Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.7out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 | 62 reviews
5 stars
51
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
Sort by: 
1-20 of 56 reviews
1-20 of 56 reviews
Precision Xtra Glucose Monitor
8/10/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased this monitor on the advice of my doctor mainly to check ketone levels for nutritional ketosis. I also monitor blood glucose but not for diabetic purposes, simply out of curiosity. It is easy to use, has all the features that I need, and I especially like the memory feature. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (40)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
10/16/2007
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My ganddaughter is using this machine. It works out very well in school because it reads ketones also. But the strips are very expensive. Insurance only covers 20%. You have to buy 2 different strips it gets very expensive.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (44)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
easy to use
7/13/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I am just using it for ketone monitoring it works great. I am on a ketogenic diet so I have to monitor my ketones about once or twice a week.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (113)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Disappointing Results
2/5/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Precision Test strips were the first strips I used when I was first diagnosed with diabetes. That was over 20 years ago. Perhaps five or so years ago Precision started having trouble with their strips and I started using Accu Chek Aviva. Those test strips seemed to be a lot more accurate albeit a lot more expensive. Now that I have retired the discount I was getting to pay for Accu Chek is no longer available to me so I went back to Precision. I have now decided to pay the extra money and use Accu Chek because Precision seems to be from 20 - 75 mg/dL (?) off. I need an accurate reading because with an A1C of 8.5, and a documented case of Diabetic Retinopathy, I can't afford to get less than accurate readings. I hope they get it fixed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
An excellent product
9/23/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This kit is small, easy to handle, easy to read and only needs very little blood sample to perform analysis. Results comes back within 5 seconds. This product out performes more expensive competitor's kits. I highly recommend this product to every one who wants to keep track of their blood sugar levels closely.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (58)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Precision xtra blood glucose monitor
6/18/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Like this monitor using it to monitor both ketones and glucose. Says it comes with the strips but I didn't have any in my package, and had to order them through eBay which I'd say is the downside to this monitor, Walmart doesn't carry the strips and they are expensive, guess you can order from Canada too at a 2.99 per ketone strip. Think this company would make the strips more assess able and cheaper.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Top Tool
5/20/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Accurate , Checked twice at same time Got a 64 & a 66 ,Didn't think a meter could be that good.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excelent Product
3/13/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have used this test meter 3 times a day for more than a year. I get accurate results in 5 seconds. Small enough that I carry it around in a small bag with my medications.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
works great!
2/5/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Love the dual function. Fast results. Lansing device not so great, had to buy another one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Paramedic approved!
10/7/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We have been using these glucometers for years in our very busy Emergency Medical Services (Ambulance) system. I wanted the same type of unit in my medical kit because I was familiar with it. Needless to say I was very pleased when I found out why the ambulance service had purchased this type of glucometer, it was one of the cheapest! Don't mind if I do.... If it works in the rough environment of a busy EMS service and in the constantly thrown around world of my personal medical response kit then it should work great for you in a less hostile environment like your home.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
easy to use and convenient
11/28/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I am not that far gone but it was suggested I test myself for health purposes and this little machine works very well to monitor me.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Need to be able to order to ketone strips
6/10/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Very easy to use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great monitor
9/7/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have used this monitor for 11 years, this is an additional one to put in my travel bag.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Large display, easy to read
9/26/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The Monitor itself is easy to use and read. The directions are easy to follow. I hate that the strips are individually wrapped, during low blood sugars they can be difficult to open,
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
my boyfriend uses this product
9/10/2007
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have noticed that this is easy to use. The only thing is that he does not have insurance and the strips are expensive. Other than that it is an excellent machine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Glucose meter
1/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is an exact replacement for a device which I have used for 10 years. I am extremely pleased with the device. It is very easy to use and easy to travel with and I am very happy with the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lack of Information
9/7/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The people who buy this product don't want what's in this box. They want a measurement that represents the concentration of a compound that is circulating in their blood. They can't get it from the material inside this box. After searching the internet about ketometers sold all over the world, I was very confused about what I was actually buying. There is no statement on this box explaining what the box contains. Before buying the product, I wish someone had told me that in addition to buying this meter, I would also have to make at least one other purchase. Actually, not one but two or more. This meter is not sold as a kit to measure ketone (and glucose) concentration in blood, but just a meter. In order to use the meter on a regular basis, in addition to the meter, you must have blood ketone test strips (and blood glucose test strips, if you are interested in a glucose measurement). These are purchased separately. So the buyer of this meter cannot get results without making another purchase (or purchases). In addition, to make a measurement, you must first use a lancet with lancet holder to draw blood. The permanent holder and 10 disposable lancets do come with the meter. To complicate this buying process, if you go to a pharmacy to purchase test strips, the pharmacy staff will likely give you the wrong strips, since many staffers don't know the difference between urine test strips and blood test strips. Be sure you ask for blood test strips (not urinalysis strips). All in all, Abbott has not done a good job of explaining the testing process nor explained what materials are needed on a routine basis.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy to use, high readings
8/25/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Easy to use and takes a pretty small blood drop. Testing strips are foil wrapped so not damaged by heat & humidity by opening a container. I have found this meter reads high over 90% of the time. I use a different meter now.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great meter, especially for ketones
9/26/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We love this meter and order a replacement because the screen on the old one was starting to be finicky. Otherwise, we're very happy with it and use it primarily for checking ketones.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Meter
11/3/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Been using this meter since June and it has met my expectations. Very accurate. Small and easy to use. Nice carrying case that easily fits in my purse. Using the Precision Xtra test strips in the meter and like that they easily fit in the carrying case and each strip is individually packaged in foil.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640685, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-