Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 41 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

41 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

41 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 40 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews
10/25/2008

Customer review by JustTheFactsJaq

4.0 stars 10/25/2008 by JustTheFactsJaq
by JustTheFactsJaq

We purchased this product to secure our cabinets after bringing a teenage foster child into our home. This is to comply with state safety regulations. This product does what is says. As other reviews have indicated you do need to get the magnets lined up in a narrow range to work, but if you are consistant with your installation it should not be a problem. However, be aware that you will require some mechnical and thinking skills to install. They give you all the templates and guides you need to get the job done. You must have patience to do the job right. You will need to drill into the inside of your cabinets to install. Go to Safety1st's website to get PDF version of instructions. This will permit you enlarge the directions. The in package directions were a little too small for my liking

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustTheFactsJaq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great, once it's installed
12/30/2008

Customer review by Carguy88

4.0 stars 12/30/2008 by Carguy88
by Carguy88

These locks are really great for keeping toddlers out of cabinets. With traditional toddler locks the door moves about 1.5 to 2 inches so you can press a clip of some sort to open the door. Because of this, toddlers often find it fun to pull and push the door back and forth, since it seems like it should open. When Tot Loks are installed correctly, the door doesn't move at all, and the child just moves on to the next thing he or she isn't supposed to be doing ;) That said, the Tot Loks are not that easy to install if your cabinet doors are not exactly right for the templates that come with them. If the doors recess into the door opening at all, the templates will not line up correctly, and you will have to figure it out for yourself. If your cabinet doors fall flush with the face of the cabinet this is not an issue, and the templates provided are extremely helpful. I have a few cabinets each way, so I got to practice with templates before going freehand. Lastly, I can install these locks at the grandparents' houses and, with the red locking lever, they won't even know the difference when we're not visiting! The Tot Loks are the only toddler locks I've seen that can be completely deactivated for when the toddler isn't around. Very nice design.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carguy88
Norfolk, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOVE THIS LIFE SAVER
2/22/2008

Customer review by Brimommyof2

5.0 stars 2/22/2008 by Brimommyof2
by Brimommyof2

i bought these because my son knew how to open the traditional plastic locks, he would put all his weight on them to open the cabinet. so i got these and wow! they are great i had them about 2 years now and have not had any problems the only thing i recommend is to buy an extra lock key just in case. my son got a hold of it and hide it from me so he could try to figure out how to open the cabinets! mind you when he did this he was 1 he is 2 this march 2008. now when we go over to friends or family's house he goes straight to the cabinets since he knows theres arent locked lol. but they are completly worth it!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brimommyof2
orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Installation is Rough, and about 20% don't work
12/23/2009

Customer review by RJd222564

3.0 stars 12/23/2009 by RJd222564
by RJd222564

I bought 24 for various cabinets throughout my home. At least 4-5 didn't work. The magnet inside the latch was apparently not strong enough to be attracted by the key. I'll be returning those. The instruction manual is poor, and was clearly drawn up in the 1980s, (dated by its use of antiquated terminology for various tools). I'm a contractor and I had significant trouble installing these. They do work very well, once installed. Plan on spending about an hour apiece for the first 2-3 cabinet doors. That being said, Wal-Mart had the cheapest price on the keyed sets, but Amazon had cheaper prices on the add-on sets.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RJd222564
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Tips on Installation
6/16/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 6/16/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I do like this product but I wish it would come with two locks. I had one problem with it and that was the install. The templates were useless and confusing to me so I figured it out on my own. One trick that I had to do to install it was that since my cupboard doors didn't have anything in the middle for it to latch to, I used the top corner of it. I also had to put fingernail polish on the magnet end and press it to the door to find out where to drill. That is after I put on the latch, I did that first so I could line up where the magnet needed to go. After I did that it was easy to finish.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
Don't waste your money
5/7/2010

Customer review by BusyCOMommy

1.0 stars 5/7/2010 by BusyCOMommy
by BusyCOMommy

My Sister-In-Law (who runs a daycare) stated: “As long as the cheap ones are keeping little fingers from where they are not supposed to be…why spend a fortune on the expensive ones.” We stuck to that motto, except on the entertainment center, which did not have the ability to use the cheap plastic door lock. So I bit the bullet and bought a Tot Lok. I always swore I’d never buy them…in fact I really didn’t care for them…even before buying them and the trouble begin. So without further ado…The 3 reasons I HATE Tot Locks. 1) THEY ARE REALLY EXPENSIVE! Tot Locks are not cheap. In fact, they are anywhere between $7 and $10 a lock depending on where you purchase them, and if you have coupons, etc. This is ridiculous, considering most of the cheap ones work just as well and are anywhere between $1 and $2 a lock. My personal opinion, the contents of my cabinets are to the best organization that our kitchen and bathrooms allow and cannot move things around to avoid purchasing a lot of locks. To lock the appropriate cabinets in our house requires the purchase of 18 locks which would cost us approximately $180. That cost does not include the locks we will need for our basement bathrooms (when finished) which would be another $100. 2) THEY WILL RUIN YOUR CABINETS! Ok, I’m not talking about the hole drilling, but their STUPID red “over-ride” bar. Ours somehow got knocked into the over-ride position, but the lock part wasn’t fully depressed…because we were not trying to over-ride it...it just got bumped. No amount of using the magnet “key” would get our lock opened. Fortunately for us, the hinges on our entertainment center are on the outside of the cabinet…otherwise, because there is only one door right there, we would have had to rip our entertainment center apart. If you really must use Tot Loks, some friendly advice. Remove the red over-ride bar, or don’t put them on cabinets with one door. 3) REPLACING PARTS IS EXPENSIVE! After our fiasco with the over-ride bar, we accidently locked our key in the entertainment center. Our options were to buy another set (we could only buy a 4-Lock or 9-Lock set, so we already have 3 locks we never plan to use) or buy the key individually. We decided to buy the key individually, but even that was $10. We tried to use a heavy duty magnet (construction) and that wouldn’t even release the lock. So you MUST have a Tot Lok Key. These are just the problems that I’ve experienced. After checking other sites that sell Tot Loks, I’ve seen complaints that: 1) They don’t fit in all the drawers or cabinet doors. 2) Trying to use their “extenders” ends up ruining cabinet doors 3) If you have solid wood doors more than a ½” thick…forget it…the magnets are not strong enough.. And the list goes on. Don’t get me wrong…this was a great idea by Safety 1st. They are not visible and you don’t have to worry about your toddler figuring out the plastic push down locks. However, they really are not worth the price you pay, which is why I was so resistant to them in the first place. And to be perfectly honest, my son was really interested in the plastic locks, and tried to open them a few times, but once the newness of being locked out of something wore off he could care less about getting into the cabinets. Go cheap…it will save your sanity, your cabinets, and your money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BusyCOMommy
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A very helpful product
1/13/2008

Customer review by pharmgal

3.0 stars 1/13/2008 by pharmgal
by pharmgal

I actually returned this item because I didn't want to ruin my cabinets by screwing anything on, but I do recommend it due to the fact that it seemed durable and if you don't mind screwing things on your kitchen cabinets.

Was this review helpful? (1) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pharmgal
undisclosed
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Top 100 contributor
Buy Press and Pivot Latches Instead
5/12/2009

Customer review by coolcats

1.0 stars 5/12/2009 by coolcats
by coolcats

We found this product to be completely worthless. Not only were they difficult to install, but the magnets were very weak. Our 11-month old could easily pull the cabinet open. We returned the product the next day.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coolcats
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Works great
8/7/2008

Customer review by SafetyMama

5.0 stars 8/7/2008 by SafetyMama
by SafetyMama

My husband and I are very impressed with this product. We have a 2 year old that can get into almost anything and these locks are keeping him out! The only downside of the product is the installation process. We decided to top-mount them and it took my husband about 15 minutes to figure out how to do it because there are no directions for mounting them that way. Otherwise, we are totally pleased with them!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SafetyMama
Lake Havasu City, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product!
11/18/2010

Customer review by steph23456

5.0 stars 11/18/2010 by steph23456
by steph23456

I went to you tube and watched a video on how to install these, and that made it pretty easy to do. I run a home daycare so these are one of the few cabinet locks the state of Washington approves. I am going to recommend them for my parents so that when we come they can turn them on but normally they won't have to use the locks. You do have to drill a sizable hole in you cabinet and will want to be very careful not to go through the other side. I love they can be deactivated when kids are not around!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
steph23456
Pullman, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this product~
10/29/2009

Customer review by toforone

5.0 stars 10/29/2009 by toforone
by toforone

I have twin boys who are just over a year old...They work as a team and get into EVERYTHING!!! I bought this after they figured out how to get into the other locks and after my husband stopped using some of the locks since they were to complicated. I installed them myself on our old school cabinets while he was out of town as he has issues with drilling holes and they require a decent size hole. They installed easily, can't be seen, and work like a charm! I LOVE LOVE LOVE THEM!!! I wish they made them to go on more things! I love that in the evening i can flip the switch and open and close with out the magnet and turn it back on the seccond they wake up!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
toforone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best baby proofing locks ever!
6/9/2010

Customer review by LianaAubreyMommy

5.0 stars 6/9/2010 by LianaAubreyMommy
by LianaAubreyMommy

These are great!! My husband said they were a pain to put in (the first ones anyway), but they are the best. My toddler still hasn't figured out how to unlock them even if she gets a key, and they look great because you can't tell they are even installed on the cabinets.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LianaAubreyMommy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent for Child proofing
12/5/2009

Customer review by LoveMyBoy2009

5.0 stars 12/5/2009 by LoveMyBoy2009
by LoveMyBoy2009

This product was somewhat difficult to install but once installed it did its job!! I feel very confident that my little guy wont get into things that could harm him!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveMyBoy2009
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Keeps little hands out!!
10/21/2007

Customer review by momto1

5.0 stars 10/21/2007 by momto1
by momto1

We installed this on our entertainment center and it has worked wonders so far! It's a custom center and has 1/2" thick wood for the doors so we were worried the magnet wouldn't work, but it Does!!! No more movies/dvds strewn throughout the house.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momto1
military town, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The Best Childproof Lock
7/3/2009

Customer review by Fisheromen12

5.0 stars 7/3/2009 by Fisheromen12
by Fisheromen12

My wife and I decided to purchase the Tot Lok after we saw them at a friends house and realized how much better they were than the locks we were using. With our locks, our 9 month old could open the doors just enough to get his fingers in and pinch them. With the Tot lok, the door is completely closed until you magnetically open the lock. I am a handyman and it took me some time to install all of our Loks. I have noticed the reviewers that gave a negative review, it is because the person had difficulty installing them, or they did it wrong and the locks didnt work properly. By following the instructions and with a little patience, these are by far the best childproofing locks out there.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fisheromen12
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
More than I expected
6/19/2010

Customer review by smart2parent

5.0 stars 6/19/2010 by smart2parent
by smart2parent

This product is very cheap for what it does. I bought the starter set (4 locks, 1 key). I purchased this because I have a teenager and wanted to know if he was going into the liquior cabinet. I explained how the device works and said if it breaks he will have to explain. I tryed to open the cabinet, this lock works far better than I thought.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smart2parent
Covington, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best baby proofing!
11/6/2008

Customer review by Mschff

5.0 stars 11/6/2008 by Mschff
by Mschff

I love love love these locks! Even adults can't open the cabinets without the key. There's no chance of locks being broken or doors pulled and ruined... I feel very secure using these.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mschff
Simi Valley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/7/2008

Customer review by mustbecrazy

5.0 stars 7/7/2008 by mustbecrazy
by mustbecrazy

I have been looking for these for years. I was so glad to see them here. I have 4 sons and one of them has disabilities so I need something that I know will hold up to the punishment so many children can and will put them through.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mustbecrazy
Olympia, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Locks There Are
3/9/2009

Customer review by MommaJen2

5.0 stars 3/9/2009 by MommaJen2
by MommaJen2

We had the regular latches on our entertainment center and our daughter still got into the dvds. We put these locks on there and now the doors do not even budge. They are a great product and buy!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MommaJen2
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
WOW
9/18/2009

Customer review by Citecity

5.0 stars 9/18/2009 by Citecity
by Citecity

I dont understand the poor ratings on this product. I installed 2 per large dawer in our entertainment center and put my weight against it to try and open them and they wouldnt budge.. The magnet has to be over the right spot but works as described.. There is an optional extra strong magnet that people can get for a little more ease in opening.. But this product definately amazed me in the strength and ease of use... Took around 45 minutes to install all 4 of them. Will be ordering more in the future.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Citecity
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews