Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 194 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

194 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

194 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
105
4 stars
63
3 stars
16
2 stars
2
1 stars
8
1-20 of 165 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 165 total reviews
1-20 of 165 reviews
Best BANG for your BUCK!
5/17/2008

Customer review by nbsbandit

5.0 stars 5/17/2008 by nbsbandit
by nbsbandit

The JVC 5.1 Surround Sound Receiver is one of the Best Receivers I have seen in a long time for the price! I shopped around different Stereo Outlet Stores who had this very same Product, but not the same Price. I've been using it now for about 3 weeks and it is a very good sounding Receiver with all the Power you would want! I have 2-150watt P.A. Speakers(with 15inch Woofers),2-120watt Pioneer Shelf Speakers and a Bose 120watt Powered Sub-Woofer and if you turn it up you can feel the Bass through your Bones and Rattle your Teeth with it(not that you would want to do that,but could). The sound is AMAZING! Listening to Music or watching a Movie, It has all the Features to bring the Sound "YOU WANT" out of it, and it looks Great too, do not let the Price fool you, this is a High End Receiver without the High End Price that you would pay if it was another Store! Another reason to Shop at WalMart for Great Deals on Quality Products!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nbsbandit
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Good Product
12/28/2007

Customer review by wmbuyer

5.0 stars 12/28/2007 by wmbuyer
by wmbuyer

Great product and excellent price! I am very satisfied with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wmbuyer
Albany, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
JVC 5.1 Channel Receiver
12/17/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/17/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We did not want to buy a total sorround sound package as we already had newer speakers. By ordering our JVC receiver on-line we were able to purchase exactly what we wanted. We did some research in Consumer Reports first to ensure that the receiver had high ratings. We are pleased with the price and product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Hot Springs Village, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
UNREAL VALUE
3/28/2008

Customer review by soundproof

5.0 stars 3/28/2008 by soundproof
by soundproof

I wanted to put together my own home theater system, let me tell you that this receiver has meet and exceded all expectations. The setup was easy with the help of the easy to read instruction booklet I have two 200 watt three way front speakers, a 250 watt ten inch supwoofer, the sound is unreal, not quite done yet, will buy from walmart too complete and upgrade my system.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
soundproof
Detroit,MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
An Excellent Receiver
3/19/2008

Customer review by musiclovereveryday

5.0 stars 3/19/2008 by musiclovereveryday
by musiclovereveryday

I am very pleased with this receiver.I think JVC makes very good products.This was a super value for a very low price.I had bought 2 other receivers of different Brands and neither of them could compare to the JVC.The sound is excellent and the setup is also very easy.I highly reccomend this receiver.Buy it,you will be glad you did.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
musiclovereveryday
York,Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good for the money
12/18/2007

Customer review by DaleC

5.0 stars 12/18/2007 by DaleC
by DaleC

As stated in other reviews, the setup can be a little tricky--not as intuitive as other receivers I've owned. But still, I got what I wanted--a powerful, versatile receiver with a graphic equalizer. I added a subwoofer as well to get the best sound for my home theater.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaleC
Gilbert, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Beautiful Sound/ Good value
11/28/2007

Customer review by Atpower

4.0 stars 11/28/2007 by Atpower
by Atpower

It has been two weeks now since I purchased this product and I could not be happier. I bought this unit because of the optical input. I hooked up my PS3 sound to it and it captures the different sound formats beautifully. Some things that took me awhile to figure out is that this unit requires a self-powered subwoofer. Which means you have to buy or own a subwoofer that has a built in amp. Since I already had one I was all set but keep in mind you will need to buy one if you don't have one and they cost upwards of $100 dollars. Also if you are planning to use the digital input you will have to choose the CD source on the unit since this is the pre-configured Digital input source set from the Factory. Another thing I liked about this unit is that it does not look cheap or feel cheap. It looks and functions like a highend receiver and it gives you the full theatre feeling.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Atpower
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not too bad
1/18/2008

Customer review by Justacooldad

4.0 stars 1/18/2008 by Justacooldad
by Justacooldad

Very hard to setup if you are not patient with the setup of new things. You must read the manual to fully understand the decent features of this surround sound receiver. I bought it for the optical audio input to link up to a big screen TV. For the money it was a good deal. The remote with the unit is universal but small. Also, it wouldn't take the code for my cable box but I can control the sound of the unit from universal cable remote. Hope my review helps. Good luck.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Justacooldad
Port Jervis, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for...
9/28/2007

Customer review by aliendon

3.0 stars 9/28/2007 by aliendon
by aliendon

The JVC surround sound isn't what I expected but having never had one this was a good learning experience for the price. The subwoofer output is for a self powered speaker and not driven by the inboard amp. Also, the instructions are very confusing as are the adjustments for the system. They need more dials or buttons...and the display for different sound effects is only temporary and when you want to see what the setting is you have to push the button, which changes the setting before you see where you were! I still have time to take it back and I just might do that. I have better sound on my old stereo and that deliver's 35 watts per channel as opposed to the JVC's 100 watts per channel.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aliendon
Melbourne, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Defective Product
6/3/2008

Customer review by musictolove

1.0 stars 6/3/2008 by musictolove
by musictolove

When I tried to hook up the surround sound speakers, the unit would not play them our my center speaker. It would only power my left and right speakers. I contacted JVC and after numerous attempts, they stated the unit was defective. I will soon return this receiver to Walmart. It also shuts down after the volumn reaches the 5 level which it shouldn't.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
musictolove
Enfield, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Not compatible
12/27/2007

Customer review by Dixiedoodles

3.0 stars 12/27/2007 by Dixiedoodles
by Dixiedoodles

Didn't have proper cords to hook up. My old receiver hooked up fine to my woofer, but this receiver required an RCA plug on one end and double wires on the other. Therefore, I will have to make a trip to Radioshack for converter before I can finish hooking it up. Very Very inconvenient.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dixiedoodles
Salem, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No Power, just value
1/2/2009

Customer review by alltire

2.0 stars 1/2/2009 by alltire
by alltire

This (I'm sure) is a good value for the average home theater, but volume, power, and drive are NOT there. This is a budget, low volume A/V receiver

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alltire
Elk River, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor Performer
10/28/2008

Customer review by carman6870

1.0 stars 10/28/2008 by carman6870
by carman6870

Very disappointing. Weak FM Reception. Spend a few dollars more and get a first class performer

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
carman6870
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
instructions
4/11/2008

Customer review by budmat

3.0 stars 4/11/2008 by budmat
by budmat

I really don't know how good it is because i haven't got it hooked up right yet. The instructions they give you are so hard to understand you would have to be one of the smartest people in the world to get it hooked up I even called jvc and the directions they tryed to give me over the phone didn't make any sense either I asked them just to draw me a diagram from my dvr to the unit and i still have not received them.I even offered to pay for the mailing of the drawing

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
budmat
lexington,s.c.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Basic Receiver with Advanced Features
1/28/2008

Customer review by krod

5.0 stars 1/28/2008 by krod
by krod

The Walmart price is amazing: this receiver sells for as much as $100 more in electronic stores! If you are looking for upgraded video switching, this is not the unit for you. But the audio features are many: individual equalizer for each audio input, one button digital/analog switching ( this is needed if the tv does not provide digital sound output for all signals),and a full complement of Dolby/DTS digital sound processing (units at this price level generally don't have multiple processing). The only downside is only two digital sound inputs.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
krod
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
receiver
8/5/2008

Customer review by jacksue

5.0 stars 8/5/2008 by jacksue
by jacksue

this is a good receiver, have my four units hooked up to it and still have room left over, their is no A/B swiths for the front speakers, so only five sets of speakers and the sub woofer can be used, the sound quailty is great, I perfer hall over room for speaker selection.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jacksue
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
reciever
1/28/2008

Customer review by bball

5.0 stars 1/28/2008 by bball
by bball

wow, i am impressed how it made my speakers come to life, i would highly recommend this product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bball
stone mountain, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Good System
6/9/2008

Customer review by DeanAtHome

5.0 stars 6/9/2008 by DeanAtHome
by DeanAtHome

I do like this system very much - with these exceptions: No bass / treble control (unless you learn how to manipulate the system), I would like to have an external speaker switch (so I had to buy another switch), the remote is a bit 'techie'. But, overall - this is a very good system and I do recommend it highly!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeanAtHome
Folsom, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT RECEIVER!!!!GREAT SOUND!!!!
8/4/2008

Customer review by mandee1000

5.0 stars 8/4/2008 by mandee1000
by mandee1000

I had a Sony receiver for over 10 years and it finally went dead on me. It was good while it lasted. I went shopping for a new one and I came across this JVC. I liked the price and all the extras. The sound is very good coming through my Sony speakers. Nice and clear. My son even loves the fact that he can hook up his PS3 to it. If you're looking for a good receiver for a good price, I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mandee1000
Long Island City, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great sound system
8/4/2008

Customer review by kauireb

5.0 stars 8/4/2008 by kauireb
by kauireb

I"ts so nice to watch movies with the sound system that fits it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kauireb
Kaua"i,Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 165 total reviews
1-20 of 165 reviews