Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 474 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

474 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

474 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
326
4 stars
65
3 stars
25
2 stars
10
1 stars
48
1-20 of 403 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 403 total reviews
1-20 of 403 reviews
It took a while to figure out what was causing the Shareport to malfunction but now it works perfectly
9/27/2013

Customer review by Duane

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by Duane
by Duane

I connected a Seagate 1.5 TB drive to the USB 2.0 Port of the Router and use Shareport Utility on each of the laptops or computers that I have on the home network. I did experience a problem with the Shareport Utility not connecting to the external hard drive connected to the Router through a USB Cable, but it turned out there was an easy fix. Just make sure that you have the latest firmware 1.37 in my case at this point in time. And, make sure that under Advanced Options, that the 'Enable Multicast Streams' is enabled. And, it may be a good idea to have the Shareport Utility set so that it automatically connects if there is an error. After that, the Seagate drive showed up and makes an excellent backup drive for File History (Windows 8's name for file backup). Also, the router works well with the Amped Wireless Range Extender, although it requires that you do the firmware update for that device to work with the router better with the File History function of Windows 8. -Duane

Duane
Somerset, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Flawed firmware causes it to reboot with some devices
11/9/2013

Customer review by AllynKC

1.0 stars 11/9/2013 by AllynKC
by AllynKC

I have used this router for years - and until this year I found it to be reliable and stable. However, some newer mobile devices can trigger this router to reboot repeatedly (in my case, the HTC One smartphone). I updated to the latest firmware (1.37), but that has not resolved the issue. In the end, I found that the problem only exists when the router is set to use 802.11n. The only solution was to limit the router to no faster than 802.11g speeds - which then impacts all devices connected to the router. It could be argued that the mobile device is using a flawed packet structure which causes the issue. Fair enough. BUT, even with this argument, it would mean that there is a security failure in the router to allow it to reboot itself repeatedly if a remote device crafts a packet in a certain way. So, regardless of if the problem originates in the mobile device or in the router - the firmware in the router needs to be fixed by Dlink to either fix the issue or to mitigate the security risk.

AllynKC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy set up, great range and the backbone of my system
10/6/2013

Customer review by Like

5.0 stars 10/6/2013 by Like
by Like

I was looking for some documentation on the device for another system change and started reading all the reviews and had to put my 2 cents in. This device I purchased back a number of years ago, to date I have had no issues with this device. We have recently changed our home setup, added in power line expansion throughout house to the TV boxes, added in smart TV's, wireless printer, 16 Tb server with remote in capability over the internet, added 2 more laptops to the 2 we already had and currently have 4 Apple devices IPads and IPods. The DIR-655 handles the internal streaming and external web surfing and VoIP like a champ, I have had no issues with connection or any devices dropping out. I find the range to be excellent, so much so I can walk out my house to about 100 yards and still get just a sliver of service if needed. In the electronics age this device has been on the market for a long time, which is surprising to see and demonstrates the robustness of the device in today's market.

Like
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Keeps on ticking
9/8/2014

Customer review by drjimm

5.0 stars 9/8/2014 by drjimm
by drjimm

I have used a lot of router over the years and this has been the easiest. I live in a two unit building. Our partners live up stairs. I have provided internet connection to them (mostly wireless) for the last 5 years. Between all the ipads, ipods, dvrs, TVs, printers, gaming devices .. we must have 25 devices connected. At one time I had static ip adreress and ran a sever on the network with no problem. I have changed to usinn DDNS and it works for my low intensity uses. Port forwarding is easy to setup. For most users the install is straightforward. If you have a complicated network it takes some work. For as complicated a device with as many options as it is I have never been stuck. As any device that sits between modems and variety of devices I think routers get blamed when the fault is elsewhere. It is frustrating when things dont work. Thinking of getting a new AC router (just because its new) but dir655 works so well hard to justify.

drjimm
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Overall good router
7/31/2014

Customer review by Dave49

4.0 stars 7/31/2014 by Dave49
by Dave49

I've had this router for nearly 4 years now. It was easy to set-up out of the box and it's easy to reconfigure when needed. The range has been outstanding when it works as it should. There have been many firmware updates since mine was purchased. Lately my connections were sketchy and I needed to reboot several times a day. I realized I was still using the original firmware so I updated to 1.37na. There seems to be a glitch if you ask the router to find the update it says there is none, so I went to the d-link support site and directly downloaded the latest firmware from there. Anyways, everthing is up to date and I got it working better than it ever has. The range is fantastic, it covers my single story 3200 sqft home from end to end. No more dropped connections.. No more rebooting. I run 5 mobile devices and 3 gamings systems on the wi-fi and they all have great connections, although I do plan on using a gigabit port to hook up the game systems using an ethernet cable. I was almost going to buy a new router but figured I'd see if the firmware update would help and it did. Saved me almost $200.

Dave49
So. Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Single-Band N Router!
2/29/2012

Customer review by Oiprac

5.0 stars 2/29/2012 by Oiprac
by Oiprac

Pros: simple installation; disc included provided latest firmware update. Signal strength using N is strongest I've used; signal is strong through 4 walls roughly within 150ft. Browser setup is easy to use (if you know what you're doing). Gigabit LAN is much faster than a my previous 100MB capped router (granted the computer is 10/100/1000MB). Cons: SharePort media needs to be installed on all PCs in order to access the connected USB peripheral (be it a flash drive or printer). One note also, I haven't had to restart the router since I've had it, which is over a month now, which is great! No issues whatsoever. The blue led lights are very bright, can either be a pro/con to whomever but I personally think they're awesome although they're just cosmetic. So far, out of four previous wireless routers, this has been THE BEST. And it's my first gigabit router and there's no going back!

Oiprac
Bay Area, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Well
4/20/2014

Customer review by CAshley

4.0 stars 4/20/2014 by CAshley
by CAshley

I've had this router for almost 4 years now. It has never had any issues that other reviews have run into. I did have some trouble with my DSL connection at one point in the past, but that was fixed when I offloaded the PPPoE from the modem to the router. Since then, I never had any connection issues with my DSL. The wireless covers most of the house and the driveway, which was useful when I was working on my car a couple of times and needed to look up some info on my phone. The only thing I would like this router to be able to do is IPv6. Mine is running 1.34NA and is the A4 version. I don't see anywhere that this model can do IPv6 which is a shame. I love the Gigabit ports and N connectivity, though I rarely use wireless anymore due to the health concerns of WiFi. It has decent filtering options, too.

CAshley
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Has worked great for several years now (Rev B hardware)
12/27/2013

Customer review by SilverFoxDan

4.0 stars 12/27/2013 by SilverFoxDan
by SilverFoxDan

Setup manually so I don't know how the wizard works. I use a Linksys 54G ( older unit, before CISCO screwed up the new designs) for wireless with DHCP server disabled that I back-end into this router but this router seemed to perform wireless very well while it was enabled. Smoke-en hot as a direct cat-6 wired unit which has my son's game PC much happier than on the old ADSL router I was running (converted to fiber). I have MagicJack VOIP and this router does an excellent job and actually cleared up a some poor audio quality I was having. Contrary to some other reviews I have seen elsewhere, the unit runs cool. (make sure you remove all packing protection) Not really sure about the USB port, poor documentation to be sure. All in all, my router has been an excellent investment

SilverFoxDan
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Old workhorse.
4/12/2014

Customer review by SQLDBA

5.0 stars 4/12/2014 by SQLDBA
by SQLDBA

This has been a great, dependable wireless router. I finally retired the previous D-Link 802.11G router to my mother's home when she finally got DSL (and it is still running great#. I have configured and used this router with a pass through to the ports to my web server without issue and ran it on low transmit power until more neighbors bought wireless and had to crank it up to high power to get a clean signal in the house. I was trying to find out how old this router is, and looked on the label to find HW Ver. A2 FW Ver. 1.11. Firmware version 1.20 per this web site, came out in 8/14/2008. After some more looking, I downloaded a later manual that has instructions on how to configure IPv6. Unfortunately, this one is too old to be upgraded to IPv6, but since almost all of my machines answer pings in IPv6, I will go and buy a newer DIR-655 so I can have it do the DNS for the new TCP/IP standard. Yes, I work in computers, yes I have it sitting on the top of a shelf with good airflow around it, and yes I have a #new) 8 port Gb switch hanging off of it to connect my lab computers. I have only 2 boat anchor computers that are older than this router. It just works and mom will end up with this one when I buy a new DIR-655.

SQLDBA
Charlotte, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
This is a peice of junk
1/20/2014

Customer review by rshaffer10

1.0 stars 1/20/2014 by rshaffer10
by rshaffer10

I have had this router for two years. At first it worked pretty well but never had very good range. For example, it never worked in my bedroom, 35 feet away, and only rarely worked in my dining room, only 20 feet away. When it was new, it maintained a pretty constant connection and signal, but for the last six months it drops the internet and sometime quits working all together (although all the lights indicate it is still working). You have to reboot it almost every day. after about six months one of the antenna's fell off, and cannot be permanently re installed. I have finally replaced it with an ASUS router that works awesome.

rshaffer10
Hampton,
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
just keeps going and going
4/2/2015

Customer review by shane

5.0 stars 4/2/2015 by shane
by shane

I have the original hardware revision A, and I've had it so long i forget when I bought it. I think the end of 2008. Anyway, I have this connected to a 5 port Netgear Gigabit switch, which connects to a Dell 16 port 100Mb switch and that connects to an old 3com 16 port 100Mbit switch. I have a permanent LAN party set up in my basement, and when we're having a gaming party there are easily over 2 dozen wireless and wired devices connected to the network. This thing handles it easily. I sometimes think I should replace it and get something new and shiny, but I really want to see how long it will last.

shane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
useless features othen than baseic use
11/30/2013

Customer review by arsham

2.0 stars 11/30/2013 by arsham
by arsham

bought this product at 2010. worked for me for 3 years. 1)no DNLS 2)to use USB on a router need to download some Share Port utility which is very useless piece of software different per region the router manufactured for. 3)USB doesn't have DNLS server feature so this device is completely not suitable if you have smart TV and want to host your media on network 4) USB port recognizes some USB sticks but not USB-HDD controllers Dlink never replied on the issues of the router, never released any firmware update to add features.therefore im in UAE not USA. judge yourself. do you need to buy DLINK or a router?

arsham
Dubai - United Arab Emirates
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Excellent Router -- One Small Drawback
5/23/2014

Customer review by FlyBoyMcCall

5.0 stars 5/23/2014 by FlyBoyMcCall
by FlyBoyMcCall

I have used two of these routers for more than four years each. Both work perfectly and have range greater than I expected. One router covers 100% my 7,000 sq. ft. 2-story home. The other doesn't do quite that well because of walls, location, etc. As a precaution, I generally reboot the routers every 30 days but have only had to reboot twice in four years. My one complaint is that it is a waste of time to save a configuration file because the restores always fail. I do not recall them failing with earlier versions of the firmware. The problem seemed to develop about two years ago.

FlyBoyMcCall
Pacific NW
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Works great! Last long time!
3/6/2014

Customer review by Scarto

5.0 stars 3/6/2014 by Scarto
by Scarto

I've had this unit for over 5 years. Wireless tech is not as simple as a wired connection and running default. A couple of wrong settings and the unit is functioning as YOU set it up to run, good or bad. Been in the IT field now for over 15 years and most problems encountered by users are problems that are self induced. Not the brand, not the unit, not the provider. The user! This unit is still in service and I have no complaints. Product reviews should be limited to those who have skills and knowledge of the equipment.

Scarto
Western Slope, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Two Years and going.....
1/8/2014

Customer review by rich90255

4.0 stars 1/8/2014 by rich90255
by rich90255

When my wife and I decided to get new laptops, we decided it was time to upgrade from our "basic" D-Link router we had had for years. There was no question I was going to go back to D-Link for our needs. This router has been good to us. Sometimes we have up to 8 devices streaming and no problems. Sometimes it does drop a signal, I have to confess. I just unplug it for a second and then replug it and it is fine and good to go. So, for an affordable multiple use router, I would recommend it for the price and reliability.

rich90255
Pittsburg, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Upgrade Firmware of 'WW' DIR-655?
8/15/2013

Customer review by EladKarako

3.0 stars 8/15/2013 by EladKarako
by EladKarako

It great router, although from time to time it looses the inet connection and reboot is needed. Lately I've found out that an upgrade is needed for it to be compatible with Samsung-S4 smartphone, I've looked everywhere, but could not find- not here, nor other blogs and support groups a firmware for the WW (world-wide) version. this is my spec: --------------------------------------- Firmware Version: 1.30WW Hardware Version: A4 Product Page: DIR-655 (support site has US type A or US type B, what should fit here??)

EladKarako
Israel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Don't last long
10/1/2014

Customer review by ITGuy90

2.0 stars 10/1/2014 by ITGuy90
by ITGuy90

I used to use these for a couple of small businesses that I do IT work for. In the past year I have deployed six of these routers and have had to replace four of them. One of them completely lost wireless connectivity. One of them would work for a while and then suddenly for no reason stop routing internet or giving out IPs, and the other two would last several months and then for no reason would reset themselves to factory default. When they work they are great, but they seem to have a very high rate of failure.

ITGuy90
Clarkston, MI 48346, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Worthless piece of junk
5/31/2014

Customer review by Pappy

1.0 stars 5/31/2014 by Pappy
by Pappy

Had for over 1yr. Using with Comcast modem. Anytime Microsoft updates are installed the router loses connectivity. Anytime it feels like it, it loses connectivity. DLink 'says' there are updates for it. NOT. Go to their site, navigate a bunch if drivel and get to a download page. Try to install it and it says there is nothing to install. It's not even useful as a paperweight. If I could tie a brick to it and throw it through Dlink's front window I would. Have had to reset 14 times in last 10 days.

Pappy
Portland, OR, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good product when it is new
3/26/2014

Customer review by Sanz

2.0 stars 3/26/2014 by Sanz
by Sanz

I have this router for more than 2 years now. At first it was great but as most users are experiencing mine too started to have issues with connections. At least once a day I have to renew the ip address from my internet company even though the connection is always in use. I am running the 1.35NA software version and I am afraid of upgrading it and get even worse service out of it. My apartment is a duplex and with extendable external antennas the range is great everywhere.

Sanz
Would recommend to a friend? No
Dropping connections.
7/3/2013

Customer review by John5000

3.0 stars 7/3/2013 by John5000
by John5000

Bought one of these back in 2009. Liked it so much I bought another one for my ex-wife and kids in 2012 when I rewired their house to cat 6 cable. Recently both units have been dropping connections with our ISP (wireless and no it is not my ISP). My unit has been dropping the cat 6 connection to my computer recently too. If I have to reboot this thing one more time I am going going for a new one. My ex already did. Sorry, worked great for a while but did not last.

John5000
Georgetown, TX, USA
Gender:Male
1-20 of 403 total reviews
1-20 of 403 reviews