Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 188 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

188 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

188 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
98
4 stars
23
3 stars
12
2 stars
16
1 stars
39
1-20 of 180 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 180 total reviews
1-20 of 180 reviews
A solid machine
3/22/2008

Customer review by MongoTech

5.0 stars 3/22/2008 by MongoTech
by MongoTech

I originally purchased a Mach 3 but had issues with the handle. I thought it was just a fluke. I did a little more research and decided to upgrade to the Mach 5 instead of staying with the Mach 3. I like the extra HEPA filter and the fact that you can turn the brush on or off for tile or hard floors which is a big improvement. We normally have a pretty dean house but was still a little surprised by how much hair (girls) and fine dirt/dust I picked up. The construction seems very solid and other than one stripped screw in the powered hand tool I was very pleased. My wife really seemed pleased with the long reaching hose and retractable electric cord. I like the fact that you can wash most of the filters which means less money spent over the life of the unit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MongoTech
Akron, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
the good doesn't last
3/11/2008

Customer review by loveofcats

1.0 stars 3/11/2008 by loveofcats
by loveofcats

Vaccuum worked great at first, but canister doesn't hold much dirt and is a HUGE pain to clean (the dirt doesn't just drop out as picture shows). If there's any dirt at all in the canister, you lose suction power, which forces you to empty several times in one house cleaning. Vaccuum is also quite heavy, thought it's a great workout initially, but after time it's just a pain. Would rather have something lighter. Have had vaccuum about 5 months now, and because dirt gets stuck up above the brush (there's a strange area up there), it tends to fall out on your floors when not even in use. The light on ours has never worked and last week the brush decided it wasn't going to spin any more. We took all apart and one of the belts seems a little lose, not sure if that's the problem. Will try to find a replacement and see if it works. Overall, not happy with this vaccuum. I've had cheaper vaccuums that have worked better and lasted longer (not that this one is that expensive).

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loveofcats
cedar rapids, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Time will tell
12/23/2007

Customer review by butterflycross

5.0 stars 12/23/2007 by butterflycross
by butterflycross

I just bought this vacum to replace my old Dirt Devil. So far it works great. I lost suction for a minute when the chamber got full after doing a room and half (my old vacum had died recently, did I mention that), but that tells me it was doing it's job. It can be a little messy to empty but I don't mind as long as that dirty is not on my floors anymore (my hands wash), and even for how hevey it is, it still is not that bad (better than vacuming for an hour just trying to get the big stuff up). This was also the only one left in the store, it was sold out. I liked the Dyson; but could not justify spending $350-$500 for a vacum!! So for the price and features it was a good choice. If in 6 months it breaks down I will re-review it and let you know. PS- Automatic cord rewinder is to cool!! I hate messing with the cord. And the fact that if you suck up anything that could wrap around the brush roller it automatically shuts it off is nice, saves wear on the motor.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
butterflycross
Grants Pass, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hoover Mach5
7/23/2007

Customer review by BoomersHeart

5.0 stars 7/23/2007 by BoomersHeart
by BoomersHeart

I love this vacuum. When it said that it cleaned better than Dyson, I thought "yeah, easy to say, because I couldn't afford to own a Dyson to compare it!" But I must say that this is a fantastic machine. I was sick for a week, and my white boxer laid on my burgandy colored rug near me for almost that whole time. Needless to say, I was dreading cleaning the rug to the point of considering throwing it out rather than stuggle with my old machine. Instead, I purchased this vacuum. I was stunned! It effortlessly cleaned that carpet and left not one short dog hair behind. I wish I had the money to buy one of these for each family member because it is a dream machine. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BoomersHeart
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
heavy in weight not in suction
1/28/2008

Customer review by rocknmommaof5

2.0 stars 1/28/2008 by rocknmommaof5
by rocknmommaof5

I had purchased this vacuum a year ago after a lot of research. I was very happy with the performance at first and all the reviews I read were spot on. The only think I didn't like was the weight.... super heavy to carry up two flights of stairs and very hard to vacuum the stairs. Then it happened! One month ago around the busy Christmas time it started to just shut off by itself. After cooling down for 1/2 a day and a good cleaning it would run again for 10 mins. Now this would be fine for some people but I have 3700 spuare feet to vacuum, five children, a dog, and a cat. I have contacted Hoover and they told me that I have a bad heat sensor on my engine and I need to take it in for repair. Beware!!! This is happening to a lot of Mach 5 owners after 6-12 months of ownership. Try and keep it extremely clean and empty the canister OFTEN. By the way... I have also lost most of the suction. We have taken it apart piece by piece, not an easy task, and it worked for a good 5 mins..... and now it is dead!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rocknmommaof5
Roanoke, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Does a great job
8/14/2007

Customer review by peterFL

5.0 stars 8/14/2007 by peterFL
by peterFL

After yet another low-priced vacuum started to lose any kind of sucking power, despite my replacing of the filter and the belt, I decided to look at getting one that would actually withstand some level of punishment and last me a good few years. Dyson's are great, from first-hand experience, but way out of my price range. Thankfully, one of Dyson's patents has recently expired allowing manufacturers to try their hand at cheaper clones. According to a number of message boards, this is the best of them so far. I can't argue with that from my experiences -- this is a very powerful vacuum and it was incredible how much dirt it pulled out of the carpet I had just cleaned earlier that day with a neighbor's borrowed vac. Doesn't skip a beat on cat hair. It's a little on the heavy side, but nothing unmanageable, but on the other hand it also feels much more solid than cheap vacs. Plus, it simply won't lose suction over time, as long as you take care of it. (Wash the pre-motor filter once each month, using water only, no soap, allow to dry. Wash the post-motor Hepa filter once each year, using water only, no soap, allow to dry. Replace drive belt (only cost a few bucks) every 1-2 years.) Anyway, best vacuum I've ever owned. And hooray for no more pricey filters to buy.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
peterFL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Doesn't stand the test of time
4/13/2009

Customer review by QuickandPainless

2.0 stars 4/13/2009 by QuickandPainless
by QuickandPainless

My wife and I are now on our 3rd one and this one too is now on it's way out to the vacuum graveyard. If I were to rate this unit within the fist few weeks it would be a 5 STAR review...HOWEVER, after much longer it begins to drastically lose suction. I clean this Hoover after every use and even go above an beyond to keep it in ship-shape..but it doesn't matter. BTW replacing belts requires removing several screws and being somewhat mechanically inclined to complete the task. The suction slowly begins to drop off after no time at all. The 1st one we got just died one day right in the middle of vacuuming. The second one lose the ability to spin its brushes. This one is making horrific noises now and the hose attachments will barely pick up a clump of hair. The ONLY reason we have continued to stay with this unit is because they were replaced for being faulty. WHEN this one goes out I will just be prepared to spend some more money on a higher quality unit. Hoover has definitely lost us as repeat customers.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QuickandPainless
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product with great price
10/9/2007

Customer review by Mitsuracer

5.0 stars 10/9/2007 by Mitsuracer
by Mitsuracer

My old 11 year old Hoover final bit the dust so it was time to get a new vacuum. I really wanted a Dyson after seeing and using my neighbors, but I refuse to spend that much on a vacuum. So the internet research began. I am so glad I bought this product, it is just as good if not better than the Dyson Iv'e used. We just moved into a new villa recently so I had vacuumed with the old hoover about 4 times so I figured my carpet was pretty clean. Not so, The Mach 5 picked up so much dirt and cat hair...I don't have a cat!!!! The people who lived here before us had a cat....gross. My husband was even amazed. I would certainly recommened this vacuum to anyone needing a new one especially at under $170.00 bucks..Do not spend $300.00+ on a Dyson unless you like throwing money away. We have alot of tile too, works great with the brush "off" system. Great for all floor surfaces. Thanks Hoover for a great product at a great price. My only negative issue is the bulky size/appearance with this vacuum, but in it's defense most of the newer units including Dyson are the same way, so not a major factor.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mitsuracer
Groveland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
great vacuum
7/21/2007

Customer review by mauirick

5.0 stars 7/21/2007 by mauirick
by mauirick

This new Hoover works as good if not better than any I have used over 40 years. The retractable cord is a great feature. The on/off switch on the handle is very convenient. Easy to use for small and large jobs.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mauirick
lahaina HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Value!! Highly recommend!!
11/9/2008

Customer review by petcrazy

4.0 stars 11/9/2008 by petcrazy
by petcrazy

I did a lot of research before buying the Mach 5 - different sites compare this to the Dyson. Don't know if that's true, but we are very happy with it. This vacuum has been great for the 8 mos we've owned - bought early in 2008. The canister is a good size, though it fills quickly in our 4 cat, 1 dog household and I have long hair. After 8 mos of use, we just had to clear it of hair wrapped around the bottom brush, but to be expected with all of the hair in our home. It has great suction and makes our carpet look brand new with every use! It also works well on the linoleum - good suction and doesn't make a dust cloud like some lower priced models. The tilt range is good, the tools are very useful - particularly the pet hair tool (which works great for cleaning furniture & stairs; pets or not) The stretchy hose is a nice feature, though a little stiff so the vacuum may pull toward you. We love this vacuum and would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
petcrazy
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A Real Lifesaver
11/16/2007

Customer review by BusyParentsTo5

5.0 stars 11/16/2007 by BusyParentsTo5
by BusyParentsTo5

We purchased this after our Hoover windtunnel finally died. We are very happy with this product and feel like it is a real lifesaver. We have a very busy household in a rural area with a lot of dirt, dust and did I mention 5 kids and 2 indoor pets?!? This vacuum has come in and really done the job. In the first week we used this vacuum we had to empty the chamber multiple times a day due to the fact it was picking up so much dirt and debris from our carpet. Now that we are on top of the dirt, a daily vacuum still requires emptying the dirt cup, but we are so happy to see the dirt going out into the garbage instead of in our carpet. With our windtunnel which had bags we would change the bags every couple of weeks - I really believe this vacuum is doing a better job and getting the dirt and dust in our home. We highly recommend this vacuum to anyone!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BusyParentsTo5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I like it
11/14/2007

Customer review by domesticdiva

4.0 stars 11/14/2007 by domesticdiva
by domesticdiva

good suction, love the cord rewind feature. I also like the fact that the brush turns off automatically when the vacuum is upright. It is quite heavy, and a little messy to empty the collection cup.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
domesticdiva
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Supremely Awesome!
11/17/2007

Customer review by MultiTaskr

5.0 stars 11/17/2007 by MultiTaskr
by MultiTaskr

Okay, so I had 2 Hoovers. Twin Chamber vac and the FloorMate. I spent 2 weeks on the computer reading review after review and comparing specs on vacuum models. Everything from the pricey Dyson to a $30 model that Consumer Reports rated very well. However, I chose the Mach 5 and love it. I just couldn't get comfortable with the prices of the Dyson. I'm sure they're great, but for less than half of a Dyson, I have a exceptional Mach 5. Hoover has finally made a multipurpose model that works. I can now plug in it's lengthy cord and go straight from the carpet to the laminate flooring with the change of a button. AND IT PICKS UP....it doesn't just spit the dirt and debris out in another direction. It sucks it up, better than the Hoover Floormate. I love the retractable cord. I love the "no filters to buy" or beat out. Just empty the canister and occasionally wash it up and it's good to go. This vacuum does seem a little heavy at times, but I think it's tolerable. The suction is very nice. I too was surprised with the amount gathered on the first trip through the house. I am glad I bought the Mach 5. I will recommend it to everyone I know.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MultiTaskr
South
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Upright Vacuum
9/28/2007

Customer review by Gubbio

5.0 stars 9/28/2007 by Gubbio
by Gubbio

After a good deal of comparing features, quality and price - - the Hoover Mach 5 came out on top. I had considered purchasing the Hoover Mach 3 for about a year - but apparent belt problems, as well as the fact the roller brush remained "on" while cleaning "other than the carpet" - - I held out, and it was well worth the wait. The Mach 5 is as good, if not better, than a Dyson - - at a third of the price. As the Mach 5 was previously exclusive to WalMart - - it can now be purchased on the Hoover website, but the price is $229.00 plus the shipping and the tax, compared with the WalMart price of $168.00 plus tax, and FREE Site to Store shipping (which is really great!). On first use, the Mach 5 sucked up so much dirt in the chamber - I could not believe it and was immediately sold on this machine. In reality, it is not that heavy - - and the top handle is easy to pick up the machine and carry it. Attachments are very easy to use, and the powered hand tool works very well. The best feature is the Brush Roll Control - - the roller turns OFF when cleaning "other than carpet" - - like drapes, furniture, etc. The carpet height control has been previously mentioned to be tough to turn - however, if you push the upright of the machine back a bit - - the height dial rotates easier and faster. This is the vacuum to buy, period!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gubbio
Fishkill NY 12524
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Value
8/19/2007

Customer review by the707

5.0 stars 8/19/2007 by the707
by the707

Our previous vacuum was a Hoover Windtunnel self propelled. Keep this in mind as I compare. Love it for the following reasons: 1) Quiet - about half as loud as previous 2) Cleans extremely well, 5 stars for pet hair 3) Hose and attachments are very handy. Great for cleaning stairs - long hose w/handle 4) filter is easy to clean & I dont have to replace 5) attachments actually stay where they belong 6) self retracting cord is awesome!!! 7) vacuum lays perfectly flat - for getting under beds Things that aren't so great: 1) heavy - compared to old vacuum but not to the point where my 4 year old can't use it 2) Wheels - the wheels are probably the weakest point. They don't exactly turn freely and appear to be cheap. Again my 4 year old can manage but an improvement in this area would bring significant improvement. 3) The Carpet Height adjustment is slightly akward but functional 4) While the vac lays all they way down the girth prevents this vac from going under many items 5) Strange hum when fully upright with motor on? Overall we are very pleased and feel that we got an incredible value. We were considering a Dyson but are 100% satisfied now at less than half the cost.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
the707
Sahuarita AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exceeded expectations!
4/8/2008

Customer review by PriorBissellFan

5.0 stars 4/8/2008 by PriorBissellFan
by PriorBissellFan

I love this vacuum. I read reviews on tons of vacuums and had originally intended to get one that was $100 more but they did not have it in stock in the store, so I got this one. I last vacuumed 3 days ago because we have a low traffic house. I vacuumed with the new vacuum today for the first time and the container was half full! I'm amazed at how much dirt it gets! even the super-fine stuff that usually stays under the carpet. I didn't realize that my carpet smelled bad until it smelled better. The cord retractor is a handy feature, as well as the button to stop the roller so that you can move smoothly to linoleum or hardwood. I wish the container to empty the dirt had a handle on it though, and at first I thought I should have gotten one with a duster on it.... but who am I kidding?! I only dust twice a year! Very worth the money, light, and so so easy to use. You won't regret buying it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PriorBissellFan
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
let down
1/17/2009

Customer review by wastedtime

1.0 stars 1/17/2009 by wastedtime
by wastedtime

I had purchases this about a year ago to replace my hoover. I was happy at first, as most people are. But i quickly found out there are quirk i didnt like. Like when i would go to empty the canister, the bottom wouldnt release, so i would have to make it open, or it would open by itself. Dirt routinely got stuck inside, and with a bagless nothing is more messier than needing to bang the canister against the side of something to get the dirt to come out. Over the past few months, my husband and i noticed it didnt seem to be working nearly as good. I cleaned oeverything out and really found nothing to explain the problem. Now its started sutting off by its self. I can barely get a room done before it shuts down. I am very let down. I will not get another one of these. Now im on to my search for a good vacuum..that actually lasts a little while. 1 year is not at all reasonable...not at all.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wastedtime
Moyock, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Try this before you spend big on a Dyson.
2/29/2008

Customer review by Shoppermom19

5.0 stars 2/29/2008 by Shoppermom19
by Shoppermom19

Love this vacuum. I've gone through quite a few bagless uprights. They all seem to give out on me or the quality of the job just weakens. I was this >< close to buying a Dyson because I was tired of buying vacuums over and over again. Boy am I glad I found this one. After the first time I used it my neighbor stopped by and asked me if I shampooed my carpets. I replied "No, just got a really good vacuum this time around. I agree w/ others it is a tad heavy but I can live w/ that. Heck I need the exercise. I have 2 small children ages 2 - 5 . Imagine the mess I have to clean on a daily basis. This vacuum has some serious suction power and I dont have to go over the same spot more than once to pick articles up. It hasnt lost suction in the hoses either. I LOVE the press and rewind cord thingy too. It really did annoy me to sit there and rewrap the cord on my previous machine. Great product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shoppermom19
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
One Awesome Vacuum!!!
10/20/2007

Customer review by tigerboy

5.0 stars 10/20/2007 by tigerboy
by tigerboy

I absolutely love this vacuum! We have lived in a rental house for 8 years now. We have always kept our carpets vacuumed, or so we thought. When this vacuum arrived at my door, I took it out of the box and assembled it. I swept the living room and dining room with it and was absolutely shocked! There was so much cat hair from the previous tenant (remember, we have lived here for 8 years now!) that I could not believe it! When I vacuumed the bedrooms, one had so much powdered carpet freshener in it (we never use the stuff, again the previous tenant) that it filled the vacuum up. I am totally blown away by this vacuum! Yes, it is a little on the heavy side, but well worth it to get my carpets clean!!! Love, love, love the cord retractor too!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tigerboy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
EXCELLENT PRODUCT
11/11/2007

Customer review by ipkp

5.0 stars 11/11/2007 by ipkp
by ipkp

This vacuum is excellent. I would recommend anyone to buy it! I have a cat and a dog and this machine picks up every bit of hair. I am crazy when it comes to cleaning and vacuuming. I bought 2 other machines that were more expensive and said they were the best and they were junk. It has a nice long cord and the attachments are great. I would not even think of spending 500 on a Dyson. You would be better off buying 2 of these machines and keeping one as a back up. Hoover has been around for a long time. I remember there moto of "It beats as it sweeps as it cleans" Its so true. I am shocked to see others that have had probelms with there Mach 5. Makes me wonder what they are vacuuming up!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ipkp
Valparaiso, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 180 total reviews
1-20 of 180 reviews