Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 54 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

54 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

54 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 48 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews
Precision Xtra Glucose Monitor
8/10/2016

Customer review by Mary

5.0 stars 8/10/2016 by Mary
by Mary
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this monitor on the advice of my doctor mainly to check ketone levels for nutritional ketosis. I also monitor blood glucose but not for diabetic purposes, simply out of curiosity. It is easy to use, has all the features that I need, and I especially like the memory feature. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great meter, especially for ketones
9/26/2016

Customer review by esanderson

5.0 stars 9/26/2016 by esanderson
by esanderson
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We love this meter and order a replacement because the screen on the old one was starting to be finicky. Otherwise, we're very happy with it and use it primarily for checking ketones.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
esanderson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointing Results
2/5/2016

Customer review by Hopeful

1.0 stars 2/5/2016 by Hopeful
by Hopeful

Precision Test strips were the first strips I used when I was first diagnosed with diabetes. That was over 20 years ago. Perhaps five or so years ago Precision started having trouble with their strips and I started using Accu Chek Aviva. Those test strips seemed to be a lot more accurate albeit a lot more expensive. Now that I have retired the discount I was getting to pay for Accu Chek is no longer available to me so I went back to Precision. I have now decided to pay the extra money and use Accu Chek because Precision seems to be from 20 - 75 mg/dL (?) off. I need an accurate reading because with an A1C of 8.5, and a documented case of Diabetic Retinopathy, I can't afford to get less than accurate readings. I hope they get it fixed.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hopeful
Would recommend to a friend? No
Lack of Information
9/7/2016

Customer review by wiz2

2.0 stars 9/7/2016 by wiz2
by wiz2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The people who buy this product don't want what's in this box. They want a measurement that represents the concentration of a compound that is circulating in their blood. They can't get it from the material inside this box. After searching the internet about ketometers sold all over the world, I was very confused about what I was actually buying. There is no statement on this box explaining what the box contains. Before buying the product, I wish someone had told me that in addition to buying this meter, I would also have to make at least one other purchase. Actually, not one but two or more. This meter is not sold as a kit to measure ketone (and glucose) concentration in blood, but just a meter. In order to use the meter on a regular basis, in addition to the meter, you must have blood ketone test strips (and blood glucose test strips, if you are interested in a glucose measurement). These are purchased separately. So the buyer of this meter cannot get results without making another purchase (or purchases). In addition, to make a measurement, you must first use a lancet with lancet holder to draw blood. The permanent holder and 10 disposable lancets do come with the meter. To complicate this buying process, if you go to a pharmacy to purchase test strips, the pharmacy staff will likely give you the wrong strips, since many staffers don't know the difference between urine test strips and blood test strips. Be sure you ask for blood test strips (not urinalysis strips). All in all, Abbott has not done a good job of explaining the testing process nor explained what materials are needed on a routine basis.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wiz2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/16/2007

Customer review by tars

5.0 stars 10/16/2007 by tars
by tars

My ganddaughter is using this machine. It works out very well in school because it reads ketones also. But the strips are very expensive. Insurance only covers 20%. You have to buy 2 different strips it gets very expensive.

Was this review helpful? (38) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tars
Lowell MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
easy to use
7/13/2014

Customer review by killroys

4.0 stars 7/13/2014 by killroys
by killroys
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am just using it for ketone monitoring it works great. I am on a ketogenic diet so I have to monitor my ketones about once or twice a week.

Was this review helpful? (89) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
killroys
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy and Accutate
9/12/2016

Customer review by JJJJ

5.0 stars 9/12/2016 by JJJJ
by JJJJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased Precision Xtra Blood Glucose Monitor online and picked it up at my local Walmart to avoid shipping costs. The minister is perfect and just what I was looking for. Very easy to read results and to use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JJJJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great monitor
9/7/2016

Customer review by karie

5.0 stars 9/7/2016 by karie
by karie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used this monitor for 11 years, this is an additional one to put in my travel bag.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
karie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
An excellent product
9/23/2009

Customer review by Maindu12

5.0 stars 9/23/2009 by Maindu12
by Maindu12

This kit is small, easy to handle, easy to read and only needs very little blood sample to perform analysis. Results comes back within 5 seconds. This product out performes more expensive competitor's kits. I highly recommend this product to every one who wants to keep track of their blood sugar levels closely.

Was this review helpful? (53) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maindu12
Arlington, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top Tool
5/20/2008

Customer review by McDuffer

5.0 stars 5/20/2008 by McDuffer
by McDuffer

Accurate , Checked twice at same time Got a 64 & a 66 ,Didn't think a meter could be that good.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
McDuffer
London KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excelent Product
3/13/2008

Customer review by ArmyVet

5.0 stars 3/13/2008 by ArmyVet
by ArmyVet

I have used this test meter 3 times a day for more than a year. I get accurate results in 5 seconds. Small enough that I carry it around in a small bag with my medications.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArmyVet
Green, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Precision xtra blood glucose monitor
6/18/2014

Customer review by icats

5.0 stars 6/18/2014 by icats
by icats
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Like this monitor using it to monitor both ketones and glucose. Says it comes with the strips but I didn't have any in my package, and had to order them through eBay which I'd say is the downside to this monitor, Walmart doesn't carry the strips and they are expensive, guess you can order from Canada too at a 2.99 per ketone strip. Think this company would make the strips more assess able and cheaper.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
icats
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Monitoring System
7/9/2016

Customer review by 1234

5.0 stars 7/9/2016 by 1234
by 1234
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This Blood Glucose Monitoring System is easy to use and keeps me organized. There is a nice feature where the monitor stores the previous blood glucose reading.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Paramedic approved!
10/7/2013

Customer review by MunchkinKF

5.0 stars 10/7/2013 by MunchkinKF
by MunchkinKF
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have been using these glucometers for years in our very busy Emergency Medical Services (Ambulance) system. I wanted the same type of unit in my medical kit because I was familiar with it. Needless to say I was very pleased when I found out why the ambulance service had purchased this type of glucometer, it was one of the cheapest! Don't mind if I do.... If it works in the rough environment of a busy EMS service and in the constantly thrown around world of my personal medical response kit then it should work great for you in a less hostile environment like your home.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MunchkinKF
West Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Precision Xtra
4/27/2016

Customer review by Terry

5.0 stars 4/27/2016 by Terry
by Terry

Easy to use no checking with fluid to monitor the device and accurate.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Terry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
my boyfriend uses this product
9/10/2007

Customer review by nascardeijr

5.0 stars 9/10/2007 by nascardeijr
by nascardeijr

I have noticed that this is easy to use. The only thing is that he does not have insurance and the strips are expensive. Other than that it is an excellent machine.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nascardeijr
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Glucose meter
1/10/2014

Customer review by Chaz70

5.0 stars 1/10/2014 by Chaz70
by Chaz70
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is an exact replacement for a device which I have used for 10 years. I am extremely pleased with the device. It is very easy to use and easy to travel with and I am very happy with the price.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chaz70
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Large display, easy to read
9/26/2014

Customer review by Ginaflo

3.0 stars 9/26/2014 by Ginaflo
by Ginaflo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Monitor itself is easy to use and read. The directions are easy to follow. I hate that the strips are individually wrapped, during low blood sugars they can be difficult to open,

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ginaflo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Precision Xtra
3/25/2016

Customer review by klmn

5.0 stars 3/25/2016 by klmn
by klmn

Much more accurate than the ketone sticks (urine test). Very important when managing a child with type 1 diabetes.

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
klmn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Product
4/23/2016

Customer review by TomW

5.0 stars 4/23/2016 by TomW
by TomW

I am very pleased with Precision Xtra monitor. It is very easy to use. Looking forward to excellent service.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TomW
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews