Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.4out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 | 92 reviews
5 stars
57
4 stars
23
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
Sort by: 
1-20 of 82 reviews
1-20 of 82 reviews
It gets the job done
3/30/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It looks like it will serve its purpose and protect documents from the elements. Documents lay in box neatly. As far as theft proof, well is anything really theft proof. The lock will keep an honest man honest. Even if it had top of the line lock, thief will just take the whole box and open it later.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
safe & secure NO IT IS NOT
11/9/2008
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I' d really like to hear from the manufacture as to why this security box has the same lock & key which fits all the others of the same kind on the shelf . I bought this to keep important papers & money in , thinking it was secure . Not so , anyone that has a key to another Honeywell box like this can open yours & take what-ever is in your private security - fire - proof box . All the keys are the same . I realize it's not expensive but , in my opinion & personal experience of being robbed , I would think they could at least make a different lock & key for each one ---- very misleading !!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (105)No (28)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Safe and sound...
12/27/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Since all the basic models seem to have about the same protection rating, I selected this one because it will hold letter sized documents without folding them up. Seems to have plenty of room inside and I find myself storing all kinds of things. After reading several reviews, I find it is a good habit to take it easy on the keys when opening and closing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does its job..
1/18/2008
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The box looks like it would do a good job protecting your stuff in a fire or flood since it would create a good seal for everything. However, if you're going to use it as a security box to protect from theft, you might want to look elsewhere. The latch on the box is made of PLASTIC and feels flimsy as well. It looks like I could probably break it open with a simple flathead screwdriver!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Okay Product
6/5/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It will do it's job of keeping the document from fire and water. However, I don't like the hard plastic latch/locking for the case. It can easily be broken. However, it's small and someone can steal it, so it really doesn't matter. The main thing is to protect from fire and water NOT theft.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
it was what i expected
10/9/2007
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i was looking for an inexpensive way to keep a few important papers safe in my small dorm room. this was fire and water proof. it is about the size of a briefcase. dont expect to put anything too large in it though.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This safe is a joke
5/27/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This safe is a joke. The whole latching mechanism is plastic. One well placed hit with a common hammer would break the latch and allow someone to open the box. Just above the latch, there is a sticker that says whatever you put inside the safe, put it in a dishwasher-safe container first. Makes me wonder just how water- and fire-proof the thing is. Don't waste your money on this safe. You are better off just buying the $14 steel security box to protect things from people. If you only need to protect things from fire or storms, put them in a heavy-duty zip-lock with a paper-weight and drop it in the back of your toilet.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's the perfect size to hold the items I wanted
6/20/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I wanted a safe box that would protect my external hard dive and other important documents in the event of a fire. I can now keep my computer backups safe allowing me to cancel my monthly online backup subscription that I was paying for. I don't worry anymore about loosing my valuable data and other important documents. This safe is the perfect size for my needs and holds standard 8 1/2 x 11 sized documents without having to bend them. I really like the spring loaded locking mechanism, it makes opening and closing the box very easy. This box works perfectly for my needs.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Honeywell .19 cu. ft. Waterproof Fire Protector
3/9/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is perfect for what we planned on using it for. It will hold our important docuements, etc. Seems to be made well and hopefully will survive a fire if one every occurs.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
bad part
12/21/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
please make sure they include a key for the product had some trouble getting a key for the safe but other then that it is great. Light, and very durable.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just What I Needed
8/2/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was looking for a safe/lock box that was big enough to store important papers and documents along with other stuff. It most definitely can hold a lot of stuff. The picture does not do it justice. It's a lot bigger than what I had expected. It does have some weight to it but to me that's a plus. I also love the locking mechanism. Great item.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Document Security At A Good Price
4/13/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am quite impressed with the quality of the Honeywell fire/waterproof.19 cu. ft. lock-box. It is just big enough to hold all of my vital papers and yet small enough to hide almost anywhere. The heavy-duty construction is of a high quality and is priced very reasonably.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's worth it:
10/18/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Yes i like the security and fire-proof Protector Chest.Its also Water-proof.All my important papers fit inside the chest", and it comes with 2-key's also. Yes i'm happy i purchase this protector box.I think also the price" was worth it! It works for me.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Holds an 8 1/2" x 11" paper flat.
12/23/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Not tested, but would say it holds nearly a ream of paper flat. Thats alot. First that I came across that would hold paper flat without a high price tag. I haven't tested the fire or water statements. I just hope it holds true.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It works
1/19/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Everything is as expected
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Site to store expert
6/30/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Order this online and was easy to pick up from the store. Safe is a good size and looks durable
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
First Alert 2017F
6/27/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It is to heavy for its size which somewhat limits its internal capacity.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good!
5/4/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It fits 8x11 papers without folding and is easy to use and worth every penny!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good value
4/30/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We are pleased with the quality. It looks like it will do as advertised.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Protect your items
4/22/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This item is just what I needed. Excellent quality, well worth the money,
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641759, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-