Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 150 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

150 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

150 reviews | 4 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
82
4 stars
29
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 stars
17
1-20 of 137 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 137 total reviews
1-20 of 137 reviews
Great for Coffee and Tea!
8/6/2007

Customer review by Benners

5.0 stars 8/6/2007 by Benners
by Benners

This is a great product. Sleek and Useful. Its coffee filter works great and the grouds of coffee and tea never get through the fine holes. It saves money on filters and is very easy to clean. I have had this coffee maker for 2-3 years now and absolutely love it!

Was this review helpful? (38) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Benners
Rogers, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Excellent Coffee Maker for the Price
7/6/2009

Customer review by patti3487

5.0 stars 7/6/2009 by patti3487
by patti3487

This coffee maker exactly fits the bill for those who don't like pre-ground coffee but aren't willing to spend hundreds of dollars to have fresh ground coffee at home. The price was excellent compared to any other sites or models. Admittedly grinding is loud, but no louder than grinding your own beans in a separate grinder plus it doesn't last long. I like the double windows for water volume and although there are several parts to clean, it is very easy.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
patti3487
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A great cup of coffee
2/13/2008

Customer review by msmaf2

5.0 stars 2/13/2008 by msmaf2
by msmaf2

I have always been a one-cup-a-day coffee drinker. Now that I have this neat machine I drink 3-4 cups a day! I love the smell of fresh ground coffee beans first thing in the morning...it makes all the difference! The coffee always tastes the same every time you grind and brew. It is easy to clean and maintain. I would definitely recommend this product to all coffee drinkers!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
msmaf2
Corning, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for the Money
5/19/2008

Customer review by FirstTimeReview

5.0 stars 5/19/2008 by FirstTimeReview
by FirstTimeReview

I would highly recommend this product. It is a great value for the money and looks very nice. The only thing I would warn about, is that it is extremely loud during the grinding process. It sounds like a plane is taking off in your kitchen. Other than that, I would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FirstTimeReview
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
BUY ONE!!! Great Value
9/6/2009

Customer review by sbcjetboat

5.0 stars 9/6/2009 by sbcjetboat
by sbcjetboat

I read reviews over and over and came to the conclusion that there is not a good coffee maker on the market under $350 that gets good reviews. I had to say the heck with it and just go for it. I didnt want to spend much but i was tired of the cheap $20.00 junkers. Eventually I would like a top of the line machine because I really do appreciate a good cup of coffee. I've traveled the world and had the best. Since my budget was limited, I found this product at walmart for under $50.00 and as soon as I got home fired it up and made a pot. Excellent coffee. I wanted the pour over where it keeps hot water in reserve and therefore makes a pot in 3-4 minutes. Well I couldnt afford one and feel that this unit produces a quality cup, just takes 10 minutes or so. I found that the bean grinder DOES hold enough beans ( I bought a relatively dark roast Juan Valdez) and the coffee came out great. It didnt come with a reuseable metal filter basket but I had one from an old unit so I used that and it worked fine. The glass pot interchanges with older units so I was able to keep the old pot as a spare. Sure the grinder is loud. Who cares????? It works fine. People complained about cleaning it. The grinder comes right out and can go in the top rack of the dishwasher although I just wash it by hand. I say lazy people go to WAWA and buy your coffee. This unit works great for $50.00 I cant speak for how long it will last though since I just bought it. So far I am very pleased with it. Kinda wish I bought one sooner. Thats why I rated it average for longevity. I dont know yet. As I said I would eventually like a top of the line model but for $50 Id say you cant go wrong if you want a grind and brew. Kinda makes me want to go make a pot now.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sbcjetboat
Massey, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOUSY MACHINE
12/9/2008

Customer review by gotostore

1.0 stars 12/9/2008 by gotostore
by gotostore

This is the first "grind&brew" machine I ever bought, and the LAST! I read all the reviews before my purchase, most were good. I even went with the consumer reports best buy exact machine Mr Coffee GBX23. IT IS LOUSY! The beans only get half ground, then they get stuck inside the grinding tube because of the steam from the water, you have to IMMEDIATELY take it apart when its done or the grounds will get hardened in the grinder, and forget about it if you like strong coffee! THe beans are only halfway brewed when I open it up, some beans don't even get wet, letalone brewed! Save your money, just buy a auto-drip machine. The only way to get a good cup of coffee from this is to only use the pre-ground in the basket. The machine looks all good and fancy, if thats what your looking for . I hope the next buyer gets to read this and moves on to something else! LOUSY!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gotostore
collegeville pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product
7/23/2007

Customer review by speedykia

5.0 stars 7/23/2007 by speedykia
by speedykia

Easy to operate...Great coffee pot

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
speedykia
Gordon, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product/Great Buy!
9/30/2009

Customer review by tdhsmh

5.0 stars 9/30/2009 by tdhsmh
by tdhsmh

This may be the most inexpensive grind and brew on the market but it is not short on performance. Makes a great cup of coffee! Love the ability to set it to brew later and that it has automatic shut off. Also, the button to set the brew strength to "Strong" is fabulous. Lots of features of other brands without the hefty price tag. Bought this one to replace one just like it. Only the water channel had come loose from the grinding chamber but it was still usable. Just wanted a fresh one! You do have to clean and dry the grinding chamber after each use but this is no more inconvenient that using a separate grinder. Buy it and I don't think you will be sorry!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tdhsmh
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Strange Design
4/10/2009

Customer review by JEdwards

3.0 stars 4/10/2009 by JEdwards
by JEdwards

I have read the other reviews and I am wondering if they all bought the same coffee pot as we did. The grind and brew would be awesome if the grinder would hold enough beans to make a full 12 cups. According to the direction and how many tables spoons of beans they say to put in will not fit in the built in grinder. When we do use this coffee maker we have to grind beans twice, or only make a partial pot of coffee. Not the best design I have seen.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JEdwards
New Castle, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great if you like weak coffee
1/2/2010

Customer review by TofuDood

2.0 stars 1/2/2010 by TofuDood
by TofuDood

We bought this Mr. Coffee GBX23 because of good reviews in Consumer Reports, and Walmart.com had the best price by far. We were hoping the grind-and-brew feature would be an upgrade from our previous brew-only coffee maker. Unfortunately, even when set on "Strong," the coffee is weak. We make 8 "cups" (=3 large mugs) every morning (only 2/3 of a pot), and even increasing the amount of beans to the maximum that would fit in the grinder (supposedly enough for 12 "cups") was not enough to make good coffee. And we used some really robust coffee beans! So we'll be returning this product for a refund. Too bad, because otherwise there was a lot to like about the rest of this coffee maker: easy controls, relatively easy cleanup, and a carafe that actually pours well. A few minor notes if you like weak coffee and are still thinking of getting this product: 1. You will have to clean and dry the grinding chamber after every pot, because the steam makes the leftover grounds stick to the chamber, which would block the flow of grounds in the next batch. Luckily the chamber is removable and easy to clean by hand or in the dishwasher. 2. You'll need to find the large paper filters from Mr. Coffee. Generic basket filters in most grocery stores are too small. 3. The beeps with every button push are very loud and can't be silenced. 4. Yes the grinder is kind of loud. I actually liked the sound, kind of like Pavlov's bell -- made my mouth start to water in anticipation. 5. It's bigger than most coffee makers. Dimensions listed above (10.39 x 6.87 x 8.425) are way wrong. It's more like ~12" W x 12" D x 16" H. Check other websites for correct dimensions if you're worried about space. Hope that's helpful!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TofuDood
Would recommend to a friend? No
An Average Coffee Maker
2/4/2010

Customer review by FusseyRetiree

3.0 stars 2/4/2010 by FusseyRetiree
by FusseyRetiree

We bought this to replace a Melitta Mill N Brew, which we liked very much but is no longer available. The GBX23 was highly ranked by Walmart & Consumer Reports. We found it to be very noisy to use early in the morning if everyone is not awake. It also makes coffee that seemed to weak to us. We tried 3 bean types and different ratios of beans to water. The grind that is deposited in the basket looks too course so the water passes thru without capturing coffee flavor. On the plus side it was very easy to clean. If you aren't a coffee critic, the flavor might be OK. We returned ours for a full refund without question - great Walmart customer service.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FusseyRetiree
Fort Payne, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
mr coffee grind n brew coffeemaker
3/29/2009

Customer review by wildaboutpugs

2.0 stars 3/29/2009 by wildaboutpugs
by wildaboutpugs

This did not compare to the Melita I had before. It can't handle grinding enough beans for the whole 12 cups. The steam builds condensation on the grinder and the coffee sticks to it, making for a very weak cup of coffee. And the pot itself drips like crazy when pouring.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wildaboutpugs
torrington, ct
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Broke within a week
6/15/2009

Customer review by IrrRecall

1.0 stars 6/15/2009 by IrrRecall
by IrrRecall

I bought this coffee maker because of the good reviews, but wasn't much help at all. It was a great coffee maker until it stoped working. I'm currently stationed in Iraq, and was planning to use it until the end of my tour. After receiving the coffee maker it broke within a week. Since resources and mailing is impossible where I am stationed at. I am now suck with a broken coffee maker for 6 months. Like I mentioned before it is a great coffee maker. Easy clean up and program it to make coffee in the morning. Nothing better than starting your day with a fresh cup of coffee in Iraq.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IrrRecall
Mahmudiyah, Iraq
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/29/2008

Customer review by mrssss

1.0 stars 8/29/2008 by mrssss
by mrssss

Very poor coffee quality when using the grind function. Even when choosing strong brew with scoops more coffee grinds than required, the coffee comes out watery and horrid. The grinding mechanism is not high quality at all and the product is absolutely not worth paying for. Better to have followed my first instincts and bought a coffee maker and coffee grinder separately.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrssss
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very disappointed with Mr. C
12/28/2008

Customer review by NeedMyCuppaJoe

1.0 stars 12/28/2008 by NeedMyCuppaJoe
by NeedMyCuppaJoe

We owned the Cuisinart grinder coffee maker for several years and loved it, so when it broke finally we were happy to see Mr. Coffee made a similar product. After the first pot, we realized they are extremely different products. No matter how many beans we put in, setting it on Strong and even making 6-8 cups of coffee, it was difficult to even get a coffee flavor. As someone else wrote, we opened it and saw that grounds had not even gotten wet. It was very awkward to clean as well. We dumped the coffeemaker and will get another Cuisinart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NeedMyCuppaJoe
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Do Not Buy This Coffeemaker!!
10/4/2008

Customer review by LocutusBorg

1.0 stars 10/4/2008 by LocutusBorg
by LocutusBorg

I bought this coffeemaker because of the positive reviews and have been severely disappointed with it. I have yet to have a consistant pot of coffee from it. The coffee mill is of the blender style instead of the burr style. The mechanism is very flimsy. The shaft for the grinding blades wobbles and the blades are of very thin metal. If you load the grinding chamber with 4 Tbs of beans to make a full pot, 1/3 of the beans will not grind. Water flows from the grinding chamber to the brewing chamber through a metal filter with holes in it, resulting in clogging the holes and leaving even more coffee in the grinding chamber. When it dries out, the remaining coffee grounds are hard as a brick and have to be manually removed. The brew process takes 15 minutes or more to complete. I have a Mr. Coffee grinder ($20.00 here) and a 10 year old Mr. Coffee brewer that runs circles around this one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LocutusBorg
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Mr Coffeemaker
11/13/2008

Customer review by Rob01

1.0 stars 11/13/2008 by Rob01
by Rob01

I am totally disappointed. I opened the package, read the instructions. couldnt wait to get a good cup of coffee, pushed the power button and nothing happened. thinking there was something I missed contacted makers of the product who stated they would send out another. It will take three weeks for delivery...brandnew coffeemaker that wouldn't start....

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rob01
Powhatan, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Weak Coffee
1/4/2009

Customer review by rdc5000

1.0 stars 1/4/2009 by rdc5000
by rdc5000

This coffee maker is poorly designed and brews unbelieveable weak coffee. If you enjoyed coffee flavored water that looks like rust then this is the one for you. If you enjoy real coffee, keep looking.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rdc5000
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
what a hassel and a mess
2/7/2009

Customer review by blueshasta

1.0 stars 2/7/2009 by blueshasta
by blueshasta

A very cumbersom system Very loud never got a good cup of coffee after trying for a week. I guess you get what you pay for very poor

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blueshasta
auburn, wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worst coffee maker ever
3/9/2009

Customer review by shopperLL

1.0 stars 3/9/2009 by shopperLL
by shopperLL

Do not buy this coffee maker unless you like "really loud" noise. When it grinds it sounded like a jet plane landed in my kitchen! I am not kidding. And the coffee beans container for grinding only holds about 4 cups of coffee and this is a 12 cup machine. This is the worst coffee maker I have ever used. And I wasted my money on the shipping too. Very unhappy about this purchase. I returned this after just one use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shopperLL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 137 total reviews
1-20 of 137 reviews