Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 69 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

69 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

69 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
59
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 66 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews
Love my D80 as much as I did my F3!
2/12/2012

Customer review by Old Curmudgeon

5.0 stars 2/12/2012 by Old Curmudgeon
by Old Curmudgeon

I was given the D80 as a Christmas gift in 2006. My wife said, "Now you can get rid of that old film thing and join the modern world." I never thought that any new fangled, plastic-bodied, digital could replace my trusty old F3. I figured this D80 thing would last maybe two years if I was lucky. But I smiled and sold the F3 to show how appreciative I was for the gift. Now here we are 6 years and thousands of images later and I haven't had a single problem or issue. I'm able to take far better photos in far more situations than I ever could with the F3. The D80 has been to the peaks of the Rockies and Andes, backpacked on the Tundra of Newfoundland, bounced around regularly in the bottom of a canoe on long back country trips. It has been frozen, rained on, carried in deserts and abused in many ways. After going through this kind of treatment, my F3 was all brassed and dented. But my D80 doesn't have a visible mark on it. I can't believe I'm as fond of this camera as I was of the F3.

Old Curmudgeon
Dartmouth, NS, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good camera for Nikon lovers
9/18/2007

Customer review by ElGordo

5.0 stars 9/18/2007 by ElGordo
by ElGordo
Top 25 contributor

Or for a newbie. It's pretty much the d200 for about a $1000 less. It doesn't have the magnesium body of the D200 or the weather seals, or a full frame CCD but controls are alike and has the same megapixel count. For beginners this camera may seem a bit daunting. There are 2 lcds that split the camera's information between them. The top LCD is the usual for an SLR but could be confusing. There are a LOT of buttons. Also confusing at first, though what that really means is that the most common adjustments can be done by the push of their own button, unlike the D40x where you have to dig through menus to get ISO and WB. This camera is a good bit heavier than the D40x but can use the full line of nikon lenses. As with most DSLRs this one uses a small sensor so the lenses' ranges should be multiplied by 1.5. So the lens that comes with it is the equivalent of 27-202mm on a regular 35mm non digital SLR. This gives you super zooms, but also makes wide angle lenses a bit tougher to find. It is an incredible camera and a bit easier to hold than the Canon XTi (it's main competitor). It costs a few hundred more and for me it is a better camera. For people with really large hands (like me) the extra battery pack extension makes it even more comfortable to hold, though it is more useable than the Canon without it. Pretty much you'll love this camera, whatever you choose. It's great for a beginning hobbyist. It does waaaay more than the average camera user needs, but will reward the dilligent. If you have Nikon lenses you'll want to stick with this one. If you have Canon lenses you'll want the XTi. For newbies, you just need to pick a brand 'cause you'll probably be sticking with it for years to come (unless you have a wad of cash to spend on identical lenses for different brands).

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElGordo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Top 25 contributor
Great camera!
12/31/2011

Customer review by Peter (from the Netherlands)

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by Peter (from the Netherlands)
by Peter (from the Netherlands)

I use Nikon slr's voor more then two decades now. I can't think of any brand that could give me this amount of pleasure en quality in photografy. I know others brands but Nikon is the benchmark. I bought my D80 with 18-200 ED VR a few years ago and shot thousends of pictures with it. This combination is superb. It's fast (shutter response#, lot's of options to create the best picture in any situation, operating in a way that #semi)professional camera's should do: buttons at the place you expect them, good grip, long batt.life, good viewfinder information so you don't need to take your eye of the camera, no useless functions but all the right things a (semi)pro needs to make a good quality picture. It's not afraid of a little splash of water or dust, it's a good solid camera you can even abuse and still get good pictures. I completed it with the SB-600 flash and the batt.grip for better handling and more flexibility (takes also penlite batt.). If you ever find a D80 with a good lense you should buy it!

Peter (from the Netherlands)
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Buy this camera first!
2/22/2008

Customer review by trm3

5.0 stars 2/22/2008 by trm3
by trm3

I have shot photos with various Canon SLRs for over 30 years and have been most impressed with the brand. When it came time to convert to digital I went straight out and bought a Canon, boy did I have a rude awakening. The quality was second rate, the photos were blurry as the auto focus was cheaply designed and the camera spent more time in the shop than it did in my possesion. I returned it and began doing research. What all the experts were saying was to buy a Nikon unless you have $5000 dollars to spend on a professional camera and even then Nikon was ranked up with the very best!!! Of course the Nikon D200 was the camera to buy but I couldn't support the $2k price tag, then there's the Nikon D40x which is low cost and missing a lot of valuable options. So I found the extra cash and went with the Nikon D80. I have not been let down nor disappointed! Beautiful pictures coupled with ease of use, what more could I ask for? :{)

trm3
Pacific Northwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for novice photographers and enthusiasts alike.
5/2/2014

Customer review by HumblePhotog

5.0 stars 5/2/2014 by HumblePhotog
by HumblePhotog

Bought a D80 a few years back as an upgrade from my D100 and have been perfectly content with it ever since. It did everything I needed it to do at the time and I still serves as a backup body in certain situations for me today. If you're not big on post-production editing, the D80 has several built-in features that can help correct some abnormalities you may find in your images. I highly recommend getting your hands on some good quality editing software if you're even semi-serious about photography, but some people aren't interested in interested in going that far in depth with their photos, and that's fine. The D80, with a few tweaks here and there, can still produce quality images and has a large enough display that you can still make reasonable edits on the fly. All in all, it's a great camera for someone who's just getting their feet wet with digital cameras or even serious photographers who just want to slap an 18-300mm lens on and take it on a hike, bike ride, or anywhere else that lugging around an expensive, pro-level body wouldn't be reasonable.

HumblePhotog
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Has and continues to work great.
4/14/2011

Customer review by Martin

5.0 stars 4/14/2011 by Martin
by Martin

I am a 68 year old amatuer. This is my first digital camera. Purchased it just before a trip to South Korea. I purchased with a 18-200 zoom lens and SB-800 flash. Studied it for two weeks and then on the 14 hour flight. It took great photographs, mostly in automatic modes. Subsequently used it on trips to multiple National Parks in the American West, from Denali, Glacier, Yellowstone, Grand Tetons, Rocky Mtn, Bryce, Zion, Great Sand Dunes, north rim Grand Canyon, and more. It was used extensively at church to document events, for a wedding, and for portraits for a church directory. It never failed. The camera always provided great photographs, except where I as the user erred. The more I learned to use the full features of the camera the better the photographs became. The camera has done such a good job that the local camera store printed a panorama 10 feet wide by 2 feet high and hung it in their store.

Martin
Aiken SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good camera
10/25/2015

Customer review by Person

5.0 stars 10/25/2015 by Person
by Person

This is a great camera for a 12 year old beginner photographer. My dad gave this to me because he got the d7100. I have taken some really good pictures with this camera.

Person
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fabulous camera!
7/2/2012

Customer review by D80 Steve

5.0 stars 7/2/2012 by D80 Steve
by D80 Steve

I purchased my D80 in 2007 and haven't regretted it ever. A wonderful camera with more than enough features to keep me busy for years to come. I previously owned a Nikon FE for 26 yrs but felt an upgrade to digital was necessary to keep up with the Joneses. I have taken thousands of photographs with no glitches or unwanted surprises to date. In this day and age when people desire and demand more megapixels I must say unless you want to enlarge your photos to 16X20 or billboard size this camera is all you need. I recently purchased a D70 as backup. There are stark differences between the two, but I am more than happy with the them. I do highly recommend a speedlight also (SB-600 - SB700 - SB-800 or SB-900) to provide more than adequate light to spruce up the photos you take. Although I must say the "onboard flash" on the D80 does a great job of getting the job done. I love this camera.

D80 Steve
Oceanside, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/16/2011

Customer review by BCB

5.0 stars 3/16/2011 by BCB
by BCB

my father bought this awesome D80 for 2 and a half years ago and still kicking as good as it is. I'm photographer as well as my father but not have a enough funds to have a better studio. going back, Nikon D80 was very great camera. I use it thrice or 4 times a week and it never compromise me all the time I use this with a professional shoot.I most liked with this camera is able the function button and turn it to no flash mode, so in a hurry situation I have always a choice to have and not have a flash or both with or without flash. And oh I use SB600. NIKON D80 not far from the latest today although it doesn't have a video but it is still a great camera that satisfy you and get a what you imagine and picture out in mind. and why would you buy a "SLR" if you want it to have a video. what i mean is SLR is for still, Video camera is for video. anyways, thanks to this great Nikon D80.

BCB
Iloilo City, Philippines
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to use, good image quality
8/10/2015

Customer review by AndrewP

5.0 stars 8/10/2015 by AndrewP
by AndrewP

Although the D80 is an aging camera slipping into the void of obsoleteness, it still is a great camera for beginners (like me). It is fairly light and comfortable in the hands, the buttons are comprehensible and reasonably laid out. It is also quite fast and responsive. One thing to note is that at ISOs above 800-1600, things start to get grainy, so it is best to shoot in adequate light unless you have a tripod. To me, it is still a great camera although it has old technology and somewhat limited features e.g. 3 fps burst, only 10 MP CCD sensor, etc. I would rate it 4.5 stars but 5 is close enough!

AndrewP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great all around camera
8/8/2011

Customer review by Pedro

5.0 stars 8/8/2011 by Pedro
by Pedro

This is a great camera. I have had it for around 5 years. I got it to replace my old N70 camera. It has fantastic features and has really held up well. I have not even had it taken in for maintenance, though I probably should just for peace of mind. It has really great manual functionality, but I have not had that great of luck with the auto/preset features on it. However, I must say that I only try them out once in a bluemoon so I may not be doing it right. I am no professional and predominately take landscape and nature photos, so typically my subjects are going nowhere fast. So I have plenty of time to set up the shot just how I want it. Overall, though this camera is has been with me and held up to being dragged all around the world by land sea and air. I would recommend it, but it has since been replaced by the D90.

Pedro
seattle, wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Camera failed in 6th year.
7/2/2014

Customer review by Nitedawg

2.0 stars 7/2/2014 by Nitedawg
by Nitedawg

This camera has been lightly used for just under 4 years -- really only on vacations. It displayed the all too common error that these D80's have. The dreaded "ERR" displayed in the LCD top display. The diagnosis was a faulty aperture unit which had to be replaced. I had not used the camera for about 2 years when it first displayed this "ERR" -- didn't pay too much attention to it as I thought it was just something that had to be reset. I started using a different camera. After 2 years, I picked up my D80 again and decided to check out this "ERR" by sending to a service center. The good news is they diagnosed, repaired it and had it back to me in a week for a reasonable cost. But c'mon Nikon, between this and my Nikkor 80-200mm lens, I've just had too many serious problems!!

Nitedawg
Would recommend to a friend? No
nikon d80
1/3/2008

Customer review by banker4u

5.0 stars 1/3/2008 by banker4u
by banker4u

My husband bought this for me for christmas and it's the best digital camera I ever had. The pictures are so clear. When I use the zoom lense I can take pictures of wildlife from a distance and I can see the wiskers on the animals faces. I would recommend this camera for the professionals and the amateur like myself

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
banker4u
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Camera!
4/15/2011

Customer review by Nikon

5.0 stars 4/15/2011 by Nikon
by Nikon

Wow... i bought this camera used in july of 2009 and have used quite a lot since. I have used it in all sorts of locations. I am an aspiring 14 year old photograper that is looking into getting into the business and this is my first camera. Well to start off the build quality of this camera is very good. I have used it for things such as Snowboard photography to just the fun photo shoot with a friend and everything in between. This is a great camera for that person that is not just getting into DSLR's but has had one before and is getting into more advanced photography. I know this is a some what old camera but still a great piece and would highly recommend it to anyone!

Nikon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nikon D80 internet Walmart purchase
1/6/2009

Customer review by Rymal

5.0 stars 1/6/2009 by Rymal
by Rymal

The Nikon D80 is everything I dreamed of and more. Easy to use as a snap-shot camera, fantastic for professional settings. However, It is lacking as an astro-photography camera in which very long exposures are needed. The BULB setting doesn't work as the ''bulb'' of older manual film cameras in which a cable was screwed into the shutter. Such cameras would keep the shutter open until you released it. Often such photography requires several hours. With this camera, the bulb setting is only good for 30 minutes. Purchasing remote triggers (infrared and USB control) are really essential if you need this camera for astro-photography, and even then, you are still limited on the duration.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rymal
East Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOVE THIS CAMERA
9/22/2014

Customer review by Froger2

5.0 stars 9/22/2014 by Froger2
by Froger2

I BOUGHT THIS CAMERA 2005. I USED A PENTEX MX FROM THE 70`S AS MY FIRST CAMERA. ALL MANUAL. I SAW THIS CAMERA AND FELL IN LOVE WITH IT.IT WAS HARD AT FIRST TO GET USE TO ALL AUTO STUFF.I AM JUST A HOBBYIST,BUT I TAKE A LOT OF ACTION /SPORT PHOTOS. I JUST LOVE HOW THE CAMERA GETS IT ALL WITH NO BLUR.I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS CAMERA TO ANY ONE WHO IS A SERIOUS HOBBYIST, MINE CAME WITH A 18-135MM LENS.THIS CAMERA IS SO EASY TO USE . IT`S A GREAT CAMERA FOR CARTING AROUND. IT`S NOT LIKE AN ANCHOR AROUND YOUR NECK.

Froger2
Victorville, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great DX Camera
6/24/2011

Customer review by talented_amateur

4.0 stars 6/24/2011 by talented_amateur
by talented_amateur

I bought my first D80 in 2007. Having used it for portrait photography, travel photography, landscape photography, and wildlife photography, it has done extremely well at all of them. I occasionally find the maximum ISO of 1600 to be a little low, the shooting speed of only 3fps can be an issue with wildlife, but overall it has done the job very well. In the end, I was so pleased with it that I got an underwater housing for it, along with a spare body, and it is now my main underwater body.

talented_amateur
New York, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great First Digital SLR
3/20/2011

Customer review by Art57

5.0 stars 3/20/2011 by Art57
by Art57

I purchased this camera almost two years ago. It was my first digital SLR after shooting 35mm many years ago. I couldn't have asked anything more of my first digital SLR. The performance was all I expected and more. It has been a workhorse. The fit and finish is excellent and the feel and balance with the MB-D80 grip is top notch. I've had no issues with the camera at all, carrying it on hikes in the mountains and to the beach capturing the sunrise and sunsets among many other excursions.

Art57
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Nikon D80 Does It All....Without Killing Your Back!
6/6/2012

Customer review by NYC Nikonian

5.0 stars 6/6/2012 by NYC Nikonian
by NYC Nikonian

I went from a Nikon N55 to an F100 then to a D100 in the mid-2000's. However, a few years ago I wanted to upgrade to a better dSLR and especially one that enabled ISO 100 for deep saturation and slower shutter speeds for landscape photography. During my research I came across the D80, which had the features I was looking for at a very reasonable price. This camera could also take just about every Nikkor lenses ever made, so my decision was made. Well, the D80 has proved to be one of the best cameras I've ever used and even with the battery pack/grip, it is still a light camera and easy to carry around all day. I have both an 18-105mm VR and 70-300mm VR lenses that I use for outdoor shooting and a Nikkor 20-30mm f/2.8 for indoor event shoots and the success rate of shots in very, very high. The camera focuses fast, and sometimes I just put it on Auto mode instead of A or P when I don't want to think about anything but getting the fleeting shot. I've also used the camera for a few paid shoots and that's where the ISO 100 really becomes indispensible....beautiful saturated colors and wonderful skin tones. The color settings on the camera can be set for different levels of saturation too. I used the Nikkor 18-105mm for studio portraits with a few strobes and the Nikkor 20-30mm f/2.8 with an SB-600 for a couple of event shoots I did. I just love the D80, and it doesn't break my back in weight either. And I wouldn't even entertain the thought of using any other lenses but Nikkor with this, or any other Nikon dSLR.

NYC Nikonian
New York, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Body, still viable years later.
4/14/2011

Customer review by Abraxsis

4.0 stars 4/14/2011 by Abraxsis
by Abraxsis

I have owned this body for several years now and the counter is right around 25,000 shots. Some might lambaste this "old" body but it was built on the rock-solid D200 internals and is still 100% viable in today's market. This body really shines with pro glass, and I have made amazing 20x30 prints from the resulting images. Not bad for an "older" body. Oh, and make sure to get the battery grip for the camera, it makes it SOO easy to use if you have larger hands.

Abraxsis
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews