Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 70 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

70 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

70 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
47
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
1
1-20 of 55 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews
Poor Adjustment Design
1/26/2008

Customer review by FippyDarkpaw

3.0 stars 1/26/2008 by FippyDarkpaw
by FippyDarkpaw

Ok, I have had this item for almost a year it seems. I use it often so it has not been a totally lost purchase. Pros: 1. The vacuum system will catch most of your trimings - some do not make it into the trap, but hey its much better than ones without the option. 2. The turbo button, but one wonders why this was not just the speed it would always run at. I always use it. 3. Rechargeable and so far has held long charges for multiple trimmings 4. If you take the head off and use the bare cutter, you can get a pretty good shave with a tiny stubble left over. Its better than any electric shaver I had purchased in the past. However, be careful, I have nicked myself at least twice. Cons: This is my big beef that keeps it from 5 stars if you are reading Norelco! 1. The poorly designed adjustment feature. You twist to lock it in place, but the one I have does not stay locked for long and will continue to slip down to the next number as you use it. Nothing like messing up your trim when you start on a 3 and end up with a 1 on the other side of the face. I have a piece of duct-stape wrapped around my adjustment band to keep it from moving on its own. I marked recommend to buying because its still the best trimmer for my beard I have found to date.

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FippyDarkpaw
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
very nice
1/31/2008

Customer review by jimmyv

5.0 stars 1/31/2008 by jimmyv
by jimmyv

i just purchased the t980, and am very impressed. previously i've bought cheaper beard trimmers & they just don't seem to last. they don't do nearly the job on my face that the t980 does. the vaccum works great. for years i've been yelled at because of hair on the sink. no matter what kind of cleaning i did, my girl would always find my hair somewhere. with the 980 no cleanup is involved. yea, it's a little expensive, but all in all worth the cash (considering that it's durable...i haven't had mine for long, so we'll see). on a final note, it comes with a travel bag, which is great. i can even fit my nose/ear trimmer in it

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jimmyv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Norelco T980
9/4/2009

Customer review by PAR913

5.0 stars 9/4/2009 by PAR913
by PAR913

This product is excellent. It is easy to use, clean and holds a good charge. Easy to understand instructions.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PAR913
Chino CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good but not portable
6/19/2010

Customer review by JegboyX

3.0 stars 6/19/2010 by JegboyX
by JegboyX

I returned mine. I bought this trimmer to replace my old Norelco T7500 that no longer holds a charge for a trip overseas. Upon receiving the new T9800 I was disappointed at seeing how big the charger was. Not portable at all especially when you have to condense your luggages when flying these days. My old T7500 only uses a regular cord to charge, making it easy to pack it around. I could not find a picture of the charger online at neither Walmart.com nor Norelco's site prior to the purchase. The trimmer itself seem to be fine and I assume the chamber is convenient. I would have kept the product if it hadn't been for the charger. Bit picky on my part and most might not care. I am still searching around given most trimmers today seem to come with a lot of accessories and some even a dock station. I prefer to keep mine in a storage bag in my drawer rather than taking up space on our sink counter. I wish Norelco would remake the convenient T7500.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JegboyX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Great Beard Trimmer
4/24/2009

Customer review by Goalieman034

5.0 stars 4/24/2009 by Goalieman034
by Goalieman034

I purchased this Norelco Trimmer back in October of 2006, and it's still running like a champ! I use it a minumum of three times a week for my beard and once every two weeks for shaving my head. The battery still has enough juice in each charge to last 2 weeks for me, almost 3 years later, WELL worth the money spent. Although it's not ideal for cutting hair, and is sold as a beard trimmer, I still use it as such. The only problem with that is that I have to empty it every two to three passes, or take the alternate route of blocking off the vacuum feature, Duct tape fixes everything by the way. Overall though, great value, this thing has lasted me two 6-month deployments to the desert and almost 3 years now total. I would recommend as a tough product that can take some abuse, I drop it at least once a month, and it still works, hah.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Goalieman034
AOR, SW Asia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A shaver for hairy men
10/6/2010

Customer review by GroomingMan

4.0 stars 10/6/2010 by GroomingMan
by GroomingMan

The Norelco T980 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer lives up to its name. I am a very hairy man and need a trimmer that can cut through course thick hair without the mess. The product has a built in vacuum that stores the cut hair in a seperate chamber. The trimmer attachhment works great at keeping my beard and mustache looking neat and professional. I find the product very easy to use and battery keeps its charge for a long time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GroomingMan
Bayville, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good shave
10/18/2008

Customer review by glock23

5.0 stars 10/18/2008 by glock23
by glock23

best trimmer i have ever bought, and ive bought alot

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
glock23
tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cheaply Made
7/2/2008

Customer review by Pops2U

2.0 stars 7/2/2008 by Pops2U
by Pops2U

I purchased this item based on the positive reviews. However, after using twice in two weeks the plastic trimmer length guard would not stay snapped in place. Having this feature appears key for beard trimming. I did remove the guard after each of the two uses to fully clean the trimmer. Perhaps this weakened the molded plastic so as to not permit the tension to retain it at the third use. I found the turbo vac feature to work well and the trim setting to remain in place. The defect found with my trimmer could not be blamed on any travel or rough use as neither was done with this machine, heeding earlier reviewers comments. I returned the trimmer for refund and am now looking for replacement.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pops2U
Hannibal, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Amazing Shaver
8/16/2010

Customer review by JasoninDC

5.0 stars 8/16/2010 by JasoninDC
by JasoninDC

I bought this about a month ago and charged it when I opened the box. It is still charged. I use it twice a week to shave my head and trim my goatee. The vacuum feature actually works very well. It collects 95% of the clippings. I no longer have 15 minutes of clean-up after shaving my head. The Turbo feature is also great if my hair is a little longer or for my goatee. My only complaint is that it is a little bit heavier than my previous razor, but it is a small sacrifice to pay for the long battery life and vacuum feature. This is well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JasoninDC
Washington DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Vacuum sucks
9/30/2010

Customer review by SoooooWeeet54

2.0 stars 9/30/2010 by SoooooWeeet54
by SoooooWeeet54

I had been using an old Norelco, don't remember the product number. It worked flawlessly for years until the battery finally took a dump. So, thinking that Norelco/Philips would be improving their trimmer I bought this one. BIG MISTAKE!! The last trimmer was basic but had the 9-head adjustments and that's it. This one because of the vacuum has a thicker head, is heavier and fills up where the vacuum is supposed to suck up the hair all it does is clog and make the trimmer not work. I'll be looking for another trimmer this time NOT Norelco.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SoooooWeeet54
Lake Elsinore, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Pleased all-around
6/11/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/11/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I've used this trimmer a handful of times now and I really like it. I charged it for the first time a few weeks back and it's still running strong from the first charge. It trims as close as I need it which is an issue I had with other models. The vacuum is just a bonus so anything that it doesn't catch (I'd say maybe 20% when the hair is longer) is not a big deal for me. My only "complaint" is that it's difficult to get in my nostrils for nose-hair trimming but I'm not sure if I'm normal with this request.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
norelco t980
7/23/2008

Customer review by adventphotography

5.0 stars 7/23/2008 by adventphotography
by adventphotography

Wow wow wow, what an awesome product, get it before its gone, its a fantastic trimmer, It cuts like buttah, I have had other trimmers like the cobra, and if you like your beard getting pulled from your chin, then go with one of those and you'll be happy. But if you like a nice quick shave with a laser sharp trimmer, then go with the t980 and start enjoying a trim with a professional grade trimmer. The vacuum feature is not the best but it does catch alot of stubble. but this product is 5 star all the way.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
adventphotography
arundel maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Norelco T980 Accuvac
7/2/2009

Customer review by DTroll

4.0 stars 7/2/2009 by DTroll
by DTroll

It is simple to use, don't have to worry about having different sizes of combs to use for it. Very Simple to switch between the 2 different cutting blades that they have for it. The vacuum section of the trimmer work alright, I wouldn't say that it get all the hair all the time. The camber that the hair collects in, is a little bit small, and it easily fills up, I wish it was little bit bigger, so I can spend less time stopping and emptying the camber out.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DTroll
Stephenville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great product
3/10/2008

Customer review by DebKay2007

5.0 stars 3/10/2008 by DebKay2007
by DebKay2007
Walmart associate

If you are looking for simplicity and ease of use, this is the trimmer. No fancy attachments, only a couple, and easy to exchange. The built-in vaccum and hair collector is an awesome feature....very little, if no clean-up. Easy to dial in required length and trims beard evenly. Easy charging, easy maintenance, easy use over-all. I would recommend to all beard wearers looking for an easy and quick trimmer. Joe (husband to Deb) lol

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DebKay2007
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Great Trimmer
5/16/2009

Customer review by seafood

5.0 stars 5/16/2009 by seafood
by seafood

I like the fact that it get's rid of all of the hair in the carpartment then all you got to do is dump it in the trash bucket great product I think from Norelco. My other trimmer I had I didn't care for it though because it would let the hair clipings down in the sink and down the drain then I would have to clean it all up pain in the butt. It cost 54.00 Dollars for it to me I think it's alot of money oh well though.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
seafood
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1/8/2008

Customer review by Apsiemarie

5.0 stars 1/8/2008 by Apsiemarie
by Apsiemarie

So nice to have a trimmer that catches most of the hair! A piece has started to break on the trimmer, and my husband has only had it for a few weeks, but whatever the piece is isn't significant, I guess it's just cosmetic... This is a lot more expensive than other trimmers, but does not catch or pull on hair, and works great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Apsiemarie
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A great buy
7/6/2010

Customer review by SuperBeetle

5.0 stars 7/6/2010 by SuperBeetle
by SuperBeetle

I have gone through many trimmers and have always been in trouble with my wife for leaving a hairy mess all around and in the sink. With this new trimmer, almost all the hair gets sucked into the chamber and leaves almost no mess! I think its great, and my wife thinks its the best. It also helps the the trimmer works well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SuperBeetle
San Antonio,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Works- really works
10/2/2010

Customer review by Sailorx10

5.0 stars 10/2/2010 by Sailorx10
by Sailorx10

Does exactly what it was designed to do and as it is represented. It's not a hair clipper, nor was it designed to be - it is a great beard & mustache trimmer. The vacuum action results in absolutely no mess to clean up when you are finished using it. Battery life is excellent and the cordless features is a gotta-have!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sailorx10
Alameda, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
No hair in the sink
2/4/2009

Customer review by jblb4ever

5.0 stars 2/4/2009 by jblb4ever
by jblb4ever
Top 1000 contributor

This trimmer works GREAT. No more getting yelled at for leaving hair in the sink. It is very easy to adjust the height settings. The collection cup is easy to empty. No mess, just dump the trimmings in the trash. It is easy to use, and cordless so you can use it anytime/anywhere. A great product at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jblb4ever
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Not recommended
5/29/2010

Customer review by WalkinDesertRat

1.0 stars 5/29/2010 by WalkinDesertRat
by WalkinDesertRat

This is a very poorly designed trimmer. The vacuum feature clogs up after one or two swipes across your beard, then hair goes all over. If you don't mind whiskers all over your bathroom, the trimmer actually trims ok. I am currently looking for a replacement even though this one is only one year old.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalkinDesertRat
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews