Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 7 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

7 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

7 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-6 of 6 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

This snow thrower works great!
12/7/2007

Customer review by lovetoplayinsnow

5.0 stars 12/7/2007 by lovetoplayinsnow
by lovetoplayinsnow

I actually purchased this product in the store. It was the floor model so I was a little hesitant, however, upon getting it home, I added a little gas, hit the primer, and on the first pull....it roared to life. I had left the snow in the driveway for a couple days prior. It was about six-eight inches deep and packed down since it had been driven on. I started clearing the snow and the next thing you know, I had a clean driveway. I was so impressed I did my neighbors too. Two days later we got more snow. I walked to the garage and once again on the first pull, it started right up and worked great! LET IT SNOW!!! Note: my driveway is gravel so I adjusted the height of the clearing deck. (easy) It worked great and did not shoot gravel. The driveway is six cars long and three cars wide.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovetoplayinsnow
Richmond, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent
11/18/2007

Customer review by JIMwisconsin

5.0 stars 11/18/2007 by JIMwisconsin
by JIMwisconsin

This works awesome!But it is not a 2 cycle as the Ad states.It sat in my shed all summer and i went to start it last week and it took only 1 pull.Very reliable and plenty of Power.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JIMwisconsin
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/29/2007

Customer review by posoneman

5.0 stars 12/29/2007 by posoneman
by posoneman

I bought this item at Wal-Mart and what a great machine. I did not have any problems moving an 8 inch snow fall. Starts with one pull. The only thing I have a problem with is the weight of the machine, it is too heavy for one person to load in the back of a pickup truck without a ramp or maybe use a trailer to transport it, but other than that, it most definately does the job.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
posoneman
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A Godsend!
1/4/2008

Customer review by nanatucky

5.0 stars 1/4/2008 by nanatucky
by nanatucky

We just moved into our new home with a side drive and four hours later it began to snow. For four continuous weekends the snow came. Although our new neighbors were very helpful, we had to get a snowblower of our own. The MTD 5.5 was all we could afford. We hesitated, but made the purchase. It was the best decision we've made. What an awesome machine. User friendly and easy to use. It has everything we needed at a price we could afford. We highly recommend this MTD 5.5 snowblower.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nanatucky
Southeast Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
mtd yard machine 5.5
1/4/2008

Customer review by killiansmom

5.0 stars 1/4/2008 by killiansmom
by killiansmom

it only showed up 3 hours before the 12 inch snow fall, so I got to test her out during the worst! it is a wondrerful machine at a great price....thanks for delivery before the snow came!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
killiansmom
wheeling, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
A good unit for the price.
12/16/2007

Customer review by 05pbandj

4.0 stars 12/16/2007 by 05pbandj
by 05pbandj

This snow thrower was a good value for the price. Similar sized units at the local hardware or box store were running $100 - $300 more. It’s probably best for home or light duty use. The 2nd stage impeller and discharge chute are all made of plastic. (Just about everything else is metal.) They work well, but you’ll need to avoid abusing them too much. (sucking up sticks, rocks, etc.) After using the using the unit I would avoid leaving it outside to freeze. If the packed snow and ice freezes around the plastic 2nd stage impeller it might break when you try to use it next time. Not then end of the world, just need to be careful and make sure everything spins freely before you apply power. Overall the snow thrower did a great job cutting through wet snow and ice. The motor is good running, strong and not overly noisy. It doesn’t have electric start, but does have a large recoil start handle and only takes one or two pulls to get started. If you don’t feel comfortable starting an average lawn mower you may want to look for a unit with electric start. I also liked the size and weight of the unit. It’s small and light enough to for one person to put it into the back of a pickup. And it rolls through a standard door if you want to put it inside a building. I would recommend this unit for home or light use. If you take care if it, it’ll probably last many years. If you’re a contractor or farmer looking for something that will take some abuse, you will probably want to buy a more expensive unit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
05pbandj
Norwich, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month