Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 30 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

30 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

30 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 25 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews
Not At All Disappointed
9/19/2008

Customer review by FlightTech

5.0 stars 9/19/2008 by FlightTech
by FlightTech

As far as meters go, this one is well worth the purchase! It's compact size makes it easily fit into your pocket, purse, or insulin kit. This units durability has seen me through several fishing trips and also holds up in the bouncing it takes with me in the factory environment. It doesn't have an average function, but you can recall the last several readings to put into your logbook if you are like me and forget to write down a reading every now and again. It only takes a few seconds to get a reading which is a major plus. NO LONG WAITS! You will get an 'Er5' reading if you do not get the full sample taken, which happens on occaision. But fill the window on the strip and you'll get a reading. I bought this one for a backup, but am now using it for all 5-8 readings I average on a daily basis.

Was this review helpful? (40) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FlightTech
Oran, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Bang for the Buck
9/27/2007

Customer review by Dilly

5.0 stars 9/27/2007 by Dilly
by Dilly

This compact meter delivers more for your money than most other meters. One of the only fall backs is it dosen't offer some of the features other meters offer, such as 30 day averages and such. The other is the expense of the strips, about $50 for 50 strips and about $100 for 100 strips. The compact design is easy to carry around and convienient to take with you every where you go. The meter is accurate and very quick and easy to use. I reccomend this meter for those people on the go with active lifestyles.

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dilly
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GOODCHOICE
8/8/2007

Customer review by HAPPYCOSTOMER

5.0 stars 8/8/2007 by HAPPYCOSTOMER
by HAPPYCOSTOMER

I FOUND THIS METER VERY EASY TO USE. THE TEST STRIPS ARE EASY TO USE ON THIS PRODUCT. OTHER METERS HAVE TEST STRIPS THAT ARE DIFFICULT TO KEEP FROM SPOILAGE AND REQUIRE MORE CARE. ALL YOU NEED TO DO IS INSERT THE STRIP INTO YHE METER AND IT IS READY TO USE ONCE IT HAS BEEN CODED AND TESTED WITH THE GLUOCOSE TEST SOLUTION.

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HAPPYCOSTOMER
CALIF.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
You get what you pay for (kind of)
2/18/2013

Customer review by Tim64152

2.0 stars 2/18/2013 by Tim64152
by Tim64152

6 months ago I switched to this meter because the test strips were considerably less expensive than my FreeStyle meter. And yes, the strips are MUCH cheaper. But that comes with a cost with very inaccurate readings. My OneTouch UltraMini requires a LOT more blood. It also reads consistently high (+15-30mgdcl over control) and on occasion it will give wildly inaccurate readings (i.e. 335 fasting - other meter was 124 to confirm the reading). If you are going to pay that kind of money for a meter and ongoing supplies I would expect there to be better tolerances in the device. FDA allows a 30% variance in readings and this meter uses all 30% (and then some). After 6 months of frustration I am going back to my previous meter. I will pay a bit more but at least my blood control decisions will not be made on the results of a very inaccurate meter.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tim64152
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Overall a very handy product
2/1/2011

Customer review by Teryelous

5.0 stars 2/1/2011 by Teryelous
by Teryelous

The ultra Mini is a very useful and handy meter. It's slim design makes it easier to carry in a pocket. You would think the case would easily fit the lancet device as well as a container of test strips, however once you put your test strip container in, it can be a bit difficult to zip. The newer model of the Ultramini is able to download which is an improvement over the earlier model.

Was this review helpful? (11) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Teryelous
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One Touch Ultra Mini
6/3/2008

Customer review by KeepSmiling

3.0 stars 6/3/2008 by KeepSmiling
by KeepSmiling

I have read the reviews on the OneTouch and was impressed by the feedback. One review did stand out, the person was complaining about the "Er 5" errors he was receiving. I kind of wrote this off as someone having trouble collecting samples. I purchased the meter and was quite happy with its size and design. After using the meter for a little more than three weeks and on my third vile of strips, I too started to receive "Er 5" error messages. Sample size was more than adequate but the sample stopped three quarters of the way up the test strip opening. I attribute this to the test strips. I have moved on to a FreeStyle meter. Sincerely, Keep Smiling

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KeepSmiling
NE PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
So Tiny, So Powerful!!
1/17/2008

Customer review by AddictedToTheNet

5.0 stars 1/17/2008 by AddictedToTheNet
by AddictedToTheNet

I've been using this particular meter for about 6 months, and I LOVE it. I've been a diabetic for 4 years and have had just about every meter there is to have....and nothing touches this one. It's small, quick, and easily fits in my purse or pocket or whatever I'm needing it for. If you want something reliable, choose this one. My husband and son (age 14) just found out they are diabetic also, and my son uses this one and my husband uses the Ultra Touch II. But, I really recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AddictedToTheNet
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love my One Touch Mini
11/23/2011

Customer review by Gentlecreations

5.0 stars 11/23/2011 by Gentlecreations
by Gentlecreations

I am a new diabetic and had no clue which meter to choose. I've talked to a few people and they recommended this brand or that brand but when I got to Wal-Mart to make my purchase I feel in love with this little machine. It takes a very small amount of blood and is super fast giving you a reading; exactly what I need. It is very durable and reliable. I'm very happy with my this glucose machine and can't see why people would spend more money than ten dollars! Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gentlecreations
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
nice to carry with you
7/14/2012

Customer review by bunneelove

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by bunneelove
by bunneelove

This product uses fine needles, they don't hurt as much Nice travel size to take with you. Great price compared! to all other brands

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bunneelove
sacramento. california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My mom seems very happy!
7/12/2010

Customer review by ResearchScientist

4.0 stars 7/12/2010 by ResearchScientist
by ResearchScientist

Bought this for my mom as her backup meter. It is simple, light and quite efficient. Works fine with ultra mini mail order strips I ordered from amazon. Walmart had the best price (inclusive of shipping). The shipping was prompt and I was surprised by it. I definitely think Walmart is improving its brand by offering quick and cheap shipping for online customers.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ResearchScientist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Compact Meter
10/10/2008

Customer review by Dragonfyre

5.0 stars 10/10/2008 by Dragonfyre
by Dragonfyre

I am a newly diagnosed T2, I really like the ease of use, the small amount of blood needed, and the speed. Nice and small so it fits in pockets, etc., Seems to be accurate, no complaints yet.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dragonfyre
Brimfield, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/24/2010

Customer review by loveit231

5.0 stars 12/24/2010 by loveit231
by loveit231

I read the review that said this meter lied because it reads lower than the other meter he has. Every meter is under the guidelines of the FDA and every meter is going to be off. If you had 2 exact same meters and used the same blood drop the readings would be different. I love this meter and it is right on.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
loveit231
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One Touch Ultra Mini
8/9/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 8/9/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This was my first glucose tester, I like this one better than the new one the my Insurance company made me get. I wish I could have stayed with this one, it is easy to use, easy to carry, smart new colors, an all around nice product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Monticello WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great price but no extras
6/10/2011

Customer review by Ctowns

4.0 stars 6/10/2011 by Ctowns
by Ctowns

This is a cute meter, very small case and very cute color! The lancing device as well is very gentle and you barely feel it. This is not my first meter but I was surprised that there were no strips included AT ALL and no log book. Upon going to their website I could print my own log books or pay for them! As if us diabetics don't spend enough on supplies as it is! I find the strips to be a bit more pricey as well. I will be using this meter as a backup meter and not my main meter. It is very cute and functional though. Just onetouch could have better customer relations I suppose.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ctowns
Portland, ME
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Meter is fine, lancet not as good as old one.
7/28/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/28/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I chose the meter because it seemed to be the best of the ones my insurance company supported. The meter is fine and comparable to the ones I have used in the past. I like the slim styling of it. One Touch recently changed the lancet device to use a smaller lancet. The problem is that I haven't figured out a good way to remove it without being exposed to the needle. My old device had lancets that stuck out from the device so that I could cap it and still get a good grip on it to remove it. Maybe I am just doing it wrong. The meter has the ability to download information to a PC with an additional software product I also purchased.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Takes a LOT of blood
3/28/2010

Customer review by dinnerandamurder

2.0 stars 3/28/2010 by dinnerandamurder
by dinnerandamurder

What they don't tell you is that this device requires a full micron of blood to test. This is the device Vanderbilt Hospital sent home with my Type 1 son and it was killing his fingers to get enough blood to test 5 times a day on this meter. The lancet is also very painful and has to be handled each time you use it. We switched to the Freestyle Lite, which only takes .3 micron, is much smaller, has a port light and seems to be more accurate to us. Yes 70% less blood required! For lancing we use the Accu-Check Multiclix, which is almost pain free and the lancets are in a drum cartridge, so you never touch a lancet, just pop in a new cartridge every 1-2 weeks. The Renew device is also really great, but hard to find in stock at Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dinnerandamurder
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
A Handy Item for Diabetics
2/10/2008

Customer review by walmarttopstore

5.0 stars 2/10/2008 by walmarttopstore
by walmarttopstore

Small and compact, very easy to carry with you everywhere you go. Very easy to use. Booklet that is included explains all and is not confusing. Would highly reccommend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmarttopstore
Carleton,Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great and Simple
3/20/2008

Customer review by Stephanie227

5.0 stars 3/20/2008 by Stephanie227
by Stephanie227

Great little meter, if you don't need all the bells and whistles but looking for something small and easy to carry with you, this is the one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stephanie227
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to use
6/2/2008

Customer review by lavenderhills

5.0 stars 6/2/2008 by lavenderhills
by lavenderhills

It is very simple to use and easy to take anywhere. It is durable as well. The test strips are a bit pricy but about the same as most other meters. The meter itself is inexpensive for as well as it performs and makes it worth having more than one. You can keep extras at the office or anywhere you are able to keep personal supplies.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lavenderhills
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love my mini!!!
7/2/2008

Customer review by medaily57

5.0 stars 7/2/2008 by medaily57
by medaily57

I love my mini. It has all the portability of the Sidekick, but much more durable. I just read on the One Touch website, they are shipping a mini that you can link to your computer so you can keep your results just like with the larger ultra. I am thinking I need to upgrade!!! You will not be disappointed if you buy this meter!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
medaily57
Kansas City, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews