Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

39 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

39 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
1
1-20 of 33 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
A Must Have :)
4/6/2010

Customer review by MommaQuintero

5.0 stars 4/6/2010 by MommaQuintero
by MommaQuintero

We have an older built home (1979) and the banister upstars has very wide gaps so When moving in with my daughter who at the time was learning to walk, I was very concerned about her safety. I searched several websites for some type of gaurd, and found the best price and reviews for it here. I will say that installing was tedieous, and yes there is absolutly no way of doing it solo...def at least a 2 person task. I recomend measuring it out against banster and marking placement of holes ahead of time with a perment marker, then punching them out. It is difficult as the plastic is pretty thick, and the hole puncher included is hard to use, but any hole puncher on this material is ( we tried several thinking it was just the puncher included ). Try not to get frustrated and plan to take several breaks while installing :) Its so worth it in the end. I have had mine up now for about 6 mnths and it has held up great even with kids pushing against it. I am very happy with it and would def reccomend this product to all with small kids in the home.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MommaQuintero
La Junta, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works Great For What We Needed
2/13/2009

Customer review by SLEP

4.0 stars 2/13/2009 by SLEP
by SLEP

I read a few reviews saying the guard was flimsy and looked bad, but we just installed it on our new home's banister and it works perfect for exactly what we needed. Slightly difficult to install, depending on your banister, but we haven't had any tearing (as long as you follow the instructions and place the holes in the proper places), and unless the light hits it just right in the evening time, we can't see the guard at all. Sure, finger prints show up, but it's just like glass, of course they'll show - just clean with some window cleaner. It was thinner than I would have originally guessed, but I guess any thicker and you wouldn't be able to install it yourself. Plus it works just fine unless your kids are going to be ramming straight into the guard at full force.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SLEP
Temecula, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Keeps them safe
3/15/2011

Customer review by Crazy19monthold

5.0 stars 3/15/2011 by Crazy19monthold
by Crazy19monthold

I have a 19 month old son and he is ALL boy. That means he is into everything and always figuring out how to beat the child safety stuff. We live in a split level and have a banister. He was excited one evening when my hubby came home and slipped right through the banister, where there is a 4 foot drop. Thank Goodness my hubby caught him. So I searched the web that night and walmart had this and could ship next day for a very fair price!! It was an easy put up and has lasted US for 3 weeks so far!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crazy19monthold
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works as expected
2/2/2009

Customer review by christi321

4.0 stars 2/2/2009 by christi321
by christi321

Product worked as expected. Probably not the best product in the world but for ease of use and price, it works. My 14 month old stands against it and it holds up. If I could find out what the roll actually is I would think it would be a lot cheaper to buy. I would recommend this to anyone who has wide banisters as we do. We did zip tie every banister instead of every other as recommended so we had to buy more zip ties. I didn't think it was incredibly hard to put up as others did, it probably took about 45 minutes total.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
christi321
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A good idea, but not practical
12/29/2008

Customer review by Anonymous19464

2.0 stars 12/29/2008 by Anonymous19464
by Anonymous19464

Had looked all over for this product and found the best value at Walmart...ordered with trepidation because I had read many reviews that spoke to the fraility of it. Decided to order anyway and it arrived already cracked to pieces. Took it back the next day and returned with no problem. Going to try to get the same effect with clear shower liners and grommets.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Anonymous19464
Would recommend to a friend? No
Buy for utility, not beauty
7/24/2012

Customer review by StackyPants

3.0 stars 7/24/2012 by StackyPants
by StackyPants

After reading reviews I anticipated that this product would be unprofessional looking, and that is accurate. However, it does get the job done, and our railings are large enough for a child to fit through, so it was a safety hazard. It's not very hard to put up, but will likely require a drill as the hold punch can only go an inch into the plastic. It does create rough edges, but we smoothed them as best we could and so far the kids haven't gotten cut on it. If your railing is a potential hazard, then I recommend, but if you just want to stop kids from throwing toys, I would work on changing their behavior rather than put this stuff up... it's not very attractive.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StackyPants
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/11/2008

Customer review by sarahsnewmommy

5.0 stars 5/11/2008 by sarahsnewmommy
by sarahsnewmommy

if you want a non-noticeable protection for your banisters.....look no further its great! 2 man job installation

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sarahsnewmommy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So far, so good
4/1/2014

Customer review by MamaWolf2013

4.0 stars 4/1/2014 by MamaWolf2013
by MamaWolf2013

I've only had the banister guard installed for about a week but it's doing what I expected. The 15' roll was actually more than I needed so we wrapped it around the banisters (inside & out). My 11 month old cannot throw toys through now or attempt to get her head stuck so I'm happy with this purchase. :-) It was easy to install, took maybe 15-20 mins.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MamaWolf2013
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A little pricey, but gets the job done
7/13/2009

Customer review by AMCFan

3.0 stars 7/13/2009 by AMCFan
by AMCFan

This banister guard gets the job done, but I was a little disappointed in quality. It is essentially a long roll of thick plastic that you try to tailor to your bainster by cutting it to size and hole punching holes to insert zip ties to wrap around your banister poles (hole puncher & zip ties were included). It was hard to measure it up to the banister to see where to punch the holes (hard to punch when it is up against the banister), so it did not install completely flat against banister like product shown in picture, so it doesn't look as pretty as the picture. Also, the baby's handprints show up all over it (but can be cleaned). It was a little pricey for what you get, but it does prevent the baby from putting body parts and/or toys through the banister rails.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AMCFan
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Was not 3ft., or 36 inches in height
10/26/2013

Customer review by devrose

2.0 stars 10/26/2013 by devrose
by devrose

Material was hard to work with and arrived about 4 inches shorter than described. So, I basically spent $30 on a piece of plastic that did not prevent my toddler from throwing things over the banister, she just has to put her hand in the 4 inch gap the material was supposed to cover but didn't. Absolute junk that is 32 inches tall, not 36! Worthless!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
devrose
Bossier city, la
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Gets the job done
3/5/2011

Customer review by cutoffcabin

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by cutoffcabin
by cutoffcabin

We have a metal banister and an open backed bookcase that we needed to cover, and this was perfect. We used screws through the plastic into the bookcase. It's totally clear, not too thick, not too thin, works great and easy to install. Comes with cloudy/clear zip ties and a hole punch.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cutoffcabin
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A very safe product
1/2/2011

Customer review by MomAgainBray

5.0 stars 1/2/2011 by MomAgainBray
by MomAgainBray

My husband didn't have any issues installing the banister guard and now our 16 month old is safe! We just moved into our house in early September 2010 and until recently we have had painters plastic on the banister because we were doing work in the basement and didn't have to worry about our son getting into trouble but since he started walking on Halloween we rediscovered we were in trouble and knew the painter's plastic wouldn't work! Since we each have adult children from previous marriages I knew we needed something stronger to protect our 16 month old. I ordered this product around the 13th of December 2010 and was told that it would be at my store between the 17th and 23rd, it was there ON the 17th. To me that is awesome. Now if our son will just leave the dog food alone everything will be peachy! Yeah right, I know better!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomAgainBray
Blaine, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
piece of thick plastic
4/7/2014

Customer review by Eddie6

2.0 stars 4/7/2014 by Eddie6
by Eddie6

All this is is a thicker piece of plastic that you connect with zip ties. I can purchase something a lot less expensive and nicer looking.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eddie6
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
7/15/2013

Customer review by cdf67

5.0 stars 7/15/2013 by cdf67
by cdf67

This was just a advertised.and it works good

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cdf67
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
We love it!
11/20/2012

Customer review by MASanderson

5.0 stars 11/20/2012 by MASanderson
by MASanderson

This was easy to put up and works great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MASanderson
Frisco Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Useful product
6/30/2010

Customer review by JesusLovesYou2010

5.0 stars 6/30/2010 by JesusLovesYou2010
by JesusLovesYou2010

It is very useful product for those who have small babies. It is sturdy and does the job of blocking the gaps in the railing. It took more time to get the item though.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JesusLovesYou2010
Ames, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good product
11/3/2013

Customer review by Oldfartdude

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by Oldfartdude
by Oldfartdude

Great product and priced well. Yeah wal mart

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Oldfartdude
95320
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/18/2013

Customer review by ButtersMcCoy

5.0 stars 1/18/2013 by ButtersMcCoy
by ButtersMcCoy

I was skeptical, but once I installed the safety guard I was very please! It seems to be very secure, and the look is not bad at all. *Make sure you give it the extra two inches of material on both sides that they recommend! *** This "does not" mean you can leave your child unattended around the banister guard!!!***

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ButtersMcCoy
San Jose, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good safety item
7/23/2008

Customer review by m123

5.0 stars 7/23/2008 by m123
by m123

While it may be overpriced for the simple plastic construction, it does serve its purpose. It isn't too difficult to install, though attaching it to the wall wasn't ideal. My 11 month old daughter is much safer now. She enjoys hitting the plastic, but I feel confident that it will hold up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
m123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great product!
6/3/2008

Customer review by AydansMommy2007

5.0 stars 6/3/2008 by AydansMommy2007
by AydansMommy2007

I live in a raised-ranch style home and have a banister that would be of concern for any young family. I first purchased the "rail net" and was very disappointed. The KidSafe Banister Guard was almost 2x the cost of the rail net but was 100x the product. It was easy to install (with an extra set of hands) and is barely noticeable. However, it is made of a very thin plastic and I question the long term durability. After a great deal of research, this is the best product available to address the safety issue of a banister.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AydansMommy2007
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews