Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 220 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

220 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

220 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

99%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
209
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 217 total reviews
99%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 217 total reviews
1-20 of 217 reviews
All I can say is that it’s a great Investment and I recommend it to anyone who is serious about getting the reel deal!
3/2/2011

Customer review by Nati

5.0 stars 3/2/2011 by Nati
by Nati

Where I fish you either go big or go home… This small compact reel can handle big very well and smoothly. :]

Nati
Rio Grande City, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
best reel ever¡!!!
4/18/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/18/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I've had this reel since 2008 never once did I have a problem with it. Magnetics are simple to tune, the drag system is rediculous, the cast is smoothhh, long and extremly accurate. Let a buddy of mine use it few days later he had one of his own. As far as maintenance a breeze like I said had this reel for nearly 5 years and all I've really had to do was throw in a little bit of grease and oil every few months, take a qtip to the worm gears after a couple uses. Oh and did I say durable yet hah this reel has been through alot over the years between falling into the lakes in New York and baking in the Florida sun, being covered in mud and one time stopping my heart falling out of my truck while I was driving! This reel is tough sits very comfy in your hand casts smooth reels smoother and will definitely land more fish in your boat, recommend matching it with the Abu vendetta rod(best fit) or the veritas pick one of these reels up you'll put down your shimano or diawa reels.

An anonymous customer
otisville,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The FUTURE is here now.
8/17/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/17/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

What has a tight, firm, smooth, wonderful body with great curves and feels simply amazing in your hands? .... Hmmmm, if you guessed a Revo SX low profile baitcasting reel then you'd be right. The Revo SX is absolutely the best performing, best balanced, and best looking reel you can possibly buy at this price point. Fishing reels get absolutely abused by getting dropped in the boat, dunked in the lake, rained on, baked in the sun, crammed into rod lockers, stepped on, kicked around, and act as collection areas for all of the grime that clings to your line cast after cast reeled in and then deposited around the level wind and worm gear ... and most fishermen rarely take the time to properly clean and maintain their reels. However, when you roll with Abu Garcia you're rolling with gear that is engineered to withstand the rigors of bass fishing and excel. The Revo SX is built to accept the fight, finish the fight, and win ready to go again when called upon. The Revo SX ... here now and built for the future.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
best on the market for best price
3/11/2010

Customer review by basschaser

5.0 stars 3/11/2010 by basschaser
by basschaser

I now own 6 and have tired to ware them out. Just keep them clean and oiled. No problems and looong casts. Smooth as silk. you have to pay double to get as good.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
basschaser
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best reel for the performance and the price
9/5/2012

Customer review by Lix

5.0 stars 9/5/2012 by Lix
by Lix

Many years ago I bought the revo sx as my second baitcasting reel, the performance is phenomenal. This reel can cast any lure with any weight and sizes easy, retreiving is ultra smooth, the 11 ball bearings really does its job. put this reel on my vendetta rod makes it very balanced and comfortable combo, I love the ACS reelseat on the vendetta with softtouch, it feels like its made from heaven, also you wont even notice you're holding a 8.9oz reel, it just feel so light, so smooth. and I already recommended many of my fishing buddies to buy it, and they told me they really loving it. right now I only use Abu garcia products, currently Im having 2 Revo MGX, 2 STX, 3 SXs, and a revo elite IB,(P.S. Im not sure the new version of the revo sx with the new brake would change the casting performance of the reel, the linear magnetic brake is very precise with little ajustment, but we'll see)

Lix
Toronto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Smooth
6/29/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/29/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This product not only outperforms all other abu garcia reels I have ever used but the smoothest reel I had ever used up to this point was the Shimano Calcutta. Super smooth. It is very easy to set the brake so the backlash is virtually non-existant. Low profile, light weight. Any reel over $100 ought to perform and this does. I do need to mention that one screw was almost completely out when I opened the box.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Texas, Lake Fork
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Turning a Shimano guy into a Garcia guy.
2/7/2011

Customer review by Red Head

5.0 stars 2/7/2011 by Red Head
by Red Head

I would like to start off by saying that I have always been a Simano guy until last spring when a salesmen at my tackle shop talkded me into trying the Abu Garcia Sx. I started off using the reel on a crankbait rod throwing hard body swimbaits, traps and lipless crankbaits for smallies on a number of different lakes in my home state of Michigan. The reel was smooth, easy to cast with a strong drag and the high speed retreive (7.1 - 1) helped me get the lures deep in the strike zone quickly and keep them there longer. When the spawn started I used the same reel on a 7'6" heavy action rod and started flipping beds. This is when I fell in love with this reel. It was smooth and again the strong drag rigged with 50# braid helped me get fish out of some of the nastiest areas I have ever fished. Thank you Abu Garcia, you have a costumer for life.

Red Head
Waterford, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Overall this Is a great reel
7/14/2011

Customer review by Stiffler503

4.0 stars 7/14/2011 by Stiffler503
by Stiffler503

I bought this reel last winter around Christmas time for winter steelheading here in the Pacific Northwest and I use this reel for float fishing, corky fishing, back bouncing, and pulling plugs on a 8'6" G Loomis and run braided 15lb line (holds 125yds) and it is certainly a match made in heaven, My only problem or concern would be the coating on the frame/ finish, I take immaculate care of all of my fishing gear and where the water rests on the frame where the line comes in is already pitted and messed up, It dosent affect the reel in any way but for the price I expect a little more quality. I still would buy this reel all over again without hesitation. Ohh and my biggest steely was 19lbs so far and I can cast 3/8 of an ounce into the wind all day long. If you buy it you wont be sorry,, Fear no Fish and keep em Sharp! Marc from Oregon

Stiffler503
Portland Or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Smooooth and quiet
2/1/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/1/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The Revo SX is by far the smoothest and quietest reel I've ever used. I've had the opportunity to use 3 other major brands and always enjoy how the Revo SX performs. Many competing reels are smooth, but none I have used are as quiet on the cast as the Revo SX. You simply don't hear any noise when casting this reel. The Revo SX holds just the right amount of line. Many baitcasters have too much line capacity, which is unnecessary for bass fishing. But the Revo SX holds enough for bass or inshore saltwater species, but is still a comfortable reel to palm all day long. Poor quality has never been a charcteristic of Abu Garcia, and yet the Revo SX seems to be a new and higher level of quality compared to earlier bait cast models. fit and finish are excellent, and the paint holds up longer than any other brand I've used. That keeps these reels looking newer for a longer period of time. The Revo SX is now the only reel I use. I expect that it will be difficult to improve this already fine reel, but f course, if it can be improved, then Abu Garcia is the company best able to make those improvements. Please Abu Garcia, keep this reel around for a long time!

An anonymous customer
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best baitcaster I have ever owned!
9/24/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/24/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought the Revo SX this last spring and have been using it for fishing Salmon and Steelhead, this reel was designed for bass but with the carbon matrix drags it handles the big Salmon and Steelhead with ease and the 7.1:1 gear ratio is great as it allows me to retrieve quickly so i can get my bait back in the water quicker which equals more fish. This is the smoothest casting reel I have ever owned and allows me to cast even the lightest rigs very long distances which is a huge bonus when the water levels in the river are low and require a very light weight to get the proper drift. I have had very few backlashes with this reel and the few I have had seem to not be as bad as some I have gotten on other reels so this makes it a great reel even for the beginner. I would recommend this reel to anyone!

An anonymous customer
SW Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A very good value, but not for salmon/ steelhead
10/21/2010

Customer review by Snagly

3.0 stars 10/21/2010 by Snagly
by Snagly

I put this reel to the test by fishing for fresh, big steelhead in Oct 2010. The reel casts like a dream and functions very smoothly. The price is great, too. My complaint has to do with the drag. After day 4 the drag began to jump at a very modest (relative to the 20+ lbs of drag possible) 6lb setting. I think that the initial drag stress -- intertial drag -- is where the problem lies. But this jumpy drag caused me to pull the reel off front line duty and revert to my Shimanos. I recommend the Revo for non-salmon/ steelhead applications as I don't think that the drag problems I experienced are going to apply to, e.g. most bass fishing situations.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Snagly
Singapore
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Abu For Life
2/7/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/7/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Their motto is correct. This is my first Abu product, and it will not be my last. I absolutely love this reel. I have several Daiwas, Quantums, Shimanos, and Okumas....and they dont compare to the Abu Revo series. My father has several older Abu reels from more then 25 years ago, and he still uses them, and prefers them over his others today. They still work better than any other reel he owns. These things cast much further then anything I own, and are smooth as melted butter. I believe the quality of this product is unmatched. If you want a GREAT reel that performs like any of the previously mentioned brands "top of the line" reels for a quarter of the price, buy an Abu Revo. You will not regret this buy, or any other Abu Garcia purchase. ABU4LIFE

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best reel on the market
2/10/2011

Customer review by Big Mike

5.0 stars 2/10/2011 by Big Mike
by Big Mike

First off, I have fished with Quantum Energy PT reels forever. I have never had a problem with them until last Fall. The problem I had was none were available in my local tackle store at the time. I needed 2 reels for a specific set up. My dealer had been telling me to try the SX for awhile but I had no real reason to try it. Well, as you can imagine, the rest is history! I tournament fish and need a sturdy dependable reel. The SX is awesome! Smooth drag, great castability, lightweight, and I love the low profile. I now own 6 and will soon be adding 3 more. I also own 2 Inshore Revos too! Excellent for rigging and times when more line capacity is needed. Bottom line, best reel Ive ever owned. The price is great too. Try 1, I bet ya buy more.

Big Mike
Gray, Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tight Reel Awesome Performance.
2/27/2011

Customer review by Northern Minnesota Bass Guru

5.0 stars 2/27/2011 by Northern Minnesota Bass Guru
by Northern Minnesota Bass Guru

Bought 2 of these in the 7.0 gearing last year, one of the smoothest reels right out of the Box! Shimano has nothing on Abu Garcia! In fact this is the best buy on the market right now for this price! Drag is smooth, casting is excellent, wish I would've bought the 6.4 for cranking, but the reel held up for a long year of fishing, can't say that for the pflueger as I smoked one of those in a month.!! I can see these outlasting inferior reels in my boat right now, and I didn't consider Shimano baitcasters inferior before I put two of these in the line up!! Way to go Abu !! Don't know what could be improved from my view!! Smallmouth Pic's coming this spring for you, all compliments of Revo SX!!!!

Northern Minnesota Bass Guru
Hill City, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't go wrong with revo SX
4/21/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/21/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

If you need a outstanding reel that can last for years, this is it! I've been using my revos for over a year, and they still out-perform any other reels that I have. The unique thing about this reel is that it is so versatile. I use these reels for flippin' and pitchin', shallow to deep cranking, and even finesse fishing. Sure anyone can throw a big 1 or 1 1/2 oz jig, but can they also launch finesse baits (shaky heads) to where they need it the most? Furthermore, the 18-24 pound drag system on this reel is so strong and smooth that you'll have no problems fighting that huge lunker when it really counts. In my book, revo sx is where it's at, and you really can't go wrong with a revo sx.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
UNBELIEVABLE!!!
6/8/2012

Customer review by Bassyakker

5.0 stars 6/8/2012 by Bassyakker
by Bassyakker

I have owned four other baitcasters made by four different companies. The Revo SX is by far an amazing piece of work. My spinning rig is going in a garage sale cuz this Revo SX can cast a weightless worm on 12 lb flourocarbon just as far as my spinning reel with 8 lb mono! It's easy to adjust, casts like a dream, reels in super smooth. Wish i had an Abu Garcia when i first started using a baitcaster. The brass gears sold me on this reel. Can't wait for a left hand retrieve MGX! Although I just might get another Revo SX if you don't make one. Love this reel. Rookies to pros this is one amazing reel. Light smooth fun to cast. You guys got me for life.

Bassyakker
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best baitcaster on the market.
3/3/2008

Customer review by tholt99

5.0 stars 3/3/2008 by tholt99
by tholt99

I'm a tournament fisherman, and have used just about every reel made. I've heard a lot about the new Revo reels and decided to try them. They are in a class by themselves. Totally impressed.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tholt99
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best baitcaster $ for $
2/1/2012

Customer review by Bob

5.0 stars 2/1/2012 by Bob
by Bob

I was a shimano guy for years and about a year ago I got to use a friends Revo SX and I fell in love with it. I fish about 80 days a year including roughly 15 tournaments and I can't get enough of these reels. I've sold every curado I owned and since have purchased 6 Revo SX's. They are great for crankbaits, flipping, plastics, basically versatile! I pair them with Veritas and now the Villain, just all around wonderful purchase and do not see myself ever going anywhere else for reels. Obviously I'd love to spend a little less but they are worth every penny. If you are in the market for a new baitcaster, go buy one.. You will not be sorry!

Bob
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simply the "BEST"
5/24/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/24/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have been fishing ABU reels for over 30 years starting with the classic 5500c, Royal Plus, 1st gen Blackmax, and now the Revo series. You can always count on them do deliver a quality reel that will last a lifetime with proper preventive maintanence. I lube my reels once a year and NEVER has one of my ABU's failed me. Recently one of my fishing buddies talked me into another brand and boy was I disappointed. NO comparison to the ABU!!! So if you looking for a new baitcast do waste your hard earned money on any other brand! ABU's cast farther, reel smoother, have stronger drags and last longer than any other brand bar none at any price.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Winter Bonito Fishing
2/6/2012

Customer review by MasterBaiter

5.0 stars 2/6/2012 by MasterBaiter
by MasterBaiter

Fishing in the winter for bonito in California. I got this revo sx for my birthday 3 years ago and every winter I go chase the bonitos. With the reel laced up with 8lb test, the bonitos give the reel a good workout. Since I had this reel, it has been my weapon of choice, from small sand bass to big bonito and big barracudas. Even after 3 years of extreme usage, the reel still is smooth and it feel like a new reel out of the box. For the price of this reel you can't go wrong with it. Maybe this summer I might change out the line to 20lb spectra and chase tunas. Hope it can hold enough line for tuna. Only one way to find out.

MasterBaiter
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 217 total reviews
1-20 of 217 reviews