Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 41 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

41 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

41 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 40 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews
Great, once it's installed
12/30/2008

Customer review by Carguy88

4.0 stars 12/30/2008 by Carguy88
by Carguy88

These locks are really great for keeping toddlers out of cabinets. With traditional toddler locks the door moves about 1.5 to 2 inches so you can press a clip of some sort to open the door. Because of this, toddlers often find it fun to pull and push the door back and forth, since it seems like it should open. When Tot Loks are installed correctly, the door doesn't move at all, and the child just moves on to the next thing he or she isn't supposed to be doing ;) That said, the Tot Loks are not that easy to install if your cabinet doors are not exactly right for the templates that come with them. If the doors recess into the door opening at all, the templates will not line up correctly, and you will have to figure it out for yourself. If your cabinet doors fall flush with the face of the cabinet this is not an issue, and the templates provided are extremely helpful. I have a few cabinets each way, so I got to practice with templates before going freehand. Lastly, I can install these locks at the grandparents' houses and, with the red locking lever, they won't even know the difference when we're not visiting! The Tot Loks are the only toddler locks I've seen that can be completely deactivated for when the toddler isn't around. Very nice design.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carguy88
Norfolk, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/25/2008

Customer review by JustTheFactsJaq

4.0 stars 10/25/2008 by JustTheFactsJaq
by JustTheFactsJaq

We purchased this product to secure our cabinets after bringing a teenage foster child into our home. This is to comply with state safety regulations. This product does what is says. As other reviews have indicated you do need to get the magnets lined up in a narrow range to work, but if you are consistant with your installation it should not be a problem. However, be aware that you will require some mechnical and thinking skills to install. They give you all the templates and guides you need to get the job done. You must have patience to do the job right. You will need to drill into the inside of your cabinets to install. Go to Safety1st's website to get PDF version of instructions. This will permit you enlarge the directions. The in package directions were a little too small for my liking

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustTheFactsJaq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Installation is Rough, and about 20% don't work
12/23/2009

Customer review by RJd222564

3.0 stars 12/23/2009 by RJd222564
by RJd222564

I bought 24 for various cabinets throughout my home. At least 4-5 didn't work. The magnet inside the latch was apparently not strong enough to be attracted by the key. I'll be returning those. The instruction manual is poor, and was clearly drawn up in the 1980s, (dated by its use of antiquated terminology for various tools). I'm a contractor and I had significant trouble installing these. They do work very well, once installed. Plan on spending about an hour apiece for the first 2-3 cabinet doors. That being said, Wal-Mart had the cheapest price on the keyed sets, but Amazon had cheaper prices on the add-on sets.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RJd222564
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOVE THIS LIFE SAVER
2/22/2008

Customer review by Brimommyof2

5.0 stars 2/22/2008 by Brimommyof2
by Brimommyof2

i bought these because my son knew how to open the traditional plastic locks, he would put all his weight on them to open the cabinet. so i got these and wow! they are great i had them about 2 years now and have not had any problems the only thing i recommend is to buy an extra lock key just in case. my son got a hold of it and hide it from me so he could try to figure out how to open the cabinets! mind you when he did this he was 1 he is 2 this march 2008. now when we go over to friends or family's house he goes straight to the cabinets since he knows theres arent locked lol. but they are completly worth it!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brimommyof2
orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Tips on Installation
6/16/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 6/16/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I do like this product but I wish it would come with two locks. I had one problem with it and that was the install. The templates were useless and confusing to me so I figured it out on my own. One trick that I had to do to install it was that since my cupboard doors didn't have anything in the middle for it to latch to, I used the top corner of it. I also had to put fingernail polish on the magnet end and press it to the door to find out where to drill. That is after I put on the latch, I did that first so I could line up where the magnet needed to go. After I did that it was easy to finish.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
Tot lok is great!
2/2/2009

Customer review by svahgal

5.0 stars 2/2/2009 by svahgal
by svahgal

This is the best kiddie we've tried. It's a bit pricy, but it works great. You don't see the lock from the outside so your cabinets still look nice. The lock is very strong. My husband and I could not open the cabinet door without the magnetic key, no matter how hard we pulled. Unlike other locks we've tried, this one doesn't even allow you to open the door...not even a little bit. The set up was a bit difficult for us. Our cabinet doors are not perfectly flat. They are beveled. So the installation template included with the kit did not work for us. We had to deviate from it and make our own template. So installation took longer than it should have. But, we love it once it was installed. It's too bad tat Walmart doesn't sell the locks and key separately. This started kit is the only tot lok set they sell.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
svahgal
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Locking System!
11/20/2008

Customer review by RichmondsMom

5.0 stars 11/20/2008 by RichmondsMom
by RichmondsMom

My husband and I are very concerned about our daughter's safety in our kitchen. This locking system is great! You don't even see it after it's installed! Although, until you get used to using it, I suggest using some little stickers (we used the little stars like you used to get in school) to mark your cabinets on the outside so you know where to use the "key". After you get used to the placement of the key, you don't even see that you have the locks! And they are easy to turn "off" whenever we decide we no longer need them! As for installation, the templates that come in the kit are great! It takes a little patience installing the first one, but then it is quite simple! Also, since you get one key per four locks in a kit, for an average kitchen like mine, we needed three sets and ended up with three keys. We keep one on the fridge (it's basically a strong magnet), one on the back of the sink, and one on the back of the stove. Oh, and another thing I love about this locking system is that she can't get the doors and drawers open enough to even pinch her little fingers! How's that for being safe! I love these locks! I have recommended these locks to all of my friends with kids!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RichmondsMom
Paducah, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Strong and durable
12/2/2009

Customer review by Ralcho

4.0 stars 12/2/2009 by Ralcho
by Ralcho

I have used these before in another home, so I used them again in a new home. This time, the template that comes with it was off so things didn't work properly the first time around. My new cabinets were also not the best for this product as the screws needed to go in a place that was too thin, etc. It took me a while to fix the problem with the template being off and finding a way to make it work with my cabinets. If your cabinets will work with these, then I highly recommend them as they work very well. You can't even tell they are there from the outside of the cabinet. Just be sure you don't drill through the front of your cabinet when installing them. And you might want to have an extra magnet on hand - super strong kind, just in case you lose the main one and can't open the cabinet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ralcho
Fruit Heights, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't waste your money
5/7/2010

Customer review by BusyCOMommy

1.0 stars 5/7/2010 by BusyCOMommy
by BusyCOMommy

My Sister-In-Law (who runs a daycare) stated: “As long as the cheap ones are keeping little fingers from where they are not supposed to be…why spend a fortune on the expensive ones.” We stuck to that motto, except on the entertainment center, which did not have the ability to use the cheap plastic door lock. So I bit the bullet and bought a Tot Lok. I always swore I’d never buy them…in fact I really didn’t care for them…even before buying them and the trouble begin. So without further ado…The 3 reasons I HATE Tot Locks. 1) THEY ARE REALLY EXPENSIVE! Tot Locks are not cheap. In fact, they are anywhere between $7 and $10 a lock depending on where you purchase them, and if you have coupons, etc. This is ridiculous, considering most of the cheap ones work just as well and are anywhere between $1 and $2 a lock. My personal opinion, the contents of my cabinets are to the best organization that our kitchen and bathrooms allow and cannot move things around to avoid purchasing a lot of locks. To lock the appropriate cabinets in our house requires the purchase of 18 locks which would cost us approximately $180. That cost does not include the locks we will need for our basement bathrooms (when finished) which would be another $100. 2) THEY WILL RUIN YOUR CABINETS! Ok, I’m not talking about the hole drilling, but their STUPID red “over-ride” bar. Ours somehow got knocked into the over-ride position, but the lock part wasn’t fully depressed…because we were not trying to over-ride it...it just got bumped. No amount of using the magnet “key” would get our lock opened. Fortunately for us, the hinges on our entertainment center are on the outside of the cabinet…otherwise, because there is only one door right there, we would have had to rip our entertainment center apart. If you really must use Tot Loks, some friendly advice. Remove the red over-ride bar, or don’t put them on cabinets with one door. 3) REPLACING PARTS IS EXPENSIVE! After our fiasco with the over-ride bar, we accidently locked our key in the entertainment center. Our options were to buy another set (we could only buy a 4-Lock or 9-Lock set, so we already have 3 locks we never plan to use) or buy the key individually. We decided to buy the key individually, but even that was $10. We tried to use a heavy duty magnet (construction) and that wouldn’t even release the lock. So you MUST have a Tot Lok Key. These are just the problems that I’ve experienced. After checking other sites that sell Tot Loks, I’ve seen complaints that: 1) They don’t fit in all the drawers or cabinet doors. 2) Trying to use their “extenders” ends up ruining cabinet doors 3) If you have solid wood doors more than a ½” thick…forget it…the magnets are not strong enough.. And the list goes on. Don’t get me wrong…this was a great idea by Safety 1st. They are not visible and you don’t have to worry about your toddler figuring out the plastic push down locks. However, they really are not worth the price you pay, which is why I was so resistant to them in the first place. And to be perfectly honest, my son was really interested in the plastic locks, and tried to open them a few times, but once the newness of being locked out of something wore off he could care less about getting into the cabinets. Go cheap…it will save your sanity, your cabinets, and your money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BusyCOMommy
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The Best Childproof Lock
7/3/2009

Customer review by Fisheromen12

5.0 stars 7/3/2009 by Fisheromen12
by Fisheromen12

My wife and I decided to purchase the Tot Lok after we saw them at a friends house and realized how much better they were than the locks we were using. With our locks, our 9 month old could open the doors just enough to get his fingers in and pinch them. With the Tot lok, the door is completely closed until you magnetically open the lock. I am a handyman and it took me some time to install all of our Loks. I have noticed the reviewers that gave a negative review, it is because the person had difficulty installing them, or they did it wrong and the locks didnt work properly. By following the instructions and with a little patience, these are by far the best childproofing locks out there.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fisheromen12
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this product~
10/29/2009

Customer review by toforone

5.0 stars 10/29/2009 by toforone
by toforone

I have twin boys who are just over a year old...They work as a team and get into EVERYTHING!!! I bought this after they figured out how to get into the other locks and after my husband stopped using some of the locks since they were to complicated. I installed them myself on our old school cabinets while he was out of town as he has issues with drilling holes and they require a decent size hole. They installed easily, can't be seen, and work like a charm! I LOVE LOVE LOVE THEM!!! I wish they made them to go on more things! I love that in the evening i can flip the switch and open and close with out the magnet and turn it back on the seccond they wake up!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
toforone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love It! Never seen anything like this.
6/4/2009

Customer review by MrsMomandtheboys

5.0 stars 6/4/2009 by MrsMomandtheboys
by MrsMomandtheboys

i purchased these locks for my 1 year old because he was getting in the cuboards all the time. Not anymore this lock is amazing i only used this one on one of my cuboards because it was an odd ball one and i couldn't get the traditional one that locks by the knobs on the cuboards. My husband did say it took him a while to figure out and he needed a drill to do it but it was well worth the time and effort to do it. I am worried that if i loose the magnet to it for some reason i won't even be able to open the cuboard because you need a very strong magnet not just a magnet off your fridge.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsMomandtheboys
Midcoast, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Useful Product
1/1/2011

Customer review by Handyman013

4.0 stars 1/1/2011 by Handyman013
by Handyman013

This is a very useful product if you have young ones that like to get into the cabinets. The installation was not the easiest on the market, and with a little tweaking the product works very well. The nice feature on this is that when you would like you can turn the lock off and the cabinets will open as the would normally, and with a flip of the switch they are back to locking. If you are slightly handy you will have no problems with the installation of this product, follow instructions, which you may want to download from their website for easier reading.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Handyman013
Rockford, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Hard To Install
9/22/2009

Customer review by 111

4.0 stars 9/22/2009 by 111
by 111

These work great once they are installed. But installation was terrible! The guide for the drill slipped and we actually drilled a hole all the way through our cabinet door, ruining it. Also, one of the locks was just defective. For that we plan to contact the company. We use this product at my work in a doctor's office and it really does work well, but I won't get any more and I do not recommend them. There is another magnetic child lock by KidCo that doesn't require any drilling. If I had to do it all over again I get those.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
111
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
peace of mind
3/25/2009

Customer review by teachermommy123

4.0 stars 3/25/2009 by teachermommy123
by teachermommy123

Although the directions were a little confusing, once I figured out the first one, the rest were much easier. On another positive note, I learned how to use a cordless drill including changing bits. (Ladies, if your husband likes to wing it without directions, you may want to take this on yourselves!) After installation, these locks are great! No more pinched fingers! If installed correctly the cabinet stays shut tight. Well worth it to know my baby will not have access to anything dangerous, and won't pinch his fingers.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
teachermommy123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WOW
9/18/2009

Customer review by Citecity

5.0 stars 9/18/2009 by Citecity
by Citecity

I dont understand the poor ratings on this product. I installed 2 per large dawer in our entertainment center and put my weight against it to try and open them and they wouldnt budge.. The magnet has to be over the right spot but works as described.. There is an optional extra strong magnet that people can get for a little more ease in opening.. But this product definately amazed me in the strength and ease of use... Took around 45 minutes to install all 4 of them. Will be ordering more in the future.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Citecity
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product!
11/18/2010

Customer review by steph23456

5.0 stars 11/18/2010 by steph23456
by steph23456

I went to you tube and watched a video on how to install these, and that made it pretty easy to do. I run a home daycare so these are one of the few cabinet locks the state of Washington approves. I am going to recommend them for my parents so that when we come they can turn them on but normally they won't have to use the locks. You do have to drill a sizable hole in you cabinet and will want to be very careful not to go through the other side. I love they can be deactivated when kids are not around!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
steph23456
Pullman, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Safety 1st
8/15/2008

Customer review by safety1

4.0 stars 8/15/2008 by safety1
by safety1

With little children around the house, they were always getting into the cabinets and going where they aught not to be. With these locks, they are kept out, and think nothing of the fact it can't open now. It has even fooled some of my guests, when once they know how it works, consider it for their house. The set-up is slightly complicated, requiring other tools, though easy enough to do for a permanent solution. I like the fact that nothing shows on the outside, and it can be used on drawers also.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
safety1
boston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Keeping little hands off sharp things
2/3/2009

Customer review by shadowspr21

5.0 stars 2/3/2009 by shadowspr21
by shadowspr21

We got these locks because our 2 year old kept breaking into the knife drawer, which we had the push down latch type lock on. The magnetic locks are a little difficult to install on drawers, I would imagine they are much easier on cabinet doors. Once installed however, these locks do a great job of keeping toddlers out of wherever you don't want them. I'll definitely be putting these on the junk drawer and the under sink cabinet doors.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shadowspr21
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great
8/7/2008

Customer review by SafetyMama

5.0 stars 8/7/2008 by SafetyMama
by SafetyMama

My husband and I are very impressed with this product. We have a 2 year old that can get into almost anything and these locks are keeping him out! The only downside of the product is the installation process. We decided to top-mount them and it took my husband about 15 minutes to figure out how to do it because there are no directions for mounting them that way. Otherwise, we are totally pleased with them!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SafetyMama
Lake Havasu City, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews