Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 122 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

122 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

122 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
64
4 stars
41
3 stars
13
2 stars
3
1 stars
1
1-20 of 110 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 110 total reviews
1-20 of 110 reviews
Great bike, make sure to adjust
4/21/2008

Customer review by MstrM

5.0 stars 4/21/2008 by MstrM
by MstrM

The quality of materials in this bike is amazing. It's made of light-weight, sturdy aluminum, and though it's not the same feel as the old steel frame bikes, aluminum makes for a great and practical bike frame. If you buy this bike from a store where it was assembled by wal-mart workers, you will want to adjust most of the components. Don't get me wrong, wal-mart has great employees, but most of them aren't professional bike mechanics. You'll want to adjust the brakes (make sure they don't rest on the wheels), adjust the gear cable (to where the gears shift accurately), and make sure the guard covering the chain isn't warped to where the right pedal comes in contact with it (don't want to ruin that pretty paint job!) With a few minor adjustments, and proper maintenance, this bike could offer years and years of enjoyment. Get the bike, go riding, and watch heads turn!

Was this review helpful? (92) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MstrM
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
ok for the money
11/27/2007

Customer review by NevadaCruiser

5.0 stars 11/27/2007 by NevadaCruiser
by NevadaCruiser

The bike arrived to my house in 3 days of placing the order. But it did arrive damaged due to shipping.I called Schwinn and they sent me the replacement parts I requested within a week. The bike was fairly easy to assemble. The bike looks good and rides very nice, you can ride it sitting up right and not hunched over. The gears shift very good with no problems. I recommend this bike for older folks, great to get around town and save on gas money. Schwinn does not have the quality now that they had when I was a kid.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NevadaCruiser
Hawthorne, Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 500 contributor
Well built bike
7/19/2007

Customer review by Cruiser

5.0 stars 7/19/2007 by Cruiser
by Cruiser

I have shopped extensively and could find lots of bicycles but this one has more of the features I was expecting and at a better price than I could imagine. It is well built, an aluminum frame makes it lightweight, the gear system is one of the best. It appears to be a bike that will last a long time and provide many miles of fun.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cruiser
Tupelo, Ms.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wonderful bike and great service at the store!
8/6/2009

Customer review by Zose

5.0 stars 8/6/2009 by Zose
by Zose

I ordered this online and had it shipped to the store. When I got notice that the bike had arrived, I called the store to see if I could have it assembled. The young woman at customer service was so helpful; she arranged to have it put together for me that very afternoon. When I picked it up, another associate helped me. When she found out it was a gift for my husband, she took extra care to polish the bike, remove any unnecessary stickers and asked me to be sure to wish my husband a very happy birthday! On the way to the car, I must have gotten 5 compliments on the bike. One man even offered to ride it home for me :0) Needless to say, my husband was blown away. The bike fits him perfectly and is a very comfortable ride. Highly satisfied customer!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zose
Northern Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Cool Cruiser!
12/20/2007

Customer review by ColoradoSteve

4.0 stars 12/20/2007 by ColoradoSteve
by ColoradoSteve

I love the low price. The bike was in good condition. It was actually shipped in it's original box, then another heavier box was on the outside. I guess this is to help keep it safe during shipping. I have been a bicycle enthusiast for more than 30 years and even worked in a bicycle shop for 4 years while going to college. My biggest complaint with buying bikes from Walmart or Target is that the bikes fall apart very quickly. This happens because the bikes generally are never properly adjusted. For example, this cruiser is great and the components and construction quality are very good. I expect that this bike will last a long time. But, when I assembled the bicycle, I adjusted everything on the bike. Including: Both wheels were out of round and had loose spokes, one of the pedals would not turn freely, the brake pads did not meet the rim, etc.. You get the idea. So, my suggestion is to buy the bicycle if you want, but be sure to keep it adjusted properly, so it will last a long time.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ColoradoSteve
Longmont, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A Beauty To Look At, A Dream To Ride!
12/9/2009

Customer review by JFBjr

5.0 stars 12/9/2009 by JFBjr
by JFBjr

I have motorized many different types of bikes, but this is my favorite so far! This bike turns heads. It handles and rides as great as it looks with an engine installed. Hand brakes are really required for a motorized bike, rather than just a coaster brake.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JFBjr
Tucson, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product - very, very poor manual
7/16/2009

Customer review by Barkdust45

4.0 stars 7/16/2009 by Barkdust45
by Barkdust45

I purchased an unassembled Schwinn Point Beach bicycle via ship-to-store and did the assembly myself. I want to be very clear; I like this bike now that I have it assembled and adjusted. I would like to recommend it to people, but I don’t feel that I can do so because of the issues that I found or experienced assembling this bike. Here is what I found: 1. The rear brake pads were not a set. They were two pads for the left side of the caliper. (The replacement parts are being sent.) 2. The front caliper was labeled as if it were a rear caliper. That is there were markings for left and right but they were on the reverse side of the bicycle. There was no indication in the manual if the front and rear calipers were the same part or if I had an incorrect part. (Clarified by support.) 3. The front fender needed about a 1/8” spacer to stop the fender from hitting the forks and rattling. 4. The pre-assembled rear fender did not have enough clearance between the brake cable cover and the rear fender. (It squeaked.) I fixed the clearance by was able to forcing the fender down at the center attachment and allowing the rear supports to overlap the wheel nuts. 5. There were no instructions on mounting the front reflector style that was included with this bike. 6. The packing material covering the rear carrier came off which caused some marring of the paint on that part. 7. There was a major mold “nib” on the front tire which hit the front brake pads. The sound produced was very much like a bad bearing. It took me about an hour to figure out that it was not a bearing. 8. The front Schwinn decal was partially detached. 9. The pre-assembled rear brake caliper had one spring which was not properly in the holder. As a result there was no return action for that side of the brake. The biggest issue though is with the instructions themselves. I am mechanically inclined and experienced. I have restored classic cars and worked on bikes as a kid. I have assembled a lot of toys and devices; the manual for this bike is simply the worst that I have seen. I don’t know how to say that any clearer. Simply the worst. Everything requires the customer to figure out which set of instructions apply to the model purchased; there are no model specific diagrams – not even a picture of the bike. It’s like a puzzle with no picture on the box. There is no parts list and no additional information on the internet. I can say that customer support was very helpful. The replacement parts were sent out promptly and they helped solve issue number 2 above. Walmart shipped this in a heavy outer box with no "Up" markings. The inner Schwinn box was covered with warnings about not laying down the box and the "up" direction. The box may have been laid on its side which contributed to number 6. above.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Barkdust45
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Bike!
1/1/2010

Customer review by ASpence

5.0 stars 1/1/2010 by ASpence
by ASpence

This was an awesome purchase. I got it for my husband for Christmas, and he LOVES it! :) I had been searching for a cool looking bike so that we could ride together. And a affordable one at that. And just didn't find anything until.... This is just the epitome of the shiny, red, cool bike that you would see under the Christmas tree. I had someone who knows what they are doing put it togther. Ie: A bike shop...and that is the way to go. I had read online in multiple places that getting it assembled at the store wasn't the best way to go. So...Just took the box straight to the shop and Boom! A ready to ride bike for Christmas :) And if you're a bigger, taller, guy, this bike will work you. My husband is football player in size and he fits just fine ;) I also got the female version of this for Christmas and it is just GORGEOUS! I LOVE MY NEW BIKE :) And it rides great, it's a great find. Highly recommend them both ;) just have someone that knows what they are doing assemble them, and these bikes should be just what you're looking for.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ASpence
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good bike, but has limits...
9/29/2009

Customer review by oeb

4.0 stars 9/29/2009 by oeb
by oeb

Pros: Beautiful bike. Inexpensive. Good Shimano components. Well-packaged (not a scratch on it out of the box), easy to assemble. Cons: The bike is SMALL. OK, smaller than I expected. Yes, the wheel size is 26", but the frame itself is very compact - more from a horizontal perspective than vertical. In other words, the handle bars are nearly in your lap when riding. Sharp turns not allowed, since the bars will hit your knees! I know you can raise the bars, but the distance between to headset (handlebar post) and the seat post seems very short, and I'm only 5'10". Also, the fenders rattle and are flimsy. The rack could be beefier too. Looks like tubular steel in the picture, but it's stamped aluminum, so it rattles and shakes too. Like the bike for the price though, with those caveats.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oeb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/30/2009

Customer review by stingray66

5.0 stars 8/30/2009 by stingray66
by stingray66

Great bike at a great price went to a LBS and they wanted 700.00 bucks for a mountain bike with black Plastics fenders and that was a 7 speed the only thing you have to do is go over this bike since I am an auto mechanic It was no problem 1st you need to pack the front and rear wheel bearings and also pack the bottom bracket with grease for some reason when they built this bike they did not use any grease on any bearings I also changed out the gears’ in the back the bike came with a 14-28 and I installed a 7 speed 11-34 man what a big difference . with the 11 tooth gears you will have all kind of top end and with the 34 tooth gears this curser can clime big hill’s with ease The complements I get every day this is a great looking bike and with a little more work on it will keep up with any other bike as of 8/29/09 I have put on 500 miles on it and I have had this bike for two months right now I am looking to put white walls tires on it and replace that ugly plastic spoke protector and replace it with a chrome one form a sting ray then she will be looking fine use this bike every day and have had a blast with it

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stingray66
Philly Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A could be better product
5/27/2008

Customer review by MotorBikeKC

2.0 stars 5/27/2008 by MotorBikeKC
by MotorBikeKC

Assembly instructions were not that good. Front fender did not fit and had to be left off.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MotorBikeKC
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great Bike
7/7/2007

Customer review by NewJerseyGuy

5.0 stars 7/7/2007 by NewJerseyGuy
by NewJerseyGuy

Terrific Bike. Looks good. Rides well. Easy to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewJerseyGuy
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
26" Men's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser Bike
11/4/2007

Customer review by Rick45036

3.0 stars 11/4/2007 by Rick45036
by Rick45036

Cool bike, but delivered damaged. Severly kinked brake cable, torn seat, scratched frame, and a hole in one tire tube. Took lots of work and expense to get up to riding condition.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rick45036
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
very satisfied!
1/5/2009

Customer review by MarriedWithPuppies

5.0 stars 1/5/2009 by MarriedWithPuppies
by MarriedWithPuppies

My sisters and I decided to buy our father a bicycle for Christmas. My husband had looked around for a good bicycle with just enough speeds for our dad to handle that also looked nice. He had been using a vintage bicycyle my older sister got for Christmas many many years ago. This bicycle was perfect for him. We ordered it online. It was shipped right before Christmas very quickly! We were impressed with the quick service and with the bicycle too. He loved it. It has the vintage look we were looking for and it is just the right speed for him. It was his favorite present for sure!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarriedWithPuppies
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Great product at a great price
12/5/2009

Customer review by Outn20

5.0 stars 12/5/2009 by Outn20
by Outn20

I was looking for a beach cruiser for a while and only found the $300 + price range in bicycle stores. I found in this bike online and saw one at KMart that was a black version and $50 more. Once I saw this bike in person I knew that it was the absolutley best deal around. The bike came 80% assembled (only the tires, seat and handlebars were not attached), took 5 minutes to put togthere. Bike is the best youll find for under $300.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Outn20
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
verygoogvalue
7/5/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/5/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

very good bike, easy to ride with adequate gear selection and very good appearance.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
chowhilla ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Overall-Best-Bang-For-Buck !!!
11/15/2009

Customer review by thethreetwins

5.0 stars 11/15/2009 by thethreetwins
by thethreetwins

Hello,I have been a tinkerer all my life and a welder/fabricator for 40 yrs.Reasently I have gotten into building motorized bicycles as a hobby.The first motorized bike I built was a Schwinn Single speed cruiser that I purchased at my local wal-mart. My nephew HAD to have so I sold it to him.I promptly started searching for another bike to motorize and came across a Point-Beach in another wal-mart and fell in love.The Candy apple red and pearl white looks georgeous together.The aluminum Tig welded frame is put together to last and the seven speeds and brakes are very good quality.I've shopped around and you wo'nt find a better bike for twice the price.I've built and sold 5 Schwinn Point-Beaches so far and have cleaned out every wal-mart in the area.Now I'm having them drop shipped to my house.This is working out even better as they are in my garage three days after they are ordered.The assembly is very easy all you need is a 15mm wrench and a set of allen wrenches.I would recommend you take the bike to a local bike shop for a tune-up to adjust the brakes and shifting.other than that enjoy.Wal-Mart also carries some dress-up accessories that really will make others drool.Like wide white wall tires,brown seat and tool kit,old style pedals and more.I wish there was more stars as this is a great value.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thethreetwins
Sanford, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Classic sturdy and comfortable bike.
2/14/2010

Customer review by Oldgraylensman

5.0 stars 2/14/2010 by Oldgraylensman
by Oldgraylensman

This bicycle replaces an identical model purchased three years ago. On the original machine, I replaced the handlebars with a raised set plus a wider, more comfortable padded seat, then added a front basket and rear saddlebags. Otherwise it was used as delivered, and I plan to do the same with this one. This made it very comfortable for a daily 15-mile commute to work. Altogether, it racked up more than six thousand miles. Along the way, I used up several new wheels and quite a few tires. The only weak point that I found on the bike involved the plastic cable connectors used in the the original assembly. I'd definitely suggest adding a sealant to the tires and always wearing a helmet. I would recommend Schwinn's Point Beach cruiser without hesitation to anyone who seeks a strong, comfortable, and reliable bicycle that is really a joy to ride. I'm looking forward to using the new one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Oldgraylensman
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great bike
5/28/2008

Customer review by BuddyB65

5.0 stars 5/28/2008 by BuddyB65
by BuddyB65

I just took possession of my new bike which was given to me on my 74th birthday. I assembled it myself and found that some of the instructions were a little vague. It brings back fond memories and I plan to make many more memories with this great product. Would recommend this bike to anyone that get pleasure from biking the old fashion way.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BuddyB65
Forrest City, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/17/2007

Customer review by jaspershopper

5.0 stars 12/17/2007 by jaspershopper
by jaspershopper

i am a senior and have owned many schwinns buthave never seen such a beautiful paint job. the metalic red and pearl white looks an inch thick.the only thing its lacking is center pull brakes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jaspershopper
fremont ne.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 110 total reviews
1-20 of 110 reviews