Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

39 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

39 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
1
1-20 of 33 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
Buy for utility, not beauty
7/24/2012

Customer review by StackyPants

3.0 stars 7/24/2012 by StackyPants
by StackyPants

After reading reviews I anticipated that this product would be unprofessional looking, and that is accurate. However, it does get the job done, and our railings are large enough for a child to fit through, so it was a safety hazard. It's not very hard to put up, but will likely require a drill as the hold punch can only go an inch into the plastic. It does create rough edges, but we smoothed them as best we could and so far the kids haven't gotten cut on it. If your railing is a potential hazard, then I recommend, but if you just want to stop kids from throwing toys, I would work on changing their behavior rather than put this stuff up... it's not very attractive.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StackyPants
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Must Have :)
4/6/2010

Customer review by MommaQuintero

5.0 stars 4/6/2010 by MommaQuintero
by MommaQuintero

We have an older built home (1979) and the banister upstars has very wide gaps so When moving in with my daughter who at the time was learning to walk, I was very concerned about her safety. I searched several websites for some type of gaurd, and found the best price and reviews for it here. I will say that installing was tedieous, and yes there is absolutly no way of doing it solo...def at least a 2 person task. I recomend measuring it out against banster and marking placement of holes ahead of time with a perment marker, then punching them out. It is difficult as the plastic is pretty thick, and the hole puncher included is hard to use, but any hole puncher on this material is ( we tried several thinking it was just the puncher included ). Try not to get frustrated and plan to take several breaks while installing :) Its so worth it in the end. I have had mine up now for about 6 mnths and it has held up great even with kids pushing against it. I am very happy with it and would def reccomend this product to all with small kids in the home.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommaQuintero
La Junta, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works Great For What We Needed
2/13/2009

Customer review by SLEP

4.0 stars 2/13/2009 by SLEP
by SLEP

I read a few reviews saying the guard was flimsy and looked bad, but we just installed it on our new home's banister and it works perfect for exactly what we needed. Slightly difficult to install, depending on your banister, but we haven't had any tearing (as long as you follow the instructions and place the holes in the proper places), and unless the light hits it just right in the evening time, we can't see the guard at all. Sure, finger prints show up, but it's just like glass, of course they'll show - just clean with some window cleaner. It was thinner than I would have originally guessed, but I guess any thicker and you wouldn't be able to install it yourself. Plus it works just fine unless your kids are going to be ramming straight into the guard at full force.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SLEP
Temecula, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A good idea, but not practical
12/29/2008

Customer review by Anonymous19464

2.0 stars 12/29/2008 by Anonymous19464
by Anonymous19464

Had looked all over for this product and found the best value at Walmart...ordered with trepidation because I had read many reviews that spoke to the fraility of it. Decided to order anyway and it arrived already cracked to pieces. Took it back the next day and returned with no problem. Going to try to get the same effect with clear shower liners and grommets.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anonymous19464
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works as expected
2/2/2009

Customer review by christi321

4.0 stars 2/2/2009 by christi321
by christi321

Product worked as expected. Probably not the best product in the world but for ease of use and price, it works. My 14 month old stands against it and it holds up. If I could find out what the roll actually is I would think it would be a lot cheaper to buy. I would recommend this to anyone who has wide banisters as we do. We did zip tie every banister instead of every other as recommended so we had to buy more zip ties. I didn't think it was incredibly hard to put up as others did, it probably took about 45 minutes total.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
christi321
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Keeps them safe
3/15/2011

Customer review by Crazy19monthold

5.0 stars 3/15/2011 by Crazy19monthold
by Crazy19monthold

I have a 19 month old son and he is ALL boy. That means he is into everything and always figuring out how to beat the child safety stuff. We live in a split level and have a banister. He was excited one evening when my hubby came home and slipped right through the banister, where there is a 4 foot drop. Thank Goodness my hubby caught him. So I searched the web that night and walmart had this and could ship next day for a very fair price!! It was an easy put up and has lasted US for 3 weeks so far!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crazy19monthold
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A little pricey, but gets the job done
7/13/2009

Customer review by AMCFan

3.0 stars 7/13/2009 by AMCFan
by AMCFan

This banister guard gets the job done, but I was a little disappointed in quality. It is essentially a long roll of thick plastic that you try to tailor to your bainster by cutting it to size and hole punching holes to insert zip ties to wrap around your banister poles (hole puncher & zip ties were included). It was hard to measure it up to the banister to see where to punch the holes (hard to punch when it is up against the banister), so it did not install completely flat against banister like product shown in picture, so it doesn't look as pretty as the picture. Also, the baby's handprints show up all over it (but can be cleaned). It was a little pricey for what you get, but it does prevent the baby from putting body parts and/or toys through the banister rails.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AMCFan
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not the best quality, but satisfactory.
5/19/2015

Customer review by jermpc

3.0 stars 5/19/2015 by jermpc
by jermpc

With primarily zip ties holding it in place and fairly flimsy plastic, it is not the highest quality, but it is good enough. It does what it says it will do. It has been a good deterrent for our littlest one who used to try to put her head through the railing frequently. I suppose it is as good as the sturdiness of your railing. It is also not very attractive. Definitely does not enhance to the decor of our entry way. My biggest complaint is that installation is aggravating. Having to use a hole-punch to make holes for the zip ties got to be quite frustrating, but it did not take too long to do, maybe 45 minutes to an hour. Much of the time was spent going up and down stairs and climbing a ladder to install the zip ties on the bottom because they could not be reached any other way. I was able to install it by myself, though. For the cost and time spent, it was worth it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jermpc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A very safe product
1/2/2011

Customer review by MomAgainBray

5.0 stars 1/2/2011 by MomAgainBray
by MomAgainBray

My husband didn't have any issues installing the banister guard and now our 16 month old is safe! We just moved into our house in early September 2010 and until recently we have had painters plastic on the banister because we were doing work in the basement and didn't have to worry about our son getting into trouble but since he started walking on Halloween we rediscovered we were in trouble and knew the painter's plastic wouldn't work! Since we each have adult children from previous marriages I knew we needed something stronger to protect our 16 month old. I ordered this product around the 13th of December 2010 and was told that it would be at my store between the 17th and 23rd, it was there ON the 17th. To me that is awesome. Now if our son will just leave the dog food alone everything will be peachy! Yeah right, I know better!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomAgainBray
Blaine, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So far, so good
4/1/2014

Customer review by MamaWolf2013

4.0 stars 4/1/2014 by MamaWolf2013
by MamaWolf2013
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've only had the banister guard installed for about a week but it's doing what I expected. The 15' roll was actually more than I needed so we wrapped it around the banisters (inside & out). My 11 month old cannot throw toys through now or attempt to get her head stuck so I'm happy with this purchase. :-) It was easy to install, took maybe 15-20 mins.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamaWolf2013
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Was not 3ft., or 36 inches in height
10/26/2013

Customer review by devrose

2.0 stars 10/26/2013 by devrose
by devrose

Material was hard to work with and arrived about 4 inches shorter than described. So, I basically spent $30 on a piece of plastic that did not prevent my toddler from throwing things over the banister, she just has to put her hand in the 4 inch gap the material was supposed to cover but didn't. Absolute junk that is 32 inches tall, not 36! Worthless!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
devrose
Bossier city, la
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
5/11/2008

Customer review by sarahsnewmommy

5.0 stars 5/11/2008 by sarahsnewmommy
by sarahsnewmommy

if you want a non-noticeable protection for your banisters.....look no further its great! 2 man job installation

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sarahsnewmommy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product!
6/3/2008

Customer review by AydansMommy2007

5.0 stars 6/3/2008 by AydansMommy2007
by AydansMommy2007

I live in a raised-ranch style home and have a banister that would be of concern for any young family. I first purchased the "rail net" and was very disappointed. The KidSafe Banister Guard was almost 2x the cost of the rail net but was 100x the product. It was easy to install (with an extra set of hands) and is barely noticeable. However, it is made of a very thin plastic and I question the long term durability. After a great deal of research, this is the best product available to address the safety issue of a banister.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AydansMommy2007
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Gets the job done
3/5/2011

Customer review by cutoffcabin

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by cutoffcabin
by cutoffcabin

We have a metal banister and an open backed bookcase that we needed to cover, and this was perfect. We used screws through the plastic into the bookcase. It's totally clear, not too thick, not too thin, works great and easy to install. Comes with cloudy/clear zip ties and a hole punch.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cutoffcabin
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
piece of thick plastic
4/7/2014

Customer review by Eddie6

2.0 stars 4/7/2014 by Eddie6
by Eddie6

All this is is a thicker piece of plastic that you connect with zip ties. I can purchase something a lot less expensive and nicer looking.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eddie6
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Safety first
6/9/2015

Customer review by BigFamily

5.0 stars 6/9/2015 by BigFamily
by BigFamily

This product is fairly easy to work with. It is much easier with two people. I feel much safer for my little ones to go up and down the stairs and to watch all of the activity downstairs from the balcony with this product in place. The paperpunch that comes with each roll is a little difficult to use so I just used tip of my knife to make the holes for the zip ties and it went much faster. It serves the purpose for which it was intended.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigFamily
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Keeps me from fearing the worst
7/20/2010

Customer review by childsafe

4.0 stars 7/20/2010 by childsafe
by childsafe

Overall, I'm happy with the product because it does what it's suppose to do. It keeps my toddler from going through the wide spaces in the banister. Sure, it's plastic-y looking and it was a bit difficult to put up, but that was to be expected. We definitely needed two of us. I'm just happy that it's clear and does the job. Only time will tell how long it will last, but it should be a good deterent for the kids.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
childsafe
Hershey, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works for me
10/3/2008

Customer review by keepitsafe

4.0 stars 10/3/2008 by keepitsafe
by keepitsafe

I just purchased and installed this product, but so far has worked for me! My 10 month old even stands by it and bangs against it with her hands (it makes noise!) and it hasn't affected it at all. Overall, I am happy with this product. Instead of using the zip ties that come with the product, my husband used screws, I think they won't rip out as easily, if you don't mind screwing into your banister.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
keepitsafe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2nd time around
2/5/2015

Customer review by TipTess

5.0 stars 2/5/2015 by TipTess
by TipTess

This is the second time we have purchased this item. Now we need it for our grandbabies. Our home is older and clearly not "code" as the stairs are dangerous and can fit a young child or pet through the side. This solves the problem nicely.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TipTess
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/18/2012

Customer review by Hanjh

4.0 stars 12/18/2012 by Hanjh
by Hanjh
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I do think that this product is overpriced, however due to there being a lack of anything else out there, this is a product that can give you peace of mind and I guess that is priceless. I would have liked it to be taller as to keep small toys from flying from the second story. There is not much of it so be aware you may have to order two.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hanjh
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews