Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 91 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

91 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

91 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
48
4 stars
34
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
1-20 of 86 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews
Pop Shot is KING
7/20/2009

Customer review by Stras

4.0 stars 7/20/2009 by Stras
by Stras

best investment! I have had it for about a month now but use it very often. it has held up nicely so far. And it isn't young kids playing either. We are talking 25+. This provides endless amounts of fun amongst friends. We are considering buying another to put next to it. Well worth the $150.00. Easy to put to together with 2-3 people. Doe not take long at all. Very sturdy. Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stras
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fun and sturdy
1/22/2008

Customer review by TBoneMD

4.0 stars 1/22/2008 by TBoneMD
by TBoneMD

We (my 10 year old and I) are very pleased with this product so far. Although it was too tall for my game room (over 7 feet tall)...I was able to trim the legs and now it fits perfect. It is very sturdy, the balls are greay quality, and it resembles the basketball games at the arcades. Bottomline, much better than any previous basketball games I have purchased in the past.

Was this review helpful? (35) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TBoneMD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
outstanding!
9/28/2009

Customer review by KidsMinistry

5.0 stars 9/28/2009 by KidsMinistry
by KidsMinistry

I am a children's ministry pastor and we bought one for our elementary group. Every wednesday and sunday we have over 100 kids playing it. They loved it so much we bought another one. Every week we collapse it for storage, it is durable but alittle shakey when moving. but still a strong product to entertain 100 kids a week!

Was this review helpful? (35) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KidsMinistry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
PRETTY GOOD!!
12/11/2009

Customer review by Cheeks

4.0 stars 12/11/2009 by Cheeks
by Cheeks

My daughter and husband love it!! Pretty sturdy too! On/off switch is behind the game really high up, that is really hard to find and reach, but that is my only complaint.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cheeks
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
holding up to summer camp abuse
6/17/2009

Customer review by kickswell

5.0 stars 6/17/2009 by kickswell
by kickswell

i have this unit in my summer camp space next door to my Karate school. so far its held up nicely and the kids are constantly playing it. i like how the score keeper works, counting down with sound and flashing the winners number when the buzzer sounds. it does take a little effort to collapse is down and even collapsed is big.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kickswell
Destin, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Simple, yet functional
11/23/2009

Customer review by beserker

4.0 stars 11/23/2009 by beserker
by beserker

I got this last week, and have been playing for a few hours and here is what you need to know. The instruction says, you need two people, but it's possible to do it by yourself since most parts are not that heavy. Once assembled, there were two small problems. The biggest of which was the scoring mechanism. It's not sensitive enough so that if the ball doesn't go through vertically (meaning a bit sideways), the score does not register. Or if the ball goes in right after another one, it does not register. Therefore, the system tends to miss one or two score per each game. The second is the ball return. They give you six balls, and because the ball retaining area isn't deep enough, sometimes the ball will hit another ball and bounce out of the area. Other than that, it does what I needed it to do. I wish there was more game options than just scoring. The customer service was excellent, I had one of the ball which did not inflate, but a call remedy that problem. Overall not a bad system!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beserker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Based on Putting it Together
12/20/2011

Customer review by Wildcat520

4.0 stars 12/20/2011 by Wildcat520
by Wildcat520

I bought this for my husband for Christmas, hence why it hasn't been played yet and this review is based on just putting it together. For reference purposes I am a 24 year old female. The instructions say that you need two people to put this together, but I did it by myself. It wasn't cake, but I was able to make it work. I used a couch, and since I am on the shorter side, sometimes laid it down on the floor to put together the pieces that are higher up, like the backboard. You have to pay careful attention to the instructions because the picture is not very detailed and the words can be confusing. But as long as you take it step by step and pay attention to what you are putting together, it isn't that bad.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wildcat520
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
A Great Product
7/21/2009

Customer review by FruitJuicy

5.0 stars 7/21/2009 by FruitJuicy
by FruitJuicy

I bought this game for my boyfriend for his birthday and he LOVES it. It's very similar to the basketball games you'd find in an arcade and just as fun!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FruitJuicy
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/22/2012

Customer review by JSTAR6

5.0 stars 2/22/2012 by JSTAR6
by JSTAR6

I absolutely love the electronic basketball game. It definitely exceeded my expectations! It's just as fun as any basketball game you may play in an arcade but yet you have it right in your home when you want to play. The game is relatively tall; therefore, if you have a low celing this may not work for you. I definitely would recommend this to any game lover!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JSTAR6
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Awesome!!
2/12/2011

Customer review by MsKisha517

5.0 stars 2/12/2011 by MsKisha517
by MsKisha517

My son and I both enjoy playing this game. It is huge and may require two people to assemble, or a lot of patience. Yet when you are done it is a lot of fun. The counter may be off if you have it on the wall, but when you pull it away from the way the baskets are counted accurately.......... lots of fun, well worth the wait.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsKisha517
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT BASKETBALL GAME
10/18/2012

Customer review by Snowman123

4.0 stars 10/18/2012 by Snowman123
by Snowman123

I ordered the basketball game and had it shipped to my local Walmart. It arrived in about 5 days. The box that it comes in is only about 4 feet long and 2 feet wide. It is very easy to pick it up in any size vehicle. It took about an hour and a half to put it together. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because I felt that some of the directions were not clear enough. Otherwise, this is a very nice basketball game for the price. I have only owned it for 2 days and have had tons of fun with my kids. I would say this would be fine for any kid over the age of 6 or 7 because of how far you have to shoot the basketball. My eight year old loves it. It has a nice look and seems pretty sturdy. I didn't have any difficulty with the electronic scoring. I figured for the price, I would be happy to get 5+ years of use out of it. It has a 60 second timer that keeps track of your score. If you are looking for a basketball game that has multiple settings, this might not be the one for you. If you play several games in a role, you really get a workout. Overall, my family is really happy with it and I strongly recommend this.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Snowman123
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great purchase
12/31/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/31/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

i bought this for my sons for christmas and although i didnt have the best experience with the actual ordering/shipping process, because they were out of stock when there site said it was instock, it was a great purchase and they did get it to me 2 days before xmas. theres not many parts but is time consuming to put together, it would have went faster if things were milled differently so your hands could fit better during the building process. make sure you have your own tools handy because the 2 tools they give you, really are not that great. the kids have a blast playing it, as do the adults. backboard is strong and sturdy, frame is sturdy, all parts were there, nothing was damaged during shipping. before i purchased this i priced them everywhere else and read all the reviews and surprisingly walmart.com had the best reviews and nicest one for your money, which was also cheaper than anywhere else. make sure you have at least an 8ft ceiling, i have mine in the garage and its an 8ft ceiling and the game stands 7ft. you want the xtra foot for ball clearance.OH AND....you get 6 balls with it, all the others were only 3. i hope this helps all of you!!! enjoy your purchase, we are :)

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
tacoma, washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Good Product
2/1/2012

Customer review by ChildrensChurchMinistry

4.0 stars 2/1/2012 by ChildrensChurchMinistry
by ChildrensChurchMinistry

I purchased this game for the Children’s Ministry (ages 6-11) in mid 2010. It’s been highly used every evening event since it was installed and the kids (and adults) thoroughly enjoy using it. It’s a lot of fun with great electronic interaction/scoring and sounds. Great completion amongst the kids, and there always seems to be a line to get in if you want to play. I’d certainly say we’ve all gotten more fun from it than expected, and hope to continue to use it for years to come. It's a GREAT game for the kids (and yeah, adults too#. However, and yeah, there is a however……….several… It does require some up-keep. Considering the age group that uses it and how rough kids #and adults# can be, it would not be fair to expect this would be child-proof, and it was not expected to be. We’re on our 3rd ramp, 3rd set of nets, 2nd set of Hoops #1 broken net mount, 1 broken hoop# and has needed 1 scoring-arm replacement #likely broken by someone being a bit rough, probably trying to loosen a caught basketball in the net#. The nets do tend to get caught in the scoring arms, but you can trim the nets off and fix that rather easily. Also, the constant pushing against it and reaching into the ramp for a ball eventually broke the two front legs that touch the floor #where they bend up#. So, what to do……… Well, first and foremost, order some extra parts to have on hand if this will be for heavy group use. Spalding Customer support is very nice, very responsive, has very reasonable prices on their replacement parts, do not charge for shipping, and unless on back-order, you’ll get your parts within 2 or 3 business days. I’ve had very positive experiences with them the tree times I’ve called. The first time they replaced the scoring arm FOR FREE #within a warranty period# and the other two “parts orders” went very well. Lastly, customize it. We added some steel braces #two long flat, roughly 1” x 2’ braces# to support the front legs. We drilled holes in the front vertical bars right under the front of the net, and then in the legs along the floor, and used the braces bettween them. It took 10 minutes and was super simple, and likely will add YEARS to the life of the unit. It helps keep the ramp tight and the legs firm while the kids push and lean on it. Recommend? Most certainly. If for indoor home use, it’s great fun and inexpensive. If for group use, sure, just plan ahead and have the proper expectation that you’ll have some eventual up-keep #order some spare parts post the warranty period). It’s not abuse proof.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChildrensChurchMinistry
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/30/2011

Customer review by Mrslouey

5.0 stars 6/30/2011 by Mrslouey
by Mrslouey

Ordered this for my nephews, 6 and 10. It unexpectedly arrived early and is a huge hit! The basket is a tad far for the 6 yr old to make, but he's getting close! Great buy for the money and ordering from walmart was quick, easy and they shipped it right away which was perfect since I was late ordering!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mrslouey
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
This is wonderful for everyone!
11/12/2013

Customer review by nluvwithChrist

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by nluvwithChrist
by nluvwithChrist

Bought this for our grandsons, but everyone that comes over loves this and can't stop playing it! Everyone loves it! Young and old. This was an excellent buy. My hubby said it was easy putting it together as well! Just made it in height for our basement!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nluvwithChrist
Holland,Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Kids Love It!
12/4/2013

Customer review by beckysue1

5.0 stars 12/4/2013 by beckysue1
by beckysue1

This was a holiday gift for our 9 and 11 year old. They love it! It took my husband and I about 3 hours to put together (we are not handy) but it was worth it! Lots of fun! Once in a while the score is not right but overall it works great. The unit is very tall so make sure you have room. When one basketball net broke the first day I called Spalding and they shipped two out that day. Very responsive. We look forward to using the game for a long time. Replacement parts are available and very reasonable. Overall a great find!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beckysue1
Boca Raton, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pretty Dang Good
7/3/2012

Customer review by BoiseBalla

4.0 stars 7/3/2012 by BoiseBalla
by BoiseBalla

We bought this unit for my 19 and 15 year old sons. We owned a similar unit in our previous house and I was concious of having a backboard that would break under reasonable use. Because of this, I reinforced the backboard before we started using and now I know we won't have a problem. The unit does a pretty good job of counting the baskets and only occasionally misses counting them (balls that roll around the rim and net). I am pretty happy with the unit and recommend it to others. Hopefully the manufacturer would reinforce the backboard to avoid disatisfied customers and unnecessary warrantee.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BoiseBalla
Boise ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Exciting, But Not So Durable
10/27/2011

Customer review by Cozyflyer

3.0 stars 10/27/2011 by Cozyflyer
by Cozyflyer

I've had this game for about 18 months and it is the most used activity in our game room! It is a tremendous amount of fun and never gets old. However it is not built for durability. Notice that there aren't any braces between the upright, where you stand to shoot, and the lower support legs. As you use it over time and lean against the frame reaching for the balls the frame warps to the point where you your catcher sags, and the metal gives. I bought this game for $99 and now it is $152. At the lower price I might consider rebuying, but not at a 50%+ premium. I'm about to replace the game and considering the Sportcraft Basketball Arcade Hoops, because of the reinforcement that they have added to the game (though it is 4" shorter), and it's $23 less! Hope this helps in your decision.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cozyflyer
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Cheap Electronics
9/2/2011

Customer review by Chad2054

2.0 stars 9/2/2011 by Chad2054
by Chad2054

I bought two of these hoop systems because they were well reviewed online. After putting one together which took 3 people I found the digital scoring components didn't work. I figured well maybe I can use the one in the other box and have the first one replaced. To my shock the other component didn't work either. I took both apart to troubleshoot as best I could and found they were cheaply put together and one of the on off switches was broke all together. The unit is stable and would be a great product, but without the scoring components its not much fun for the kids, and they just don't play it. Now I have to go through all the hoops to get them replaced and hope the ones they send work. Hope you all have better luck than me.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chad2054
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Buyer Beware!
8/25/2014

Customer review by AmandaD24

2.0 stars 8/25/2014 by AmandaD24
by AmandaD24

I purchased this for a work event. Thank goodness I ordered it early because when we received it the backboard was split open and coming apart. I ordered a replacement (another whole game) and thank goodness I did. As we put the game together we found that screws were missing, parts were bent and just not great condition. The box was not damaged during shipping that we could tell. Maybe it was dropped, thus the split backboard. It comes in a box with no real padding or protection during shipping. So, once we got it put together I returned the second, that was a mistake!! The game was used a few times and one of the counters on the basket stopped working. Unfortunately as I said, I returned the second one we ordered for parts. Now I'm contacting the manufacturer to see if they will send me a new part. Kids and adults have really liked this game it is ashamed that it is shipped just in a box; I think if it was shipped with some padding things may have gone better. I would recommend this game VERY HIGHLY if it would have come in better condition. So purchase at your own risk.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AmandaD24
Woodstock, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews