Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 107 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

107 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

107 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
67
4 stars
26
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 97 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews
I Love This Product Except for....
10/10/2007

Customer review by salleyshopper

5.0 stars 10/10/2007 by salleyshopper
by salleyshopper

The only complaint I have about this vest is the plastic buckles. You have to be VERY careful when you lay the vest down because the heaviness of the weights will crack the plastic buckle.I have already had to exchange the vest for that reason,otherwise I would have give this product 5 stars.It comes with 20 1LB weights and the 20 pockets for the weights are distributed evenly.The vest also has reflectors if you want to use it after dark.I started out with 12lbs of weight and have worked up to 20LBs.I use it when I walk my dogs and ride my bike.Over all I Love It.

Was this review helpful? (51) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
salleyshopper
Glen Burnie, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
IMPROVE YOUR WORKOUT
5/9/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/9/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am a veteran of the Army and we used to wear flack jackets to do physical training. Well this vest is the same concept. You notice the difference when u have it on compared to when u have it off. I started running with this on and in three weeks I timed myself with out the vest and I ran at a pace of 9 mins faster. It adds intensity. The weights are solid metel which is a big plus so they will not mess up and the vest is pretty comfortable. It does losen up during exercise but all you have to do is just pull the straps tighter. It also has a pocket for a MP3 player! Great value overall. Even if the 20 pounds isn't exactly enough after a while, you can still get a work out with it on. Just remember the faster you get with this on the faster you will be with out it. It's great to wear with all activities! BUY IT!

Was this review helpful? (37) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Deer Park, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It REALLY works.
5/2/2009

Customer review by Odium

5.0 stars 5/2/2009 by Odium
by Odium

I borrowed my friend's and was using his for a few months while doing any sort of exercise. I saw huge results so I figured I'd buy my own. It really tightens up your muscles, increases your core strength, adds that much needed resistance, and worth every dollar. My only problem is it only goes up to 20 pounds, wish it went to 100 lol. If you're considering to workout to gain muscle or lose that extra weight, buy this product.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Odium
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT FOR ATHLETES
7/21/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/21/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I BOUGHT THIS PRODUCT AS A GIFT FOR MY LITTLE BROTHER WHO PLAYS BASKETBALL. EVERYDAY HE THANKS ME FOR HOW MUCH THIS VEST HAS HELPED. I HAVE SEEN A INSTANT IMPROVEMENT IN HIS OVERALL PERFORMANCE ON THE BASKETBALL COURT. HIS ENDURANCE HAS INCREASED TREMENDOUSLY. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT ATHLETES IN MOST SPORTS

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It does what it's supposed to.
8/3/2010

Customer review by bigrunner420

5.0 stars 8/3/2010 by bigrunner420
by bigrunner420

I was impressed with the comfortableness of it, and the material / look. It definitely has an intimidating look added when you're a larger male as you DO look like you have a bullet-proof vest on. However, this might be a plus cause it gives you all the more attention from the ladies. That being said, you'll definitely get noticed in this by mostly everyone. Maybe'll be asked why you're wearing it around everywhere. But let that person wear it. And let them feel the power. It definitely does what it is marketing. An effective, crucial, essential tool to the above average health nerd. You should get one if you're getting bored doing your pushups and long jogs daily. Put this sucker on and you'll definitely be feeling the pain. ANd I don't mean shoulder pain or anything like that because this thing is actually comfortable. The only real downside I saw, was the availability of +sizes since I am a rather huge gargantuant growing boy(ahem man) .. It felt rather tight at my beginning weight of 335lbs.. 6 weeks later I was down to 260, all with the help of this bad boy. It definitely gets you motivated when you got it on. Just keep it on. Cause I promise you'll sweat doing any activity. And when you take it off, you'll feel like a million bucks because you'll think you're out of gas. But the secret is, your muscles can do much more, probably double what you just did in a faster pace. This thing is awesome. Besides it being 50 dollars I wished it was a little cheaper. 40 dollars would be nice. Since it does come with plastic straps which I have been reading but never thought about till now is the straps breaking from people dropping it. I have had no problems in the 5 months that I've had it. Not one problem. The only problem was it worked far greater than I had expected, and that I should have bought one sooner. Stop questioning your money spending thoughts on what to get next. Get this instead and get jacked! And since I've never had a problem with it all I can say is throw it off on your bed, or a chair.. Never drop it on the floor. That's just carelessness and complete ignorance for respect of your tools. And one thing that I've learned.. Is if you don't have respect for the tools and machines you have.. You, or your product will be damaged or worse broken.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigrunner420
HOT HUMID FLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/17/2010

Customer review by Newforce3

5.0 stars 1/17/2010 by Newforce3
by Newforce3

Aside from looking as if you might have strapped around 20 lbs. of explosives in this vest or perhaps geared up for SWAT duty, this vest is really great. Having been 75 pounds heavier than I currently am its remarkable to feel again (without cramming an entire pizza down in one sitting) what a difference an additional 20 lbs. makes. I went right out for a jog with this bad boy on and I had a great time. The quality of the vest is very good and the material breaths well. You must have it snug but I also did pull-ups with it on and my range of motion was never at risk. The reason for the 4 out of 5 stars in the value department is because I had seen it for $40 online and a week prior, its just my luck that the price went up at my Wal-Mart when I finally decided to grab it. The IPOD pouch might be a nice thing if EVERYONE in the world had a giant IPOD, but there are some of us out here who just have the little IPOD Shuffle. This vest is comfortable enough to wear all day, considering you dont work at an airport. It should be a little less expensive but honestly, this vest is a much needed tool and a great investment. Now I just wish WALMART would stock the heavier vests too.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Newforce3
Clovis, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
All but fit
2/20/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/20/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It is a very effective vest, I use while I train, the only complaint, is fit,this is not for running or high impact activity, it moves around, shifts, & if your sleevless your arms will get rub burned, all & all its a good vest as long as your just walking or doing low impact sport,I use while doing squats, lunges & walks,good vest,not great though...

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Customized for bigger people
8/23/2010

Customer review by BeastlyRunner

3.0 stars 8/23/2010 by BeastlyRunner
by BeastlyRunner

I am 5'7 weighing at about 155 lbs (15% or so bodyfat), and this item isnt very sturdy during a run. It shakes too much and is just too loose-fitting, even the plastic buckles do not help. I would recommend this product to someone who is looking into adding more weight for pushups, pullups and whole body workouts.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeastlyRunner
Newport, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Cheap-Pay for what you get
8/6/2009

Customer review by ArmyEngineer21

2.0 stars 8/6/2009 by ArmyEngineer21
by ArmyEngineer21

This vest is uncomfortable to run in and the plastic buckles break easily. If you are looking for a weighted vest then get one designed by the pros of vest making.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArmyEngineer21
Fargo, ND
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great vest
3/1/2009

Customer review by wolfgang7

5.0 stars 3/1/2009 by wolfgang7
by wolfgang7

as mentioned in other reviews, the weights are not metal weights as pictured/advertised but are sandbags that are tough to fit into the pockets. not a big problem but if you will be needing to adjust the weight (moving weights in and out of the pockets) frequently this could be very annoying. mp3 holder pocket is neoprene and therefore very water resistant which is great because i walk/run with this vest in the rain a lot here in germany. but the size is small and the opening is a tight fit. like small enough that it's a bit of a chore to get even my ipod shuffle (very small mp3 player, about the size of a book of matches) in and out. i usually just clip it to the outside of the vest somewhere unless it's raining heavily. it bounces a lot when i run, no matter how tight i make the vest, which is very likely due in large part to my beginner running style. i'm working on keeping as much as my body level while i run as i can and this helps with that so it's not a negative on the vest really... lastly but definitely worth mentioning is the flimsy quality plastic that makes up the 2 buckles. i don't really see them breaking so long as you don't throw this thing around really hard. but they do flex very easily and they are a bit tough to keep hold of as i clip them together. could definitely be designed better. none of these "negatives" would be considered even close to a deal breaker though. this is a great vest (i think, i've never used another)...the price is great compared to others, gold's put some thought into this....i'll be replacing the plastic buckles with others....i just need to find some better ones to 'jimmy-rig' onto the vest. buy it and lose weight....er...gain weight....to.....lose...weight....

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wolfgang7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love the product
11/2/2010

Customer review by zbyrd7

5.0 stars 11/2/2010 by zbyrd7
by zbyrd7

I was looking for something to take my workout to the next level. I walk for an hour everyday and my body got use to it. So I added weights to make my body work harder. I definetely felt the difference since day one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zbyrd7
Chicago IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
For men only
10/4/2008

Customer review by PrivateTrainer

5.0 stars 10/4/2008 by PrivateTrainer
by PrivateTrainer

I purchasese this weighted vest on-line and received it within a short period of time. Although constructed well, I found it way to big for a small woman. The vest feels okay except for the collar area. By the time I cinched it around my waist to make it snug, the tops of the shoulder were hitting the sides of my neck causing discomfort. I was unable to adjust the vest to make a difference. It worked well with isolated exercises but I had wanted to use it for rollerblading and hiking. I could tell that the vest would have chafed my neck very quickly and putting something around my neck like a towel would have been way too hot. I'm currently looking for a vest that is specifically designed to fit a small female. I would highly recommend this vest for men or large women with a large upper body.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PrivateTrainer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Uncomfortable material
2/12/2008

Customer review by MustLoveDogs2008

1.0 stars 2/12/2008 by MustLoveDogs2008
by MustLoveDogs2008

I found the weighted vest to be made out of very stiff, uncomfortable material that scratched your skin. It also was not one size fits all for me. I had to pull it very tight and it overlapped the other side making it very bulky to wear.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MustLoveDogs2008
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Great for Job related training!!
4/10/2009

Customer review by FireMANOREGON

5.0 stars 4/10/2009 by FireMANOREGON
by FireMANOREGON

The guys down at the fire station recommended this to me, and this is by far the best training aid I've ever bought. One down side, is that if your a bigger guy, like myself. It's going to be a little snug, but all the better to show your progress! For only $50, can't complain to much, plus that snazzy mp3 holder... couldn't ask for more.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FireMANOREGON
Bend, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
best bang for the Buck
10/12/2010

Customer review by MuchenTuchen

5.0 stars 10/12/2010 by MuchenTuchen
by MuchenTuchen

Unbeatable value, best price anywhere. I have no negative things to say about it, because the price is right. Belt Buckles feel fragile, so take it easy putting it on and off.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MuchenTuchen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Nice
3/10/2008

Customer review by bear1098

5.0 stars 3/10/2008 by bear1098
by bear1098

I was a little hesitant after reading a few of the negative reviews, but I decided to buy this vest anyway. I'm sure glad I did! This is a very high quaility product and appears to be put together very nicely. It exceeded all of my expectations and I would highly recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bear1098
Columbus, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product
9/28/2008

Customer review by Punit

5.0 stars 9/28/2008 by Punit
by Punit

I loved it. I have been using it now for 2 weeks, it has helped me a lot with my aerobic work out.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Punit
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Satisfied with this vest...
12/6/2008

Customer review by ovadash

4.0 stars 12/6/2008 by ovadash
by ovadash

I ordered this vest for myself but it has enough weight so my husband can use it also. I am happy with the vest although I will need to adjust it quite a bit in order for it to fit me better, especially if I want to run. It seems to be well made and the buckles (plastic) are fairly heavy duty. I worried as one reviewer stated they broke easily and had to be replaced, but short of throwing the vest around, I think it would be hard to break them if you take care of it. Right now it is definitely good for what I need it for, adding weight to my current exercising, elliptical, walking and stepping. The MP3 player pocket is made for a iPod I think as I have another, wider, MP3 player and it does not fit, not a big deal though. Overall I am happy with my purchase considering the price...I think a smaller framed woman might not find this type of vest comfortable or may not be able to adjust it enough to fit....there are other brands which hug your body more or are specially made for woman but you pay for that convenience.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ovadash
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Gold's Gym Vest - 20 lbs.
3/20/2008

Customer review by RedPeaches

4.0 stars 3/20/2008 by RedPeaches
by RedPeaches

I purchased this product to help me to lose weight. I've only added 10 lbs thus far and I can tell it really makes a difference. So far, I have nothing but high praises for this product and would recommend it. It is also very cost effective.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RedPeaches
Forest Park, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
You Get What you Pay for
8/9/2010

Customer review by FitnessGuy1

3.0 stars 8/9/2010 by FitnessGuy1
by FitnessGuy1

I bought the 20-pound vest yesterday mainly to help get in a better workout running 1 mile. I am 5"7.5 and weigh 155 pounds. I liked that it did it's job in helping to make my workout harder. For the price, it was a fair deal. However, there were things I didn't like. Mainly, my biggest dissapointment with this product is that it fits me loosley and bounces up and down when I run. I wish that it would hug my body tighter so that I could run easier with it. Even with the bucles tightened to the max, it still fit a little loosley and bounced when I ran. So far, this is my only concern with the product. Overall, decent product, fair deal for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FitnessGuy1
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews