Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 48 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

48 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

48 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 41 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
Junk
4/10/2008

Customer review by aaronliketogrill

1.0 stars 4/10/2008 by aaronliketogrill
by aaronliketogrill

It is one giant rust bucket. I have had it about a year and it is falling apart. The ash tray has completely rusted through and broke. I will never buy another Royal Oak product again

Was this review helpful? (1) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aaronliketogrill
Princeton, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Husband loves it! Great Grill!
4/24/2008

Customer review by Xynephadyn

5.0 stars 4/24/2008 by Xynephadyn
by Xynephadyn

As far as charcoal grills are concerned, this is the best buy for your money. Since I bought the grill last weekend we have had perfectly cooked Ribs, Steak, & Hamburger --- What really makes the difference with this model compared to the regular ole bucket model is the adjustable heat shelf and the Huge Grilling Surface-. WARNING: It does take a long time to assemble on your own. My husband is an engineer and it took him 3 hours to put together. However, it was worth the time. I recommend having the store put it together for you if your not mechanically inclined.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xynephadyn
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Price Value
8/28/2007

Customer review by Juicey

5.0 stars 8/28/2007 by Juicey
by Juicey

This grill is a great value for the price. It has more than expected cooking space, easy to clean with the convenient ash tray, very user-friendly. Easy to store away. Would recommend this to anyone who has little grilling experience. I had fun using this grill. Next best thing gas grilling (convenience).

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Juicey
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
deluxe barbecue grill
8/3/2007

Customer review by shihtzulvr2000

5.0 stars 8/3/2007 by shihtzulvr2000
by shihtzulvr2000

I just love it. It is just like a gas grill only you don't have to worry about the propane gas. i can grill steaks , small whole pigs, sausages, and chicken and i don't have to worry about a hot kitchen

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shihtzulvr2000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth Every Cent and Then Some!
3/23/2008

Customer review by MtandMtj

5.0 stars 3/23/2008 by MtandMtj
by MtandMtj

We bought this grill a couple weeks ago after deciding our gas grill was just too hard to keep clean. After 5 hours of assembly we were off and cooking and haven't wanted to stop! Burgers, chicken, steaks, and ribs so far all have come out great! Plus, it cleans up in no time with ease. We'll take this over the gas grill we paid hundreds more for any day.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MtandMtj
Henderson, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Royal Oak BBQ
4/6/2008

Customer review by BMdub

5.0 stars 4/6/2008 by BMdub
by BMdub

Really nice BQ, glad I got this over the 78 dollar one. This is very sturdy and well made. Assembly took me about 1 hour, not as bad as it looks to assemble once you get it out of the box. Best charcoal BBQ I have found for the money. Box is pretty heavy so get some help.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BMdub
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Broke in my new grill today...Lovin' it, lovin' it
6/16/2008

Customer review by ImpNate

5.0 stars 6/16/2008 by ImpNate
by ImpNate

Got this grill as a Father's Day gift from my wife and kids and this was a major step up from my "oil barrel" grill. I also got some cool grilling accessories and some top notch ribeyes so it didn't take too much brain juice to figure out what I was going to be doing this weekend. Man the food came out spectacular...steaks, bratwurst, sausage, hot dogs and pork loin with a rosemary rub...mmmmmm, think I'll be hitting the left overs after this post. I appreciate all the comments (both positive and negative) and here's my 2 cents worth: 1. I put it together Friday night and yes, it's a pain to assemble...give yourself a good 4-5 hours and don't loose/strip any of the nuts, bolts or other small fasteners because you don't get any extras. 2. aaronliketogrill down below shared some pictures of his rusted Royal Oak grill and said it was only a year old. For that reason my first purchase was a grill cover for under $20. 3. aaronliketogrill also mentioned that the ash tray was completely rusted through and broke. Let me quote exactly what the instruction manual says about this, "After the ashes and grill have completely cooled, it is imperative that you clean out the ashes from inside the grill before moisture can combine with the ash. Ash and moisture can create lye, which is very acidic and can cause rusting." So...give yourself some time to assemble it, get a 60" grill cover, keep it clean and I imagine that your Royal Oak grill will put out some great meals for years to come.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ImpNate
"THE" BBQ State, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
COOKIN OUTDOORS IN THE SUNNY SOUTH
8/27/2007

Customer review by ROCKCITY

5.0 stars 8/27/2007 by ROCKCITY
by ROCKCITY

I'm likeing this grill more every time I use it...I can smoke any cut of meat I want thx to the large surface area, and the ability to offset the fire for indirect smoking...The fire pan can be raised or lowered depending on the type of cooking you want to do....EZ clean-up with the removeable ash pan...For less than 130 bucks, you can't go wrong here......

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ROCKCITY
WINCHESTER, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
7/12/2007

Customer review by Queenie

5.0 stars 7/12/2007 by Queenie
by Queenie

Grill is very large and sturdy, with plenty of cooking, side, and storage space. The price was very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Queenie
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Needs some modifications
6/10/2008

Customer review by RegularGriller

3.0 stars 6/10/2008 by RegularGriller
by RegularGriller

None of the stores around me had this grill on display, so please ask your store to display this grill for you so you can see first hand the quality of this grill before you make a long term commitment. To me the charcoal holder is not deep enough and the gap between the main wall and the charcoal holder will not allow you to stack the coals to high if you do a lot of in-direct grilling(this will just spill over onto the ash pan). Removing the coals after cooking is not as easy as just lifting the pan and dumping them out, you will need to scoop the coals out of the pan(not really a big deal, just inconvienent) There is about a one inch gap between the top cover and the bottom cover on my grill, (tried to shrink the gap but could only get it to 1/2 inch) so controlling the temperture might take some getting used to. This grill is heavy, but don't let that fool you, the metal used for this grill is much more thin than traditional grills, so that is why you should really look at a display model before purchasing. There is however a lot of grilling space and with a deep hood cooking side dishes and large items is very manageable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RegularGriller
Rockford, Il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great grill!
3/17/2009

Customer review by DSRocks

5.0 stars 3/17/2009 by DSRocks
by DSRocks

Love this grill. Only had it a few weeks and have already grilled multiple times. Have made some great sausage and bacon cheeseburgers on it. Made the best bbq chicken I have ever made the other night. Assembly took some time but I'm female so if I can do it anyone can. I'm hoping to smoke a brisket here soon only reason I'm scared to is because I never have before lol. Hopefully it will turn out great which if it doesn't will be my fault not the grills. Love the temp gauge on it helps a lot. Also love being able to move the coals closer or further away. I also bought a weber chimney starter when I got this grill. The best invention for anyone who loves to charcoal grill. No more lighter fluid a must have for anyone who grills using charcoal. Good luck!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DSRocks
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Santa Maria style grilln'
1/12/2009

Customer review by Robison

5.0 stars 1/12/2009 by Robison
by Robison

I already had a smoker/BBQ but I do more grillin' then BBQn' so I decided I needed a Santa Maria style grill. Couldn't find one for under $250.00 anywhere. Then one day I saw this little beauty in my local Wal-Mart for $100.00. I almost fell over. I looked it over for about 20 minutes and found it was built very nice, the grate raised and lowered better then most of the expensive ones I had been looking at. I use it at least once a week and can't say enough great things about it. If you are thinking of getting one stop putting off and just do it. You will be happy. I, in fact am thinking of purchasing another and storing it in the attic. One day this one will fall apart, as all things do. then I will have a spare ready to go. They are that good!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Robison
Lake Isabella, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Three year wonder
3/9/2009

Customer review by BBQr

2.0 stars 3/9/2009 by BBQr
by BBQr

I bought this grill about three years ago. I am the type of person that grills year round (rain, snow and shine). I loved the features this grill had to offer and while it lasted, it was a great grill. After about two and a half years (I bought it in Spring 2006), the grill started to fall apart. The ash pan began to lose its shap and would not stay in place. There is nothing like having a pan full of hot ashes and coals fall to your feet. The grate the coals rest on also started to rust out. Today the ash pan won't stay in place even when its not being used and the hole in the coal grate is about the size of a volleyball. I bought a cover for the grill when it was new, but I could never get it to fit right.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BBQr
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
not amused
1/20/2008

Customer review by graf

2.0 stars 1/20/2008 by graf
by graf

I was very upset with the directions to put it together but the main problem is that the warming rack doe not stay in place when moving the grill only inches. Also, the side shelves are too free and pull out of place when trying to move the grill. The coal basket is not square or level and is extreamly flimsy as is the ash catcher. I spent several hours on the internet and phone to try to contact someone so I could get the unit exchanged. I never did get anywhere after hours on hold. There are 27 steps to put it together - if it had not been so complicated I would have taken in apart and brought it back

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
graf
jax fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
GOOD OVERALL
3/15/2009

Customer review by kgetter

4.0 stars 3/15/2009 by kgetter
by kgetter

Bought grill over 2 years ago. Took awhile to asemble, because door handle hole and hing holes were drilled on the same side. had to modify (was having a Labor day cook-out) later called costomer service for royal oak. They were very polite and helpful on the phone, even told me this had happened before. They said they would ship a new door. However (over 2 year later ) and I am STILL WAITING ON SHIPPMENT OF NEW DOOR! I have continued to use the grill anyway has been good. Would recommend others to buy, but I personally will not buy again because of poor costomer service on ROYAL OAKS end!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kgetter
Dayton,ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love this grill!
4/14/2008

Customer review by kkrew

5.0 stars 4/14/2008 by kkrew
by kkrew

OK, it was a pain to assemble. Like another reviewer said, the parts are not labeled well. I would recommend going through the instructions and labeling the parts one by one yourself before you start. Once assembled the grill is easy to use and well equipped. There is a separate pull out tray for the ashes (no turning the grill over), there is ample room on the sides and bottom for storage. It is also very easy to adjust the coals. Plus the actual cooking area is so much larger than most grills in this price range. Great price + great grill.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kkrew
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
awsome grill
8/29/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/29/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have no idea why there are complaints about assembly. The hardware is clearly marked in the tray and the instructions includes actual size picture chart labeling of each nut , bolt , and screw. After opening the box and laying everything out , it only took me a little over an hour to assemble. I am extreemly happy with the quality and versatility of this grill. I would very much recommend this to anyone. For those of you that are mechanically inept , i would recommend buying the assembled unit. LOVE THIS GRILL.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
denham springs ,La.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
excellent choice for grilling
4/28/2008

Customer review by imthenewmayor

5.0 stars 4/28/2008 by imthenewmayor
by imthenewmayor

i had the opportunity to purchase this grill this weekend, and let me tell you it is a wonderful grill! this weekend was the first for me as far as grilling is concerned, and i found it to be very easy to do with this grill. i followed the directions in the owners manuel, and had no problems what so ever. the grill did everything it was supposed to do! and clean up was a breeze, in fact i actually cleaned the grill twenty minutes before leaving for work. i strongely recommend this grill, and the price is great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
imthenewmayor
virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
also doubles as a huge smoker
11/10/2008

Customer review by mountainsmoker

5.0 stars 11/10/2008 by mountainsmoker
by mountainsmoker

After a little trial and error, this unit has become a great way to smoke all of my meats. I have smoked ribs to turkeys on it. The trick I use is a small pile of charcoal, about the size of a paper plate. Soak the wood over night. After lighting the charcoal, wring it with the soaked wood. I cold smoke between 5-10 hrs. depending on the meat. This is the best unit I have ever owned. If you notice, the top of the lid already has a smoke temp range, try it, I know you will be more than pleased

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mountainsmoker
Fort Collins, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Hard Directions
4/22/2008

Customer review by dog154

3.0 stars 4/22/2008 by dog154
by dog154

I think that once we can get this grill together it may be good but the directions have alot to be desired. This has to be the most difficult directions that I have ever seen. It takes over 5 hours to put together and we are still not to sure that it is right. There is no way to get online help and pictures to show how all of the parts goes together. The pictures in the directions booklet does not give enough detail of the parts and how they go together.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dog154
Burlington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews