Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 29 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

29 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

29 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 22 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews
A must for struggling readers
12/28/2008

Customer review by PhonicsTeacher

5.0 stars 12/28/2008 by PhonicsTeacher
by PhonicsTeacher

I teach reading to adults with learning disabilities. My students love this device because it gives them independence. It is affordable, has all of the essential words and definitions, and is easy to use. The speaking part is a computerized voice that is easy to understand, although not perfect. It is a life saver for those who struggle with sounding out words.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PhonicsTeacher
Richmond, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Working out great!
11/26/2008

Customer review by DiV18911

5.0 stars 11/26/2008 by DiV18911
by DiV18911

We purchased this for our son, who is an English Language Learner. He uses it when he comes across a word when reading that he does not know. Really love that if there is a word in the definition that he also does not know, he can highlight it and it will look it up.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DiV18911
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Loved it
10/6/2008

Customer review by 3girlsinGeorgia

5.0 stars 10/6/2008 by 3girlsinGeorgia
by 3girlsinGeorgia

This product is awesome and very helpful for my third grader. If you comparison shop these, be sure that it's the speaking product because you can find Franklin Spellers that are less expensive but that is because they do not talk. This is important feature because my kids are not sure they have looked up the correct word until they hear it spoken. Walmart.com had the best price anywhere online so if this is the product you want, you are done shopping!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
3girlsinGeorgia
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It suits a purpose
12/27/2009

Customer review by jjwalmartshopper

4.0 stars 12/27/2009 by jjwalmartshopper
by jjwalmartshopper

The product is ok. Got it early but just opened for Christmas so have only used it a few days. It is a little "low tech" for what I thought. The games are not that great. A little hard for a 6 year old to follow but will be ok as she ages. She might learn some new words later. But for now it's hard for her to navigate to the games. Of course tic tac toe is easy enough for her. The speaking voice is a little off for me. I could probably learn some words from it if I played a game. I would have liked a game where it said a word and then you had to spell it. That is what I was looking for and can't find anything like that out there. It's a fine product just not as high tech as I thought. But for the price I guess this is as good as it can be. It is worth the purchase just for the simple fact if your child is reading alone and doesn't know a word she can type it in and not have to ask you 1000 times in a day.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jjwalmartshopper
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
nice gadget
1/11/2010

Customer review by enoughnicknames

4.0 stars 1/11/2010 by enoughnicknames
by enoughnicknames

the product is a good idea and it has a lot of features, and it is a good learning tool for children 6 and up. But, they could improve this gadget in two directions: 1. the voice you hear through the speakers is not vey clear, it`s a bit too robotic and slow, hard to understand. 2. the plastic cover that opens up should go all the day backwards and click in place. otherwise is too easy to break, being made of some flimsy thin plastic. I do like the product itself, and with a few fixes it could be great.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
enoughnicknames
green bay, wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Franklin learning tool
1/22/2008

Customer review by SewMuchToDo

5.0 stars 1/22/2008 by SewMuchToDo
by SewMuchToDo

We were advised to try a franklin spell checker for my son who has some anxiety problems and will not continue with work if he is unsure of spelling a word. This product is great! He is even having fun with it looking up words he might not understand or know how to pronounce. I would buy another without hesitation.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SewMuchToDo
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dictionary & Spell
1/1/2009

Customer review by naex

5.0 stars 1/1/2009 by naex
by naex

My 8 year old son was recently diagnosed with dyslexia. The lady who tested him recommened a spell checker/talking. He LOVES it. I highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
naex
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great
9/7/2009

Customer review by mimitx

5.0 stars 9/7/2009 by mimitx
by mimitx

I have two kids with Dsylexia. This is a great tool for them to use around the house and for homework.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mimitx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
hepling those in need !
5/28/2015

Customer review by Babasom

4.0 stars 5/28/2015 by Babasom
by Babasom

It helped my old lady with her speach problem , just type the word , it'll be pronounced .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Babasom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great buy!
1/4/2015

Customer review by Jessica45988

5.0 stars 1/4/2015 by Jessica45988
by Jessica45988

My six year old nephew has been playing with his dictionary nonstop since Christmas. Right now he likes playing the games but he will be using it to practice his spelling words.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jessica45988
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent tool for children
7/30/2008

Customer review by Learning

5.0 stars 7/30/2008 by Learning
by Learning

This product has proven to be very useful and a great educational tool for my children. Not only can you use the dictionary function, but it also checks spelling and has games to help kids enjoy spelling without even knowing it!! I would highly recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Learning
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Helpful for elementary students
2/17/2010

Customer review by crombie

5.0 stars 2/17/2010 by crombie
by crombie

This worked as expected and is very helpful to my 3rd grader. My only complaint is this for $40 it should have included batteries! I ordered this online and had it delivered to my home and was mad because I had to go to the store to buy batteries.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crombie
S.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/15/2009

Customer review by JulieD3

5.0 stars 1/15/2009 by JulieD3
by JulieD3

My 10 year old daughter LOVES this! Part of her assignment for her Spelling words, is to write out the definitions. This is handy and it gives child friendly definitions that she understands.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JulieD3
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Useful
11/1/2009

Customer review by MsLady65

5.0 stars 11/1/2009 by MsLady65
by MsLady65

This is a very good electronic dictionary for a child. I bought this for my son who is seven to help with his vocabulary words and he likes it.I have used it for myself and was impressed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsLady65
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!
7/4/2008

Customer review by ILOVEMYKITTY

5.0 stars 7/4/2008 by ILOVEMYKITTY
by ILOVEMYKITTY

My son loves his new toy/dictionary. It is so fun watching him use this. This is just the beginning of something good, I am sure of it. We will be using this for many years to come.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ILOVEMYKITTY
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
5/22/2008

Customer review by rachellou

5.0 stars 5/22/2008 by rachellou
by rachellou

This is a great product - I bought it for my son (I homeschool) who has learning disabilities and he really enjoys it. It is very simple to use and is proving to be very useful.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rachellou
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Helpful product
12/31/2008

Customer review by southernladyuptosomething

4.0 stars 12/31/2008 by southernladyuptosomething
by southernladyuptosomething

Bought this for elementary grade son and we use while reading daily. He looks up words he is unfamiliar with (at least three). Helps build vocabulary.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
southernladyuptosomething
Dallas, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
10/30/2008

Customer review by Yvonne1979

4.0 stars 10/30/2008 by Yvonne1979
by Yvonne1979

The product was nice; however, there are quite a few words we could not find in the dictionary. Overall it is nice and my children enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yvonne1979
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A strong tool for a childs success in school!
2/1/2010

Customer review by VividBrightLight

5.0 stars 2/1/2010 by VividBrightLight
by VividBrightLight

I give this a five star!!! This product went way beyond my Expectations.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VividBrightLight
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Just write for kids
11/5/2007

Customer review by Makingmymoneycount

5.0 stars 11/5/2007 by Makingmymoneycount
by Makingmymoneycount

This is a great tool for the kid how likes to do it themselves.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Makingmymoneycount
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews