Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 12 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

12 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

12 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-12 of 12 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great Value!!!
11/12/2007

Customer review by Chillybat

5.0 stars 11/12/2007 by Chillybat
by Chillybat

I was skeptical about this purchase at first because of the brand and the fact that I wanted a good starter road bike. Once I rode it, I found that with some fine tuning on the shifters and a set of clipless pedals I would be able to ride with the much more expensive bikes. That makes this a great starter bike at an exceptional value.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chillybat
DeSoto, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent value
2/9/2009

Customer review by texastriguy

5.0 stars 2/9/2009 by texastriguy
by texastriguy

I've owned this bike for eight months, ridden it 1,000 miles and competed in two sprint triathlons. I give this bike excellent reviews as a value for the money. You should understand that this is not actually a carbon fiber bike - it is carbon wrapped aluminum. Still, the bike weighs about 23 pounds, about 4 pounds more than bikes in the $1500 range. The bike is sturdy, aerodynamic and can be easily upgraded with clipless pedals, thinner tires and aerobars to increase speed. I regularly ride with people on much more expensive bikes and have no trouble keeping up. In a recent 50-mile group ride I passed people who were pushing their $3,000 bikes up the hill. Many times it's more about the rider's fitness than the cost of the bike. Get out there and ride!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
texastriguy
Spring, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good price, but...
10/23/2008

Customer review by robert0259

3.0 stars 10/23/2008 by robert0259
by robert0259

If it needs any tweaking...guess what..you're paying for it unless you get Walmart to take it back. Schwinn only covers parts..no labor. About a week after purchase I heard a noise coming from the crankset; I made the adjustments after I got the proper tools. Also, forget about this bike as a hill climber, it's only 14 speed with a double in the front...no good for hills. The tires are cheap Kendas, not to mention an oddball size(700x26c). If you can do your own repairs..the bike is OK...if not...you better have a bike shop adjust everything within 30 days. IMHO..spend about $400 more and get a Trek 1.2 from a bike shop.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
robert0259
Woodbridge, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great value
6/8/2008

Customer review by Ridetowork

5.0 stars 6/8/2008 by Ridetowork
by Ridetowork

This is a good, durable, light bike for the money. Try and find a better one for cheaper.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ridetowork
LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike
10/28/2008

Customer review by EyeKeepWalmartInBusiness

5.0 stars 10/28/2008 by EyeKeepWalmartInBusiness
by EyeKeepWalmartInBusiness

This is my first road bike so I don't have much to compare it to, but it is a very solid entry level bike. The integrated brake shifters is something you normally find on a much more expensive bike. Like any bike, it needs a few adjustments to get everything just right. Once dialed in, it shifts very smooth and stops on a dime. I recently rode this bike 31 miles and had a blast with it! I would definitely recommend this bike. Also, check your local store because my store had it on clearance all the way down to $249!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EyeKeepWalmartInBusiness
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great entry to middle level bike
9/1/2008

Customer review by stevenm

5.0 stars 9/1/2008 by stevenm
by stevenm

As my first road bike, I have had nothing but great riding experiences. Indeed, its a great value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stevenm
Monticello
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Better than expected
3/5/2009

Customer review by JHuff15

5.0 stars 3/5/2009 by JHuff15
by JHuff15

This is one of the best purchases I ever made. I bought this bike used and it had new liners put in for the tire issues mentioned. The first day I got it, I rode 10 miles and loved every minute of it. I would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JHuff15
Louisville, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
VERY GOOD BIKE
1/22/2009

Customer review by CoachBG

5.0 stars 1/22/2009 by CoachBG
by CoachBG

I got this bike several weeks ago and love it. I have had no problems with it. Rode 16 miles one weekend with no problem. Rode 12 miles another weekend with no problem. Days between I just rode short rides with no problem. This bike really was a good buy. I have no regrets.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoachBG
Canton, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike for the Money and beginner
9/19/2008

Customer review by weezmaticmike

5.0 stars 9/19/2008 by weezmaticmike
by weezmaticmike

After looking at what it was going to cost me to get a beginner road bike at some local bike shops I decided to give this one a shot. It costs somewhere between $200-400 less than what I could find for a decent bike. I've probably put about 100miles on the bike so far. After the first 15mile ride I realized I needed a new seat, the stock one isn't too comfy on long or short rides. Really a good buy for beginners looking to get out and start riding.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
weezmaticmike
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great bike
2/5/2009

Customer review by trackking

5.0 stars 2/5/2009 by trackking
by trackking

This bike works excellent out of the box, great shifting system. For the cost, this is an excellent buy for starting out on the road.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trackking
hayward, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
700c Schwinn Varsity Carbon Fiber Road Bike
8/12/2008

Customer review by Pettit361

4.0 stars 8/12/2008 by Pettit361
by Pettit361

It was pretty easy to put together. I was a little disappointed that it took so long to ship. They say 7 to 10 days but it took 13. Over all the bike is pretty light, not pro light, but light enough for a beginner. The shifters are off a little and I haven't been able to adjust them to shift smooth yet. I've taken it out on the road three times and twice I've had a flat. You've got to remember that these tires are thin. Also don't purchase slime to fix a flat it just keeps blowing out. It's a nice bike for the price. Try it out you'll love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pettit361
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
700c Varsity CF
3/9/2009

Customer review by mag008

3.0 stars 3/9/2009 by mag008
by mag008

This is a great bike, if you are in a remote area and do not have a good bike shop or all the bike shops in your area are only selling bikes for over $1000. My first complaint is that the front wheel was damaged in shipping. This is not cool if you have to deal with replacing it. The other issue is that the crank set gears are stamped not machined. This is an issue if you are riding over 10 miles a day. For a light weight starter bike this is not bad at all. I feel that the frame handle bar seat shifters brakes and wheels are about the same quality as the more expensive bikes. However, you should consider spending $50-$150 for a much better bike from a performance bike shop. Only 14 gears, a little bit more $$ and you can get better quality gears and an extra 7 to choose from. 14 gears are fine for flats but the extra 7 really helps on the hills. Ended up returning this bike. Loved the frames finish black carbon fiber looked really cool.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mag008
Would recommend to a friend? Yes