Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 57 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

57 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

57 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 46 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 46 total reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews
10/27/2008

Customer review by 1500HEMI

5.0 stars 10/27/2008 by 1500HEMI
by 1500HEMI

Everything works great, and was the best price I could find!! The programable remote to turn the antenna is the best way when tuning stations from differnt directions. I love this rotor!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1500HEMI
Central, Wis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator
5/29/2008

Customer review by Clone

4.0 stars 5/29/2008 by Clone
by Clone

The rotator works as expected. The programmable feature is nice, you have plenty of presets available. There are a few setbacks. 1. If you press a number you haven't preset the antenna will turn all the way back to zero. (Make sure to program ALL the presets if you don't want it to turn to zero.) 2. If you do make a mistake by pressing the wrong number there is no way to stop the rotator until it gets back to zero or whatever preset number you had selected. Other than the above, I haven't had a problem. It was easy to install, the direction were easy to follow but a little vague in some areas. Overall, I am pleased with it.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Clone
Brussels, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor Quality
7/16/2007

Customer review by Donnie

1.0 stars 7/16/2007 by Donnie
by Donnie

Product poor quality and worked intermittently. The motor is poorly constructed and stopped working after only a few months

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Donnie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Rotor
1/14/2008

Customer review by DaveyCrocket

4.0 stars 1/14/2008 by DaveyCrocket
by DaveyCrocket

Quality is excellent and it works fine for well balanced reasonable size arrays. I like this one better than its similiar competing units like Radio Shack and Channel Master, its cheaper and I think better than either of the other two. As you would expect of a rotor in this price class, it does not have any mechanical brake so its not suitable for large off balance arrays in high winds. Easy to hook up and use with three conductor cable.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DaveyCrocket
Morganfield, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
poorly designed to withstand wind with large antenna
3/20/2012

Customer review by solatium

1.0 stars 3/20/2012 by solatium
by solatium

I recently installed this 1850 model rotor with a large Winegard HD-8200U antenna on my roof peak. I live in south central Oregon in a mountain area and normal low wind area. We had a snow storm come through (about 4-5 inches) and the antenna rotor stopped working. On closer inspection it was found that the rotor was free-wheeling and the antenna could be spun by hand. I suspect that the gear box has stripped from a windy day experience. This is not a heavy duty unit as advertised and I suspect lots of plastic inside the cast metal housing. When I contacted Phillips they offered to replace this unit one time in kind but could not help me with any kind of upgrade even if I were willing to pay more for something that might be a better design.

solatium
KLAMATH FALLS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Good Product with minor problems!
10/27/2008

Customer review by TroutDaddy

4.0 stars 10/27/2008 by TroutDaddy
by TroutDaddy

The Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17 works well and is fairly simple to install. The only problems that I have encountered is the fact that it will not retain the current antenna location when turned off it returns to zero and when you turn unit back on you have to rotate the antenna back to previous location. Also the rotator requires a three conductor cable between the indoor unit and the outdoor unit which is not included in the box. It would be helpful if Walmart would at least mention this on the website if not offer offer various lengths of a three conductor cable suited for this application for purchase with the rotator. All in all I recommend this product though.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TroutDaddy
Cedar Bluff, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Should have bought along time ago
4/16/2008

Customer review by JaminSammy

5.0 stars 4/16/2008 by JaminSammy
by JaminSammy
Walmart associate

We receive all our tv programs via external antenna and live in the Adirondack Park in NY which has alot of trees. We are receiving digital tv signals and have the converter box and 2 new tvs, but we had to constanly go ourside to turn our antenna everytime we change channels. Now we just press the stored memory button and it go right to the correct setting. The unit is very easy to use and program. One note is to read the enclosed manual COMPLETLY before installing, the rotor needs to be synchronized on the ground before installing on the roof, which is step 4. Over all we are very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JaminSammy
Ohio, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Worked for me
10/30/2008

Customer review by mobile1

4.0 stars 10/30/2008 by mobile1
by mobile1

While I was very happy with the rotator I thought it should have included the wire necessary to connect the rotator to the control box. I have not programed the control box and will wait until Feb 09 to do this (when TV goes digital). Using the rotator has improved my reception and I can now get 1 channel I couldn't before. Overall I am very happy with the system but I have heard of problems programing the control unit. Will know more about that later. I will tell you we use this at lake property that is about 60 miles from the nearest station.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mobile1
Warsaw, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Can't count on it to Turn
1/22/2013

Customer review by Rueben3374

2.0 stars 1/22/2013 by Rueben3374
by Rueben3374

I purchased about a year ago, but not long after I put it up it would not turn. I got some one to get on my roof to check it, and all he did was help it to turn. Then it worked. It worked good for a while. However if it sat for about 10 days with out being used, it will stop turning. Then I have to get some one up there and move it. It will then work as long as I remember to turn it every now and then. However, if I forget. I am stuck where it is until I change it again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rueben3374
Bahama NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Lazy man's dream
3/16/2009

Customer review by PbBelly

5.0 stars 3/16/2009 by PbBelly
by PbBelly

I went from having to trek across the house and open a window to move my antenna to being able to move my antenna from the comfort of my recliner! The remote control is awesome. In my area, the signal seems to change which occasionally requires me to tweak the antenna's aim. Now it is a non-event. As an added bonus, the included remote control can be programmed to operate your TV/DVD etc. All of this for just a few dollars more thatn the typical manual rotator.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PbBelly
Rolla, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Have to buy more to hook up
6/8/2009

Customer review by sensationalshopper

2.0 stars 6/8/2009 by sensationalshopper
by sensationalshopper

You have to buy cable,ect. to hook the Philips Programmable antenna up. I did not know this untill i got it home, took it out of the box and read the booklet. I also was thinking will i beable to get the antenna to move in the winter when we have ice stormes. No need to have something that you can not get to move if it is all iced up. So i took the antenna back to Wal-mart

Was this review helpful? (1) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sensationalshopper
Concil Bluffs, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
so easy a child can use it
2/6/2008

Customer review by engineer68

4.0 stars 2/6/2008 by engineer68
by engineer68

I bought this product as well as their 100 mile HD antenna. It took a little trial and error before I found that the antenna had to be at least 30' on the air to get the optimum signal reception. But it is so handy to twick the antenna with the remote without having to go outside. You will have to buy your own 3 wire cable from a hardware store to connect the base unit to the remote unit. A real must have for anyone who lives in a rural area.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
engineer68
Teague, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
TV Ant. Rotator Review
4/3/2008

Customer review by TeHee

4.0 stars 4/3/2008 by TeHee
by TeHee

Some of the installation instructions were confusing but overall simple enough that I could complete the project in 1 day. I believe it would have helped to have known in the beginning what additional equipment/supplies were needed and what was supplied with the product. Also a recommended tool list to do the install may have proved benificial. I have not used the remote yet but overall satisfied with everything else. Townsend

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TeHee
Blaine, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
useful product
9/16/2007

Customer review by apianonana

3.0 stars 9/16/2007 by apianonana
by apianonana

My Husband had some difficulty installing it,, but was able to finish in one afternoon. Have only been using it for about 2 weeks so do not know a lot, but so far it is working ok.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
apianonana
South Boston, Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works good
10/30/2007

Customer review by Airman1958

4.0 stars 10/30/2007 by Airman1958
by Airman1958

The only thing I didnt like was it has a remote control which turns my tv and dvd player on and off and turns the antenna but to turn off the rotor box they used a on and off switch on the side of the main box which you have to go to the box to manual shut on and off should have been set up to work off the remote other wise it has worked perfect on a 20ft mast with full size antenna turns it well

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Airman1958
Panama City Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/25/2009

Customer review by sward1961

4.0 stars 1/25/2009 by sward1961
by sward1961

I used the rotator for an HF antenna installation. The hook-up and installation was easy. The installation manual was easy to follow as well as the operating instructions. The unit is really quite intuitive. Once installed, the unit performs great. Delivery of the unit was a couple of days sooner than promised. Overall, a nice unit and by ordering thru Walmart.com, everything was very easy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sward1961
DFW, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just an average Antenna Rotater
1/14/2008

Customer review by SalvationActs238

4.0 stars 1/14/2008 by SalvationActs238
by SalvationActs238

It's an ok product if you want to use an antenna rotater, I would think most rotaters are on the same line of quality as others. When we hooked it up for my mother-in-law I was not to impressed on how most channels were still a little snowy, but maybe my expectations were too high. Of course the price was excellent, you cannot beat Wal*Mart prices, you won't get it cheaper any where else

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SalvationActs238
Bryan, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/29/2008

Customer review by perchhunter

3.0 stars 12/29/2008 by perchhunter
by perchhunter

a little too complicated for the average bear, didn't really need the remote control model, but it was on hand and I got it right away. price was very reasonable. Have not installed it yet due to bad weather, so I can't comment on how it works.

Was this review helpful? (1) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
perchhunter
Magnet, NE.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Phillips rotator
1/14/2009

Customer review by FrankcOhio

4.0 stars 1/14/2009 by FrankcOhio
by FrankcOhio

The device is simple to install and works as expected. Remember to buy 3 condutor wire for the rotor to control hookup. The memory buttons are handy and are very accurate for pinpointing those difficult digital transmissions. Although not as durable looking as the older rotators, it should handle a moderate sized antenna without any trouble.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FrankcOhio
Eastern Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works like it should
2/14/2008

Customer review by SayNoToCable

4.0 stars 2/14/2008 by SayNoToCable
by SayNoToCable

I installed this rotor unit a 2 years ago and it has worked very well since installation. It's important to read the manual to ensure proper initial set up. One thing to remember is to "initialize" the unit after high winds because it will sometimes rotate out of position slightly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SayNoToCable
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews