Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 18 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

18 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

18 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
0
1-17 of 17 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Could be better
4/28/2009

Customer review by RadioRandy

3.0 stars 4/28/2009 by RadioRandy
by RadioRandy

First off, I'll state that I have no prior experience with seed spreaders. My review, therefore, is from a purely novice point of view. The unit was very easy to mount and hook up to power. I give it an "A+" in that area. The motor ran cool and very quiet. Another "A+". The set screws on both stops for the feed gate stripped out before I was even done adjusting it the first time. I am not that strong and feel that this should not have happened right away. That rates a "D-". The grass seed I was using constantly got "hung up" where I would have to poke a stick into the hole to keep it flowing. The feed was very unpredictable because of this. I don't know if it would feed larger seed or fertilizer any more reliably. Other than those issues, the unit was relatively user friendly. I suspected when I bought it that I would probably have issues with the grass seed. That is why I'm not running the unit into the ground in this review. Problem is that I just couldn't find anything else, in that price range, that was as ATV friendly for use over uneven ground. Use your own judgement, but don't be too disappointed it it doesn't perfectly fit your needs. As for me, I'm just satisfied with not having to "hand spread" seed over my pasture.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RadioRandy
Colville, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Good Product
5/4/2010

Customer review by Hattaway

4.0 stars 5/4/2010 by Hattaway
by Hattaway

Good price for this spreader. Works well as advertised. The on/off handle could be made to operate better.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hattaway
Monroe Co., Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Super Spreader
6/9/2008

Customer review by Eddie125

5.0 stars 6/9/2008 by Eddie125
by Eddie125

This unit installed very nicely, and did a 4 hour job in 20 minutes, was so fun to use and worked so good that I had some fertilizer/weed killer left over that I went and did my neighbors 2 acres. I knew it would come with alligator clips for clipping onto the not so convienant batter, so I purchased a 12VDC plug to fit the ATV's 12VDC Accessory outlet. It spread 10 feet to left and right of me, and 10 feet behind. It had excellant trap door operation and was very easy to use. Only thing is it came with a shield to keep the material from flying all over the back of you, but it was not in the instructions........ Other then that, to thumbs up! :)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eddie125
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent Buy
8/7/2008

Customer review by BubbasToy

5.0 stars 8/7/2008 by BubbasToy
by BubbasToy

This is a great product. Easy to mount, use and clean. We use it to plant food plots at the hunting club... no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BubbasToy
Warner Robins, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good product
3/31/2008

Customer review by Trailboss

4.0 stars 3/31/2008 by Trailboss
by Trailboss

The seeder is generally well built and mounted easily on my ATV. The unit should last a long time and did the job I needed spreading fine legume seed, oats, and fertilizer. The rotating gate for seed adjustment needed to be loosened to work properly and the one of the two stops had a stripped thread (this didn't matter since you only needed one of the stops.) It worked best to have one person judge the rate of flow and another drive the ATV.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Trailboss
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked great.
5/1/2012

Customer review by KevanJ

4.0 stars 5/1/2012 by KevanJ
by KevanJ

Finally got to use it this weekend. Really set up easily and worked great for us. We spread pelletized lime, misc. seeds, and fertilizer. The only thing we did do and think they should do as well is we added adjustable "wings" to the back plate in order to help keep the spray from getting more on whatever you are spreading from and to help regulate the distance it would throw the material out towards the back and side.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KevanJ
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
Moultrie Spreader
2/29/2012

Customer review by ALANROBERT

3.0 stars 2/29/2012 by ALANROBERT
by ALANROBERT

Everything went well at Wall Mart. The Moultrie Spreader was received as promised. When I got home and tried to mount it the my ATV I encountered problem. I Wrote and E Mailed Moultrie Products direct and they were unresposive to my needs. In summary, Wall Mart was cooperative and Moultrie was not.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ALANROBERT
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
ATV Spreader
6/12/2012

Customer review by PlotPlanter

5.0 stars 6/12/2012 by PlotPlanter
by PlotPlanter

This product went together easily and mounted to the ATV quickly. Operation of the motor and push gate are good even when the hopper is full. I can spread lime and fertilizer 10 times faster than by hand with a push spreader.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PlotPlanter
Champion Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Fairly deal.
10/24/2011

Customer review by Egurs

2.0 stars 10/24/2011 by Egurs
by Egurs

I called the company that made the unit, to ask about the problem with the gate rod. The problem is on the push/pull gate is the two stops were mounted on one side of the bracket. Which means it does not work like it should. So I cut the push / pull rod off. I replaced it with a wire system. Which is a lot smoother and works so much better then a rod that gets stuck in positions and does not operate correctly. One other problem is the lid. The lid is too tight of a fit, so I replaced it with a trash can lid and a bungee strap.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Egurs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good unit for the money, needs some improvements
4/17/2012

Customer review by Highpowerindiana

4.0 stars 4/17/2012 by Highpowerindiana
by Highpowerindiana

This is probably the best value for the money out there, but the loading gate that meters out the seed needs some improvement. The gate, which is a stamped piece of metal with holes in it for the seed to drop through, does not fit well against the bottom of the spreader, so if you're spreading really small seed, it will sift it's way through even when the gate is closed. The push rod that controls the gate is not really well designed, but works. The real problem is the documentation is TERRIBLE. Come on Moultrie, get someone to actually try to follow your assembly or use directions, then re-write them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Highpowerindiana
Lafayette, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
8/20/2011

Customer review by NWBama

2.0 stars 8/20/2011 by NWBama
by NWBama

Nice spreader. It had lots of issues. Deflector plate was not bent forward on each end. Only one bolt hole to attach plate. Could not lower plate enough without grinding small support. Hopper was not lined up with flinger. Actuator arm had to be modified. Brace u-bolts didi not have lock nuts. Did not have option to plug power cord into 12V on ATV. Have been trying to get in touch with Moultrie Customer Service for two weeks -- phone and e-mail. Best price I found on internet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NWBama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
A very good product
9/2/2008

Customer review by Elkofolks

5.0 stars 9/2/2008 by Elkofolks
by Elkofolks

This seeder did the job, which was spreading grass seed on our hay field. Only problem I had was the seed stopped coming out occasionally and I had to hit the hopper to get it going. But I was using pretty light seed, I'm sure if it had been a feed product like corn or oats, there would've been no problem.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Elkofolks
Elko, Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
A very useful product for deer hunters.
11/24/2010

Customer review by DeerHunterCountry

5.0 stars 11/24/2010 by DeerHunterCountry
by DeerHunterCountry

This seed spreader is exactly what I needed to attach to my ATV. It is easy to hookup and holds a good amount of seed. Wal-mart shipped this product very fast and the .98 cent shipping to my home was fantastic.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeerHunterCountry
Soso, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A better product.
8/31/2010

Customer review by Longbeard

5.0 stars 8/31/2010 by Longbeard
by Longbeard

It is a very useful product for which it is intended for. It spreads really good. It saves on time and walking to spread seed. Really like it and recommend it for planting seed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Longbeard
Golconda IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Hunter's Delight
1/4/2011

Customer review by MammyHunter

4.0 stars 1/4/2011 by MammyHunter
by MammyHunter

We mounted this to my 4-wheeler and it was so great to pull the lever and flip a switch to corn the roads. It sure beats carrying around a heavy sack of corn. It was great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MammyHunter
Conroe, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
ATV Spreader
8/10/2010

Customer review by djlhfarm

5.0 stars 8/10/2010 by djlhfarm
by djlhfarm

Excellent product just planted 3 acres in about 30 minutes. Set up is simple. Did bahia seed to oats, even spread corn.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
djlhfarm
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Very user friendly.
8/17/2008

Customer review by Tracktorch

4.0 stars 8/17/2008 by Tracktorch
by Tracktorch

Very easy to install. Spreads very well with small and larger seeds. Great product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tracktorch
Andrews SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year