Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 47 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

47 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

47 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 41 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
What a great gadget
12/14/2007

Customer review by RaceCivicMan

4.0 stars 12/14/2007 by RaceCivicMan
by RaceCivicMan

For quite some time I’ve been looking for some kind of lantern to take with me backpacking. I’ve been eyeing the Freeplay Indigo for some time, but the cost for such a small amount of features has prevented me from going out and buying it. While visiting my sisters, me and her walked into her local Walmart, and while walking around I came across this Life Light. I was at first impressed, then skeptical because of the $20 price. When I arrived home, I did a little research about the product and then went out and picked it up. Couldn’t wait to get home and play around with it. Messed with all the features and they all work quite well. The light is really bright, radio works pretty good (the small knob and ok quality at picking up weak signals are my only complaints there). The spot light was ok but nothing crazy and the siren is loud, but not the 120DB they mention. Don’t bother with the compass though, mine was a good 40-50 degrees off. I just make a mental note if I ever find myself ever having to use it. Build quality on the outside is pretty good, and it feels very solid. The dynamo actually feels pretty good. I then couldn’t help myself, had to open the thing up and look around and tinker. The first thing I noticed was it’s tiny 3.6v 120ma 1/3AAA stack. You would think that with such a small battery it wouldn’t last to long, but I was getting over 30 minutes with the light on high, and it played music from my iPod for what seemed to be forever. This thing also charged that little battery to 4.2v quite quick. I tested the dynamo and it’s output was almost a watt, impressive. The speaker isn’t exactly what they mention it to be, but it does the job pretty good for it’s 1.5 inch size and .5w peak rating. If I up the amplifier in the future I’ll be sure to replace it for something better. The build quality on the inside isn’t to bad, I’ve seen better, but I’ve seen much worse on even more expensive things. The phone charger feature does work, but with a twist. Because of the socket design, it cuts all power from the batteries when you plug in the phone charger plug. I tried to modify this by connecting the batteries after the switch so they would aid in charging the phone, but the initial voltage just wasn’t there, so I ended up putting it back to stock. The catch to charging my phone at least was to plug it in, and initially start spinning up the dynamo at a faster rate until it begins charging, then you could slow it down quite a bit. Your phone might be different though. The battery compartment in the bottom that allows you to install 3 AAA’s was one thing I really liked. Because of the small size of the internal battery, I wanted to up the total capacity of the unit by installing rechargeable AAA’s (they make 1000ma rechargeable AAA’s these days). Unfortunately because of the design of the unit, the dynamo wouldn’t charge them with the dynamo. After a simple modification of moving the positive lead from the battery compartment to the opposite side of the diode I was able to charge my rechargeable AAA’s with the dynamo. Make a note that doing this means you can no longer spin up the dynamo with alkaline batteries installed. They could leak or worse. Since I plan to only run rechargeable in this thing, this isn’t a problem for me. I tested the time on the light again on high and just gave up, took to long. And if it were to ever run low, I could recharge them again now. Overall I really like this thing. Fun little gadget I could goof around with and modify into my perfect unit. I’ve put some time on the dynamo (must have a combined time of 45-60 minutes of total winding) and it lightly squeaks, but that’s all. Oiled the knob at the end of the handle and problem solved. None the less, it’s a great product and I’d recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RaceCivicMan
Concord, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Cool Item
8/1/2007

Customer review by Silverstone

5.0 stars 8/1/2007 by Silverstone
by Silverstone

I got one of these Lifelights. Wow! Mega function is right! So much packed into a single lantern about the size of two stacked soda cans. So cool. No batteries, just crank to charge. LED lights are plenty bright and it has a nightlight and flasher function too. FM radio has a good sound and you can play your iPod through the speaker as well. It comes with a Nokia adapter for charging cell phones and you can go online to the manufacturer to get adapters for other phone models. The claims are true about phone charging. I got about two minutes of talk time from about 30 sec of cranking. 30 sec of cranking provided about 45 minutes of light, but if the radio is being used at the same time, its a bit less. The compass on top is a neat feature you wouldn't normally expect. Great item. I love mine.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Silverstone
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Wow!
8/1/2007

Customer review by Dany

5.0 stars 8/1/2007 by Dany
by Dany

This is the best tool ever!! I am so thrilled with this purchase, I have been telling all my friends about it. The quality is impeccable and all the features will definitely come in handy when needed...Thank you Safety Cross...

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dany
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product for Size & Price
1/4/2008

Customer review by Hecuba

5.0 stars 1/4/2008 by Hecuba
by Hecuba

Has a lot going on for it - with all the light options, plug-ins, etc. Our Nokia phone fits right in the charger. Radio is great, and I found it easy to tune. It really works great with minimal physical exertion (unlike other products I've tried which require like 5 mins. of 120 rpms, etc.). You really only need to crank it 45 seconds. It also takes batteries - so that's a plus. My only recommendation to the manufacturer would be to add a small compartment to fit the small adaptors that come with it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hecuba
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Purchased for Emergencies
11/10/2007

Customer review by BuckeyeBoy

3.0 stars 11/10/2007 by BuckeyeBoy
by BuckeyeBoy

I purchased this product after a lengthy power outage. I had flashlights with batteries, and even a flashlight that you shake to charge it. But I did not have a lantern that would run without batteries. One of the lanterns I had was dim due to the batteries, and I did not have those batteries in the house to replace it. That's when I thought I would look for one that had a hand crank generator (dynamo). I found this one at Wal-Mart, and for $20 ($30 less than the company sells for on their web site) I thought it was a good deal. It has 9 LED lights, with the option of 3 lit or all 9 lit. Even with all 9 lit, the light is not as bright as my battery powered lanterns, but it is better than holding a flashlight for multiple people (i.e, reading). The radio sounds ok, but the small dial makes it difficult to tune. There is also an additional 1 LED night light on the side. It also will blink and make a siren-like noise to get people's attention. The cell charger, however, is only for one-type of cell phone charging jack. You are supposed to get a free adapter for your specific phone on the web site, but it had a $5.95 shipping charge for each adapter! I did not like that. Overall, I recommend this for the lantern, and primarily for when you don't have the batteries available for a better such device.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BuckeyeBoy
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
Compact and lots of features!
7/19/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/19/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

NOTE: the MOSQUITO REPELLING sound is switched on by selecting the "Night Light" position on the 3 position switch (Siren/OFF/Night Light). Lots of features in such a small unit! Size: We motorcycle camp, so our gear needs to be very portable, and this unit is small and packable, yet puts out plenty of light. **I found the data sheet/specs on the manufacturer's website to be very helpful, since no instructions come with the unit. Bummer to have to pay shipping for adapters for our phones, but considering that Walmart's price for this unit is about HALF what the manufacturer charges for the LifeLight , I'm willing to pay the small shipping fee for the phone adapter!! Additional bonus - Walmart sent an email stating the unit would show up by next Thursday, and it was delivered today (on Saturday), 5 days earlier than expected! Kudos!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Danville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Life Gear Life Light
9/14/2007

Customer review by Verse

4.0 stars 9/14/2007 by Verse
by Verse

I bought the light because I wanted a light with L.E.D.s I definitely was not disappointed with this one. Although I did not get the 30-45min time with the cranking, the light stayed lit and bright for some time. Also, if you put some rechargeable AAAs in the unit it stays lit for-e-ver! My only beef with the unit is the sound of the alarm (surely not 130 decibels, surely not!) and I for the life of me cannot find or figure out where the mosquito repellent frequency-station-knob thingy is. But all in all, excellent product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Verse
Fort Hood, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good All around Featurs
8/27/2007

Customer review by Markie

4.0 stars 8/27/2007 by Markie
by Markie

Comes in handy if you want to avoid carrying a large number of items in your pack. The light illuminates the entire cabin and the night light is handy for the kids The radio is a nice feature but is difficult to tune because the dial is very small and hard to get a decent grip on. Also, nice to have the crank to provide power if the batteries run out. Overall a nice product and would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Markie
Mt. Vernon VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
neat idea, happy with purchase
8/19/2008

Customer review by tubingfamily

4.0 stars 8/19/2008 by tubingfamily
by tubingfamily

we used this mini lantern on our most recent camping trip. the crank-up feature is nice - no batteries! we were able to get a few radio stations. the LED light is very bright and has a couple different settings. It would light a small area on a picnic table, but don't count on it to serve as a flashlight for walks in the woods. the MP3 player is really cool. we actually used it in the car b/c we don't have an MP3 jack. The cranking will get you about 10-15 mins of MP3 use. We didn't use the mosquito repelling feature, so can't speak to that. the siren was loud and annoying -pretty much what you want a siren to be. overall we were very happy with it. one note- it is quite small, but that makes it light & portable, right?

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tubingfamily
lambertville, mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
nice camping tool
9/3/2008

Customer review by wildnorth

4.0 stars 9/3/2008 by wildnorth
by wildnorth

Good product, but adapter cable for cell phone charging did not fit as suggested but to Life Gears' credit (I e-mailed them) they sent me an adapter FREE that fits-impressive customer service. One other hitch with the product, the AM radio does not work, the FM does and that is all I care, especially for weather reports, pretty hard to hear an AM radio with lightening static anyways. Only had this light for 4 weeks but so far I am happy with it. Bought this for 3 main reasons, won't burn a child or burn down a tent, the LED lighting and because you can use rechargeable batteries, radio was a bonus. This is a perfect brightness (also has lighting selections) for a tent. Kids like the night light too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wildnorth
TWIN CITIES, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Many uses
10/28/2008

Customer review by SILVERADO2k

5.0 stars 10/28/2008 by SILVERADO2k
by SILVERADO2k

I bought this light online for a hunting trip, so I didnt actually see the product hands on and I thought it might be something I could throw into my backpack. I gave it an average for expectations only because it was bigger and heavier then I anticipated and didnt work out as a pack item. But everything else is great, its built very well not 'flimsy' at all. I would definitely recommend it for camping or to keep one in your house for power failures and it would be a great item to have in your car too. It was too late in the season for any Mosquitoes, so I wasn’t able to see if the ultra-sonic repellent worked but I will find out this summer since I intend to use it on my patio when BBQ’ing.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SILVERADO2k
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
6/14/2009

Customer review by SingleMom222

5.0 stars 6/14/2009 by SingleMom222
by SingleMom222

I just bought one of these lanters from Walmart and fell in love with it within five minutes. Mine, however, does not have the mosquito repellent feature to it. I did not notice that until I had already opened it and was listening to the radio. I still love it, but make sure you pay attention to the package and (if you want it) get the one that is a mosquito repellent. It really does only take one min (or less) for 45 min charging and the radio sounds cripsy clear. I haven't tried the phone charger yet though. It is also a very powerful lanter for the size and price and has a good nightlight and flash feature too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SingleMom222
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Big disappointment
9/27/2007

Customer review by BeachBird

1.0 stars 9/27/2007 by BeachBird
by BeachBird

This was a big disappointment. First, it is missing one of the bulbs - I checked, and it wasn't that it had come out, it just was never there. Second, I cranked this for almost 5 minutes and didn't even get that much time worth of light. So I added the optional batteries, and the light was not very bright. With the number of LEDs I expected it would be at least as bright as the Life Gear hand crank flashlights. The radio worked - a little - reception was bad even in a populated area. I feel I gave it an honest try, but it is definately not worth purchasing. I will be returning this product for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeachBird
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Great Product
11/28/2008

Customer review by Kitten625

5.0 stars 11/28/2008 by Kitten625
by Kitten625

Bought a G_r_i_y. Light was dimmed by decorative lens. Returned & ordered this one which I had picked out at first. GREAT product. Good light even on 3 LED's, radio works good, siren is pretty loud, has a 12v dc input, & a speaker input jack for MP3. Tested unit - 1min of cranking yielded 1-1/2 hrs on 3LED's & not completely run down. 1 min of cranking ran light for 40min with good light. It is small, well built and I would recommend anyone who might experience power outages or for camping. I have one of their handheld flashlights with radio, emergency flasher & siren that I keep in the car. Great products. I don't know how well the cell phone charger works since I don't have a cell phone, but that is not why I bought the unit. I have flashlights galore, but with thunderstorms and ice storms that sometimes cause power outages for days, this little lantern will be invaluable. Every household needs one. Plus it doesn't say on the product description but a previous reviewer said that you could also put batteries in it and he was right.......3 AAA's. As soon as I get a 12v adapter for it, I will find out if the adapter will charge three AAA NiMH batteries. I am finding that I am using it for general usage besides just power outages. The single LED night light is bright too. 1min of cranking will run the night light all night long. I started to buy it when Walmart had it for $23.87. Now that it is $18 with free site to store shipping, it is a fantastic investment. I am very pleased with unit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kitten625
Crossett, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
WOW!
11/30/2008

Customer review by Ulight

5.0 stars 11/30/2008 by Ulight
by Ulight

Over the years my family has tried several different lantern products from various manufacturers. This is the least expensive and most impressive product so far. About 45 seconds of cranking truly does keep the light going for 45 minutes. The radio gets much better reception than I anticipated. One thing I will mention though is that it does NOT seem to have any mosquito reppelling feature.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ulight
Holland, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Multi-tasking tool
7/31/2008

Customer review by ChloeyOH

5.0 stars 7/31/2008 by ChloeyOH
by ChloeyOH

I wanted a small lantern to take on a few camping trips each year, and simultaneously I'm gathering some emergency supplies together. This little lantern met both needs: - crank powered - varying light intensities to choose from - siren - compass I ordered this on-line and had it delivered to the store. It is exactly what I wanted and a great purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChloeyOH
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great!!
8/28/2008

Customer review by InTheSticks

5.0 stars 8/28/2008 by InTheSticks
by InTheSticks

I purchased this lantern expressly because of the rave reviews it received here. I was not disappointed. We use this in an underground storm shelter and it is wonderful. No worries about failing batteries because it's a crank. A little crank goes a long way. Good radio reception. And strong lantern in more than one setting. Even has a night light. A++

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
InTheSticks
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Useful when the lights go out
3/18/2008

Customer review by radiorich

5.0 stars 3/18/2008 by radiorich
by radiorich

I've had the lamp for a couple of weeks and checked it out. The hand crank generator is much better that those on the flashlights with about 1 minute of cranking for about 20 minutes of light. The radio is OK, but the siren and flash modes are not really useful. Having an AM-FM radio and some light is a great help in most power outage situations.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
radiorich
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid find
11/20/2008

Customer review by DownsouthYankee

5.0 stars 11/20/2008 by DownsouthYankee
by DownsouthYankee

I searched and searched for a small lantern for use during an emergency which did not "burn" fuel and did not cost a months salary. This lantern fit the bill on paper. When it arrived I found it walked the walked. Lights up a room in my house enough to function if the power is out and does so for several hours. I highly recommend this item.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DownsouthYankee
Montgomery, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Lantern Plus
7/19/2009

Customer review by jnkpot

5.0 stars 7/19/2009 by jnkpot
by jnkpot

I took this lantern on a camping trip, it worked great. you get 45 minutes of light on 1 minute of cranking. on the radio you only get about 9 minutes but just crank again and you can keep going. All of the features work great however i'm not sure about the insect repellant? I am very happy with the lantern.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jnkpot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews