Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 19 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

19 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

19 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-18 of 18 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Netgear RangeMax NEXT WNR834B Wireless Router
9/24/2007

Customer review by metazip

5.0 stars 9/24/2007 by metazip
by metazip

Easy setup and works great.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
metazip
Stephens City, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Idea. Poor Implementation
12/5/2008

Customer review by indiejeep

3.0 stars 12/5/2008 by indiejeep
by indiejeep

I purchased this router and one corresponding Netgear 802.11n USB unit and installed it in our home with 4 WiFi devices. It is a classy looking unit that felt like it had a very good build quality. It came with all necessary cables and a power supply. It installed rather easily. At first this router worked appeared to work very well, but I soon found out it does not appear to have a consistent connection uptime. For my 802.11n computer it was very fast when connected, but lost connection frequently and was less reliable that an older Linksys 802.11g router. This router also did not have very good backward compatibility with 802.11g devices. My wife's 802.11g laptop was never able to maintain connection to this device while only feet away in the same room and when connected performed slower than our older router that was having problems. My iPhone connected via 802.11g seemed slower than our older router. My PS3 connected via 802.11g seemed significantly slower than our older router. This device was created prior to the 802.11n WiFi protocol becoming standardized (it was in draft status at the time). I expect we will see some very nice 802.11n routers come out now that that protocol has been standardized, but I would wait on purchasing an 802.11n router now. If you need a WiFi router immediately, get a 802.11g unit with as many antennas as possible. External antennas will always be better than internal antennas and have better directionality too. Note: One user commented that this WiFi router was slower than his hard wire connection. That will always be the case. No wireless router has anywhere close to the speed or packet perfection of a Cat5 hard wired connection. WiFi is designed around accessibility and ease of networking, but until technologies advance further they will not be faster.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
indiejeep
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Reliable Wireless, Reasonably Priced
1/10/2008

Customer review by GoinC2C

5.0 stars 1/10/2008 by GoinC2C
by GoinC2C

I replaced an older ineffective 802.11B router (different brand) with the Netgear WNR834B 802.11N because it was recommended on the website of a highly respected consumer product testing magazine. . The Good: Strong wireless connectivity throughout throughout my two-story townhome, no periodic loss of signal (which plagued my former router), no interference from four other nearby wireless networks, and a noticeable increase in download speeds from the previous router. . The Bad: The installation CD did not run on my latest-version PC operating system, resulting in a lengthy conversation with Netgear's overseas techie, who tenaciously provided 50 minutes worth of heavily accented assistance until I was up and running. . The Result: I'm happy as a clam at high tide. The price was right compared to other sources I explored, the performance dazzles me, and my wife can now use her laptop at her leisure.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoinC2C
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
useless
11/8/2008

Customer review by lubug

1.0 stars 11/8/2008 by lubug
by lubug

Thing won't work if you don't have a seperate modem to hook up to it. So now I have a useless piece of equipment because I can't find a modem that will work with it. And I had to buy a different wireless router

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lubug
Yelm WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
wireless router
6/29/2008

Customer review by GLNelson

1.0 stars 6/29/2008 by GLNelson
by GLNelson

I was totally disappointed with this product! I have an 8 year old hard wired system for my home network that is twice as fast as this wirelees system. It has slowed down my internet speed and my computer! I'll be returning this system in the morning. For those that do not currently have a network this might be okay but if you have a wired network avoid this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GLNelson
Magazine, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazing
4/7/2009

Customer review by keibie40

5.0 stars 4/7/2009 by keibie40
by keibie40

Consumer Reports gave this Router the highest Wireless Router rating. Their rating was correct. I have many wireless dead spots in my home, and Belkin's equivalent equipment could not penetrate these areas. I decided to replace the router with this Netgear WNR834B and paired it up with the Netgear WN111 USB Adapter, and every dead spot in my home now has an extremely strong and consistant signal speed strength of 154mbps up to 270mbps. This Router is awesome and worth every penny. It does just as it says, no more dead spots and no more dropped signals.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
keibie40
Owens Cross Roads, AL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
well worth the money
8/7/2008

Customer review by Charlie20

5.0 stars 8/7/2008 by Charlie20
by Charlie20

I got this product about a two weeks ago and i have not had a single problem (like connection issues) with it yet. i have friends with more expensive routers that still do not perform as well as this one does. Also the setup was really easy, just put in the cd, follow the few steps and thats it. And if you need help, their technical support is really good, so they will able to help with a problem over the phone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Charlie20
Groton, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great router
3/5/2009

Customer review by demolitionguy

5.0 stars 3/5/2009 by demolitionguy
by demolitionguy

I bought this router today,took very little time to install,and was up and running on two desk tops,and two laptops,with no problems!. A lot better router than belkin and the rest of them,I have an other netgear wire less G router and it works great also,gave the older g to my son,and he likes it also. Can not beat the price. And they work great,very good security on the netgear routers.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
demolitionguy
Rochester,ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works like a dream.
11/10/2008

Customer review by JoyC

5.0 stars 11/10/2008 by JoyC
by JoyC

The ease of installation and set-up was a breeze. Works just like it says it would. Would highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoyC
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Quick and easy
3/19/2009

Customer review by SirRoxo

5.0 stars 3/19/2009 by SirRoxo
by SirRoxo

After having a bad experience with a Belkin N router this one was a dream. I don't know much if anything about wireless networks but it was so much easier and sane compared the previous router. We just hooked it up, dropped the CD in and in about five minutes everything was set and already to go. I couldn't have asked for anything easier than if someone set it up for me. I also bought a Netgear wireless G MIMO card to go with it and they both work seamlessly. Compared to what I went through with the Belkin I think I'm sticking with Netgear in the future.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SirRoxo
Saratoga, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great service
9/21/2008

Customer review by babydoll58

5.0 stars 9/21/2008 by babydoll58
by babydoll58

very easy to install when there was a problem....the best service i have ever had when dealing with someone on the phone....great knowledge of product and very patient with me

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
babydoll58
reidsville, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good router
9/21/2008

Customer review by gamehead

5.0 stars 9/21/2008 by gamehead
by gamehead

installed in about 10 minutes and was online in probably 12 minutes tops, simple, simple setup. signal is excellent throughout the house.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gamehead
albuquerque
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product for value!
11/24/2008

Customer review by sweetkeeper00

5.0 stars 11/24/2008 by sweetkeeper00
by sweetkeeper00

The product is very simple to setup but unfortunately for me I had to use the products tech support. Tech support was kind, patient and very helpful. Everything was up and running within 10 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sweetkeeper00
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Router!
10/1/2008

Customer review by EPROCE

5.0 stars 10/1/2008 by EPROCE
by EPROCE

Speed is good, connectivity is great, compatible with a lot of different uses (I use it for iPhone, PC, and Mac). Also very easy to set up I highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EPROCE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great product
10/2/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/2/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

after installing this product my computer speed more than doubled.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
richmond,IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
works well after initial problem
6/21/2009

Customer review by ArchSt

4.0 stars 6/21/2009 by ArchSt
by ArchSt

This was my first wireless router and the installation was easy to do and instructions easy to follow. Initially it did not work. I called customer service and they changed router settings to solve the problem. BUT the next day it started to drop off the connection. I called again and after more router setting changes it has worked great the last two weeks.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArchSt
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great product for DD-WRT
1/9/2009

Customer review by kkilps

4.0 stars 1/9/2009 by kkilps
by kkilps

Fast speeds except one room in house. Fast transfer rates and nice design. Easy to setup. Slow web interface. Installed DD-WRT and exceeded expectations.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kkilps
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Made my computer slow
12/23/2008

Customer review by ljacobs

2.0 stars 12/23/2008 by ljacobs
by ljacobs

I originally bought a Belkin G+ wireless router but i couldn't play games on my Wii so I upgraded my router to this and it made my computer soooo slow...so i refunded this product. What i got it for it did but it also hindered my computers performance so it had to go.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ljacobs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day