Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 110 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

110 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

110 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
97
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 109 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 109 total reviews
1-20 of 109 reviews
ONE PART OF THE GREATEST BASS FISHING COMBO!
4/3/2009

Customer review by AGE21FISHING

5.0 stars 4/3/2009 by AGE21FISHING
by AGE21FISHING

I have been fishing all of my life. I have used several different fishing reels. I have just purchased 4 of these reels and combined them with E21 Carrot Stix rods. If you are a bass fisherman and want the GREATEST BASS FISHING COMBO around try these 2 brands together. I guarantee you will be satisfied for life. Abu Garcia + E21 Carrot Stix + FISHING = AGE21FISHING (Adult Fishing For Everyone).

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AGE21FISHING
Newnan, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great reel for the price
10/16/2008

Customer review by kc5bhj

5.0 stars 10/16/2008 by kc5bhj
by kc5bhj

I fish mostly for bass once or twice a week. My son and I fish at least a bass trounament a month. I was told by a salesman at BPS (sorry WM) that every once in a great while a company comes out with a product that is way better then they thought it would be and it is a true value. He said the Revo reels were that kind of product. Since buying one of these, it is the ONLY reel I'd bought since. Smooth as butter (not uncommon in thses days), but a brake that can't be beat by any reel of this size period. I've got four now and never a single problem with any of them. Adjust it correctly and forget about backlashes. Strong to the max. You will not be sorry you bought this reel.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kc5bhj
Denton Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
excelente desempeño
11/10/2011

Customer review by Orlando

4.0 stars 11/10/2011 by Orlando
by Orlando

Pesca de sabalo de 80 kg (Tarpon) en Costa Rica con una caña Veritas y un carrete Ambasadour 7000i

Orlando
Costa Rica Central America
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Buy Red
10/17/2011

Customer review by kelp bed

5.0 stars 10/17/2011 by kelp bed
by kelp bed

I have used the Ambassadeur reels for years and I don't believe in the reinvention of the wheel. Considering I semi retired my Garcia Amb. 9000 (because it was my grandfathers) I still love to use it. I was a little nervous on a replacement considering the new ways companies have a way in making their New Product Lines look good and flashy,but sacrifice the integrity of workman ship. I truly believed my new 7000 series would be a good reel, but I did not expect it to be just as good if not better than the Gar. 9000. I really like the way it casts, not to mention the lever is much better than the button on accidental depressions, they just don't exist anymore. The levelwind is great too,even though I still find myself trying to guide my line. You guys did a great job with this reel. Thank you for not being on of those "Looks Good so Just Sell It Companies". The neat thing about the 7000 series is that my son will eventually have this one, and an old semi retired Garcia 9000 that still work 20 yrs. from now.

kelp bed
califorina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Reell
5/17/2009

Customer review by NPBrown

5.0 stars 5/17/2009 by NPBrown
by NPBrown

I've been fishing since I was 10 years old and this reel is smooth casting,I like the feel to it, it"s well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NPBrown
Thousand Oaks CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
The Revo S is up to the task!
2/2/2011

Customer review by Maverick27

5.0 stars 2/2/2011 by Maverick27
by Maverick27

Whether you fish for fun, weekend tournaments or you are a highly dedicated competitive angler like me...the REVO S is up to the task. The drag is strong and feeds evenly. The ability to adjust the drag on the fly with the star drag is flawless. As far as castability, I have used this reel for everything from braided line to light plastics to swimbaits. Performance has not wavered in any instance. I have tested the reel in both fresh and salt water conditions, catching fish from Largemouth Bass to Leopard Sharks. The confidence you have when you hook into a challenging fish is unparalleled in its class. As long as you maintain this reel, it will last many years and land memories that last even longer!! Maintenance is effortless with the ease of which the reel provides access to all of its moving parts. I highly recommend this reel to ANY angler! You can spend more money if you like, but this reel flat out gets it done!

Maverick27
Irvine, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Revo S Stands & Passes Test
3/19/2012

Customer review by Nassuarebel

5.0 stars 3/19/2012 by Nassuarebel
by Nassuarebel

You hear them all the time... stories of having bought a nice reel and then, when it mattered most, it fails in the clutch. Such is not the case with the Revo S. Recently, the local stores of a national retail chain were getting ready to do inventory. As a result, they had a lot of their fishing inventory marked down to clearance pricing. One such item was the Abu Garcia Revo S, marked down to a price that I simply couldn't pass on. So, like and responsible angler, I bought it. Once home, I spooled it with 15# fluorocarbon and mounted it on an Abu Garcia Tournament grade rod. A couple of weeks later, I had the opportunity to use it in a fishing tournamanet. I didn't catch any bass, however, I did hook into a rather large gar and the Revo S performed in typical flawless Abu Garcia style... never missing a turn of the crank. Stood up to the gar and continues to serve! Abu Garcia for life!

Nassuarebel
Jacksonville, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Revo S
10/22/2008

Customer review by Jigmeister

5.0 stars 10/22/2008 by Jigmeister
by Jigmeister

I own several of these reels and have had zero problems or complaints. I bass fish on average of 7 or 8 times a month. If you pay more money for a reel, you are just throwing your money away (send it to me!).

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jigmeister
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Reel for a starter
3/9/2011

Customer review by Largemouth Scott

5.0 stars 3/9/2011 by Largemouth Scott
by Largemouth Scott

I purchased this reel last year and i have used it on every fishing trip i have made since (about 30 or 40 times). It works great and is actually one of my favorite reels. I picked up a REVO SX last week and im excited to try it out this weekend on the lake, but i will never put my S away completely. It will be right there with me on the boat until it falls apart (which from the quality should be many years from now). While i was waiting to purchase my SX i actually spoke with a gentleman at BassPro Shops and he was debating between the S and another unnamed brand baitcaster. I shared my experiences and bragged about this reel so heavily that he purchased it along with the same rod combo that i use. I would and definitely will recommend this reel again. All my reels are Abu Garcia, and it will stay that way.

Largemouth Scott
Knoxville, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great bang for the buck!
6/27/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/27/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I found this reel on sale at my local tackle shop so I picked one up. After stripping down all of the factory grease/oil and re-lubing with Quantum Hot Sauce (like I do all of my reels), this reel feels like it should have cost twice as much! I also own an Orra SX, 2 Revo SX's and an STX, so I was not hesitant to buy this at all. I know it would give me great performance and be trusted to take on the heavy use during tournaments. The reel casts great and will throw unweighted soft plastics, such as stick worms, with ease! The feel is great, however, I do wish that it had a swept handle like the SX and STX. Other than that, this reel is perfect and was worth every penny I spent on it.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My First Revo
4/7/2012

Customer review by GoneFishin123

5.0 stars 4/7/2012 by GoneFishin123
by GoneFishin123

ok i am 14 years old but one of them among the best i recieved this reel for Christmas of 2011 it was my very first revo . I was very satisfied with the smoothness of this reel it was smooth enough that their is no crick the reel but not smooth to where their waas no pull i looked at the sx, and stx they stretches to where when u would get around to the fifth rotation u would feel a bumb in the mechanism when reeling . Before this reel i owned the Black max which i recieved when was 8 it was a tremendous starter baitcasting reel for me i loved it caught a 10 pound largemouth bass off of it. so i recogmend this reel to any body purchasing their first revo.

GoneFishin123
Louvale Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
versatile for heavy fresh water or a "25 pound" saltwater reel
3/4/2012

Customer review by Dave the Guide

4.0 stars 3/4/2012 by Dave the Guide
by Dave the Guide

My wonderful daughter bought this reel for fathers day some years ago and I have fished it from Alaska to Costa Rica. The 7000(C) is a beautiful dark royal blue enameled large handled bait caster that casts like a dream for plugging as well as a heavy jigging reel for grouper and other delicious bottom dwellers. I have caught salmon to 38 pounds; dog tooth snapper to 55 pounds and tarpon over 100 pounds with this reel. The drag is excellent. This reel has held up well over the years and in fact still looks almost like new. I have no experience with the "Big Game" edition but prefer this edition and am enjoying my daughters gift to me.

Dave the Guide
Hayward, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best baitcasting reel on the market
3/1/2011

Customer review by JKarbo214

5.0 stars 3/1/2011 by JKarbo214
by JKarbo214

I recently purchased the Revo S and it is by far the best baitcasting reel I have ever used. I have been bass fishing for 5 years and have recently become involved in tournament fishing. There is nothing more frustrating than having problems with equipment when you're in the middle of a tournament. This is something I don't have to worry about using the Revo S. It is very smooth casting and never seems to backlash, preventing the robin's nests we all try to avoid I think the price is just right for this type of product. As the saying goes, you get what you pay for, and paying for this reel is something you will not regret!

JKarbo214
Gloversville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Strong Reel
8/12/2011

Customer review by PlanoKeith

5.0 stars 8/12/2011 by PlanoKeith
by PlanoKeith

I have one of these and it is about 45 years old . With the dual side cast control and a clicker on it for live bait fishing. Even at 45 years old this reel works like it is brand new. . It has a wide spool so you can put some heavy pound line on it and also have enough line on the spool not to loose it all when you hook a BRUSER of a catfish that won't give up. I have had up to 125 yards of line spooled off from a 45 pound catfish and the reel was able to handle it with no problem. If you are looking for a reel that will actually handle BIG game fish this is the one to get. I will buy another when this one wears out.

PlanoKeith
Plano Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Best Reel Ever
11/12/2011

Customer review by FishHunter

5.0 stars 11/12/2011 by FishHunter
by FishHunter

a lot of reels i tried but this reel very excellent with its characteristics. It gives me enjoyment when i'm fishing and this reel give me a comfortable to handle fish on hook. it is very smooth either in casting or reeling the reel. it the perfect reel for me. i can easily target the lure to the spot i want even in my first time using bait caster reel. the spool can keep a lot of lines and can make me to play with fish in long range. it is very excited. i can easily hold the reel in my palm when handling fish or making action of lures. it never stab me on back when it comes to handle fish. WOW Superb..

FishHunter
Malaysia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
OUTSTANDING REEL!!
12/6/2011

Customer review by mickey

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by mickey
by mickey

This reel I got as a gift and I absoultely love it, it's easy to clean and put back together again. The drag is easily adjusted when you are fighting a large fish and if you need to apply a bit more drag while fishing with superlines you can really crank it down and hoist that fish out of cover easily due to it's 24lb of drag force, the highest in it's class. I have approximately 5 of these that I use for different applications becasuse of the versitility. I can cast a crankbait a mile it seems like! They are very quite and dependable a great quality product brought to you by great minds at Abu Garcia.

mickey
Battle Creek, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Reel
1/12/2010

Customer review by HunterNFisherMAN

5.0 stars 1/12/2010 by HunterNFisherMAN
by HunterNFisherMAN

I actuall bought this reel as a Christmas gift for my brother. I have two of them myself. They are excellent reels and sell for $30 more at many other places. Excellent product at a great price from walmart.com.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HunterNFisherMAN
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Love My Revo!!
2/2/2011

Customer review by Mogie

5.0 stars 2/2/2011 by Mogie
by Mogie

I love fishing and have done it since my childhood. I use to be sold on quantum reels and used them for several years......untill I bought my revo s. I absolutely love this reel. I bragged about it to my friend and fishing partner, now he's sold on abu revos too. It is very smooth during the retrieve, and is very comfortable in my hand. I can fish all day with it and hands and wrist wont get sore or tired. It casts real good but not as good as a few I've tried out, but still top of the line. I LOVE IT! and would definitely recommend to anyone who is looking for a great reel to try it out.

Mogie
Derby Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Abu Garcia for life
10/6/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/6/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Ever hear the saying "You get what you pay for"? I thought the saying was made up by some greedy corporation. If it was or not, I'm not sure but that saying is TRUE! This reel is truly amazing. Smooth, casts effortlessly, looks good.....I have owned a number of cheap bait casters and thought they worked good until I bought a quality one. The switch from cheap bait caster to a quality one is like going from a closed face to open faced reel. Every reel I buy from now on will be Abu Garcia, even if it means I have to eat Ramon Noodles for a month to buy it.

An anonymous customer
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exceeded my expectations
7/30/2012

Customer review by BigLentz

5.0 stars 7/30/2012 by BigLentz
by BigLentz

I purchased this reel for flathead fishing in Iowa, and once a year the family and I go fishing off the shore of Siesta Key Beach in Florida. The reel casts very nice off the shore. The first big catch was a 100lbs black tip shark. It took no time at all to reel in with the nice drag system of this reel, I had approx. 280yrds of 80lbs powerpro. I was afraid of the shark possibly spooling me, so I set the drag and brought him in quick! I am now thinking of a 10000i just for more line capacity. Very pleased with this reel, amazing Fresh/Salt water reel!!

BigLentz
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 109 total reviews
1-20 of 109 reviews