Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 177 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

177 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

177 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
97
4 stars
41
3 stars
22
2 stars
8
1 stars
9
1-20 of 142 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 142 total reviews
1-20 of 142 reviews
blackout curtains
8/2/2010

Customer review by nightshade1980

5.0 stars 8/2/2010 by nightshade1980
by nightshade1980

these curtains were replacing our old ones which we purchased when we first bought our home. these curtains have helped keep our energy bill down by blocking out the majority of the light when the sun is shining full on the front of our house. It helps us sleep longer when the sun is rising at our bedroom window. It is made of cotton with Acrylic white backing. It does have an odd smell out of the package but it goes away. Measuring guide: up to 29" wide-1 panel, 30-39" -2 panels, 40-48" wide -2-3 panels, 49-72" wide, 3-4 panels, 73-96" wide -4-5 panels, 97-120"wide -5-6 panels.

Was this review helpful? (140) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from Maytex - 1/9/2015

Thank you for the review. Enjoy!

nightshade1980
Wasco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great light blocker
11/3/2007

Customer review by CD1980

5.0 stars 11/3/2007 by CD1980
by CD1980

I put these up in my living room where a window is on the west side. Even with miniblinds I couldn't use my TV in the afternoon. These curtains changed that. They are not red - they are a wine color.

Was this review helpful? (116) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from Maytex - 1/9/2015

Thank you for the review. Enjoy!

CD1980
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Blackout Curtain Review
10/29/2010

Customer review by RubberCrutches

4.0 stars 10/29/2010 by RubberCrutches
by RubberCrutches

These drapes are made in China. They are 100 percent Cotton with a 100 percent Acrylic backing. The material, itself, is thin, but the backing makes the drapes feel thick. I personally ordered 12 of the wine colored panels. Of the 12 panels that I received, the backing of four of them was stuck together in the package and upon unfolding those drapes, the backing pulled off the drapes and the material even tore on one of the panels simply trying to unfold the drapes from the package. Now, holding those up to a window, it appears as though they have large holes in them and I have never even had them on the windows yet. I did a corner mount with the remaining drapes as in the advertising photo. I used 3/4 inch metal electrical conduit as drapery rods. You can get the rounded corner effect with electrical conduit parts that you can buy along with the conduit. The corner parts are curved and about a foot long. While hanging these drapes, I went into fits of sneezing. I'm not prone to allergies, but these drapes caused me to sneeze for a long period of time. The drapes look really nice once they are up and hung. I had planned for two 40 inch panels to cover each 40 inch area. That gave me enough for the "folds" in the drape and it seemed sufficient. You can wash these in cold water and hang to dry. The directions said you can use a warm iron on the face side if desired. I didn't. Aside from looking nice once in place, they "did" muffle the sound in the room a lot. Let's face it, the drapes are cheap and you get what you pay for. I, too, strongly recommend ordering extra panels.. more, perhaps, than you think you feel you might need... because, remember, 25 percent of what I had ordered was damaged coming out of the package when the Acrylic backing was all stuck together. I probably would have returned the damaged panels, but I plan on using the undamaged parts of them to make throw pillows to match the curtians...so all is not wasted. I'm a 62 year old man with no talent for hanging drapes and I got pretty fair results. You should be able to as well.

Was this review helpful? (71) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RubberCrutches
Erie, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Ouch!
1/14/2008

Customer review by ThePickyOne

3.0 stars 1/14/2008 by ThePickyOne
by ThePickyOne

I failed to note how many panels I got for this price before I ordered. One panel for this price is a bit much but they truly serve the purpose. I only have one when I need 5-6 for my window. When I held it up to my window you could tell the difference right away. And they really do cushion the outside noise!

Was this review helpful? (82) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThePickyOne
Columbus, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This is a perfect cotton velvet curtain
4/11/2013

Customer review by daisytran

5.0 stars 4/11/2013 by daisytran
by daisytran

I was so surprised by how beautiful and thick the curtains were when I received them. The velvet is so nice and smooth, and the curtain totally blocks noise and light, which I like so much. I combined the curtains with red and stripe valances I bought from JCPenny and they make the window look so amazing. I totally recommend this, and in the attached pictures I used 6 velvet panels.

Was this review helpful? (41) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
daisytran
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BE CAUTIOUS
1/14/2012

Customer review by AskGrace

2.0 stars 1/14/2012 by AskGrace
by AskGrace

I purchased 10 panels about three years ago. After searching high and low, these were the most affordable room darkening and insulating panels I could find. They arrived in good time and in good shape. The looked great and worked wonderfully. I have a beach building built in the early 1900's and for those who are unfamiliar - beaches are COLD in the winter and TOO HOT in the summer. These were purchased to block out light AND extreme in temperatures and they do both really really well. HOWEVER - if you plan to open and close these drapes with any frequency at all, you really should mount them with rings that easily slide on your rod. If you push them aside by hand, even carefully, you will be enormously disappointed. The seams were DRY ROTTED. However, I would never have known that if I'd just hung them up and let them sit there untouched. It's the moving the curtains aside that revealed, VERY QUICKLY, that the seams will literally shred. I have ten panels, six of which I have moved aside regularly to expose views, sun, etc. And now I have to mend ALL six of those panels because the strip of fabric that is the drape is literally hanging by two or three rotting threads from the strip of fabric that contains the rod pocket. I have to use my sewing machine with zig zag stitching to mend all these curtains, and I find that REALLY UNACCEPTABLE. Seriously - you cannot trust these curtains to last. The thread is rotten. You can only imagine how long these curtain panels sat in some unairconditioned warehouse or some humid ship until landing on US shores. BUY WITH CAUTION. The curtains WORK TO BLOCK LIGHT but if you plan to touch them at all, look for a better quality product.

Was this review helpful? (54) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AskGrace
Venice CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice drapes, but....
8/25/2007

Customer review by ProudMilitaryWife

4.0 stars 8/25/2007 by ProudMilitaryWife
by ProudMilitaryWife

These are very nice drapes, they completely block out the sun which is exactly what I was looking for. My only complaint would be that when they are on the pole, they don't come together completely, so I have a small slit of sunlight sometimes. Its not that big of a deal, they look nice, they are soft, and they work to block out the heat and sunlight, so it works for us!! =)

Was this review helpful? (57) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from Maytex - 1/9/2015

Thank you for the review. Enjoy!

ProudMilitaryWife
APO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very nice curtain panels
6/23/2011

Customer review by happypet6

5.0 stars 6/23/2011 by happypet6
by happypet6

I researched curtains for a long time before making this purchase. The main reason was that I hadn't bought them in such a long time. We have bamboo blinds in all our windows and just preferred the look. I sleep during the day and have several kitties. In order to let them look out during the day, was trying to find a solution for the light coming in the window with the blinds up a little. This was a perfect! First, be aware that this comes in panels, not a set of curtains. So be sure you order enough for your window(s). As far as appearance, I have absolutely no complaints. They're rather rich looking and hang well. For you folks with cats, they can easily open the center or go around the sides without disturbing the lights out effect. Oh, I got the chocolate and it's a deep color, very pretty. I had read other reviews that said these curtains block out sound, as well as light. Didn't really buy that part, but they do! We have a good bit of traffic on our street and I haven't heard any of it since putting these up. And they do a great job of blocking out the light. I can't attest to the washing or cleaning because I haven't had them long enough. I would imagine you could use a damp rag on them occasionally and do the trick. I know I've been long winded, but I had to look a long time and thought a thorough review might help someone else. Happy shopping!!

Was this review helpful? (37) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happypet6
Missisippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
9/6/2009

Customer review by simcal

4.0 stars 9/6/2009 by simcal
by simcal

looks very good and does the job. read the reviews before my purchase so I knew the color was going to be burgundy/red wine color and not red, which is perfect. blocks out the light very good for my home theater room. The only thing I can stress is that you need to make sure you order the correct amount of panels. you get one per order and you may as well cut the width in half in order to get the curtains to look like they do in the pictures. the measurement is for the panels being total flat. I have 80inch windows so i figured 3 would work but I ended up ordering one more and now I have the desired look.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from Maytex - 1/9/2015

Thank you for the review. Enjoy!

simcal
san diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor quality
1/23/2011

Customer review by militarymommyof2

1.0 stars 1/23/2011 by militarymommyof2
by militarymommyof2

I bought these curtains since my husband was working on call and having to sleep during the day most of the time. When i hung them up they seemed to gap really bad at the bottom no matter that i overlapped the tops. Then after the first wash (they claim to be washable) in a front loading washer the backing just shredded and left white flakes all over the fabric. With the backing shredded the "room darkening" feature was seriously compromised. For the price i would have expected better quality in the blackout lining.

Was this review helpful? (32) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
militarymommyof2
Japan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/8/2011

Customer review by Craftydevil

5.0 stars 2/8/2011 by Craftydevil
by Craftydevil

This is the second set of these drapes I have purchased. The first set for my living room, the second for my mom. I bought mine last year and love them so much I got a set this winter for my mom's sliding glass doors. They do a fabulous job of blocking cold air in the winter and the hot sun in the summer because they are truly blackout. They dampen noise real well too. I did take them down for awhile last spring and folded them velvet to velvet and put them in a zippered storage bag. When I took them out I thought I would have to deal with wrinkles, but they had none! I highly recommend these, they save on energy bills as well as noisy neighbors!

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Craftydevil
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice, But You Have to Give 'Em a Little Love First
9/29/2013

Customer review by DarkGlamour

3.0 stars 9/29/2013 by DarkGlamour
by DarkGlamour

When you remove the curtains from their plastic bags, you might be disappointed by the stiffness, quantity of deep-set wrinkles and areas where the nap is mashed, resulting in a mass of matte and shiny spots. (After reading other reviews, I wasn't expecting perfection, but was a little surprised by how much of a mess they were. And by the monster-mess they created! It was like someone set off a lint bomb in my apartment!) Much to my surprise, they look great now. First I spritzed down the velvety side so that they were damp but not soaked. Then I tossed them into the dryer on low-to-no heat for a half-hour. They emerged from the dryer softer and more fluid, relatively wrinkle-free with the acrylic surface intact. I had ordered four and was happy to see that they were still all similar in length. Now that they're up, they look nice. They darken the room well. And the backing seems to help keep my apartment cooler during the day. PS The description says velvet but they're actually velveteen.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DarkGlamour
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
High-end look for a reasonable price
2/17/2012

Customer review by smartshoprt

5.0 stars 2/17/2012 by smartshoprt
by smartshoprt

I got 6 of these to wrap around a bay window area in a master suite and they look gorgeous! Curtains: The panel comes with a lining. The height of the panels are quite uniform. The velvet outer material is not as plush as I would prefer, but for the price, I can't complain. The Olive Green was beautiful and went perfectly with my color scheme. I was so pleased with the look that I ordered an extra panel and upholstered the headboard with the fabric. Shipping: Walmart shipped it to store promptly and emailed/text-ed me notification to pick up.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smartshoprt
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice curtains
12/17/2013

Customer review by schmwi

5.0 stars 12/17/2013 by schmwi
by schmwi

I bought these for a basement home theater, knowing the color is burgundy. They look elegant and really help with the theater ambience. They are great for that purpose. Check out the picture.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
schmwi
Neenah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super
11/20/2008

Customer review by BlackHillsLover

5.0 stars 11/20/2008 by BlackHillsLover
by BlackHillsLover

Easy to iron. Easy to hang. Looks great

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from Maytex - 1/9/2015

Thank you for the review. Enjoy!

BlackHillsLover
Rapid City, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
functional and expensive-looking
9/12/2011

Customer review by JustCam

5.0 stars 9/12/2011 by JustCam
by JustCam

These drapes (in chocolate brown) do a good job of blocking light when closed, and significantly darkening a room even when opened. Heavy weight and luxurious velvet feel make this look more expensive than what they cost. They are quite narrow, so get more if you're going for a fuller look. Also, the chocolate brown is very dark - closer to an espresso or coffee bean brown than mocha/taupe.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustCam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not as wide as a normal curtain
2/8/2014

Customer review by stylemaven75

4.0 stars 2/8/2014 by stylemaven75
by stylemaven75

These are decent curtains for the money, and appreciate that they have a white back to them so the sun doesn't discolor the black fabric (which is what happened to my previous ones from somewhere else)..however, they are skinnier panels than a normal curtain width, so you will need to get more than 2 if you want any pleating effect on a standard 6 ft wide sliding glass door. I bought 3 (see picture). The color is the pic doesn't quite do them justice as they are a nice deep black. It took some effort to get them to look decent out of the package though...I sprayed them with water then ironed them all before hanging because they are quite wrinkled and have a slight odor to them at first. Overall, however, I am happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stylemaven75
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wide color variation
8/29/2011

Customer review by taxiismygame

3.0 stars 8/29/2011 by taxiismygame
by taxiismygame

I ordered 4 panels, two 84" and two 95" black velvet blackout panels. Three of the four panels are close in color, but one of them isn't even remotely close in color. Also, the 84" are actually 81" however the 95" are okay. For the price they are a good value, but they need to make sure the panels are cut from the same dye-lot of fabric, and they would not have to worry about variations in color. I am going to hang them for now and see if I can get used to it. They are also not very wide, so you might need more panels than you would usually use.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
taxiismygame
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excellent appearance for a reasonable price
4/23/2012

Customer review by tree2006

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by tree2006
by tree2006

Recently purcharsed 9 panels of this velvet blackout curtains for new home theater room. The picture show a ruffle cassing at top of rod. This drape does not have this its a straight flat gathered pleat. I ordered 95" but needed 93" length. Fortunately i am handy with straighlines on a sewing machine and made a top header casing of 2". THis made them the length I needed with ruffle at the top I was expecting. In addition, I stiched 2 and 3 panels together side by side to eliminate light coming through the gaps in the panels. The center opening I lined with self stick verlcro tape (puchased at Lowes) and they can be closed so there is absolutely no light coming in at all. They must be steam ironed on the velvet side to look nice. I did not notice the "smell" some people mentioned. People mentioned "small holes" but they are only noticeable in direct sunlight and do not distract. Excellent value compared to others I looked at but did take me some time to get them custominzed for my purposes. They are heavy and look luxurious hanging. I purchased double window width for the full luxurious look. I am very pleased with this product.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tree2006
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Velvet Blackout Energy
5/9/2011

Customer review by SHELLiEY

2.0 stars 5/9/2011 by SHELLiEY
by SHELLiEY

The curtains are beautiful - great color - blocks light wonderfully - they are made very narrow. I have standard windows and 2 panels were just short of covering the window completely when closed.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from Maytex - 11/21/2014

The window panels are 40" inches wide x 84" inches long.

SHELLiEY
PHX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 142 total reviews
1-20 of 142 reviews