Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 30 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

30 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

30 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 27 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
The Best in Every Way
3/12/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/12/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

As a paintball referee I work with Tippmann 98 Customs on a weekly basis. Our rental markers at work are mostly of this model. Most of our markers have been in use every weekend for 5+ years and I have personally used them for years. I can honestly say you will never find a tougher, more reliable, and upgradeable paintball marker for a price anything close to the 98's anywhere. Our rental fleet of some 120 98s are still going very strong, with only 3 or 4 down at any one time for maintenance. The Tippmann 98 is arguably the best starting paintball marker on the market. While it is not as rapid firing as many more expensive markers, its simplicity of design and use and its absolute ruggedness make it a new player's best friend. It also has thousands of upgrades available through various sources, so it is a great platform for building a personalized marker once you have a few more games under your belt. Overall, I can't stress enough how well this marker performs for new players.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Collinsville, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Amazing Gun!
6/15/2009

Customer review by Rabbit1332

5.0 stars 6/15/2009 by Rabbit1332
by Rabbit1332

I played with this gun over a weekend and it worked amazingly. I was using fairly cheep paint and didn't break a single one out of a thousand. The barrel that it comes with is ok but I would recommend that you get a longer one such as a 14-16 in. to make it more accurate. I used a friend’s barrel that was around 14 in. and it made it a lot more accurate. Another thing that I love about it is the fact that it is extremely easy to clean and oil. In the guide that you get with the gun is a complete diagram to where everything goes inside the gun as well as where to oil it. So even for a beginner like me it makes it easy as pie to clean it. There are also a lot of upgrades that you can get for this gun like and E-trigger and stuff like that. The last thing that I will mention is the fact that the internal parts of the gun seemingly durable with a lot of them being metal. So I would highly recommend this gun for beg gingers and even more experienced players who don't want to spend a lot of money on a really fancy gun cause it is great for the price.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rabbit1332
Vancouver, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
3/1/2008

Customer review by Cronie

5.0 stars 3/1/2008 by Cronie
by Cronie

Very good gun that can be upgraded a lot later. Many consider this one of the best guns on the market. The mask is also pretty good and hasn't fogged up on me too much. The 9oz tank lasts me about 400 shots.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cronie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GOOD STUFF
4/18/2008

Customer review by TURBO831

5.0 stars 4/18/2008 by TURBO831
by TURBO831

I JUST STARTED PLAYING AND THE FIRST MARKER THAT I USED WAS A 98 CUSTOM. I THOUGHT THAT IT WAS A VERY GOOD MARKER FOR ITS PRICE. I RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE THAT IS JUST STARTING.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TURBO831
FPO AE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good gun, I really mean GOOD
5/10/2009

Customer review by Kirbalicous

5.0 stars 5/10/2009 by Kirbalicous
by Kirbalicous

This gun is an awesome gun. If you prefer to play speedball, where you shoot really fast, you might want to try a spyder. They have double triggers where you can just nail 'em out. But the Tippman 98 Custom outgoes any other gun by accuracy, even without a sniper barrel. The 98 Custom is really good for woodsball, where you just run around in the woods, with your friends, cause it has nice accuracy. You can shoot fast with this gun, just not as fast as guns with double triggers or an auto selecter. I'm not saying it's slow, just if you are looking for pure speed I suggest you get a fast finger or double trigger. Overall, I say best gun I've ever shot, Awesome accuracy, moderate speed, really nice gun. I would recomend getting a sniper barrel though, they increase the accuracy better a longshot, with all guns especially.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kirbalicous
Ogden UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Tippmann 98 Custom
10/13/2009

Customer review by 1869paintballteam

5.0 stars 10/13/2009 by 1869paintballteam
by 1869paintballteam
Walmart associate

I have used this gun for 7 years. I gotten other co-workers want to play so i tell them to buy this gun and they will never go wrong. Since than I got 13 co-worker to play paintball. Now r little walmart team plays 10 mouths out of the year. Its the best gun ever for starters or long time players. When new people ask me about paintball I tell them to buy this gun. They never need to buy another gun afterward. Unless they would like a spear or an new gun. The price for it is the best. Most starting out want to buy cheap guns but end up replaceing it with the tippmann. So to save money in the long run. Just start off with one the best guns out their. My walmart is store walmart 1869 in marlton NJ.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1869paintballteam
marlton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Tippman 98 Custom
3/27/2009

Customer review by jeff24x

5.0 stars 3/27/2009 by jeff24x
by jeff24x

I have owned one for about a month and the comparable ones price wise are not as dependable. Alot of the guns around the prise range will shoot faster than the tippman but the tippman is very easy to use and very reliable. I've shot a good 5000 rounds through it and have only broken about 10 balls which if you know anything about paintball thats pretty good. But one thing you do need is to upgrade the barrel, the stock barrel doesn't shoot all that great. And when i say upgrade get an expensive barrel you won't regreat it. Overall I love my gun I have fully upgraded it with the cyclone feed, response trigger, and a opsgear 18" barrel and i love it. It shoots like its gold. Five stars.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jeff24x
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
it works pretty good
11/17/2008

Customer review by nydevildog

4.0 stars 11/17/2008 by nydevildog
by nydevildog

buy the package instead of just the marker cause the mask is good and it does not fog up.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nydevildog
ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A great gun
4/5/2008

Customer review by splatterd

5.0 stars 4/5/2008 by splatterd
by splatterd

i used to have this gun but it was stolen. when i did have it i use to play all the time and would aleays win!!! I recamend his gun for` any one who is a paint baller who is new to the game or has been a paint baller for a while.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
splatterd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best paintball marker i've ever owned!
8/16/2009

Customer review by aba32

5.0 stars 8/16/2009 by aba32
by aba32

I have been playing paintball for about 4 years now, and I still beleive the 98 costume is the best marker on the market. I've had many other markers before, some fullauto, some semi, but this i have to say is the best one I have ever had. Its easy clean/oil, and with all the custom parts, and upgrades, I can say it will help all players. I have deffinaly won my fair share of games with this marker. With the interchangable barrel it's one of the most accurate markers i now. Anyone who decides to buy this marker will be impressed I guarntee!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aba32
Canton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/28/2008

Customer review by coonhunter22

4.0 stars 12/28/2008 by coonhunter22
by coonhunter22

i got this as a gift, mine was missing a spring in the trigger so it didnt work, the front handle wont last long cause its plastic, i took it back, got a spyder, 20 oz. co2 tank, mask, hopper, and body protection for like 20$ more so i would recomend this for someone who wont have wars, but if u are then i wouldnt get this, just go get all things seperate

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coonhunter22
mexico, mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
awesome gun
4/6/2008

Customer review by relyt13

5.0 stars 4/6/2008 by relyt13
by relyt13

I got my 98 custom for christmas and used it in two wars. It works great and shoots farther and better than my friends spyder imagine (which he says is the best.) The 9 ounce tank dont really last long and the stock barrell dont shoot over about 50 feet. I would reccomend a 16-18 inch barrell and a 20 ounce co2 tank. Great product but not very cheap.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
relyt13
bristol fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good product for beginers
12/30/2008

Customer review by jnieman22

5.0 stars 12/30/2008 by jnieman22
by jnieman22

the tippmann 98 is 1 of the most reliable paintball guns on the market so i decided i should go and get one when i got back from the store with my 98 i opend it and relized that i need my co2 tank filled so i drove to dicks and got it filled now back to the point this is 1 of the best guns for a beginer or for someone who needs a good reliable gun

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jnieman22
cincinnati,OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great paintball gun
5/12/2008

Customer review by dawg0064

5.0 stars 5/12/2008 by dawg0064
by dawg0064

I bought this gun about a month ago and enjoyed using it since I have just started getting into paintball and don't know everything about paintball but I highly recommend this gun. It is great on everthing except for distance shooting so I recommend getting a longer barrel. This is a great gun to start out with.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dawg0064
Columbus,MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Just bought!! 12-15-07
12/16/2007

Customer review by texansfan4life

5.0 stars 12/16/2007 by texansfan4life
by texansfan4life

i just bought it about like 7 hrs ago at like 12 and playd at like 1 and it totally rox! it is great u should defiantly buy one the googles are great u can see all around u it is mad crazy and get MONSTER paintballs 2000 for 26.77 u cant beat that! buy it!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
texansfan4life
Reading,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/20/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/20/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The Tippman 98 custom is by far one of the best markers I have used. I like that it has a nice weight so it doesn't feel like it's going to break in your hands I also like that it is very small and compact so it's easy to use when your on the move.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Palm Bay, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
11/7/2008

Customer review by JonTheBaller

3.0 stars 11/7/2008 by JonTheBaller
by JonTheBaller

I don't mind the 98 really. But id rather get the A-5. Just for some reason. I reccomend the 98 for all players. new and old. I just sold my 98 for $120 at my local shop. And I bought the 98 from wal-mart up'd it a bit. So i'd say its a decent gun.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JonTheBaller
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tippmann 98 custom
7/30/2009

Customer review by NerfRocker1994

5.0 stars 7/30/2009 by NerfRocker1994
by NerfRocker1994

This is a very great gun. Very customizeable and very adjustable. very high fps and very very accurate. i am shooting visual impact paint balls through it and they work great. chops maybe 1 out of every 1000 paint balls. i highly recommend

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NerfRocker1994
Kendall NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
98 custom
5/13/2008

Customer review by markersaway

5.0 stars 5/13/2008 by markersaway
by markersaway

The 98 custom has shown outstanding dependablity and performance. Its side feed gives ease of use and provides a very accurate and balanced feel. The available add ons make it a good choice for begginers or the more avid user.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
markersaway
Yanceyville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great
4/13/2009

Customer review by Mvalero

5.0 stars 4/13/2009 by Mvalero
by Mvalero

Just used this this weekend and it work out great performed perfect and i thought it was just a great gun i only down side is the C02 tank is small 9oz but can be easily ungraded to a 20oz for about 20 to 25 dollars. : D

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mvalero
Nyssa,OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews