Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 46 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

46 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

46 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

28%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
10
1 stars
22
1-20 of 44 total reviews
28%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews
Biggest hunk of junk I have ever bought
4/10/2008

Customer review by Moonrize

1.0 stars 4/10/2008 by Moonrize
by Moonrize

Bought this as we got an upright Bissell and thought this would save me dragging out the big beasty when we need a quick clean up. Tried it on a foot stool that our little girl split milk on, it did less then nothing so was going to return it but husband lost the receipt so I figured maybe it would come in handy at some point. One of our dogs had an accident in the house and there was a small stain left I tried to use this to remove the stain again nothing but deafening both me and my daughter (I'm writing this 15 mins later and my ears are still ringing and I used it in a large bedroom). I could have spat on the floor and removed more of the stain then this did, I had to drag the bissell threw the house and took all of 5 seconds to remove the stain, took me longer getting the bissell in and out then it did to clean hence the need for a hand cleaner. I would not recommend this at all, it doesn't even make a nice garden decoration when thrown out the front door.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Moonrize
ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great Investmetn
10/14/2015

Customer review by Brassdust

5.0 stars 10/14/2015 by Brassdust
by Brassdust

I've used this product for years in both cleaning pet messes and spring cleaning (half a room at a time). I prefer using Bissel Shampoo, presoaking for 2 or 3 minutes, as opposed to the dirt devil brands. You do have to keep it fairly flat or water can go through the vents during the vacuum cycle, but it isn't hard to keep it flat. Warm water is enough to clean the inside of the dirty water tank, and the hole is the perfect size for warm water from a kitchen sink. If you want to clean the nozel, just have it suck up warm water.

Brassdust
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Devilish Spot remover
3/29/2008

Customer review by MomOfKlink

2.0 stars 3/29/2008 by MomOfKlink
by MomOfKlink

I bought this spot remover for heavily traveled areas in my home. These areas would get small quarter sized stains rather frequently. I bought this product thinking it would make my life easier. It's looks very nice in the package, but I would not buy it again if I had the choice. It will remove spots in the carpet with ease, I will admit that. However, it IS very noisy and doesn't hold much dirty water and WILL start misting it out of the sides when it gets close to being full. It was rather inconvienient to have to switch from scrub to vacuum on the side between jobs and then have to keep pumping the cleaning material out. I like the product because it is small and effective on stains in the carpet. It's better than having to scrub with resolve and a brush. It's not bad for $38 but then again it's not great either, but hey I spent only $38. If you have patience with these types of products then you will be fine. If you are frustrated easily then don't buy it. I do want to say this again. It did get up the stains in my carpet from a large dogs and muddy boots and things like that left behind.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomOfKlink
Jackson, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
IMPOSSIBLE TO CLEAN OUT THE MACHINE!
3/6/2014

Customer review by Bimi

1.0 stars 3/6/2014 by Bimi
by Bimi

I bought this machine to pick up small wet messes - spills, pets, etc. Well, forget it, because there is no possible way to clean out the mess once it's been picked up. The dirty water tank has a small 1 inch hole to drain out the liquid, but leaves no way to clean the scummy stuff out of it. The suction nozzle can be rinsed by removing two Phillips screws, but once again, no way to get the disgusting stuff - you know, the stuff that accumulates over time - out. The rotating brush is almost a joke, as it turns just fast enough to grind the mess INTO the carpet! If the designers spent as much effort into the functionality of this product and they did designing it to resemble a kid's Transformer, it would be a great cleaning tool.

Bimi
Connecticut, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:3 months
Gender:Male
Waste of $$
12/28/2007

Customer review by rbinkc

1.0 stars 12/28/2007 by rbinkc
by rbinkc

We bought this item because we weren't ready to pay more for a spot cleaner. BIG MISTAKE! The first problem is that it is so incredibly noisy that we have to wear earplugs to use it...I am not kidding! The first time I used it, I turned it on for a minute, and by the time I turned it off, my ears were ringing. The second problem is that it doesn't clean for anything. We have multiple pets, so thought it would be great to have something lightweight that could be used quickly for small spots & accidents. Even with fresh spots (i.e. the only time elapsed, being what it takes to walk to the closet, get this item out & fill it with solution), it won't take up the stain completely. And that is after having cleaned up part of the spot by hand! Spend your money more wisely & purchase other models that come recommended...not THIS item.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rbinkc
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
useless
9/2/2014

Customer review by lmrl

1.0 stars 9/2/2014 by lmrl
by lmrl

The suction is pulling from below the machine, from the dirty water area!! Lots of suction there! Almost no suction in the front of the brush where all of my other experiences with this type of machine tell me it should be! Result: Put sudsy water on carpet, scrub it into carpet, and leave it there!! I can't say how often I use the machine because it never worked! I just pulled it out again to see if I could figure out the problem. I did, and I told you about it. I called in for help but was left hanging... we'll see if they call back... They probably have too many calls to even get to mine.

lmrl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:3 months
Gender:Female
Does the job great!
1/21/2015

Customer review by Marji67

5.0 stars 1/21/2015 by Marji67
by Marji67

I have had two over the years and they do a great job.  It gets all my dogs messes ( every kind and many) cleaned up completely.  My plastic top recently broke - but I know we are not the 'kindest' to our things - they get worked.  Now I can't find another one and I am in a small panic.  I don't think the more expensive models could do any better as the spot scrubber gets all my stains out.

Marji67
fort collins co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Monthly
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Level of expertise:Advanced
Gender:Female
Nonsense
3/14/2008

Customer review by JeannieBrat

1.0 stars 3/14/2008 by JeannieBrat
by JeannieBrat

I am sorry to say that this is a nonsense product. I purchased this without looking at reviews, and after using it I pulled up the reviews and laughed. Everyone is right. It doesn't work well, and even if it did, what I learned is this: don't waste $40 on a "spot cleaner" like this. Either invest another $40 or $50 and get an upright carpet cleaner that can clean all of your carpets, or invest a mere $4.00 on a product by resolve that is carpet cleaning powder along with a scrub brush and do the "spot cleaning" yourself; or better yet: get both. To conclude: spot cleaning isn't worth the money for this machine. Your hand and a simple 1 minute scrubbing will do the trick. And a big upright carpet cleaner is a better investment in the long run to clean all of your carpets.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JeannieBrat
Layton, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Dirt Devil Spot Scrubber
11/25/2007

Customer review by unkqty

2.0 stars 11/25/2007 by unkqty
by unkqty

designed for spots only. if you want a carpet cleaned, then purchase a carpet cleaner. the cleaning solution is what matters. works ok on SMALL spots (e.g., pet messes), not large (e.g. entryway carpet). noisy, cheaply constructed, weak vacuum (for fluids only) and not very efficient. cleaning solution squirter required repair after (proper) storage. would be better served using a good carpet cleaner like "resolve," a scrub brush, and a wet/dry vac.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
unkqty
killeen, tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Do not waste your money on this!
10/27/2014

Customer review by goodwitch

1.0 stars 10/27/2014 by goodwitch
by goodwitch

I cannot say enough bad things about this machine. Loud, hard or almost impossible to clean. . What a waste of money!

goodwitch
Bloomington, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Weekly
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Level of expertise:Advanced
Gender:Female
Dissapointed
6/14/2013

Customer review by kappel

1.0 stars 6/14/2013 by kappel
by kappel

Unfortunately it seems to just turn everything into a mist and blow it out the side air vents. Keeping the reservoir completely dry helps some, but it still seems to do it :(

kappel
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:3 months
Gender:Male
Not what I was hoping for . . .
10/10/2007

Customer review by LoveMyYounguns

2.0 stars 10/10/2007 by LoveMyYounguns
by LoveMyYounguns

The main reason I did not find this product useful was that it does not have the capability to scrub & suck up the water at the same time, as a normal carpet cleaner would. So, rather than simultaneously scrubbing the stain while vacuuming the soiled water away, it first rubs the stain into the carpet, then you have to switch to, "vacuum" mode to suck up the water. In addition, the vacuum is very weak, so it does not do a very good job of drying up the water. I was disappointed; all in all, I find it easier and more efficient to clean my carpet with a wet rag and a dry towel for blotting, than with this machine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveMyYounguns
Hixson, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Worst product I've ever bought
7/17/2008

Customer review by kbarnhart73

1.0 stars 7/17/2008 by kbarnhart73
by kbarnhart73

Although it looks nice this is the worst product i've every bought. I rent a two story house with white carpet. I have a carpet cleaner that I love but it's too big for the stairs so I bought this product and it's horrible! The sprayer only sprays a little trickle of cleaning solution and the sprayer button didn't even work half the time. The suction is terrible. My stair...yes only one stair which is NOT clean, by the way...is still wet after several hours. I do not recommend this product at all and mine is being returned. Serves me right for trying to save money...paid cheaply and got a very cheap product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kbarnhart73
Bluffton, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Good Basic Cleaner
10/1/2007

Customer review by AvidWalmartShopper

4.0 stars 10/1/2007 by AvidWalmartShopper
by AvidWalmartShopper

After only using the product three times, I can honestly say it does a good job for a cheap spot cleaner. It's VERY noisy so I recommend ear plugs. I used it for urine removal on our couch and carpet as well as spot cleaning a kitchen throw rug with a stain over 6 months old! I also sprayed urine removal cleaner (on the couch & carpet) in addition to the solution that goes in the handle. I'm very pleased so far. No problem opening the plug for the dirty water reservoir and I rinse it right away with hot water to remove the dirt. There shouldn't be an odor if/when it dries inside the tank.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AvidWalmartShopper
SWFL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer
10/14/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 10/14/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a case of getting what you pay for. My experience with this little Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer is that it does what it is supposed to do, but not effortlessly. When spots are pretreated as directed, it does a pretty good job. The cleaning solution that is included with purchase smells nice and did a satisfactory job removing stains that I'd tried removing previously with regular spray-on carpet cleaners. It did not completely remove the stain but sufficiently lightened it. It was easy to use after reading the directions. Vacuum area. Pre-treat spot. Fill with mixture of cleaning solution and water as per instructions. Plug in, turn on. Squirt cleaning solution on the spot and turn rotating brush on. Spend a minute or so doing this, depending on stain. Switch the rotating brush off and turn the extractor (suction) on. Here lies my chief complaint, it doesn't remove all liquid, which is important. I'd venture to guess it removed about a third of the (now dirty) cleaning solution. I used a cloth to dab dry. My only other complaint was difficulty removing the cap to drain the used cleaning solution reservoir tank. I do think other more expensive cleaners might do a better a job but for the price, I won't complain. I do not recommend this product for anything other than its intended purpose. It is a spot remover. It wouldn't be efficient for high traffic areas or heavy cleaning.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Mid Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Handy Cleaner
7/26/2007

Customer review by Pavloveia

3.0 stars 7/26/2007 by Pavloveia
by Pavloveia

This spot scrubber does a good job of cleaning up spills (I used it specifically for my pet's accidents). I'm not happy with the fact that after cleaning out the vacuum reservoir, it took a few days for it to completely dry out--which it had to do because of the smell of the contents. The other complaint I have is the great difficulty in removing the plug to drain the reservoir. I had to use pliers to open it! Other than those two complaints, I have to say it does a great job of cleaning--the major reason I made the purchase. All-in-all, I would recommend this spot scrubber.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pavloveia
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
spot scrubber
5/12/2008

Customer review by britne

2.0 stars 5/12/2008 by britne
by britne

I bought this product b/c it was small and could be stored easily, at least more easily than an upright. I feel it was a mistake. Like others i did not read the reviews before buying. It worked good on the spots in my living room, however not to great on my car. It seemed to not suck up water in my car very well. It was VERY loud. It scared my son, every time i sould use it he would scream loud and run away. The product was effective on my household stains although I'm sure another one would be more effective. Plainly I would not buy this product again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
britne
missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
useless
12/20/2007

Customer review by supermom23

1.0 stars 12/20/2007 by supermom23
by supermom23

I am very diappointed with this product. I bought this product because I was looking for a quick spot cleaner to use between renting the Rug Doctor machine. I pretreat all stains and use good shampoo, but even still this machine doesnt get the stain out. I have better luck removing the stain by hand; not to mention with the same amount of effort. As well as another reviewer, it leaks nasty brown liquid. Ive had the machine for about 2 years, most of which it just sits on the shelf because removing the stain by hand is easier!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
supermom23
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
horrible product, WAY to loud
7/29/2008

Customer review by proudarmywife44

1.0 stars 7/29/2008 by proudarmywife44
by proudarmywife44

I hate this product for several reason's. 1 It is WAY to loud since you have to be on your hands and knees right next to it, it's right by your ear. I have trouble hearing after I turn it off. I bought this for pet messes and baby spills and it's okay at removing those but the bin where the dirty water goes is hard to remove and put back on and the plug on the bin is so hard to open and close I hardly ever get it shut right. Don't buy this, it's a waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
proudarmywife44
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
8/16/2008

Customer review by MadisonNDaltonsmom

1.0 stars 8/16/2008 by MadisonNDaltonsmom
by MadisonNDaltonsmom

This product is so loud I can not use it while my children are in the house and I had to wear ear plugs. Mine will not pick up 1/2 of the water it sprays out. This product is nothing like I expected. Bought it to shampoo my couch and loveseat with and ended up having to bring out my floor shampooer to suck up the water. If you are reading this thinking of buying then I say don't, spend a little extra and get something else!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MadisonNDaltonsmom
Clintwood, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews