Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 188 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

188 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

188 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
98
4 stars
23
3 stars
12
2 stars
16
1 stars
39
1-20 of 180 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 180 total reviews
1-20 of 180 reviews
Hoover Mach5
7/23/2007

Customer review by BoomersHeart

5.0 stars 7/23/2007 by BoomersHeart
by BoomersHeart

I love this vacuum. When it said that it cleaned better than Dyson, I thought "yeah, easy to say, because I couldn't afford to own a Dyson to compare it!" But I must say that this is a fantastic machine. I was sick for a week, and my white boxer laid on my burgandy colored rug near me for almost that whole time. Needless to say, I was dreading cleaning the rug to the point of considering throwing it out rather than stuggle with my old machine. Instead, I purchased this vacuum. I was stunned! It effortlessly cleaned that carpet and left not one short dog hair behind. I wish I had the money to buy one of these for each family member because it is a dream machine. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BoomersHeart
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does a great job
8/14/2007

Customer review by peterFL

5.0 stars 8/14/2007 by peterFL
by peterFL

After yet another low-priced vacuum started to lose any kind of sucking power, despite my replacing of the filter and the belt, I decided to look at getting one that would actually withstand some level of punishment and last me a good few years. Dyson's are great, from first-hand experience, but way out of my price range. Thankfully, one of Dyson's patents has recently expired allowing manufacturers to try their hand at cheaper clones. According to a number of message boards, this is the best of them so far. I can't argue with that from my experiences -- this is a very powerful vacuum and it was incredible how much dirt it pulled out of the carpet I had just cleaned earlier that day with a neighbor's borrowed vac. Doesn't skip a beat on cat hair. It's a little on the heavy side, but nothing unmanageable, but on the other hand it also feels much more solid than cheap vacs. Plus, it simply won't lose suction over time, as long as you take care of it. (Wash the pre-motor filter once each month, using water only, no soap, allow to dry. Wash the post-motor Hepa filter once each year, using water only, no soap, allow to dry. Replace drive belt (only cost a few bucks) every 1-2 years.) Anyway, best vacuum I've ever owned. And hooray for no more pricey filters to buy.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
peterFL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great vacuum
7/21/2007

Customer review by mauirick

5.0 stars 7/21/2007 by mauirick
by mauirick

This new Hoover works as good if not better than any I have used over 40 years. The retractable cord is a great feature. The on/off switch on the handle is very convenient. Easy to use for small and large jobs.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mauirick
lahaina HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
I like it
11/14/2007

Customer review by domesticdiva

4.0 stars 11/14/2007 by domesticdiva
by domesticdiva

good suction, love the cord rewind feature. I also like the fact that the brush turns off automatically when the vacuum is upright. It is quite heavy, and a little messy to empty the collection cup.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
domesticdiva
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Upright Vacuum
9/28/2007

Customer review by Gubbio

5.0 stars 9/28/2007 by Gubbio
by Gubbio

After a good deal of comparing features, quality and price - - the Hoover Mach 5 came out on top. I had considered purchasing the Hoover Mach 3 for about a year - but apparent belt problems, as well as the fact the roller brush remained "on" while cleaning "other than the carpet" - - I held out, and it was well worth the wait. The Mach 5 is as good, if not better, than a Dyson - - at a third of the price. As the Mach 5 was previously exclusive to WalMart - - it can now be purchased on the Hoover website, but the price is $229.00 plus the shipping and the tax, compared with the WalMart price of $168.00 plus tax, and FREE Site to Store shipping (which is really great!). On first use, the Mach 5 sucked up so much dirt in the chamber - I could not believe it and was immediately sold on this machine. In reality, it is not that heavy - - and the top handle is easy to pick up the machine and carry it. Attachments are very easy to use, and the powered hand tool works very well. The best feature is the Brush Roll Control - - the roller turns OFF when cleaning "other than carpet" - - like drapes, furniture, etc. The carpet height control has been previously mentioned to be tough to turn - however, if you push the upright of the machine back a bit - - the height dial rotates easier and faster. This is the vacuum to buy, period!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gubbio
Fishkill NY 12524
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
the mach 5
7/21/2007

Customer review by 4405

5.0 stars 7/21/2007 by 4405
by 4405

love the vacuum!!!!!does a great job for pet hair and this is the best vacuum i have ever bought

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4405
bartlesville,ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Best bang for the buck!
9/18/2007

Customer review by GoCowboys

5.0 stars 9/18/2007 by GoCowboys
by GoCowboys

Do not buy this vaccum unless you are prepared to see how dirty your floors really are. I have a large dog and used my old vaccum just one day before I purchased this one. I could not believe everything that it pulled from my carpet. The best part is that the filters never need replacing. The vaccum is a little heavy, but for the price you cant beat it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoCowboys
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This 'VAC' sucks it up!!
12/21/2007

Customer review by HistoryMajor

5.0 stars 12/21/2007 by HistoryMajor
by HistoryMajor

I have had the Mach 5 for about 4 months now, and I am very pleased with the performance. I have a cat ant the fur is everywhere, my old "bag eating" hoover barely scratched the surface. The Mach 5 on the other hand, after 2 or 3 passes makes it disappear. After the first 2 or 3 uses I had to empty the canister because of all of the fur it picked up. The unit does have some draw backs as in the hose is short if you want to vacuum high up, however, I am sure that Hoover does have a web site and a hose extension may be available. The unit is heavy so it may not be suitable for someone that will be carrying it up and down stairs all day, unless they are in to body building!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HistoryMajor
Vegas, Baby, Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Time will tell
12/23/2007

Customer review by butterflycross

5.0 stars 12/23/2007 by butterflycross
by butterflycross

I just bought this vacum to replace my old Dirt Devil. So far it works great. I lost suction for a minute when the chamber got full after doing a room and half (my old vacum had died recently, did I mention that), but that tells me it was doing it's job. It can be a little messy to empty but I don't mind as long as that dirty is not on my floors anymore (my hands wash), and even for how hevey it is, it still is not that bad (better than vacuming for an hour just trying to get the big stuff up). This was also the only one left in the store, it was sold out. I liked the Dyson; but could not justify spending $350-$500 for a vacum!! So for the price and features it was a good choice. If in 6 months it breaks down I will re-review it and let you know. PS- Automatic cord rewinder is to cool!! I hate messing with the cord. And the fact that if you suck up anything that could wrap around the brush roller it automatically shuts it off is nice, saves wear on the motor.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
butterflycross
Grants Pass, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This is the one!
10/2/2007

Customer review by chewysmom

5.0 stars 10/2/2007 by chewysmom
by chewysmom

We have three dogs, all sizes and this baby handled the dog hair like it was nothing. I was amazed and have never purchased a vacuum like this one in all my 52 years! The hose is attached all the time and handy for doing chairs and couch while doing floors! The best feature is the cord auto rewind, I hate winding cords with a passion. My husband told me instead of pulling the cord out by hand while vacuuming , just step on it with one foot when pushing forward, VOILA! Too easy! The only drawback(or plus) is it's really heavy and you do not want to pick it up. I recommend letting your husband take over this chore using his new power tool! I love it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chewysmom
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Best Vacuum Ever Owned
2/1/2008

Customer review by OregonShopper

5.0 stars 2/1/2008 by OregonShopper
by OregonShopper

After researching for months for a new vacuum, I decided on the Hoover Mach 5. I'm not at all disappointed. Every time I vacuum, I am amazed at how much is picked up! We do not wear shoes in our house and do not have pets. I would highly recommend this product, but offer this information: 1. I wish the cord were longer. However, this would not stop me from buying another one of these vacuums again. 2. The mini roller-brush attachment, is next to worthless, in my opinion. I don't use it that much, because I don't find it that useful. 3. There are two filters with this vacuum. The top filter MUST be cleaned at least once per month if not more (depending on use). If it is not kept clean, it will severely reduce the performance. The bottom (HEPA) filter can be cleaned less frequently. 4. Emptying the canister can be a bit messy, even though it opens and empties from the bottom. To thoroughly clean the canister, you have to first empty the dirt from the bottom, then remove the top to get the rest of the hair/lint/fuzz out. This is my least favorite part of having this vacuum, but because of how much it picks up, I don't mind it as much. Essentially, it is not a mess-free process. 5. If you have carpeted stairs, this vacuum is not ideal. But...I've never had an upright vacuum that was good on stairs. I kept my old canister vacuum for the stairs. 6. It is not self-propelled and it isn't a light vacuum. As a man, this doesn't bother me in the least, but neither my wife nor my mother-in-law like to use it because they feel it is quite heavy to push.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OregonShopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
10/10/2007

Customer review by Sassy001

5.0 stars 10/10/2007 by Sassy001
by Sassy001

I owned a cleaning business. We had a Dyson DC14. I loved the vacuum, but I couldn't bring myself to go out and buy a vacuum for $500.00 again. (Too much money for any vacuum)With all that said. I think the Hoover is a good vacuum for the price. It is a little heavy and the wheels are kind of cheap. But it does it's job well on carpet, tile floors and pet hair. I would recommend this vacuum. Just to warn you, it's one ugly vacuum:)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sassy001
Fort Myers, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great product with great price
10/9/2007

Customer review by Mitsuracer

5.0 stars 10/9/2007 by Mitsuracer
by Mitsuracer

My old 11 year old Hoover final bit the dust so it was time to get a new vacuum. I really wanted a Dyson after seeing and using my neighbors, but I refuse to spend that much on a vacuum. So the internet research began. I am so glad I bought this product, it is just as good if not better than the Dyson Iv'e used. We just moved into a new villa recently so I had vacuumed with the old hoover about 4 times so I figured my carpet was pretty clean. Not so, The Mach 5 picked up so much dirt and cat hair...I don't have a cat!!!! The people who lived here before us had a cat....gross. My husband was even amazed. I would certainly recommened this vacuum to anyone needing a new one especially at under $170.00 bucks..Do not spend $300.00+ on a Dyson unless you like throwing money away. We have alot of tile too, works great with the brush "off" system. Great for all floor surfaces. Thanks Hoover for a great product at a great price. My only negative issue is the bulky size/appearance with this vacuum, but in it's defense most of the newer units including Dyson are the same way, so not a major factor.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mitsuracer
Groveland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
One of the best things I ever bought!!!
10/16/2007

Customer review by GODBLESSYOU

5.0 stars 10/16/2007 by GODBLESSYOU
by GODBLESSYOU

GREAT PRODUCT!!! I was shocked what this picked up on my floor. It was AMAZING!!! Almost embarassing..(ha, ha, ha) Its quite heavy. Its quiet, except for the pet hair remover. But overall GREAT product. I recommend this to everyone.!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GODBLESSYOU
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I like this machine
10/18/2007

Customer review by Nesh

5.0 stars 10/18/2007 by Nesh
by Nesh

I have had my old Hoover for 26 years (and it's still working) which was the reason I chose the Hoover brand to purchase this new sweeper. If this one lasts 26 years, too, I will come back and write a more glowing review because I don't think asking us to rate this product with the stars is fair until we've had it for a while. So I'm going to give each feature a 5 star rating based on the length of time I've owned it and the amount of times I've used it -- with the majority of the high rating being based on the Hoover name alone. However, if any of the ratings need to be adjusted as time goes by I'll come back and write another review explaining the changes in my over all rating. What I liked: -- Nice to have the extra pieces attached to the machine and the design and size of them are nice for what you need to use them for. -- Great suction, all the way down through the carpet padding. -- Once mastered, the cyclonic canister is easy to empty and replace. You just need to make sure your lock notches are lined up properly. -- Adjustable handle for easier posture. What I didn't like: -- Except for maybe the weight, I've found nothing about this machine I didn't like. Even the color is cool! I've had mine about a month and with having 4 dogs and 2 cats, I've used it often and this is a great machine for collecting hair! I found the reviews very helpful when I was looking to purchase this machine so I will certainly report back at a later date to give more information -- pro or con -- to help others decide if they want to purchase one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nesh
Ocala, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
One Awesome Vacuum!!!
10/20/2007

Customer review by tigerboy

5.0 stars 10/20/2007 by tigerboy
by tigerboy

I absolutely love this vacuum! We have lived in a rental house for 8 years now. We have always kept our carpets vacuumed, or so we thought. When this vacuum arrived at my door, I took it out of the box and assembled it. I swept the living room and dining room with it and was absolutely shocked! There was so much cat hair from the previous tenant (remember, we have lived here for 8 years now!) that I could not believe it! When I vacuumed the bedrooms, one had so much powdered carpet freshener in it (we never use the stuff, again the previous tenant) that it filled the vacuum up. I am totally blown away by this vacuum! Yes, it is a little on the heavy side, but well worth it to get my carpets clean!!! Love, love, love the cord retractor too!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tigerboy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
best i have used
10/20/2007

Customer review by g1terdun

5.0 stars 10/20/2007 by g1terdun
by g1terdun

this thing is freaking great, my gf loves it too

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
g1terdun
orange, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Vaccum
10/27/2007

Customer review by Lilymae

5.0 stars 10/27/2007 by Lilymae
by Lilymae

I have had this vaccum for two years. It is amazing and never fails. The only thing mine does not have is the retractable cord but that doesn't effect the way it works anyhow. I love it, best vaccum I have ever used.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lilymae
Boise, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The best vacuum I've purchased!
11/2/2007

Customer review by Busymomof3sons

5.0 stars 11/2/2007 by Busymomof3sons
by Busymomof3sons

Emptying dirt is simple and easy. Doesn't bother my allergies or asthma. Doesn't seem to lose suction even when full of dirt. Very surprised by the quality of the vacuum. Cord retractor is great. Vacuum is heavier than I expected. Would still buy again though.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Busymomof3sons
Ocala, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
This is a great Vacuum
11/4/2007

Customer review by Doglady48

5.0 stars 11/4/2007 by Doglady48
by Doglady48

I was going to purchase a Dyson then I saw the Hoover Mach 5 and read all the reviews. From the reviews I decided to try the Hoover out to see if it was as good as everyone was saying. Well, it is!! I just love it and it does a great job on my carpet. I thought I was getting my carpet clean with my old Hoover but I was mistaken. The Mach 5 picks up the dog hair really good and does a great job of making my carpet look cleaner.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Doglady48
Vale, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 180 total reviews
1-20 of 180 reviews