Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 47 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

47 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

47 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 41 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
Very Cool Item
8/1/2007

Customer review by Silverstone

5.0 stars 8/1/2007 by Silverstone
by Silverstone

I got one of these Lifelights. Wow! Mega function is right! So much packed into a single lantern about the size of two stacked soda cans. So cool. No batteries, just crank to charge. LED lights are plenty bright and it has a nightlight and flasher function too. FM radio has a good sound and you can play your iPod through the speaker as well. It comes with a Nokia adapter for charging cell phones and you can go online to the manufacturer to get adapters for other phone models. The claims are true about phone charging. I got about two minutes of talk time from about 30 sec of cranking. 30 sec of cranking provided about 45 minutes of light, but if the radio is being used at the same time, its a bit less. The compass on top is a neat feature you wouldn't normally expect. Great item. I love mine.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Silverstone
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Wow!
8/1/2007

Customer review by Dany

5.0 stars 8/1/2007 by Dany
by Dany

This is the best tool ever!! I am so thrilled with this purchase, I have been telling all my friends about it. The quality is impeccable and all the features will definitely come in handy when needed...Thank you Safety Cross...

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dany
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What a great gadget
12/14/2007

Customer review by RaceCivicMan

4.0 stars 12/14/2007 by RaceCivicMan
by RaceCivicMan

For quite some time I’ve been looking for some kind of lantern to take with me backpacking. I’ve been eyeing the Freeplay Indigo for some time, but the cost for such a small amount of features has prevented me from going out and buying it. While visiting my sisters, me and her walked into her local Walmart, and while walking around I came across this Life Light. I was at first impressed, then skeptical because of the $20 price. When I arrived home, I did a little research about the product and then went out and picked it up. Couldn’t wait to get home and play around with it. Messed with all the features and they all work quite well. The light is really bright, radio works pretty good (the small knob and ok quality at picking up weak signals are my only complaints there). The spot light was ok but nothing crazy and the siren is loud, but not the 120DB they mention. Don’t bother with the compass though, mine was a good 40-50 degrees off. I just make a mental note if I ever find myself ever having to use it. Build quality on the outside is pretty good, and it feels very solid. The dynamo actually feels pretty good. I then couldn’t help myself, had to open the thing up and look around and tinker. The first thing I noticed was it’s tiny 3.6v 120ma 1/3AAA stack. You would think that with such a small battery it wouldn’t last to long, but I was getting over 30 minutes with the light on high, and it played music from my iPod for what seemed to be forever. This thing also charged that little battery to 4.2v quite quick. I tested the dynamo and it’s output was almost a watt, impressive. The speaker isn’t exactly what they mention it to be, but it does the job pretty good for it’s 1.5 inch size and .5w peak rating. If I up the amplifier in the future I’ll be sure to replace it for something better. The build quality on the inside isn’t to bad, I’ve seen better, but I’ve seen much worse on even more expensive things. The phone charger feature does work, but with a twist. Because of the socket design, it cuts all power from the batteries when you plug in the phone charger plug. I tried to modify this by connecting the batteries after the switch so they would aid in charging the phone, but the initial voltage just wasn’t there, so I ended up putting it back to stock. The catch to charging my phone at least was to plug it in, and initially start spinning up the dynamo at a faster rate until it begins charging, then you could slow it down quite a bit. Your phone might be different though. The battery compartment in the bottom that allows you to install 3 AAA’s was one thing I really liked. Because of the small size of the internal battery, I wanted to up the total capacity of the unit by installing rechargeable AAA’s (they make 1000ma rechargeable AAA’s these days). Unfortunately because of the design of the unit, the dynamo wouldn’t charge them with the dynamo. After a simple modification of moving the positive lead from the battery compartment to the opposite side of the diode I was able to charge my rechargeable AAA’s with the dynamo. Make a note that doing this means you can no longer spin up the dynamo with alkaline batteries installed. They could leak or worse. Since I plan to only run rechargeable in this thing, this isn’t a problem for me. I tested the time on the light again on high and just gave up, took to long. And if it were to ever run low, I could recharge them again now. Overall I really like this thing. Fun little gadget I could goof around with and modify into my perfect unit. I’ve put some time on the dynamo (must have a combined time of 45-60 minutes of total winding) and it lightly squeaks, but that’s all. Oiled the knob at the end of the handle and problem solved. None the less, it’s a great product and I’d recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RaceCivicMan
Concord, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product for Size & Price
1/4/2008

Customer review by Hecuba

5.0 stars 1/4/2008 by Hecuba
by Hecuba

Has a lot going on for it - with all the light options, plug-ins, etc. Our Nokia phone fits right in the charger. Radio is great, and I found it easy to tune. It really works great with minimal physical exertion (unlike other products I've tried which require like 5 mins. of 120 rpms, etc.). You really only need to crank it 45 seconds. It also takes batteries - so that's a plus. My only recommendation to the manufacturer would be to add a small compartment to fit the small adaptors that come with it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hecuba
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Good All around Featurs
8/27/2007

Customer review by Markie

4.0 stars 8/27/2007 by Markie
by Markie

Comes in handy if you want to avoid carrying a large number of items in your pack. The light illuminates the entire cabin and the night light is handy for the kids The radio is a nice feature but is difficult to tune because the dial is very small and hard to get a decent grip on. Also, nice to have the crank to provide power if the batteries run out. Overall a nice product and would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Markie
Mt. Vernon VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Life Gear Life Light
9/14/2007

Customer review by Verse

4.0 stars 9/14/2007 by Verse
by Verse

I bought the light because I wanted a light with L.E.D.s I definitely was not disappointed with this one. Although I did not get the 30-45min time with the cranking, the light stayed lit and bright for some time. Also, if you put some rechargeable AAAs in the unit it stays lit for-e-ver! My only beef with the unit is the sound of the alarm (surely not 130 decibels, surely not!) and I for the life of me cannot find or figure out where the mosquito repellent frequency-station-knob thingy is. But all in all, excellent product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Verse
Fort Hood, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Purchased for Emergencies
11/10/2007

Customer review by BuckeyeBoy

3.0 stars 11/10/2007 by BuckeyeBoy
by BuckeyeBoy

I purchased this product after a lengthy power outage. I had flashlights with batteries, and even a flashlight that you shake to charge it. But I did not have a lantern that would run without batteries. One of the lanterns I had was dim due to the batteries, and I did not have those batteries in the house to replace it. That's when I thought I would look for one that had a hand crank generator (dynamo). I found this one at Wal-Mart, and for $20 ($30 less than the company sells for on their web site) I thought it was a good deal. It has 9 LED lights, with the option of 3 lit or all 9 lit. Even with all 9 lit, the light is not as bright as my battery powered lanterns, but it is better than holding a flashlight for multiple people (i.e, reading). The radio sounds ok, but the small dial makes it difficult to tune. There is also an additional 1 LED night light on the side. It also will blink and make a siren-like noise to get people's attention. The cell charger, however, is only for one-type of cell phone charging jack. You are supposed to get a free adapter for your specific phone on the web site, but it had a $5.95 shipping charge for each adapter! I did not like that. Overall, I recommend this for the lantern, and primarily for when you don't have the batteries available for a better such device.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BuckeyeBoy
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
6/14/2009

Customer review by SingleMom222

5.0 stars 6/14/2009 by SingleMom222
by SingleMom222

I just bought one of these lanters from Walmart and fell in love with it within five minutes. Mine, however, does not have the mosquito repellent feature to it. I did not notice that until I had already opened it and was listening to the radio. I still love it, but make sure you pay attention to the package and (if you want it) get the one that is a mosquito repellent. It really does only take one min (or less) for 45 min charging and the radio sounds cripsy clear. I haven't tried the phone charger yet though. It is also a very powerful lanter for the size and price and has a good nightlight and flash feature too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SingleMom222
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Going Green
1/5/2009

Customer review by Plunky1

5.0 stars 1/5/2009 by Plunky1
by Plunky1

This is a good environmentally friendly product which is also quite useful, particularly during power outages.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Plunky1
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
WOW!!!
10/5/2007

Customer review by Beachmama

5.0 stars 10/5/2007 by Beachmama
by Beachmama

This is an awesome product! We love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beachmama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
LED Lantern
10/11/2007

Customer review by themoon

5.0 stars 10/11/2007 by themoon
by themoon

The light works fine. The only thing is you have to buy a dc charger. I would think it should be part of the package. Other than that I am very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
themoon
Bensenville, Il.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
We love it!
8/16/2009

Customer review by hfwonder

5.0 stars 8/16/2009 by hfwonder
by hfwonder

Its great for camping and using as a tent light with a carabeaner. We also keep them in our cars for emergency purposes. You don't have to crank much before you get a nice bright light that last a long time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hfwonder
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Many uses
10/28/2008

Customer review by SILVERADO2k

5.0 stars 10/28/2008 by SILVERADO2k
by SILVERADO2k

I bought this light online for a hunting trip, so I didnt actually see the product hands on and I thought it might be something I could throw into my backpack. I gave it an average for expectations only because it was bigger and heavier then I anticipated and didnt work out as a pack item. But everything else is great, its built very well not 'flimsy' at all. I would definitely recommend it for camping or to keep one in your house for power failures and it would be a great item to have in your car too. It was too late in the season for any Mosquitoes, so I wasn’t able to see if the ultra-sonic repellent worked but I will find out this summer since I intend to use it on my patio when BBQ’ing.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SILVERADO2k
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Every family should have one...
6/25/2009

Customer review by bjallen

5.0 stars 6/25/2009 by bjallen
by bjallen

Every family should have one of these LED LifeLight. I live in a area where there is just a little wind and our power goes out. This LifeLight is very entertaining. I like the idea that you can plug a ipod into the unit and play your music.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bjallen
Orrington, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great Item
1/3/2008

Customer review by TheShoppingLady

5.0 stars 1/3/2008 by TheShoppingLady
by TheShoppingLady

I purchased this item as a gift and I must say - it was even better in person than I expected. My friend does a lot of camping and the like, and this amazing lantern will come in very handy. I am wondering who else might light to have one (aside from myself!).

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheShoppingLady
Hamburg, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great!!
8/28/2008

Customer review by InTheSticks

5.0 stars 8/28/2008 by InTheSticks
by InTheSticks

I purchased this lantern expressly because of the rave reviews it received here. I was not disappointed. We use this in an underground storm shelter and it is wonderful. No worries about failing batteries because it's a crank. A little crank goes a long way. Good radio reception. And strong lantern in more than one setting. Even has a night light. A++

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
InTheSticks
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
nice product
4/28/2008

Customer review by ohbrowns

5.0 stars 4/28/2008 by ohbrowns
by ohbrowns

I have other hand-crank lights, but was impressed by the ability to charge a cell phone for emergency use. The radio is very clear, and has AM and FM. Can also get an AC/DC converter from their site, and they are very helpful if you email them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ohbrowns
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Item
7/20/2009

Customer review by crionlion

5.0 stars 7/20/2009 by crionlion
by crionlion

Love the new lantern. Only ordered one because i questioned the quality of this inexpensive lantern but i was pleasantly surprised. I am going to order two more so I'm prepared for the next power outage.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crionlion
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lantern Plus
7/19/2009

Customer review by jnkpot

5.0 stars 7/19/2009 by jnkpot
by jnkpot

I took this lantern on a camping trip, it worked great. you get 45 minutes of light on 1 minute of cranking. on the radio you only get about 9 minutes but just crank again and you can keep going. All of the features work great however i'm not sure about the insect repellant? I am very happy with the lantern.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jnkpot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid find
11/20/2008

Customer review by DownsouthYankee

5.0 stars 11/20/2008 by DownsouthYankee
by DownsouthYankee

I searched and searched for a small lantern for use during an emergency which did not "burn" fuel and did not cost a months salary. This lantern fit the bill on paper. When it arrived I found it walked the walked. Lights up a room in my house enough to function if the power is out and does so for several hours. I highly recommend this item.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DownsouthYankee
Montgomery, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews