Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 69 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

69 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

69 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
20
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 stars
7
1-20 of 69 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews
Amazing Value---Wonderful Product!
1/29/2008

Customer review by LittleARKIEMama

5.0 stars 1/29/2008 by LittleARKIEMama
by LittleARKIEMama

This item was larger than I imagined, and much to my delight! It is very good quality, solid, well-made, and easy to assemble. Don't be overwhelmed when the large package arrives with what seems like many parts. The directions were very simple and easy for this "non-engineering-minded" mom. My husband unpacked it....and I put it together after he left. By myself, I might add! It took no time to assemble...probably thrity minutes or less. Most of the assembly is done for you. You must attach legs and hutch top. I am shocked at how solid this item is! Now, I don't claim to know a lot, but if this isn't solid wood, I would be very suprised! It is definately sturdy and should last for years. I'm really excited about Walmart's "Site-To-Store" shipping. No telling how much I saved by picking it up at the store. Thanks Walmart for saving me hundreds of dollars on such a nice desk and chair for my little darlin'!!! Oh, one more tip...take a truck to pick it up. You might be able to get it into the back of a small SUV if you lay the seats forward, but definaely not the trunk of a car.

Was this review helpful? (62) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LittleARKIEMama
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great quality and price
12/30/2013

Customer review by oneflmom

5.0 stars 12/30/2013 by oneflmom
by oneflmom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Shopped around for a reasonable desk for our 2nd grade daughter for a long time. We wanted something that was functional and decent size for project work, but wouldn't dwarf her room. It fits her perfectly. Great work space and the hutch is very functional. Will need to get a few accessories /organizing trays for the drawer. As far as room to grow with it, she is on the petite side, so I think we could easily get three years out of it. It might be a matter of swapping out for a newer/cooler chair before that. Assembly took about 40 minutes and had no issues. Delivery was simple and came in perfect - no blemishes, etc. White is a true bright white. Price was best on Walmart. Would definitely recommend. You could easily spend 600-800++ for a kids desk, but for this age, and with things becoming less and less paper oriented, we opted for smaller, simpler and so much less $ for something she can pass along to her younger sister in a few years.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oneflmom
naples fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good
9/25/2016

Customer review by customer

4.0 stars 9/25/2016 by customer
by customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

looking is fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Desk purchase
9/2/2016

Customer review by DeskPurchase

5.0 stars 9/2/2016 by DeskPurchase
by DeskPurchase
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Even though the delivery was super slow and I had to call UPS to undestand why the desk was still in transited 2 weeks after purchase transaction, the desk itself is great! It is very utilitarian and has a matching hutch and chair. Great deal for price!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeskPurchase
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Avalon desk
9/3/2016

Customer review by Anna24

2.0 stars 9/3/2016 by Anna24
by Anna24
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The desk came on time. However the desk drawer came off when putting it together. We had to wood glue the pieces back together, and it had a slight chip in the paint on the top of the desk.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anna24
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
kidcraft desk and chair
1/13/2016

Customer review by Pearl

4.0 stars 1/13/2016 by Pearl
by Pearl

I loved the desk and chair set, but was surprised at how small it was. I bought it for my 9 year old granddaughter and she'll probably outgrow it in a year or so. The legs on the desk and chair need to be longer.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pearl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
TOO SMALL AND POOR CRAFTSMANSHIP
8/7/2016

Customer review by ahkesq

2.0 stars 8/7/2016 by ahkesq
by ahkesq
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This very small sized desk chair set should be advertised as ONLY suitable for a pre-K aged child only. Also, the desk was either damaged in delivery or the craftsmanship left a lot to be desired. Lastly, the instructions contain no writing but only pics which makes it somewhat difficult to determine how it should be assembled.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ahkesq
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great desk
8/16/2009

Customer review by 2muchstuf

5.0 stars 8/16/2009 by 2muchstuf
by 2muchstuf

I really like this desk and my 4 yr old loves it. It is just the right size for her and my 9 yr old can still sit comfortably at it so, I think she will be able to use it for the next 4 or 5 years. It was very easy to assemble (it took me and the kids about a half hour), and the finish was nice and smooth. The only bad thing about it is that the drawer is a little bit hard to pull out, but she doesn't have a problem with it. I was surprised that Walmart sells this desk cheaper that KidKraft does.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2muchstuf
Patterson, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very good
8/20/2016

Customer review by Doust

5.0 stars 8/20/2016 by Doust
by Doust
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

it was alright.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Doust
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
May have been a good product. I returned this item
12/20/2013

Customer review by Thorntech

3.0 stars 12/20/2013 by Thorntech
by Thorntech
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It would have been nice to have a more accurate description of the item. The height of the writing surface of the desk is about 26 inches. Here is the Walmart.com website description. KidKraft Avalon Desk Set: •Desk set includes a desk, hutch and chair •Designed and sized for children •Crafted from solid wood •Kids desk is 32" high -----THIS IS INCORRECT •Color: White Having the correct info would have saved a lot of grief. I purchased a desk from another store in order to save Christmas for my Granddaughter.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thorntech
Nashville,TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love the Desk
5/4/2010

Customer review by RichardAZ

4.0 stars 5/4/2010 by RichardAZ
by RichardAZ

I bought this for my 6 year old after reading other reviews, and it is perfect. Quickly went together, and feels very sturdy. I do wish the drawer closed a little more smoothly, especially for her to operate, but overall it is a wonderful item that I would highly recommend for appearance, quality, and price value.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RichardAZ
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cute and Durable. Not perfect, but very good.
11/27/2012

Customer review by vigilandy

4.0 stars 11/27/2012 by vigilandy
by vigilandy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This desk was for my daughter's 5-year birthday. Its a little big for her now but she can grow into it, and it makes her feel like a big kid. I'm guessing she won't outgrow it until she is 12-14. The desktop is made of an MDF-like wood with a good durable surface. I've already cleaned pen and crayon off it with ease. The legs all appear to be real wood. and they are quite study when attached. They showed no signs of flexing even when dragged across thick carpet. Also, Walmart shipping was pretty fast--i was surprised :) I only have 2 complaints. 1st- the hutch only attaches to the desktop on the middle two columns. The two outside columns don't attach to the desk. In my case, they don't even touch the desktop so papers keep sliding underneath it. It's annoying. 2nd - the drawer is garbage. There are no sliders on it. It's wood sliding against wood and it easily become off-center and jams. My daughter can't actually close it by herself. I'm tempted to nail it shut until I can put real sliders on it. All-in-all, not perfect but very good. 95% of this desk is perfect for what we wanted. It's a good price for a cute desk that my daughter loves and it's durable enough to last for many years.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vigilandy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cute Desk
1/13/2014

Customer review by Whyshopatmall

4.0 stars 1/13/2014 by Whyshopatmall
by Whyshopatmall
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My 5 years old daughter LOVES this desk...she has used it every day since she put it together... YES she put it together, her dad tightened it up but she did it so it was very easy. However, it did come with a few paint scratches that bother me but too much trouble to send it back. The main issue was the drawer...it did not stay on the rods as if they were not close enough to the drawer to hold it up...Her daddy to the rescue again and moved the bars closer to the drawer...however, this was a MAJOR defect that would have sent the desk back breaking my daughter heart. All is well now and as I said She LOVES it and work there every day on coloring, laptop work and homework....

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Whyshopatmall
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super cute
12/5/2012

Customer review by fengruojie

4.0 stars 12/5/2012 by fengruojie
by fengruojie

Read dimensions carefully, measurement is from top of hutch to floor, not top of table to floor. Not ideal for older child but really cute and a good size surface area.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fengruojie
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
WONDERFUL DESK!
1/5/2010

Customer review by LawLady78

5.0 stars 1/5/2010 by LawLady78
by LawLady78

I bought this desk for my daughter for Christmas. I had it shipped to store and I had no problems picking it up at all. I assembled it with ease and I was really surprised at the great quality of the desk parts. The desk is ALL wood, sturdy and very attractive in my daughters room. My daughter is 8 yrs old and she will definately be able to use it for many years to come. I can sit at the desk comfortably. The chair was also nice and sturdy. This desk is the BEST buy for your money!

Was this review helpful? (10) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LawLady78
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/11/2011

Customer review by EPMNP

4.0 stars 8/11/2011 by EPMNP
by EPMNP

Cute, girly desk! My 6 years old daughter loves it...me, too, but I wished it was a bit higher. My daughter is tall for her age and I'm afraid that in 2 years or so, she'll probably need another one. The (only) drawer is deep, but not tall enough and does not open easily...It seemed to me a bit pricey, but still very cute!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EPMNP
Keller, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Nice desk but a few problems
7/18/2014

Customer review by Lucky42

3.0 stars 7/18/2014 by Lucky42
by Lucky42

First of all I want to state that my 7-year-old daughter is thrilled with her new desk and chair. On the negative side, when the box arrived we opened it to find a big crack on the board that runs under the desk on the back side and second the website says "no" assembly required and it literally came in a thousand pieces. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to put it together, but we were surprised at the number of pieces. We expected minimal assembly, but this was ridiculous. You might want to update that on your website, Walmart! Overall, we were pleased with our purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lucky42
Sutherlin, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Great desk for young student......................
10/16/2011

Customer review by chel41

5.0 stars 10/16/2011 by chel41
by chel41

My 6 yr old daughter loves her new desk, and if I known she would be so eager to do her school and hw I would have gotten this for her last year. Desk is small, but my daughter is petite so it works out great for her. She is in 2nd grade and has not given me a hard time doing her hw, as she has always given me grief in the past. The desk was great price wise in comparison with others. I had it shipped to the store to avoid large s&h charges. I ordered it and it was sent to store in less than 1 week. The only thing advised is when you p/u have either a truck or suv. I was able to get in my minvan but had to make sure the backseat was down. The box was rather large. All in all I was very happy with this purchase and hope we get at least 2-3 years out of it. Assembly was very fast it took my husband 30 min to put together with my 4yr old sons' help of course.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chel41
staten island,ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
SMALL Child's Desk
10/5/2012

Customer review by Highpole

4.0 stars 10/5/2012 by Highpole
by Highpole

We did not keep this desk because we bought it for my daughter that was turning 10. When we got it out of the box, we found out that this is for a small child. It would have been perfect for my 5 year old, but even too small for my 7 year old. We measured the height of just the desk (not the hutch) and it was 24 inches tall - so you can see - very small. It looked really nice though as far as quality goes. Definitely better quality than a lot of walmart furniture we've purchased. If my 5 year old needed a desk, I would have been tempted to keep it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Highpole
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Cute but Check size before ordering
7/21/2011

Customer review by SLVB

3.0 stars 7/21/2011 by SLVB
by SLVB

This desk is much SMALLER than it appears. I was disappointed with the short legs on the desk and chair. I have a tall 7 year old and I anticipate she will outgrow this desk/chair within 2 years. The desk is very cute and appears sturdy. It assembled with little difficulty. However, the middle drawer does not open with ease. You must lift up on the drawer and then pull which is very difficult for a child. With the exception of the middle drawer not working, had I bought this when my daughter was 5 I would have been very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SLVB
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews