Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 71 reviews
5 stars
44
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
6
Sort by: 
1-20 of 69 reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews
2 model 392, 2 very different levels of quality
7/24/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have two of these rifles purchased less than a year apart from each other. The first one looks great, shoots fine, the finish isn't what they used to be but it was acceptable. I moved overseas and had to leave the first one behind, so I bought a second one. The second one wasn't nearly as good as the first in at least two respects. First, the forearm is horribly misaligned, just the wood, not the metal lever. Second, to sight it in, I have to push the rear sight as far as it will go to the right, and then some, to hit the target. Overall I'm not too happy with the second one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
" Dependable and Quality!!
7/16/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Truly is a Great Air rifle , took my rear sight off and installed Williams peep sight , screws right on and looks Outstanding. Been doing quite bit target of practice , not sure why so many people" whine that pumping is hard! " It's a Pumper! Made for energy = power. I only have been using 3-5 pumps for targets and it produces enough energy too really Wack my back stop! Great purchase and no regrets. Shipping from Walmart was quick, but I received it with a hole in the box where the bolt busted through and, rub marks on the stock when it was tossed around in shippment. ( only little packing at butt & barrel tip) Academy sells them about thirty bucks cheaper tho, found that out after my purchase. Gotta love it. Be Safe and Shoot'n Straight.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Amazing, brings me back to my childbhood.
7/29/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased this air rifle to plink in my back yard. I out a idc on it and now the neighbors can't even hear it. Has lots of powet, but only pump it at the most 4 pumps. Jist to hit a target at 15 yards. Perfect and cheap on ammo.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Quality Build. Attractive Wood Stock.
10/12/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart's Price for the Benjamin 392 is reasonable. Home shipping is wonderful! Packaging is good. The wood grain on mine is beautiful. It has a solid, well built feeling to it. No recoil and relatively quiet. Powerful gun. However, I found mine heavy and hard to pump. 4 Stars.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
What happened?
5/27/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I inherited a 1951 silver streak that's still hits hard. Bought a 392 not that long ago and on its 10th pellet it hisses out the barrel every pump. I tried a little lube to no avail. Tried a bit more, nope still hisses. Tried an extremely amount which worked... for the next 3-4 pellets. Back to hissing. :-(.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
nice pellet rifle
10/14/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is a nice multi-pump pellet rifle.. This is an older design, well proven and there is good information about it on the web. It is solid and well built. The force needed to get those last couple of pumps is fairly high. You can get a workout while target shooting. The sights are adjustable and the rifle is accurate when adjusted. If you have trouble adjusting the rear sight left or right, loosen both screws and make sure the rear sight is not bound in the sight mount. I got the 22 model and the recommended hollow points hit hard. The accuracy is very good once adjusted. It seems to me that the cheek is a little too high, because I have a little difficulty getting down on the sights. Having shot it for a while, I plan to get the mounts and put one of my 4X scopes on it. It is quiet to shoot. The pumping noise if louder than the shot. I would not hesitate to use this rifle on small game or vermin out to 30 or 40 yards.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (41)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
the Cat's Meow
5/25/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Wow, this is one of my favorite air guns. Well built, simple, and rustic. Made of metal and wood just like a quality arm is supposed to be. And only $140.00. I love mine. And with proper care these little beauties will last 50+ years. And as far as accuracy goes, a 392 will get the job done! Now these are not intended for small children nor weak adults. You will work after about 6 pumps and 8 being max. And if you decide this is for you, always remember, if you plan on shooting it within an hour or a year from now, always put one pump of air in it. It will keep the valve seals clean and foreign matter out. It will store like this for a very long time. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (70)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
392 Benjamin pump
9/13/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought a benjamin crack barrel for my son and it shot all over the target. Was not accurate at all. Returned it and bought an old fashion pump 392 and it drives tacks!!!! Its great. I should have bought it first
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
First-class pellet rifle!
8/13/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The Benjamin 392 .22-calibre rifle is well-made, lightweight, and accurate out of the box. Its iron sights, often criticised, are perfectly all right, but my old eyes need help down-range...: buy a 4X32 Leapers scope with an Air Venturi Intermount and you're in business.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (79)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great air rifle
1/5/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought one for my son just after he was born so like me he could grow up shooting such a great air rifle. He has been shooting his for 3 years now(and no he isn't only 3 years old) One of the great things about these air rifles is if you take care of them they will last for a long time, mine is 30 years old. If the air cylinder goes out you can have them rebuilt for about $40.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (92)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
An American Classic
7/8/2007
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a great pnumatic multi pump air rifle and Wal-Mart has the best price I've seen for it. It has a really nice hardwood stock, good factory sights and it is a pleasure to shoot. (no recoil) It is suitable for small game hunting, pest control or just target shooting. It is made in the USA with quality materials and is just a darn good deal. If you only own one air gun this should be it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (103)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Pellet Rifle
12/16/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I picked this up from local Walmart. Everything arrived in good shape, as expected. I ordered the scope mount and a centerpoint red dot scope. I had to install a 3/8 inch 3-7x scope because the red dot was a Weaver mount. I have a converter from 3/8 to 7/8 Weaver on order. I began sighting in the pellet rifle. It shoots pretty consistently. I will have to practice for my groups to be tighter. Right now I am getting 2" groups at about 33 - 40 feet. The quality of the rifle is good. The rifle is a little lowder than I thought it would be. But, not a loud crack. The rifle is more powerful than I thought it would be. With 5 pumps, the 22 cal pellet goes clean through 3 inches of stacked corrugated (cardboard) sheets. I would choose this model again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good gun. Shoots great
2/3/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought Benjamin after reading good reviews at several other sites. Purchased peep sights and installed as soon as gun arrived. Tested against my son's new piston type .17 cal.. The .22 has quite a bit more tin can knock down power. With peep sight is very accruate at 30 yards. Fun gun. Solid feel.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great rifle !!!
10/29/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Brought this Rifle for keeping pest from bird feeders, Out of the box, it appeared to be a well made piece of American History. Had one of these rifles 40 years ago. Shoots straight need to aduust sights left to right, now can shoot Quater size groupping at 40 feet. Thanks again for fast shipping and a fair price
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
22 pellet
10/20/2007
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
ive owned this item for 20 years and paid more than this way back then. it's a excellent gun for target shooting or hunting. quality made built to last.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (51)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great air rifle
1/3/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Classic air rifle that is powerful and accurate. Clean the barrel free of the overspray at the muzzle before you shoot it and you will be happy with the shot groups.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
OLD SCHOOL IS NEW
7/18/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Takes me home again. This will work just fine for the most it will be plinking cans in the back yard with my grandsons teaching them the basic and fundamentals so far it likes any crosman 22 pellet
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Classic
4/30/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This 392 has put my expensive German springers to shame. I use jbs jumbo heavy and can put pellet after pellet in quarter size target at 15 yrds. The trigger pull will smooth out with use , the open sights are fine you just take both screws out both sides set your windage with a few taps left or right put the screws back in and snug them down. The elevation screw is a breeze. The only thing i have done is open the rear sight up a little with a file, that is it. For me, this is my go to rifle, made here in the States. Save your money my friends , get a 392 or 397 and good pellets , the pros are so much greater. This is old timer, will be 71 next birthday, God willing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
9/21/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
After shooting the Gamo Big Cat 1250 and the Benjamin Trail NP. this gun shoots like a dream. Very little recoil and hits the target every time. The .22 has the power to bring down small game.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4 PUMPS OK FOR CLOSE SMALL GAME
8/5/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
5-6 PUMPS WILL STRETCH.... 7 OR 8 WILL BE ABOUT THE SAME AS A .22 SHORT. SIGHTS ARE FAIR BUT ADEQUATE. WOOD STOCK AND MOSTLY METAL ELSEWHERE IS DECENT OLD SCHOOL BUT NO WALL HANGER. OVERALL QUIETER THAN MOST SINGLE STROKES (WHEN KEPT UNDER 5 PUMPS). THE ADVANTAGE IS YOU CAN ADJUST THE POWER LEVEL. I WOULD MUCH MORE HAVE A QUIET PLASTIC SINGLE STROKE @ 800-1200 FPS THAN THE BENJI IF HUNTING....... BUT THEIRS NOTHING BETTER THAN AN OLD SCHOOL GUN YOU CAN HAND DOWN TO THE KIDS (THIS IS IT). ITS BETTER FOR THE BACK YARD BUT CAN ALSO BE A GOOD GUN FOR PEST CONTROL IN THS CITY. . ONE OTHER THING.... PUMPS AFTER 5 BECOME TEDIOUS ON MULTIPLE SHOTS..MAKE SURE THE KIDS ARE OLD ENOUGH....A COUPLE OF STROKES WOULD BE FINE FOR TARGET.....
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641780, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-