Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 244 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

244 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

244 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
135
4 stars
51
3 stars
23
2 stars
10
1 stars
25
1-20 of 216 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 216 total reviews
1-20 of 216 reviews
AMAAAZING!
10/29/2008

Customer review by garrgal05

5.0 stars 10/29/2008 by garrgal05
by garrgal05

I originally bought this espresso machine hoping to reduce my expenses on lattes ($4 a day is too much!) -- I thought that since I didn't know anything about how to make lattes/cappuccinos/etc, I should just get the cheapest one on the market. OHH MY GOSH this product is unbelievable! I had NO EXPERIENCE and my FIRST CUP was delicious and tasted like it was JUST from Starbucks! (Granted, the coffee I used was Starbucks brand). It is definitely worth every penny -- I highly recommend it!!!

Was this review helpful? (130) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
garrgal05
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DIE HARD ESPRESSO DRINKER
9/18/2010

Customer review by PRODUCTREVIEWSRTHEBEST

4.0 stars 9/18/2010 by PRODUCTREVIEWSRTHEBEST
by PRODUCTREVIEWSRTHEBEST

So, this is about my 4th machine, the others range in price $60-$250 the higher priced being the first. I still have the parts from the previous machines, (metal cup and other filters). 1. This very reasonable priced machine is a great size for small areas yet can produce 4 cups at once. 2. It works very well if you have some of these extra parts to replace the filter it comes with. the filter it comes with is more of a perk kind of filter and produces a strong cup of coffee kind of midway between coffee and Cappuccino. By switching the filter with a previous "Mr Coffee" machine I am able to get a very good Cappuccino. 3. Frothing with the plastic cover over the chrome frother does not work well but if you remove the plastic and use a metal cup you will get perfect forth. With the plastic on it produces kind of foamy milk. I lightly move the milk around in the cup while I am frothing and allow the forther to work at the top of the milk after the rest of the milk is hot. Produces perfect forth in less than a minute. (you need to put the dial on steam with a bowl under it and allow the water to drain out first and I also use the metal cup I saved) OVERALL WORKS GREAT. WHEN YOU GET USED TO IT TAKES ONLY 2 MINUTES TO MAKE. I AM VERY HAPPY WITH THIS MACHINE. I USE IT ABOUT 4 TIMES A DAY FOR THE LAST MONTH. I HOPE IT WILL LAST BUT IF NOT, FOR THE PRICE IT IS WORTH IT. ENJOY THE MOMENT. :)

Was this review helpful? (47) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PRODUCTREVIEWSRTHEBEST
NEW JERSEY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Buy 2!!
3/15/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/15/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I've been making 4-shot Iced Mocha Latte's every morning for the last 20 years. In all those years I have stuck with THIS espresso machine & bought it when I found it at a huge bagain (between $25 - $35) it needs to be replaced about every 3-5 yrs. My sister advised me that the pump machines were far superior so I splurged and got one. I hate this thing! If I can't get a Tony Soprano sized espresso machine - I am sticking with THIS BRAND & THIS MODEL! Stick with the old fashion, bottom price point, Mr. Coffee espresso machine. It takes a few minutes to heat up but so does the pump machine and chances are the pump only makes 2 shots @ a time, plus when you're dumping your grinds for the next brew the pump will drip (filling your drip tray w/one drink) making a huge mess! Sorry for going on but I used to work in a super quality coffee shop and I have mad passion for the bean. Steam is easier, neater, far more convenient. and out lasts the pump by years. Oh yah, the pump machine costs about 3Xs more. I just purchased that pump machine 4 months ago and its not operating correctly. Ready to toss it!

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Detroit area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good value for price
2/17/2008

Customer review by JodyJ

4.0 stars 2/17/2008 by JodyJ
by JodyJ

Excellent choice if cost is priority. Drawbacks are that decanter doesn't "fit" as well as it could and tends to drip/spill if not poured carefully but perfectly satisfactory considering cost (least expensive)

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JodyJ
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
Great Product
10/17/2009

Customer review by luvmyhubs

5.0 stars 10/17/2009 by luvmyhubs
by luvmyhubs

I bought this espresso maker yesterday and have already used it 4 times! The espresso comes out very nicely and it makes really good foam. The only thing I'm not too fond of is that the frothing arm doesn't move. But hey, it was a great bargain at less than $40. Make sure to read the instructions about releasing the pressure.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luvmyhubs
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect Fraps
8/18/2010

Customer review by TexanPeeps

5.0 stars 8/18/2010 by TexanPeeps
by TexanPeeps

We make espresso then pour into ice cube trays, freeze then use the cubes to make our own fraps. Blend the espresso cubes, 2% milk, some sugar & hershey's chocolate. Ta da...a healthy frap for a lot less cash.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TexanPeeps
Katy TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great coffee maker for the price
2/29/2008

Customer review by CoffeeLatteLover

4.0 stars 2/29/2008 by CoffeeLatteLover
by CoffeeLatteLover

I have had this Expresso maker for about a week now and I love it! I gave it a 4 star rating because I had to go out and buy a milk steemer set from Starbucks which cost me an additional $30.00. Still for the price it is well worth it. It took me a few days to get everything down to make an almost perfect "Starbucks" style latte (I even purchased coffee from starbucks and syrup flavoring to try and make the coffee taste similiar to starbucks). The latte that the machine makes taste almost exactly like a latte I would buy at Starbucks so I am very satified with this machine.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoffeeLatteLover
Eureka, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Superb quality for price
11/17/2009

Customer review by LivingWellBB

5.0 stars 11/17/2009 by LivingWellBB
by LivingWellBB

The Mr. Coffee Espresso maker may be one of the least expensive machines on the market for under $40, but don't let that fool you. While Mr. Coffee is not known for their line of espresso machines, they have come up with a quality product. This machine has the ability to make 2 or 4 cups of espresso. Fast, easy to clean, good coffee. Can not beat the quality you get for the price. I use this maker twice daily in an office. Excellent product, great for beginners as well as long time espresso makers.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LivingWellBB
West Palm Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Received it as a Xmas gift
12/26/2007

Customer review by miscyn57

4.0 stars 12/26/2007 by miscyn57
by miscyn57

I have owned a few espresso machines and this one is great. Tip: while the coffee is brewing, when it reaches the "steam" icon, start frothing the milk. It works really well and fast too. After the milk is frothed, turn the knob back to brew and finish the coffee. Hot coffee and hot milk! Perfect latte and cappuccino.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
miscyn57
Orange Beach, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great little Machine
7/24/2007

Customer review by Nart

5.0 stars 7/24/2007 by Nart
by Nart

Well i Bought this Machine from the Super Wal mart in Springfield. And so far it has done wonderfully for me and my Wife we love it so much that i went and bought two more to give as gifts.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nart
Springfield Il.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't bother
11/19/2009

Customer review by Ancinda

2.0 stars 11/19/2009 by Ancinda
by Ancinda

I went to purchase a different esspresso maker but the store didn't have it in stock. I saw this one by the same manufacturer at half the price and thought I'd give it a try. While the espresso part works okay, the steamer/frother is a joke! I tried 6 vessels and every way possible to give it a chance to work and all I got was milk sprayed everywhere. No froth and while the steamer portion does steam it also scalds the milk. Yuck! I am a chef and have worked as a professional barista so I have some knowledge of how this is done. I have used so many different types of esspresso/cap machines the idea that I failed to do it correctly isn't a very real possibility AND even though I was pretty sure I knew what to do I STILL read all of the instructions before trying to use the machine so I am returning it. Unfortunately. I hope this review saves you from wasting your time on this unit.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ancinda
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/21/2009

Customer review by coffeeloveratl

3.0 stars 8/21/2009 by coffeeloveratl
by coffeeloveratl

it's a nice little machine, i've worked for Strabucks and learned all about the right espresso, latte,.... tastes. to me it kind of has a funny after taste from metal of the inside of the machine. also the water temperature isn't right which makes the espresso taste burned. well the froth is ok, you can't expect more for the money. It does the job, but if you're Starbucks spoiled...don't buy this! You would be disappointed in your expectations! hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coffeeloveratl
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for one, no so much for 2!
12/19/2007

Customer review by shortredhead

2.0 stars 12/19/2007 by shortredhead
by shortredhead

I love Mr. Coffee brand products. And usually don't have problems with their performance. This machine does a great job. BUT..it doesn't tell you in the manual that it doesn't have enough steam to froth the milk after you make 4 shots. You have to vent the machine. Refill it, heat it, then it will froth 2 to 4 cups of milk or more. Once you have that down and you work out a system then you can still put out a couple good cups. Wish there was a heating element for the espresso while you were venting and reheating the machine for the frothing!! That would make it alot better.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shortredhead
Shelton, WA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Not for "on the go" folks
10/16/2009

Customer review by luckyme47

1.0 stars 10/16/2009 by luckyme47
by luckyme47

Received this product as a gift. You cannot steam milk and brew espresso at the same time so it takes at least 10 minutes to make one drink. Not ideal for most of us who like to run out the door, drink in hand. After several months the time it took to create hot water increased dramatically. Now mine doesn't even brew properly and is of absolutely no use. Waste of money. I used to work in a coffee shop so I know a good machine when I see it. Believe me, you get what you pay for so if you LOVE espresso, spend the money to get a decent machine.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luckyme47
Mtn. Home ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Inexpensive but REALLY cheap
9/7/2009

Customer review by CoffeGuy

1.0 stars 9/7/2009 by CoffeGuy
by CoffeGuy

Our previous expresso maker gave up the ghost after ten years. We thought that any expresso maker would deliver satisfactory results and bought the Mr. C ECM150. The machine makes decent expresso, (but no matter how we do it) THIS MACHINE DOES NOT FOAM MILK. It even does a lousy job of warming the milk while attempting to develop foam.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoffeGuy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Just the BEST lil' espresso maker for the $$$
1/31/2012

Customer review by mooksmom324

5.0 stars 1/31/2012 by mooksmom324
by mooksmom324

I must be lucky but I have had this machine for 4 YEARS and I use it 365 days a year to begin my day with. I start with a 12 oz coffee mug, just because it allows me to make a huge 'head' of foam on the top of my leche (milk). I use all different flavors of coffees in making my cafe con leche (espresso with milk). The main thing with the coffee is grinding it fine enough for espresso. I fill the glass carafe to the metal band that goes around it and that usually fills the water boiler to the tip top. Only if I clean the machine, or if I brew more espresso past the 4 cup line do I need to add more water than the one glass carafe. I do use a tamper to pack the fine grinds in the metal filter. I like to put 3 saccharin tablets in the glass carafe before it brews the espresso, as I don't use sugar to sweeten. It brews the cafe quickly and without issue. I then switch the lever to steam and use a metal milk frothing pitcher (purchased at a kitchen store locally) to heat the 2% milk OR the vanilla almond milk I occasionally use. I have a pedestal I made out of an overturned ceramic coffee mug, that the pitcher of milk can sit on as the milk is heating up and it keeps the steam nozzle just barely into the milk. I can tell by the sound changes of the milk as it heats when it is ready to froth. I remove it from the pedestal and slowly remove the nozzle from the milk and slowly move the pitcher back and forth which produces a nice 4" thick froth of milk. I pour the steamed milk into the espresso in the large mug. Some days I use Torani flavored coffee syrups to add flavor and some days I top the froth with colored sugar crystals (all purchased at Walmart). I've been making cafe con leches since a kid, and can make simple pictures in the foam with a toothpick and the colored sugars depending on my moods or holidays. I've not had one problem with this machine. It did leak once AND it also had steam blowing out the seams of the top over where the coffee is located, but upon reinspection, I found that the top was MIS-tightened on the screw-on part of the boiler. It never happened since with MY use. My son used it several times, and was careless with the screwing on of the top and had leaks, too. It also must be tightened very tight when in use or it lets out lots of steam and then won't steam your milk enough. I think 4 yrs of use for a $40. espresso machine is more than adequate for me. I live in an area with 'hard' water, so I do clean it every 3 months with white vinegar, but that is all I do for care besides a gentle wipe daily with a wet rag.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mooksmom324
Piedmont, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for
5/3/2010

Customer review by Ky2Va

3.0 stars 5/3/2010 by Ky2Va
by Ky2Va

Not a bad machine, but don't expect Starbucks taste with your drinks. The "espresso" it makes is really like super-strong coffee, it doesnt come out with the brown cream on top like with industrial-strength machines. The steamer wand doesn't go up and down, and is metal so it gets very cruddy and gross, wish it was made of plastic or rubber or something more easy to clean. Overall it does its job, if you don't have a lot of cash to spend and still want to make your own lattes at home, this will be good enough.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ky2Va
Williamsburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Do Not Buy
5/12/2009

Customer review by kelay23

1.0 stars 5/12/2009 by kelay23
by kelay23

The first one of these I received as a gift. It lasted just 11 months. The frothing mechanism simply stopped working. The second one I purchased - I figured I'd try again, because the price was right. That one lasted one month before the frothing unit broke down. I recommend investing in a more expensive unit. If it lasts longer, it's worth the extra $.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kelay23
nj
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Disappointing
1/6/2010

Customer review by GreeratNine

1.0 stars 1/6/2010 by GreeratNine
by GreeratNine

Purchased this 1-4-2010. Set it up and no matter what we did, could not get it to make the milk hot. Found the steamer spout in awkward position on the unit. Took it back the next day.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GreeratNine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
10/24/2010

Customer review by lattelover2

5.0 stars 10/24/2010 by lattelover2
by lattelover2

I have own several of these machines and love it..do wish it would last longer..I have to purchase one at least every 2 yrs

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lattelover2
havelock.nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 216 total reviews
1-20 of 216 reviews