Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 433 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

433 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

433 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
292
4 stars
61
3 stars
23
2 stars
9
1 stars
48
1-20 of 367 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 367 total reviews
1-20 of 367 reviews
Very Satesfied!
7/22/2010

Customer review by DrIndustrial

5.0 stars 7/22/2010 by DrIndustrial
by DrIndustrial
Walmart associate

We have been using a (less expensive) router for the past two years. We have 4 notebooks, 3 desktops, 3 wifi smart phones, 1 xbox, 1 ps3, and a Wii. Oh, and a blue-ray player with wifi for netflix. For two years, we have been dealing with constant dropped connections and having to "reset" our router by unplugging it, and then plugging it back in. Sometimes up to three times in an hour. It couldn't keep up with all the connections. It was causing IP conflicts, and sometimes the signal strength would drop way down in the next room. Purchasing this DIR-655 has completely eliminated all of our problems, we have all the devices in the house connected, most of them wireless, and there are NO dropped connections, NO need to reset the router, and the speed has also improved dramatically. Netflix now streams in HD. I highly recommend this router for gamers, or just anybody who has been dealing with the characteristics of a cheap router. I'm very impressed with this router and how incredibly fast and reliable it is.

Was this review helpful? (164) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DrIndustrial
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Just what I wanted/not what I expected
8/8/2009

Customer review by txdonk

5.0 stars 8/8/2009 by txdonk
by txdonk

This is my first router though I have used personal computers almost since they were introduced. I recently updated my desktop and thought that I would get a laptop for the fun of it since I got rid of my last old Dell laptop many years ago. I live in the country and have wireless internet. I got the router and unpacked it. I had read the reviews and most said to set it up manually, even my service provider said not to use the CD and set up manually. I didn't listen. I figured that I could start over if it didn't work so I put in the CD and started the setup. Five minutes later I was done, my laptop was online with the max signal and all was functioning perfectly. Still is. I have nothing to compare this to but this does what it said it would to the max with easy setup and so far perfect operation. Range is outstanding and signal has never dropped below 100%. I would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (80) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
txdonk
Rising Star, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It took a while to figure out what was causing the Shareport to malfunction but now it works perfectly
9/27/2013

Customer review by Duane

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by Duane
by Duane

I connected a Seagate 1.5 TB drive to the USB 2.0 Port of the Router and use Shareport Utility on each of the laptops or computers that I have on the home network. I did experience a problem with the Shareport Utility not connecting to the external hard drive connected to the Router through a USB Cable, but it turned out there was an easy fix. Just make sure that you have the latest firmware 1.37 in my case at this point in time. And, make sure that under Advanced Options, that the 'Enable Multicast Streams' is enabled. And, it may be a good idea to have the Shareport Utility set so that it automatically connects if there is an error. After that, the Seagate drive showed up and makes an excellent backup drive for File History (Windows 8's name for file backup). Also, the router works well with the Amped Wireless Range Extender, although it requires that you do the firmware update for that device to work with the router better with the File History function of Windows 8. -Duane

Duane
Somerset, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
For Gamers
10/22/2009

Customer review by GOUGH8

5.0 stars 10/22/2009 by GOUGH8
by GOUGH8

This router is great! I switched over from a Linksys’s router that I had to unplug once or twice a day because it couldn’t take everything we had hooked up to it. As of now we have 4 laptops, 1 desktop, 1 PS3, 1 Wii, and anywhere from 3 to 5 Xbox 360’s hooked up to this router at a time. The Xbox’s are hooked up via a Netgear switcher to the router. This router has been running nonstop for 4 weeks now and not a single problem surfing YouTube, checking email, or playing halo on 5 Xbox’s at the same time.

Was this review helpful? (86) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GOUGH8
Erlanger, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Flawed firmware causes it to reboot with some devices
11/9/2013

Customer review by AllynKC

1.0 stars 11/9/2013 by AllynKC
by AllynKC

I have used this router for years - and until this year I found it to be reliable and stable. However, some newer mobile devices can trigger this router to reboot repeatedly (in my case, the HTC One smartphone). I updated to the latest firmware (1.37), but that has not resolved the issue. In the end, I found that the problem only exists when the router is set to use 802.11n. The only solution was to limit the router to no faster than 802.11g speeds - which then impacts all devices connected to the router. It could be argued that the mobile device is using a flawed packet structure which causes the issue. Fair enough. BUT, even with this argument, it would mean that there is a security failure in the router to allow it to reboot itself repeatedly if a remote device crafts a packet in a certain way. So, regardless of if the problem originates in the mobile device or in the router - the firmware in the router needs to be fixed by Dlink to either fix the issue or to mitigate the security risk.

AllynKC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy set up, great range and the backbone of my system
10/6/2013

Customer review by Like

5.0 stars 10/6/2013 by Like
by Like

I was looking for some documentation on the device for another system change and started reading all the reviews and had to put my 2 cents in. This device I purchased back a number of years ago, to date I have had no issues with this device. We have recently changed our home setup, added in power line expansion throughout house to the TV boxes, added in smart TV's, wireless printer, 16 Tb server with remote in capability over the internet, added 2 more laptops to the 2 we already had and currently have 4 Apple devices IPads and IPods. The DIR-655 handles the internal streaming and external web surfing and VoIP like a champ, I have had no issues with connection or any devices dropping out. I find the range to be excellent, so much so I can walk out my house to about 100 yards and still get just a sliver of service if needed. In the electronics age this device has been on the market for a long time, which is surprising to see and demonstrates the robustness of the device in today's market.

Like
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding Router
6/26/2009

Customer review by tlou

5.0 stars 6/26/2009 by tlou
by tlou

We decided to splurge on this router since the $50 Belkin we bought didn't work for us. It was quick to install and has worked perfectly since. We use it with our iMac and our PC laptop. Its coverage is incredible. It doesn't matter where we are in the house (or in our yard), the speed is amazing. It was more than we wanted to spend, but it's been worth it for us. Walmart sold it for much less than other stores. We give our overall experience an "A."

Was this review helpful? (58) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tlou
Lehi, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
best home router i've dealt with
9/30/2011

Customer review by kytechgeek

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by kytechgeek
by kytechgeek
Walmart associate

I've owned this router for about two years now. The router has never given me problems with anything. There is to many setup options to list. It has great range and never drops connection. It has blazing speeds hardwired and wireless. I run many computers, gaming sytems and a printer on this router at once. As of now i have thirteen static ip's for lan equipment hooked to this router. I run webservers and mailservers through my network, play online games, stream movies , and surf the web. As for the setup even though it is advanced for a home router it is also simple to setup. Would I recommend? Yes i would and i have multiple times. If you compare this product feature to one from cisco (linksys), this router is inexspensive. Ihave dealt with many different routers manufacturers and my opinion is dlink is the best home or small buisness router you can get.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kytechgeek
Bardstown, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Great router!
7/10/2012

Customer review by FortMaceo

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by FortMaceo
by FortMaceo

Someone talked my mother-in-law into buying an Apple computer. It seems to work fine for what she does with it, but if she had talked to me first, I would have recommended a Windows computer because that's what I'm familiar with working on. However, even with my lack of familiarity with her computer, I was the one she asked to get wireless Internet throughout her house working. After some research about routers that work well with Apples, I found this one. Wal-Mart's website had the best price on it and shipped it quickly. Although the CD does NOT work with an Apple, there are printed instructions about how to manually install and configure the router. The router interface is easier to navigate that on mine at home (a different brand). What those instructions didn't cover, D-Link's support site did. Bottom line is that she now has secure wireless Internet - at the maximum her Internet plan will provide - throughout her house and can use any of her various Apple devices from any room. Highly recommended router.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FortMaceo
Maceo, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Device stopped working, D-Link refuses to replace
12/23/2013

Customer review by Ron2407

1.0 stars 12/23/2013 by Ron2407
by Ron2407

When I first installed this router it worked great. After a few months I noticed that the Internet access speed was very sluggish. Then it would not connect to the Internet anymore at all. I work in IT and did all possible troubleshooting steps but nothing fixed the problem. A factory reset was the only thing left to do which did the trick. 2 month later I had the same problem again - no Internet access. No other way to fix it again than a factory reset. Setting up the router and configuring it takes a long time, it is not acceptable to do that on a regular basis. I contacted the D-Link support to get the device replaced, they did not acknowledge that there was a problem with the device, in their eyes a factory reset every 2 or 3 months seems okay. This is very sad since I used to have a DIR-615 which worked for 8 years straight without any problems, that's why I bought another D-Link router. If you look for a reliable router that you don't need to reset and configure every few month then you need to look at other brands. I bought a Netgear and so far it works without any problems.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ron2407
CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
15 minute manual setup
3/8/2008

Customer review by LeftyGolferMT

5.0 stars 3/8/2008 by LeftyGolferMT
by LeftyGolferMT

Bought this router today. I have set up my fair share of wireless routers before so I skipped the included software and configured it manually myself. I set up WEP, MAC filtering, and made the SSID invisible quickly and easily and was online in no time. I have used Linksys and US Robotics routers in the past and have good luck with both of them as well. This new N-series router has much better range and speed and that was what I was looking for. Good product.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeftyGolferMT
Missoula, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
D-Link Router
3/8/2011

Customer review by Fashoncents

5.0 stars 3/8/2011 by Fashoncents
by Fashoncents

This is a great product. It was so simple to setup. It goes through walls, floors, ceilings and no matter how many products is hooked to it and has yet to freeze on me. I had an old Belkin for the past 3 years and as I kept getting new items that required wireless connections my old one let me down everytime where I had to keep resetting my router by unpluging and repluging again. This was a great annoyance for me since my router is located upstairs and most of my wireless items is used downstairs. Now no matter where I am in the house all my items work great. I have a laptop, 2 smartphones, android tablet, xbox, ROKU player, and wireless printer all set up on this router and it works perfectly. And i truly love that it is one of the most secure routers made today so you can be sure that your privacy is upheld. I am telling everyone about this product. You won't be sorry you bought this.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fashoncents
Memphis, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great little router for me!
12/19/2010

Customer review by quyattfire

4.0 stars 12/19/2010 by quyattfire
by quyattfire

I recently went from DSL to a high speed WiFi offered by the city I live in. That alone made a big difference then I got the D-Link DIR 655. WOW!!! Total time to set up was about 15 minutes. I followed the EASY step by step directions from the CD that was supplied. Everything worked the first time. I am using the USB port to run a HP6310 all in one printer. I followed the directions and in a short time I had one desktop and two laptops that were printing great. I have programmed the “Guest Zone” to turn on and off and certain times and that is working great also. I have not had ANY reboots, overheating or signal dropping issues. I leave the router on 24-7 and all is well. I am using a Dell desktop that is 3 years old, 3 Dell laptops 2 years old and all running Vista Pro. I have Xbox 360, Wii, 2 Roku units and a DIRECTV receiver using the router and it can handle them just fine. My house is 2 two story about 2200 sq ft. I live in a moderately dense neighborhood and I do not have any problems with signal interference. I can’t comment on D-Link tech support because I didn’t need them, but if they are like any of the others…good luck communicating with them. I did a couple weeks of research before I made my mind up to purchase this router. I agree a person can get a “lemon” with anything they buy, but I think 15% of the people cannot be pleased with anything or they can not follow the simple directions included. I am sure there are better routers out there, but for the money and my experience the DIR-655 was the best choice for me. I hope this was of some help in making your next router choice. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
quyattfire
Portland, Or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wireless Router DIR-655
6/22/2010

Customer review by ProFBHOF

5.0 stars 6/22/2010 by ProFBHOF
by ProFBHOF

I had been searching for a Wireless-N Router for a long time. Rather than just pick most any model from D-Link or Linksys (as some of my colleagues suggested) I spent much time looking at Consumer Reviews and Consumer Reports web sites to understand what other people were experiencing. I also consulted CNET and PC Magazine + a couple other techie sites to see what they recommended. The horrible experiences other folks were having put a wireless router for me on the backburner (stories of disastrous firmware upgrades, rebooting, lockups and extreme heat byproduct make the potential buyer beware and very cautious). Finally out of dire need, I re-visited the DIR-655 and a few other routers for the most up to date information (price & recommendations). It turned out that the DIR-655 was still highly recommended and the more recent consumer reviews had high praise for the product. With that level of confidence I then sought out the best price and the most reputable retailers. Only one web retailer was cheaper than WalMart.com by $5.00 and included no tax + free shipping. What sold me on WalMart though were 2 things: 1. Free Shipping to Store; 2. Buyer confidence that I could return the product to the local store if I was not satisfied. The second reason made the overall purchase more worthwhile than saving the tax amount. Having determined that others who bought from web retailers had no where to turn but the manufacturer when thy had product issues, being able to take back the DIR-655 to my local store was a better "insurance" option than the slightly cheaper price. Overall, the DIR-655 has been performing flawlessly. A minor problem - the documentation provided is a bit out of sync with the web application that can be used to configure the router. But, all in all, the product works great for wired and wireless connections!

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProFBHOF
Canton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Horrible set up and Cust Service
3/25/2011

Customer review by JenT78

1.0 stars 3/25/2011 by JenT78
by JenT78

I purchased this router and had never owned a D-Link I was excited since it said easy to install just pop in the CD and step by step instructions. Well it was not that easy and when I called Tech support he couldnt speak English and I tried my hardest to explain my issue he got nasty and refused to transfer me to someone else so I hung up and called back. The woman who answered next could barely speak English and after another hour and half it was working. The speed was not so great and the signal did not reach to the other side of my apartment as my old Linksys did. The only reason i replaced my linksys was due to the age of the router and recently upgraded my internet speed. We have 4 laptops, xbox, wii, printer, cellphones that run on the router and it was very slow. I returned it and bought a netgear dual band...awesome would recommend....I have no lags in speed even when we have everything connected.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JenT78
Woodstock, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Keeps on ticking
9/8/2014

Customer review by drjimm

5.0 stars 9/8/2014 by drjimm
by drjimm

I have used a lot of router over the years and this has been the easiest. I live in a two unit building. Our partners live up stairs. I have provided internet connection to them (mostly wireless) for the last 5 years. Between all the ipads, ipods, dvrs, TVs, printers, gaming devices .. we must have 25 devices connected. At one time I had static ip adreress and ran a sever on the network with no problem. I have changed to usinn DDNS and it works for my low intensity uses. Port forwarding is easy to setup. For most users the install is straightforward. If you have a complicated network it takes some work. For as complicated a device with as many options as it is I have never been stuck. As any device that sits between modems and variety of devices I think routers get blamed when the fault is elsewhere. It is frustrating when things dont work. Thinking of getting a new AC router (just because its new) but dir655 works so well hard to justify.

drjimm
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Product
3/20/2010

Customer review by GuitrThree

5.0 stars 3/20/2010 by GuitrThree
by GuitrThree

Stong Performance and a wealth of settings to customize this router. The ONLY thing I can knock about this router is that the white plastic box and cheap blurry blue LED indicators make it look like a $20 router. Don't let that fool you away from its quality, but I have to ask, D-Link, why? It's not a Wii, it's a router. Wal*Mart should stock this in stores. Don't understand why they don't.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GuitrThree
Gallatin, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Get It
1/2/2010

Customer review by fishman44

5.0 stars 1/2/2010 by fishman44
by fishman44

I have owned this router for over one year. It has always performed flawlessly running 4 wireless laptops, 2 wired desktops, 3 wireless xbox360's, 1 Wi and 4 cell phones all on my protected network. It juggles my g/n devices perfectly and prioritizes game traffic. Take the time to set antenna angles for the best signal. Get It, you'll love it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishman44
AK.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great BANG for Buck!
4/29/2011

Customer review by Mxmumpwr

5.0 stars 4/29/2011 by Mxmumpwr
by Mxmumpwr

Previously had Netgear G wireless. The wireless router worked fine but was plagued with connection issues and poor signal in my 1200 sf house. D-Link wireless N has been fantistic! I've been able to have 95+ signal on other side of house, 60ft away from the home in my aluminum sided garage, and while operating a PS3, two iPones, PSP, and Nintendo DSi. This router has handled them all. I'm not technically savy with installing these things, so it took me alot longer than it should, but part of it was that I was installing the D-link wireless card in my PC at the same time and getting it set up. Otherwise, things were really straight forward and the instructions were relatively clear. Highly recommended for the price....you get what you pay for. Should have purchased this system from day ONE!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mxmumpwr
Jonesborough, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Router
3/25/2016

Customer review by wewe

5.0 stars 3/25/2016 by wewe
by wewe

Only had for one month but seems to work good . Easy setup

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wewe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 367 total reviews
1-20 of 367 reviews