Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 48 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

48 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

48 reviews | 4 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 44 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews
A Perfectly Fine Unit
7/3/2008

Customer review by MinnyBaba

4.0 stars 7/3/2008 by MinnyBaba
by MinnyBaba

We've only had the unit going for a few nights now but I think it has helped make our infant daughter sleep more soundly, as her upstairs bedroom is no longer sauna-like. We have slider windows and I thought we might be out of luck when it came to finding an a/c unit that would fit but I was surprised to find a handful of choices. We probably could have gotten by with a 5,000 BTU unit but they seemed to be hard to find elsewhere on the Web. This Haier is a bit larger than I would like, though I was able to lift it by myself. We ended up hiring a handyman to install it, as our window sill didn't totally provide the best base for the unit, and we also needed to have a piece of wood cut to prevent the mounting bracket from damaging our vinyl siding. That was money well spent! I do like the remote that comes with the unit, as I have been able to poke my head into our daughter's room and adjust the unit's temperature up or down while standing in the doorway. All in all, we're happy with our purchase!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MinnyBaba
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
4/28/2010

Customer review by GrunDig

5.0 stars 4/28/2010 by GrunDig
by GrunDig

This Haier Vertical Air conditioner/ Refrigerated Air This is a Great Product From Haier. In the picture you see above the unit looks like it's aluminum it is not. The unit is a soft between beige and off white a great looking unit . I was impressed at the looks of the unit. This unit comes with a remote that controls all functions. Mode: /Fan /dehumidify / Timer/ Speed and temp. you can also control all functions on the touch pad electronic control panel on the unit. Timer: 24 hour Dehumidifier Function Fan only Cooling Speed's : 3 low, mid, high Uses Regular 110 outlet Cord from unit has a G.F.P/ Ground Fault Protection When i installed the unit it took me around 45 min you may need a helping hand to install/lock the unit in. I was very impressed on how quiet the unit ran on all speeds. It cooled the room . 20 X 15 about 15 to 20 min You will need. a Phillips screwdriver / pipe wrench for outside bracket / razor knife for fill in panel & Drill. Air can be set to direct in 6 positions So as i may say this is a Cool Unit ***** stars Hope this was helpful for my first review

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrunDig
Boston,Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Ahhh!
6/28/2008

Customer review by almostretired12

5.0 stars 6/28/2008 by almostretired12
by almostretired12

For 3 years I suffered summer in my bedroom at night. Although I have a swamp cooler that does great in the rest of the house, my upstairs bedroom was like an oven. The trouble was - casement windows. The coolers for casements were cost prohibitive. After 3 terrible nights early this season, I found this casement air conditioner. I had it shipped to the store, and picked it up - it was convenient, and saved me quite a bit of money. At first look, I thought it was going to be a bear to install, and I didn't know if I'd be able to remove it during the winter. Once we really read the instructions, though, and got going, it only took about an hour to safely install it into my old steel casement. The fit is perfect, and it is not hard to take in and out for summer/winter. It is extremely efficient and quiet (much quieter that a fan!) It cools my bedroom (250 sq feet) from 90+ degrees to 68 really quickly. It has 3 speeds, timer, fan option, remote. A great!!!! product for the price. I couldn't be happier.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
almostretired12
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Can't Recommend
6/1/2010

Customer review by VTWorker

1.0 stars 6/1/2010 by VTWorker
by VTWorker

The Haier A/C did not appear to be damaged in any way but the fan would not run when it was installed in my home. The unit display lit up and it looked like it would work but the fan would not run and the Haier representatives that I called many times were not very helpful. Their policy was to not send a replacement unit until the A/C was checked by a repairman and they did not have anyone in my area but said they would try to locate someone in 3-5 days. After a week and several calls to them, I removed ithe A/C from the window and returned it to Walmart where I had ordered it through the Site-To-Store. I liked the appearance of the A/C and I believe it is a good value but of course, I was not pleased that it wouldn't run and I certainly was not pleased with the disinterested customer service from Haier. I was concerned that even if someone came and got it running, I would have the same problem with no local service if it gave me trouble later.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VTWorker
Blacksburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Excellent product
7/14/2009

Customer review by gwillow

5.0 stars 7/14/2009 by gwillow
by gwillow

Installation was relatively straight forward. Had to buy some extra foam as I do not think all sliding casements are the same. No big deal though. The base mount is a great idea. I like how it supports against the siding. Somewhat heavy, about 80 lbs, but was able to get it in myself. Its pretty quiet unless fan is on high but that is expected. It does a good job cooling my living room and kitchen down. Still waiting on the remote control though as it was not packaged. Haier will be sending it though after I had to send endless documentation. My only gripe.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gwillow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does the Job!
7/8/2007

Customer review by Bittybit

5.0 stars 7/8/2007 by Bittybit
by Bittybit

Finding a "vertical" window air conditioner unit to fit into a very small dormer window had been a two year challenge. As it was, we really had to "work" the unit into the opening, but once installed it has worked wonderfully. It not only cools the upstairs bedroom in which it was installed, but also cools the hallway and bathroom. It cools so well, instead of feeling the temperature increase when going upstairs, it actually decreases. It fits the bill for a two-story house in Oklahoma summers!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bittybit
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works but check the fit
7/5/2009

Customer review by hotattic

4.0 stars 7/5/2009 by hotattic
by hotattic

Works as expected for a cheap AC. It's more noisy than a better one, but not overbearing, and as quiet as most window AC units of 10 or 15 years ago. HOWEVER don't count on putting it in a 15-1/2" wide window unless you want to modify or remove one or both siderails. 15-7/8" should go and 16" will be comfy.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hotattic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Haier Vertical Room A/C 8000 btu
7/12/2008

Customer review by Buckeye48

5.0 stars 7/12/2008 by Buckeye48
by Buckeye48

Great a/c. Had no problems but do wish the fill in panel was 2 " longer. One other item is that It would have been better if the on/off timer would have been for time of day that could be set for daily operation. I still think this is a 5 star unit with its' cooling capacity and quietness.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Buckeye48
Murrieta, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Technology Problems
8/16/2007

Customer review by techguy3475

2.0 stars 8/16/2007 by techguy3475
by techguy3475

This products temperature control did not operate correctly. The speed settings also malfunctioned (high was low, low was the fastest fan speed, and medium was in between). The a/c does cool effectively, but it is not what I paid for. The technology malfunctions, but the system cools.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
techguy3475
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Just what I needed
7/29/2008

Customer review by RodeoPam

5.0 stars 7/29/2008 by RodeoPam
by RodeoPam

I had hung window but the narrow tall kind. They would not accommodate a traditional air conditioner and required the vertical type. So far in all my research, Walmart was the most inexpensive and the air conditioner works as expected. I especially like the energy saver feature. It will shut off when the correct temperature is reached. I do feel the price was a bit steep for an 8,000 btu air conditioner just because the shape was different. I can't imagine what was different that made it almost three times the price of a traditional unit that was comparable. We are using this unit in Florida in a scantly insulated attached garage turned office. When constructed we did put in air conditioning drops from the house but they just were not sufficient to cool this room of approximately 500 sf. The AC is the perfect boost to keep the office cool and bearable - even in July!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RodeoPam
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great a/c for the money
4/24/2010

Customer review by Frog4aDay

5.0 stars 4/24/2010 by Frog4aDay
by Frog4aDay

Let's start with the width of this, since I saw another reviewer saying 'you'll need at least 16.5" to mount this'. That's not true. Pulled it out of the box and slapped a tape measure on it. I got 14.5" Let's be safe and call it an even 15". That's good, 'cause my window was only 15.5" wide and this fit in there easily. Instructions were good. Easy to follow. Got the unit mounted and running in less than 2 hrs. If I had to do another, I'd be able to get it in very quickly. Support for portion of unit outside the house is included in the box. After researching 'slider/casement window airconditioners' this was the best product for the money spent and WalMart had the best price on it. Only time will tell how it holds up, but it strikes me as being well built and finished.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Frog4aDay
Hill Country of TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Cooling!
8/18/2009

Customer review by ylime231

4.0 stars 8/18/2009 by ylime231
by ylime231

Works well, but some trouble with mounting in the window. Had to modify the bracket, and the instructions are not very clear. But, it works great and was very affordable.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ylime231
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
disappointed
7/4/2008

Customer review by MissLaChaney

2.0 stars 7/4/2008 by MissLaChaney
by MissLaChaney

I was disappointed in this air conditioner because is so loud when the compressor is running that you can't hear the person next to you speaking unless they raise their voice. It also vibrates pretty bad when the compressor is running. We would have returned it but had torn up and thrown the box away after we opened it, and had already used it a few days before realizing just how annoying the loudness and vibrating really was. It's such a hassle to return things back to the store. Especially when they weigh so much! Too bad they wouldn't have someone come pick it up and bring a replacement at their expense. I guess you get what you pay for. $300 was all we could afford at the time. Oh well. On the positive side, it does keep our house cool on hot days.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissLaChaney
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bad product/bad service from Haier
6/25/2009

Customer review by AndyKn

1.0 stars 6/25/2009 by AndyKn
by AndyKn

Intalled the unit and ran the product for 30 minutes. It then started dripping water out the back lie it was supposed to but it also leaked a small but steady streanm of water out the front even though we installed it with a 6 degree tilt backwards. Called Haier and they said they had no one in my area that could service unit. The lady said she would forward my problem to the service Department and they would call me back when they found a reapair person. After 8 days and no call I called them back and their "System" was down so they couldn't help me but took my number and said they would call back when system was back up...Three days later NO call. Product is being returned to Wal-Mart and will never buy Haier again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AndyKn
Springfield, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Cheap, hard to install, average performance
8/13/2009

Customer review by cnmhome

4.0 stars 8/13/2009 by cnmhome
by cnmhome

I got this unit for just under $300, well below the prices other stores were advertising for the same, or similar units. Although I installed it in an aluminum casement window, the support bracket design was not compatible with the configuration of my window sill. I had to scrap it and design my own, picking up parts at the hardware store. 3 or 4 hours later, I finally got the unit installed, looking forward with much anticipation to a chilly, 234 sq ft. living room. What I got instead is a unit that only cools the air 17 ft directly in front of it. Because that night was unusually humid, I ended up opening up the windows anyway. Don't expect a lot from this air conditioner.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cnmhome
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very nice unit
9/1/2009

Customer review by Painindnek

5.0 stars 9/1/2009 by Painindnek
by Painindnek

Had to modify the opening in the window a bit, because the opening was larger than recommended for the unit, but otherwise, installation was a breeze. Picked up @ Wal-mart- they were very helpful in picking up and loading it into my car. Unit works very nicely. Quiet, efficient, in the energy saver mode it kept the room cool and was barely on. If we have a hot summer next year, I just may get another one for the rest of the house. Very happy with the item, and the price was the best I could find for this type of unit, even on sales from the "Big Box Stores" Just make sure you have a helper for the installation- the unit is a bit heavy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Painindnek
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Buy!
7/7/2008

Customer review by Debbie4327

5.0 stars 7/7/2008 by Debbie4327
by Debbie4327

Finding a new air conditioner to fit a casement window has been difficult. My husband and I thought we would have to resort to looking in the paper for a second-hand unit. When I found this air conditioner at an affordable price the only problem I had was that I had to wait for it to arrive. The unit arrived in good condition, exactly when it was estimated to arrive. It is easy to operate, and the energy saver mode is terrific. The unit turns itself off once the room has reached the desired temperature. It runs quietly and even when it comes on at night, it doesn't wake us up. I highly recommend this unit!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Debbie4327
Cincinnati OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very poor product
7/9/2008

Customer review by MadDogExtra

1.0 stars 7/9/2008 by MadDogExtra
by MadDogExtra

It does not work very well. The unit cannot cool the room below 78F and outside temperature is 85F. The vent is in closed position and ice is formed around a small cylinder shape unit next to the compressor, when the unit is running for about 1 hr. This is a brand new unit so dirt is ruled out as the cause but rather this unit is defective (leak, overcharged or undercharged refrigerant, defective compressor, defective sensor etc) or the whole line of this product has quality issue. Considered time, effort has been put in to install the unit, this is an horrible product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MadDogExtra
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Vertical Window AC
7/8/2008

Customer review by roubaix3325

5.0 stars 7/8/2008 by roubaix3325
by roubaix3325

It was impossible to find an AC that would fit my window. This just barely made it, but it works great! The thermostat function is a nice luxury, so I don't have to constantly turn it on and off, and the remote is wonderful! I didn't know when I bought it that it is also a dehumidifier, which is also a wonderful surprise! It is relatively quiet and doesn't freak out my cats like my last AC. I paid more than I would have liked, but it is impossible to find an AC for this window any less expensive. For the functions it has, and the BTU size, it is a great deal!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
roubaix3325
Philly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
If you're in a pinch...
6/23/2009

Customer review by Frost

4.0 stars 6/23/2009 by Frost
by Frost

I bought this AC unit because I only have small windows in my living room beside the big picture window. This cools my 15'X23' room in a matter of about 10 mins. Be prepared for a big box if you do site-to-store and have some muscle to install. This is not a compact unit... don't let the narrow casement fool you. I am 26 and in good shape and this thing gave me quite the workout. More than I was expecting. Takes 10 mins to assemble, and the install... be prepared to support this monster! All in all, it's very cold, it's quiet, and I am happy I have it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Frost
Wernersville, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews