Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

25 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

25 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 22 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews
The only knife you will need
3/11/2008

Customer review by HogWild479

5.0 stars 3/11/2008 by HogWild479
by HogWild479

It's all been said already, but this knife is worth another review. - S30V steel - THE best blade avail. today - Fits nicely in your pocket and in your hand - Easy 1 hand open/close, but secure enough you do not have to worry about it opening in your pocket - Secure lock and grip - Clip is easily removable (with coin) for use with lanyard in situation where you are concerned about losing this beauty - Made in Golden, Colorado - Lightweight for everyday carry, yet very useful for all sizes of jobs. - Super sharp out of the box, and hold edge very well ( don't waste your $$ on the reccomended sharpening set - you will likely lose it or give it away first) This knife will quickly become part of your daily routine - keys, cell, sunglasses and Native - every time you leave the house.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HogWild479
Northwest Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Knife
3/22/2008

Customer review by MB151

5.0 stars 3/22/2008 by MB151
by MB151

I ordered this yesterday at 6:30 pm and by 3 pm today I had it delivered to me by UPS..I only paid for regular shipping by ground..So there is absolutely no complaint there.. Thank you Wal-Mart and UPS. I've been collecting knives for some 35 yrs now..This knife is a great value in terms of fit,finish and materials used..The alloy of CPM-S30V is one of the super steels.Imho it's the very best you can get. It rivals and exceeds 154CM,ATS34 and BG42 easily in terms of sharpness,edge retention,stain resistance,chip resistance and strength of the blade. It has more carbon then others and is somewhat harder.I also find this steel to be easier to resharpen if needed. Out of the box sharpness is very good..But after I honed it to my standards it now holds the sharpest edge money can buy..The price on this knife is impossible to beat or even match..It's truly a bargain at half off or more of what other want for it.. Another big plus to me is the fact it made here in the USA.. I've maintained for yrs that we make the best knives on earth here in the US.Knives of this caliber help to prove that point.. I intend to make this my everyday workhorse by which all other will be judged.. If you want a good all around knife this is truly bargain and fits the bill completely..

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MB151
McKeesport,Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Knife!
11/8/2007

Customer review by bckong

5.0 stars 11/8/2007 by bckong
by bckong

The Native is not a very good product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bckong
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Strong and beautiful
9/26/2007

Customer review by DukeW714

5.0 stars 9/26/2007 by DukeW714
by DukeW714

Spyderco's knives are always top-notch products, but some can be a bit ugly (their Harpy model, for instance, scares the heck out of people who don't like knives). The Native model is one of the most beautiful knives made anywhere, at any price (and look at that price!). The way the curve of the blade arcs smoothly into the curve of the handle is sheer poetry, and the fact that it does it either open or closed is pretty amazing. The spiderweb motif molded into the handle makes the knife amazingly non-slip, as do the finger choils (the finger grooves on the bottom) and the cut-outs at the top of the blade. The clip can be moved from side to side and top to bottom, depending on how you like to clip it into a pocket or on a belt (though they do tend to gouge your steering wheel when you get in the car, so be careful there). I liked it so much, I have two, and wear them daily. All in all, a rare beauty at a great price, that will give you many years of happy service. Buy now, you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DukeW714
Yorba Linda, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Buy all day long!
8/3/2008

Customer review by Dukee

5.0 stars 8/3/2008 by Dukee
by Dukee

Spyderco Native with s30v steel and a near perfect balance(a finger under the choil and this thing balances evenly) with a light weight and the feel in hand, under $40? this knife is a STEAL! Made in Golden CO. The blade cut through some thick plastic wrap like it was melting it! I am impressed Spyderco.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dukee
Spokane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Spyderco Quality
1/31/2008

Customer review by WisconsinReview

5.0 stars 1/31/2008 by WisconsinReview
by WisconsinReview

Another excellent product from Spyderco. The Native will cost more than other knives available through WalMart but the Native is an outstanding product. S30V steel is a premium stainless steel with great hardness. Spyderco puts a sharp, long-lasting edge on the Native. Made in the USA in Colorado. An ergonomic handle making it easier to strongly grip the knife and make sure cuts.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WisconsinReview
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/9/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/9/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this knife right after Christmas of 07. I have been collecting knives for a long time and carry one daily, and this knife is exellent. It was one of the sharpest knives out of the box I have ever bought. And it's still sharp to this day. And I love the fact it is made in the U.S.A.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Johnson City, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You Need This!
2/2/2008

Customer review by Rolemodel

5.0 stars 2/2/2008 by Rolemodel
by Rolemodel

Spyderco, the maker of this knife, has scored a winner. This is my favorite knife in their line-up, so much so that this my second Native. It is light weight, but strong. It is quite sharp straight from the box, and there is no horizontal or vertical play when the blade is extended. This knife is comfortable to carry in a pocket, and excels in projects from peeling apples to making fire sticks. The spider web configuration on the handle makes for a good grip. The price makes purchasing this item pleasant on the wallet. I tried to come up with at least one negative to balance this review, but was unable to do so.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rolemodel
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome product!
10/4/2007

Customer review by Larryonov1998

5.0 stars 10/4/2007 by Larryonov1998
by Larryonov1998

Can't believe you can get a knife this good for only forty bucks! It feels great in your hand, and you also feel like you have complete control over the knife while using it. Can't say enough about it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Larryonov1998
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One Great Knife
2/15/2008

Customer review by DustyDog

5.0 stars 2/15/2008 by DustyDog
by DustyDog

This knife is way better than one would expect for the money. It's so light you can't feel it in your pocket, but it feels great in the hand and it cuts superbly. The high tech blade steel is a nice plus. It's made in the USA too! You can't go wrong with this one--get one while you still can. The only negative for me, but probably not for many others, is that it has a distinctly tactical look to it, in spite of it's compact size.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DustyDog
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent knife / Great Value
8/6/2007

Customer review by GoBerserk

5.0 stars 8/6/2007 by GoBerserk
by GoBerserk

Excellent knife - One of the best steels, a light fiber-reinforced nylon (FRN) body that's easy to carry, and a sturdy lockback design for safety. Highly spoken of on web blade forums - a favorite of many. And you won't find a better price than at Wal-mart for it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoBerserk
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is a steal at $39
7/15/2008

Customer review by KnifeKnut

5.0 stars 7/15/2008 by KnifeKnut
by KnifeKnut

When I saw a Spyderco knife in CPMS30V (a very high-end stainless steel from Crucible Metals) for less than $90 I just had to have it. The local army/navy store stocks Spyderco folders in high-end steels like VG-10 and S30V, but starting around $79.99. For what I paid, the Native is a steal. The fit, finish and quality are amazing for the price. The CPMS30V blade takes and keeps a shaving sharp edge, and the scales give you a real good grip. If you like the Native, you might also like the Spyderco Delica in VG-10 and the Centofante 3 in VG-10 (all available on walmart.com.) You'd be hard-pressed to find these knives cheaper elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KnifeKnut
East Windsor, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Knife
7/15/2008

Customer review by JGreene510

5.0 stars 7/15/2008 by JGreene510
by JGreene510

This is a great knife. The blade is from Crucible Steel, and the quality is top notch. The blade stays sharp for a long time as well. I did notice after about 2 weeks of casual use the edge lost some of it's sharpness, but was still fine for normal work (cutting rope, slicing up cardboard for recycling, opening packages.) I will say that the S30V is a pain the sharpen with traditional stones. I use the DMT Dia-Sharp stones (Credit card sized) and I have gone through coarse, fine, extra fine and topped it off with a few light swipes with a ceramic finishing stone. Good as new. Long and short : Great knife, but get the Dia sharp stones and a ceramic finisher if you want to keep it sharp (and if your hard on the blades. Cardboard is well known to have a lot of impurities and can even chip steel to a degree.) Also, keep your eye on your blade. Some of these Crucible blades were known to chip when they first came out. You can re-edge it and never have to worry about it again, or you can just be cautious. A very good product. I will stick with VG-10 as it seems to get sharper easier and hold a finer edge longer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JGreene510
San Lorenzo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great knife at a great price
11/27/2007

Customer review by TJJP77

5.0 stars 11/27/2007 by TJJP77
by TJJP77

Despite the "plastic" construction, this knife has a really solid feel and a nice solid locking mechanism. The CR30V steel used to make the blade keeps a nice razor sharp edge even with frequent use. This is a much better knife than many other well known brands - buy and enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TJJP77
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Native
5/18/2008

Customer review by dwaarc27

5.0 stars 5/18/2008 by dwaarc27
by dwaarc27

Great combination of value and performance. This knife holds an edge well and is comfortable in the hand.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dwaarc27
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
excellent knife
7/21/2008

Customer review by 1911a1fan

5.0 stars 7/21/2008 by 1911a1fan
by 1911a1fan

as a collector of spyderco, and cold steel knives this is by far the best deal for the price, will shave clean, right out of the box, great ergonomics, and ambidextrous to boot, i plan on buying several more for gifts, I've paid two times the price for knives of this quality, you can't go wrong

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1911a1fan
stl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Knife
9/26/2008

Customer review by RedNeckCajun

5.0 stars 9/26/2008 by RedNeckCajun
by RedNeckCajun

I got this knife after seeing several friends with it. This is a great knife. I will certainly make it my everyday carry knife.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RedNeckCajun
South Louidisns
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
An S30V Spyderco for less than $50?
9/11/2007

Customer review by epsylum

5.0 stars 9/11/2007 by epsylum
by epsylum

That right there is the biggest reason to get one. I love Spyderco knives. I have had my share of Benchmades (including a Rukus), CRKTs, Kershaws, Bucks, etc., etc., but in my opinion Spydercos are the best knives out there and it helps that a lot of them don't break the bank. This native has an S30V blade. That is THE blade steel right now that all the best knives are being made from. Usually to get an S30V blade you would be looking at a minimum of about $100. This Spyderco gives you that at an awesome price. The knife itself is not to shabby either. I bought this for my dad for his birthday. I WILL be getting one for myself as well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
epsylum
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great!
1/23/2008

Customer review by 2wheels

5.0 stars 1/23/2008 by 2wheels
by 2wheels

I believe that this is the best knife for under $50 that can be purchased anywhere! Easy to carry, Easy to open, Great blade that stays sharp!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2wheels
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great carry knife!
7/19/2007

Customer review by phre4ker

4.0 stars 7/19/2007 by phre4ker
by phre4ker

I have carried this knife for two years now. I have had to sharpen it one time. The action is quiet and easy opening, The lock is a classic spyderco design, strong and dependable. Every man should have a good knife, nad this one will serve you well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
phre4ker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews