is a dark glossy red and really "looks" retro. The shifter is very convienently placed and shifts nicely. The female bike was missing the front fender, but an associate happily installed one for us. The riding position is very upright and comfortable. The only complaint I have is sometimes my foot grazes the front fender when turning (the frame on the men's bike could be another couple of inches longer). Other than that it seems to be a great bike so far.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BillyMac404
Sandy Springs (Atlanta), GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Bike!!
6/10/2008

Customer review by CruisingInLA

5.0 stars 6/10/2008 by CruisingInLA
by CruisingInLA

This bike is great! Easy and comfortable to ride. I had it delivered directly to Walmart and then had them assemble, which they did for free. The gears were not quite right so I adjusted them some and now they work fine. The price was a little more than I had budgeted for but I really liked the way it looked and I love the way it rides so I guess it was worth it. I added a basket and now bike all over town, doing shopping and running errands. I ride at least every day now. At the price of gas (Los Angeles: $4.73 a gallon today), this is definately an economical way to travel. I am so glad i purchased a cruiser with gears, it is a great help on the hills (being that I haven't ridden a bike in about 15 years). I have had folks stop me and tell me what a great looking bike it is. Seat could be a little more padded, but that is my preference.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CruisingInLA
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Bike
9/9/2007

Customer review by Faith7Fairfield

5.0 stars 9/9/2007 by Faith7Fairfield
by Faith7Fairfield

Love this bike. My sister and I both got bikes as gifts to ourselves for quitting smoking and she calls this one the "cadillac." It is just right for us plus size gals. The seat isn't perfect, but it's a lot better than other ones, as far as comfort, but other than that, it's a good heavy bike. I spent all summer trying to decide whether or not to buy it and I am very glad I did. I had a 12 year old boy say "that's a nice bike." My 15 year son likes it too. Happy cruising.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Faith7Fairfield
Finger Lakes Region, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good bike for "plus sized" women!!
6/11/2008

Customer review by MRSJPS

5.0 stars 6/11/2008 by MRSJPS
by MRSJPS

Just wanted to share that this is not a bike for a petite lady-this is for the bigger gals! I am so impressed with this bike. I am a plus size woman and I am not in great shape-but this bike makes it easy to get exercise while having fun. It looks really retro and rides really well. If you're a little gal-you might want to go with something else-this bike will probably be too tall and oversized for your body frame.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MRSJPS
Danville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 153 total reviews
1-20 of 153 reviews