Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 23 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

23 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

23 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-16 of 16 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great reel. Good rod.
12/30/2009

Customer review by Adamonium

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by Adamonium
by Adamonium

The reel is arguably the best you can find for the money. Not only does it have good line capacity (210y of 10lb) it is well built and light. Also, its polymeric body should help resist corrosion. One reviewer mentioned the bail is a little hard to return. Compared to fine reels, he may be correct, however, I usually close the bail w/ my hand and the bail certainly will close via crank with a little effort. In addition, though I do not need it, with this combo you do not get an extra spool. The reel is great for its specifications. Good feel, whip is nice, and appearance is good. Cork handles too. It is 6'6 long two piece. This combo is the same price as the reel alone in store (note: in store you get extra spool). You could buy this combo and buy a longer sturdier rod for bigger fishing. Bottom line is reel is great for med-light to med-heavy fishing, rod is good for med-light and is 6'6 so better for canoe/kayak than pier/surf.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Adamonium
Port Charlotte, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Nice for the price
9/19/2009

Customer review by Spiridon

4.0 stars 9/19/2009 by Spiridon
by Spiridon

Nice product overall. Good for the price. You can get something reasonably good for as little as $20 in specialty on-line shops, but I do not know how those products would compare to this one. Both the rod and the reel appear to be high quality. My only complaint about the performance is that I expected a lot less force required to auto-close the bail in the beginning of a retrieve. However, all other reels in the same price range felt the same.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spiridon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Quality
11/1/2009

Customer review by Time2Fish

4.0 stars 11/1/2009 by Time2Fish
by Time2Fish

This rod and reel combo is very sturdy. I was impressed with the overall performance. It is a good value buying the rod and reel together. You can buy them individually in the store but will pay more. I look forward to buying other Mitchell products in the future.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Time2Fish
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Recommended Product
6/16/2009

Customer review by neog

5.0 stars 6/16/2009 by neog
by neog

This combo is a good deal. I have seen the reel alone for fifty dollars... This is like getting a free rod for less dough. I have been fishing with it almost every day and have not experienced any issues at all. The reel is butter smooth and the rod has good action. Overall a great combo for the budget minded angler.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
neog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mitchell 300Xe 6' 6" Combo
1/2/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/2/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The Mitchell 300Xe 6' 6" Combo is a medium of the road fishing rod. I purchased it for my 8 year old grandson for Christmas so we won't be able to use it for a couple of months...It has a fairly light tip with a nedium power shaft which id perfect for trout and warm water (crappie, blue gill, catfish, etc) fishing. The quality of the rod, itself, is very good especially for the price. I personaly have about 30+ rods and reels for all kinds of fish and fishing. For trout and other smaller game fish I would gladly add this rod and reel combo to my collection. It has the backbone to deal with fish larger than a basic lake trout too. We've added 8 pound mainline to the reel, when we normally would put ony 6 pound line on. We're going for "The Big One's!"

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Nehalem River, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Mitchell Rod & Reel Combo
5/25/2008

Customer review by Skeptic01

4.0 stars 5/25/2008 by Skeptic01
by Skeptic01

Good value for under fifty dollars as the reel is smooth, and the rod is excellent.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Skeptic01
So. Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Terrific fishing outfit
11/10/2010

Customer review by fishingexpert4

5.0 stars 11/10/2010 by fishingexpert4
by fishingexpert4

I bought this for my son. It is a great fishing outfit. I like it enough that I am buying another!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishingexpert4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
All round great spinning combo
5/4/2009

Customer review by BigDaddyDiesel

5.0 stars 5/4/2009 by BigDaddyDiesel
by BigDaddyDiesel

I read the reviews about this combo and tried it at a few stores before purchasing it at wal-mart who had the best price. So far it has performed excellent on Michigan rivers and lakes. Casting even small lures is easy and distance is no problem. Liked it so much I bought the med light mitchell 300Xe series combo as well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigDaddyDiesel
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Incredible Deal
7/11/2010

Customer review by FishingIsLife

5.0 stars 7/11/2010 by FishingIsLife
by FishingIsLife

This is the best rod/reel combo Ive ever owned. The reel is extremely smooth, the rod is a good mix of sensitivity and stability, the combo is a great all around bargain. I will recommend it to anyone looking for a great combo for a great price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FishingIsLife
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Deal
5/16/2010

Customer review by mercury547

5.0 stars 5/16/2010 by mercury547
by mercury547

I bought this combination for my wife and ended up giving her my rod and reel. The pole has a nice sensative tip and the reel is very smooth. I have used Mitchel reels in the past and this reel has the same Mitchel quality as expected. You will not be unhappy with this combo.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mercury547
Union City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
EXCELLENT
7/20/2012

Customer review by Virtuman

5.0 stars 7/20/2012 by Virtuman
by Virtuman

This is the best rod AND reel I've ever owned. Rod: Action is great!!!! It handles large bait and large fish really well. I caught a 9 lbs. cat and was a little worried to get the first good size fish. The base of the rod is quite narrow compared to other rods and I was afraid it would snap if I got something too big. No worries. The rod showed no signs of giving out even though it was seriously bent. The joint is solid and nothing went wrong. The tip moves a whole lot at the slightest bite. Basically it acts like an ultralight but handles like a full size rod. Reel: Amazing. Just amazing. I've never felt a smoother reel. It doesn't have any stops when the brake is on. It just doesn't turn backwards. Turn the brake of and it will but when it's on, wherever you stop the reel is where it stops. It's really interesting. The brake switch is up tight against the base of the reel body but I got used to that right away. It's easy to reach and easy to use but it doesn't get hung on stuff and you won't accidentally flip it. If you are considering this set then stop. Buy it. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Virtuman
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
spincast combo
4/28/2009

Customer review by grob705

4.0 stars 4/28/2009 by grob705
by grob705

Great value for the money, reel exceeded expectations, rod is decent quality. I would not hesitate to order another one. Lightweight, easy to use, nice looking outfit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grob705
Trenton, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great rod/reel combo for the money
7/31/2013

Customer review by BlinkinBama

4.0 stars 7/31/2013 by BlinkinBama
by BlinkinBama

Mitchell 300 is still a great performer at a value price. Rod is functional and works well in a light tackle environment.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlinkinBama
Sylacauga, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/17/2010

Customer review by Red12Buell

4.0 stars 5/17/2010 by Red12Buell
by Red12Buell

Great Reel, Rod OK

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Red12Buell
Homosassa Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great reel, rod not so good
8/18/2012

Customer review by Fisherman1965

3.0 stars 8/18/2012 by Fisherman1965
by Fisherman1965

The reel is high quality with good line capacity, instant anti-reverse and a well balanced rotor. The rod on the other hand is not. The rod tip broke off within two weeks of me purchasing it. I read the reviews on this combo and others had the same problem with the rod. I bought it anyway because the price was so good on this combo it was like buying the reel and getting the rod free. If you purchase this combo, plan on replacing the rod.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fisherman1965
Murrells Inlet, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The Good, the Bad and the Ugly
4/9/2013

Customer review by Xeries

1.0 stars 4/9/2013 by Xeries
by Xeries

I did quite a bit of research before deciding to purchase this combo. The reel has received universally good reviews and the rod is a bit of a throwaway but I figured that getting the combo for the price of the reel alone made it a decent buy. The Good: I am happy to report that I snagged my first trout with this combo on the second cast! Really happy with the casting distance and the lure action on retrieval (inline spinner) on retrieval. The Bad: One of the support arms that is part of the bail snapped on the 5th cast. :-( The Ugly: What promised to be a decent day of fishing ended prematurely due to the above. I debated a bit about exchanging the reel or returning the combo and replacing it. I opted to return the combo and make my own combo with separate components quantum reel/daiwa rod. I am surprised that this combo performed as poorly as it did, especially since I have always heard such great things about Mitchell spinning reels. Still, I couldn't rate it any higher based on my experience.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Xeries
Carneys Point, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.