Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 63 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

63 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

63 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
54
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 50 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
1st Book
4/30/2009

Customer review by Nursing

4.0 stars 4/30/2009 by Nursing
by Nursing

This first book sets up the entire series. Its A LOT of plot setting, but its fun to read. Zoey gets marked which means she'll become a vampyre (That's how they spell vampire in this series). In order to do that, she needs to leave her human life behind and attend a school, "House of Night" in order to learn about being an adult vampyre. So if you like the Harry Potter books, this is somewhat like it. Zoey is unique and has special powers, BFF roomates, and they all go to a speacial school in which they need to fight evil. About half of the book is plot setting which is why I thought it dragged, but it picks up at the end. I would suggest if for readers 16 and up since there's a bit of "adult" content at the beginning. Its written through the perspective of a teen, so the story is funny, very easy to read and hard to put down. ;)

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nursing
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Teenage borderline young adult book
6/7/2009

Customer review by mutek01

4.0 stars 6/7/2009 by mutek01
by mutek01

This series is more for a teenage-young adult reader. The reason I say that is because the main character is only 16yrs old. Throughout the book she talks to herself constantly and her babble is very teenage-bopper-valleygirl-immature like. The story itself is great. The best way to explain the book is "Harry Potter vampire style". There are some se#ual references so I wouldnt say the book is for all young adults. The series gets better as it goes and you will find that the last 3 chapters of each of the books are the most eventful and gripping. The 6 books it takes to make this series could really be compared to one good book. So if you're a twilight fan looking for some vampire love story you will be disappointed if you try to compare this series to that of Twilight's.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mutek01
Hbg PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
amazingly great.
11/16/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/16/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This book is great for any vampire lover. If you have read the Twilight books and you liked it, this should be on the top of your reading list. I just absoultly loved the characters like; Zoey, and Erik; they are my favorite. TEAM ZOEY! and TEAM ERIK!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Pineville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
WOW!!!
10/7/2009

Customer review by 4doublej

5.0 stars 10/7/2009 by 4doublej
by 4doublej

If you love the Twilight series you will love this book too!!! I could not put it down!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4doublej
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Captivating
6/19/2010

Customer review by Summersong

5.0 stars 6/19/2010 by Summersong
by Summersong
Walmart associate

I was browsing the book section in Walmart, looking for my next fix, when I came across this. Based on the synopsis in the book, it sounded like something I would be interested in, so I thought I would give it a shot. It was kind of like Harry Potter meets vampires, but in a fresh more mature way. I loved that it seemed more original to me than other books for young adults and as I got further into the book, it got better and better. I would not recommend this for children under the age of fourteen though, as it has foul language here and there and adult content. If you think your child/teen is mature enough to handle it though, I do not see where there would be a problem. A very good read though. I would recommend it to any who have a love of good fiction.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Summersong
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Walmart associate
Great Book
9/11/2008

Customer review by Spine2Nose

5.0 stars 9/11/2008 by Spine2Nose
by Spine2Nose
Walmart associate

All three of these books were great so far. I can't wait for the fourth to come out. The language is very clearly ment for a teenage reader, but I believe that only adds to the book's mood. You have to realize that this is from a teenage point of view, although the language does seem to evolve a bit through out the books. I would not recomend this to a reader under 15-16, there is s3xual language; however, unlike the antagonist, the character does have a mature thought process (only once does this waver in the third book, out of a bad judgement). The story is extremely inventive; it's amazing how much this character goes through in so short a time period. I hope there are many more books, this was a great book overall.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spine2Nose
Chandler, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Walmart associate
Better than I thought
8/21/2009

Customer review by crazyaboutvampbooks

5.0 stars 8/21/2009 by crazyaboutvampbooks
by crazyaboutvampbooks

I bought this book online but before I did I read through some of the reviews first and they all said this was a good book, a little bit slow at first but in the end it was good. I decided that I was going to give it a try and i'm suprised at how good it really was. I didn't think it was slow at first at all it explained alot about what she was feeling and some of the characters that would make another appearence later in the book. I couldn't put it down and finished it in two days. Twilight is one of my favorite series and now I can add the House of night series to my favorite list. I can't wait to read the other books. If your thinking about buying this book I say go ahead and try it you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crazyaboutvampbooks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
I'm not gonna lie...
7/1/2012

Customer review by Shadystar

5.0 stars 7/1/2012 by Shadystar
by Shadystar

this book does kind of start off slow and kinda boring at first (mostly because its just letting you know about her human life before the H.O.N.) and once you get past the first few chapters it does get more interesting and all the books after are a lot more fast paste (which is good because there are alot of them).I keep telling my friend about this book, we have a tradition of going to the movies when a new Twilight comes out so maybe after it ends we can make this series a new movie tradition (unless they combine some of the books in one movie it is going to be a LONG movie series lol).

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shadystar
Hollister, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
10/28/2009

Customer review by wolfmama

5.0 stars 10/28/2009 by wolfmama
by wolfmama

This is a good series.I am up to Untamed and cannot put the books down.I noticed that a lot of people are comparing this series to Twilight.Don't.First,different setting and second different characters.The only way to know if you will like the book is to buy it.It is a good read.It is from the perceptive of a sixteen year old and we know how they talk come on.The plot is good.The first book takes a little bit to get going but once it does it is a little hard to put down.Or at least it was for me anyway.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wolfmama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great 1st Book
6/24/2009

Customer review by Mimirules

5.0 stars 6/24/2009 by Mimirules
by Mimirules

My friend recommended this book to me and for that I am very grateful. I did not buy this book from walmart because my mom found it for me @ a yard sale for only 75 cents. Although, why someone would get rid of their copy I don't know. It definitely passed my expectations. I am a huge fan of the Twilight series and wanted to find another book that was as great as that which I never expected to do. With this book I definitely found it came extremely close to passing the Twilight standards.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mimirules
Mount Airy NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
VERY Different
9/4/2009

Customer review by Brookeluv

5.0 stars 9/4/2009 by Brookeluv
by Brookeluv

This Series is so different from all the other Vampyre series I have read. That is why i feel in "lurve" with it. I have to recommend this to any Teen who loves Vampyre stories. The fact that there is a school that teachers those who are marked about being a Vampyre... It is really nice to have a book that is different and awesome . The Characters all have such awesome personalities... I wish I went to the HOuse of Night!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brookeluv
Jax, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent!
8/6/2009

Customer review by lil8885

5.0 stars 8/6/2009 by lil8885
by lil8885

This book is for teens but I still enjoyed reading it almost as much as Twilight. Twilight is more on the romantic side while this one is more about the every day struggles with a Vampire edge! :) I wish I would have ordered the hardcover series only because I carried the book everywhere! I am currently reading Betrayed (book 2) and I can't wait for the 5th book to come out this October! I highly recommend this series!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lil8885
Yuma, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Vampire Addict
7/4/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/4/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

When i 1st started reading this book, i thought it was kinda cheesy with the whole Zoey getting marked and BAM she is on her way to becoming a Vampyre, but then i kept reading, and there is so much more to the story which kept me hooked!! I would not let anyone read this book under the age of 17, cause there is a lot of adult content. Im working on the second book now, and im already hooked to that one also!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Montgomery, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Marked will mark ur interest
9/29/2009

Customer review by xicanagirl74

5.0 stars 9/29/2009 by xicanagirl74
by xicanagirl74

Great story.The House of Night series opens with this additive book. I could not put it down!! I recomend this book. What a great concept, vampire finishing school. I love the Twilight saga, the Immortals series, this is (now), one of my favorites.Getting my book shelf ready for the in comming House of Night Series.Easy read, enjoy the characters, love the love triangle. Enjoy! :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xicanagirl74
Murrieta, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Amazingly Great
9/6/2010

Customer review by AzaleaNight

5.0 stars 9/6/2010 by AzaleaNight
by AzaleaNight

the book started out very slow from the beginning it was enticing then got boring but i decided to keep reading because most other books i loved were the same it began to get interesting and i just couldnt put it down during classes i barely did my work i just wanted to read more when it ended i was so enthuzed to read the next book. its a great book and this is a great series.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AzaleaNight
Rayland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Could not put it down
8/3/2009

Customer review by luvstushoppe

5.0 stars 8/3/2009 by luvstushoppe
by luvstushoppe

Marked started out a little slow but did not take long to get interesting. After the first few chapters I could not put it down. It is definately different then Twilight, but still a very good book. I guess I was expecting another love story but it is more a supenseful read. The only thing I hate is that the next one will not be out until October.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luvstushoppe
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
New Favorite
8/23/2009

Customer review by kyky23

5.0 stars 8/23/2009 by kyky23
by kyky23

Loved this book! A friend told me I had to read this and gave me all her books.... now ive bought them all for me! Very funny and will make you laugh out loud. I couldnt put it down for days! Some language and adult content through-out the book so I wouldnt sugest it for younger readers. Cant wait for the next one... im counting down the days!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kyky23
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wow!
7/12/2010

Customer review by whocares1234

5.0 stars 7/12/2010 by whocares1234
by whocares1234

This book caught me from the very beginning. I wasn't too sure about this series but decided to give it a try (the reviews helped my decision). I was not disappointed! I didn't want to put the book down. The book had little hints throughout the of her powers. The end was very good and exciting. Can't wait to read the next book.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
whocares1234
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A Thrilling Read
9/3/2009

Customer review by BookAddiction

5.0 stars 9/3/2009 by BookAddiction
by BookAddiction

This book was a great start for these author's great new series. I finished it very fast because I just couldn't put the book down. I recommend it to anyone who is looking for a great new series to be hooked on to. And also, if you liked the Twilight series. You will LOVE this one. I personally think it's even better

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BookAddiction
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good book not what I expected
7/10/2009

Customer review by michell78

5.0 stars 7/10/2009 by michell78
by michell78

I really enjoyed the book as a hole. I didn't realize it had a stong wiccan presence. I found that part of the book very interesting. Their were parts in the book I presonally found offensive (the belittling of beliefs that are differnent then hers), but over all i would recomend the book

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
michell78
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews