Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 54 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

54 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

54 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 52 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews
Very good camera for Nikon lovers
9/18/2007

Customer review by ElGordo

5.0 stars 9/18/2007 by ElGordo
by ElGordo

Or for a newbie. It's pretty much the d200 for about a $1000 less. It doesn't have the magnesium body of the D200 or the weather seals, or a full frame CCD but controls are alike and has the same megapixel count. For beginners this camera may seem a bit daunting. There are 2 lcds that split the camera's information between them. The top LCD is the usual for an SLR but could be confusing. There are a LOT of buttons. Also confusing at first, though what that really means is that the most common adjustments can be done by the push of their own button, unlike the D40x where you have to dig through menus to get ISO and WB. This camera is a good bit heavier than the D40x but can use the full line of nikon lenses. As with most DSLRs this one uses a small sensor so the lenses' ranges should be multiplied by 1.5. So the lens that comes with it is the equivalent of 27-202mm on a regular 35mm non digital SLR. This gives you super zooms, but also makes wide angle lenses a bit tougher to find. It is an incredible camera and a bit easier to hold than the Canon XTi (it's main competitor). It costs a few hundred more and for me it is a better camera. For people with really large hands (like me) the extra battery pack extension makes it even more comfortable to hold, though it is more useable than the Canon without it. Pretty much you'll love this camera, whatever you choose. It's great for a beginning hobbyist. It does waaaay more than the average camera user needs, but will reward the dilligent. If you have Nikon lenses you'll want to stick with this one. If you have Canon lenses you'll want the XTi. For newbies, you just need to pick a brand 'cause you'll probably be sticking with it for years to come (unless you have a wad of cash to spend on identical lenses for different brands).

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElGordo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Top 25 contributor
nikon d80
1/3/2008

Customer review by banker4u

5.0 stars 1/3/2008 by banker4u
by banker4u

My husband bought this for me for christmas and it's the best digital camera I ever had. The pictures are so clear. When I use the zoom lense I can take pictures of wildlife from a distance and I can see the wiskers on the animals faces. I would recommend this camera for the professionals and the amateur like myself

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
banker4u
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nikon D80 internet Walmart purchase
1/6/2009

Customer review by Rymal

5.0 stars 1/6/2009 by Rymal
by Rymal

The Nikon D80 is everything I dreamed of and more. Easy to use as a snap-shot camera, fantastic for professional settings. However, It is lacking as an astro-photography camera in which very long exposures are needed. The BULB setting doesn't work as the ''bulb'' of older manual film cameras in which a cable was screwed into the shutter. Such cameras would keep the shutter open until you released it. Often such photography requires several hours. With this camera, the bulb setting is only good for 30 minutes. Purchasing remote triggers (infrared and USB control) are really essential if you need this camera for astro-photography, and even then, you are still limited on the duration.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rymal
East Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A very neat and easy to use product
9/4/2008

Customer review by kaushikg

5.0 stars 9/4/2008 by kaushikg
by kaushikg

I bought this SLR as an 'upgrade' from my Nikon D60. its obviously superior to Nikon D60 and is easy to use

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kaushikg
Tempe, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great and Smart
7/10/2010

Customer review by dimasrafi

5.0 stars 7/10/2010 by dimasrafi
by dimasrafi

For the fist time I used this d80 is beyond my imagination. this gear have anything I want from DSLR ever. It's very sharp, sharp, sharp and sharp comparing with other competitor in same class. I've never turned my way to take a picture and I'd like to explore more and more with this camera.

dimasrafi
Blitar, Jawa Timur - Indonesia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Takes great shots and battery lasts; never fails
8/12/2010

Customer review by D80 old model yet still reliable

5.0 stars 8/12/2010 by D80 old model yet still reliable
by D80 old model yet still reliable

I have never had a dull moment with this camera. I love that is not bulky or heavy and that is still takes awesome photos. So what its only 10MP... it still delivers and even though I'm thinking of purchasing the D300s I would not trade it or sell it. D80 will be my backup camera once I purchase the new model. Thank you Nikon for producing the Best equipment :)

D80 old model yet still reliable
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great First Camera
8/3/2010

Customer review by Adam

5.0 stars 8/3/2010 by Adam
by Adam

This was my first DSLR, I was going to opt for the D60 but got this one instead, I'm glad I chose the D80. I love using the 50mm and 24mm prime lenses that I would not be able to use with the D60. The controls are handy with minimal of going in to the menu's. The images are super clean even with the CCD sensor. On the downside, I wish it had a sensor cleaner. But overall this is a great choice for the student, serious hobbyist or semi-professional.

Adam
Prospect Heights, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera, an old friend!
8/4/2010

Customer review by Flintstone

5.0 stars 8/4/2010 by Flintstone
by Flintstone

Even though this model is no longer in production my four year old D80 keeps plugging along catching great exposures. It continues to be a great tool and companion! Newer models may put it to shame but if one really learns to use his D80 one can get great results! Mine has been dependable and easy to use,never failing to inspire even after 16K shutter activations. A trusted and reliable old friend!

Flintstone
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT CAMERA
9/11/2010

Customer review by SrHector

5.0 stars 9/11/2010 by SrHector
by SrHector

I can't say enough about this camera, it is an awesome piece of technology. I've shot portraits, landscapes, macro, and travel photos and great pictures everytime. Not that I've not had a bad picture , I have but that was more me than the camera. When I pull out my camera from my bag I am confident I will get the picture I want with minimum effort on my part.

SrHector
Fresno, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nikon D80
12/4/2010

Customer review by Tony

5.0 stars 12/4/2010 by Tony
by Tony

This camera replaced the D70 another great camera. This camera focuses faster in low light and difficult lighting situations. It is very easy to use, and has many great features such as D lighting. Also the ability to copy and customise pictures in camera. This camera is such a delight. I am glad that I picked Nikon over Canon. I still have my D80 even though I also have a D90.

Tony
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/27/2010

Customer review by Skyflyer

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by Skyflyer
by Skyflyer

This is an excellent camera for the intermediate photographer or one exploring future photographic possibilities. Easy to use and many features that make your subject matter "art"...

Skyflyer
S. Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
setting and features easy to understand
12/2/2010

Customer review by Piperdel

5.0 stars 12/2/2010 by Piperdel
by Piperdel

I found that the settings and features are easy to understand and set-up. I have gone on many trips and the camera has never let me down. If this camera was still in production I would highly recommend this camera.

Piperdel
Ottawa,Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
In a word AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2/15/2011

Customer review by Photographer

5.0 stars 2/15/2011 by Photographer
by Photographer

I've had this camera for the last two years, and I've had nothing short of excellent results from it. The last time I used this camera, I got some excellent night shots of downtown San Antonio, TX, I also got some good candid portraits with this camera.

Photographer
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera
1/24/2011

Customer review by babsandmark

5.0 stars 1/24/2011 by babsandmark
by babsandmark

Have traveled the world with this DSLR.....the best camera I have ever used, great pictures (wild life, scenery, people and buidlings), and works with all of my older Nikor lenses which is a real plus, and one of my primary reasons in the purchase of this product. A very versitle camera well suited to helping make an amateur look like a pro.

babsandmark
New York State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera
5/20/2011

Customer review by bigggwes

5.0 stars 5/20/2011 by bigggwes
by bigggwes

I bought this camera used and in great condition. It is absolutely fantastic. I upgraded after my D40 had problem that wasn't worth fixing and I have not been at all disappointed. This is a great camera for people of all levels. It takes great pictures and is very user friendly.

bigggwes
Indianapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/16/2011

Customer review by BCB

5.0 stars 3/16/2011 by BCB
by BCB

my father bought this awesome D80 for 2 and a half years ago and still kicking as good as it is. I'm photographer as well as my father but not have a enough funds to have a better studio. going back, Nikon D80 was very great camera. I use it thrice or 4 times a week and it never compromise me all the time I use this with a professional shoot.I most liked with this camera is able the function button and turn it to no flash mode, so in a hurry situation I have always a choice to have and not have a flash or both with or without flash. And oh I use SB600. NIKON D80 not far from the latest today although it doesn't have a video but it is still a great camera that satisfy you and get a what you imagine and picture out in mind. and why would you buy a "SLR" if you want it to have a video. what i mean is SLR is for still, Video camera is for video. anyways, thanks to this great Nikon D80.

BCB
Iloilo City, Philippines
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great First Digital SLR
3/20/2011

Customer review by Art57

5.0 stars 3/20/2011 by Art57
by Art57

I purchased this camera almost two years ago. It was my first digital SLR after shooting 35mm many years ago. I couldn't have asked anything more of my first digital SLR. The performance was all I expected and more. It has been a workhorse. The fit and finish is excellent and the feel and balance with the MB-D80 grip is top notch. I've had no issues with the camera at all, carrying it on hikes in the mountains and to the beach capturing the sunrise and sunsets among many other excursions.

Art57
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrific Camera
7/30/2011

Customer review by Dave

5.0 stars 7/30/2011 by Dave
by Dave

Just a great camera. It looks like they stopped making this model. Too bad. Excellent control placements, outstanding image quality, low light sensitivity beyond compare and a color sensitivity that is just amazing. I have very happy customers. Another Great quality Nikon product.

Dave
Uxbridge, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great all around camera
8/8/2011

Customer review by Pedro

5.0 stars 8/8/2011 by Pedro
by Pedro

This is a great camera. I have had it for around 5 years. I got it to replace my old N70 camera. It has fantastic features and has really held up well. I have not even had it taken in for maintenance, though I probably should just for peace of mind. It has really great manual functionality, but I have not had that great of luck with the auto/preset features on it. However, I must say that I only try them out once in a bluemoon so I may not be doing it right. I am no professional and predominately take landscape and nature photos, so typically my subjects are going nowhere fast. So I have plenty of time to set up the shot just how I want it. Overall, though this camera is has been with me and held up to being dragged all around the world by land sea and air. I would recommend it, but it has since been replaced by the D90.

Pedro
seattle, wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent camera for the non-pro but eclectic
4/14/2011

Customer review by OldRooster

5.0 stars 4/14/2011 by OldRooster
by OldRooster

Excellent camera for those who will not or cannot spend what it takes to have a fully professional camera yet want excellent quality pictures. This camera is capable of so many features that it takes some time to learn everything that can be achieved.

OldRooster
Boise ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews