Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 69 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

1.5 stars

69 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

1.5 stars

69 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

16%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 stars
50
1-20 of 69 total reviews
16%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews
HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE!
1/17/2008

Customer review by jellybean131313

1.0 stars 1/17/2008 by jellybean131313
by jellybean131313

This vacuum is completely awful and useless. I would not recommend this vacuum to anyone. The hose always comes unattached while your vacuuming so as you vacuum, everything you suck up falls right out the hose behind you. It also clogs very easily. I can't even count how many times I had to take the whole back of the vacuum apart just to declog the hose. The suction was never very great. Even when it was new it wouldn't clean cat hair off the couch. In fact you couldn't even use the tools because there wasn't enough suction to pick anything up with the hose alone. The little power tool never worked well either. The suction was so horrible at the end that the dirt wouldn't even get all the way to the canister but instead would sit there in the bottom of the vacuum or continue to clog the hose. It also spewed dirt and dust all over the house through the exhaust system. Overall, it was a very frustrating piece of junk. It was more expensive when we bought it, but I wouldn't even pay the new lower price of $54 for it. Worthless.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jellybean131313
Athens, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Clogs Up
12/13/2007

Customer review by Nomad413

1.0 stars 12/13/2007 by Nomad413
by Nomad413

This vacuum has several problems. First of all, it cleans very well, but the filter becomes clogged with every single used. I had my carpets professionally cleaned, and even after that the filter still becomes clogged with just the lightest amount of dirt. I have a 2400 square foot house and carpet is only in the 3 bedrooms, a hallway and bonus room. Only myself and my boyfriend live in the house, so it is not like the floors are very dirty. We have light carpet and do not wear shoes on it. I have to clean the filter and allow it to dry after just doing half the floor. I bought 2 replacement filters so I could vacuum the upstairs without stopping. The filters are $20 each if you can even find them. I love the way the vacuum cleans, I just hate changing the filter without being able to finish, and I think the filters cost too much and I hate spending 10 minutes cleaning them twice a week.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nomad413
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
don't buy
12/8/2007

Customer review by roxieinvirginia

1.0 stars 12/8/2007 by roxieinvirginia
by roxieinvirginia

i have had this vaccume for about 2 years if you don't mind vacuming and then getting on your hands and knee's to pick up paper and hairballs(2 long haired cats)then buy it other wise don't! uncarpeted floors result in nothing being picked up it just blows around everywhere. says you need to replace the filter once a year but you vaccume and half way thru stop and clean the filter.Ive replaced the filter 4 * As a test i removed the bag from my old mighty mite, that i purchased many years ago just for cleaning my car, and put in a new one. after i was done vaccuming i removed and cut it open you wouldn't believe the dust, hair. ect that the mighty might picked up. guess you can figure i won't be using the vision any more since ive lost the exstention poles and tools for the mighty might guess i'll still be on my hands and knee's... but at least my floors will be clean

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
roxieinvirginia
va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
a really bad investment
7/24/2007

Customer review by sillykidsmom

1.0 stars 7/24/2007 by sillykidsmom
by sillykidsmom

I bought this vacuum in November. On the 96 day of having this, the belt burnt off. I took the vacuum apart to get the broken belt off only to realize the entire roller brush was chewed up. I couldn't return the vacuum because it had been over the 90 day return policy. I called Dirt Devil to see if the roller brush was covered under the warranty. It isn't. I located a sweeper repair shop who couldn't even get the Dirt Devil brand replacement brush for this model, they had to order some foreign brand. It cost me $23.00 plus the price of a new belt. Now I end up having to tear the vacuum apart after every couple of vacuums to put the belt back on because it slips off. I am now looking for another vacuum that is worth my money because this one is not.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sillykidsmom
Flat Rock, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A NIGHTMARE!
12/2/2007

Customer review by LoveHousework

1.0 stars 12/2/2007 by LoveHousework
by LoveHousework

As you've seen on most of the other reviews - this vacuum cleaner is awful - I've had it nearly a year. Started out the first 6months or so was great - except for the fact that it WILL NOT pick up anything on my tile floors. The suction was decent. About 3 months ago I noticed a burning smell - belt was gone - a friend of mind replaced it for me and it worked good again for about a week - there is no more burning smell - but there is also no more suction. I'm constantly cleaning the filter and practically taking the vacuum apart to do what I can to make it work good again - but it is too hopeless. It doesn't pick up anything and with two long haired cats - this is a disasterous situation - I'm usually on my hands and knees picking up the cat hair off the carpet since this vacuum doesn't do it. I'm on the hunt again for another vacuum. Take my advice DO NOT even look at this vacuum cleanier, much less buy the useless thing!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveHousework
Pinellas Park, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Don't buy it!!
4/19/2008

Customer review by WalMartWoman4now

1.0 stars 4/19/2008 by WalMartWoman4now
by WalMartWoman4now

I thought the pretty blue color looked great when I took it out of the box. I plugged it in and started to vacuum. I have 3 kids, and my carpets get dirty fast. Right off I noticed how it didn't pick up everything, like little pieces of paper, it just blew them around the floor. I also would notice that after I vacuumed, there would still be specks of stuff on the floor. I dismissed it, thinking I just missed that spot when I vacuumed. I just vacuumed tonight, and I noticed that there was still stuff on the floor in the hallway, and I went over the same spot many times, and it didn't get picked up. Then I noticed that dirt was coming out the bottom as I ran it over my kitchen floor. My canister was not full, and the filter not very dusty, but chunks of dust were now blowing all over my kitchen floor coming for this vacuum! I should have stayed with my gut feeling about this vacuum when I noticed it not picking up things when I first used it. I will be returning this tomorrow, and steering clear of any other Dirt Devil brand. It is also pretty loud.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalMartWoman4now
Hurst, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Problems with this machine
12/26/2008

Customer review by studentshopper01

1.0 stars 12/26/2008 by studentshopper01
by studentshopper01

I just purchased this product 2 weeks ago. I put it together yesterday and was excited at the suction power I got, however when I removed the filter for cleaning I found it very hard to get it back on track into the machine. Then on the 3rd use the belt broke, HELLO! Another probem I experienced was when I took the machine apart to look at the belt, the number stated 4. The guide book tells me to purchase a Belt Style 5. So, I ask anyone who has used this machine--What belt size is correct, because apparently the company doesn't know. If I am having problems this early, just how long will this machine last, and I see that Walmart is discontinuing it, so where will one be able to purchase parts for it? I looked at filter prices, and they are too high for a cheap machine.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
studentshopper01
Pascagoula, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I WANT MY MONEY BACK
3/11/2008

Customer review by teejaybird

1.0 stars 3/11/2008 by teejaybird
by teejaybird

THIS PRODUCT IS NOT WHAT I EXPECTED FROM DIRT DEVIL. I HAD THE UPRIGHT FOR ABOUT 7 MONTHS. IT CLOGS VERY EASILY AND ITS A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY. NOW I HAVE TO GO OUT AND BUY A NEW ONE.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
teejaybird
CLEVLAND,OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
WOW!
4/14/2008

Customer review by Racham

5.0 stars 4/14/2008 by Racham
by Racham

I guess I am the oddball out here because I would HIGHLY recommend this sweeper/vacuum to everyone! It is amazing...and the suction capabilities on it is incredible! It will quickly suck up so much fuzz and hair and dust from your floors/carpets.......and will continue to do so. I LOVE the Hepa filter and BAGLESS feature. You DO have to dump it out every so often but that is a small price to pay in return for excellent suctioning power! I also love the light and scuff guard and super wide path out front......foot pedal off/on switch......and super long cord! I cannot say enough about this Dirt Devil en Vision sweeper/vacuum.....and I was not one in the past to like Dirt Devils! I am so THANKFUL to have come across this today at Wal*Mart and give it a try. The price is super cheap too!!! NICE quality.....yet light enough to pick up easily. HEAVY duty attachments too!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Racham
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Minor issues for a $55 Vacuum
2/24/2008

Customer review by spoid

4.0 stars 2/24/2008 by spoid
by spoid

The Good: GREAT Suction. My dog (a Brittany) sheds constantly. This vacuum's powerful suction along with the roller brush does a super job at getting the hair off the carpet (low to medium pile). It comes with a long cord, and all the attachments normally found on an upright. Yes' the dirt cup fills quickly; could be a result of the high suction capability which is what I wanted the vacuum to do in the first place. The Not so bad: Yes, occasionally (rarely) the hose will disconnect from the base. Reconnecting requires bending over. Yes, the filter has to be cleaned regularly. Requires running the outer filter cover under water. Bare floor performance is not good. It does not do a good job on my hardwood floor. But frankly, any upright like this is too heavy and can easily scratch a hardwood floor any way. The BAD: f16 replacement filters are over priced.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
spoid
Conway, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I HATE THIS VACUUM
9/30/2007

Customer review by CallaLily3

1.0 stars 9/30/2007 by CallaLily3
by CallaLily3

I was actually shopping around for a new vacuum today. Then I came across it.... the piece of junk I have now. As I read through other people's problems, I realized they're all just like mine. So, I thought I'd share my thoughts also. 1) There's a big sticker on front advertising "25%More Suction". Yeah right..... Is there any suction at all?!?!?! 2) The amazing "power brush" has no power at all. 3) The filter has to be cleaned all the time. Which is a HUGE mess! Either take it outside or be prepared to vacuum again. 4) For some reason it's always getting clogged right before it goes in the canister. So of course I have to stop everything to flip and flop and shake the vacuum all around. 5) Is it necessary for me to even mention the belts? 6) It seems like instead of sucking stuff up, it just kind of blows it around the room. 7) I should've bought a pair of earplugs along with this vacuum. It's the loudest I've ever owned also. I hate this vacuum! It's the worst I've ever owned. I can't wait to get a new one. If you're reading these reviews because you're thinking about buying this vacuum. Take it from me (and obviously everybody else), SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CallaLily3
O'Fallon, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
BUY AT YOU OWN RISK!!!
1/15/2008

Customer review by AEWSwords

1.0 stars 1/15/2008 by AEWSwords
by AEWSwords

This is BY FAR the worst vacuum I have EVER owned! It bypasses picking up anything and just spits it back out the bottom onto your feet as you vacuum! If you try to vacuum the carpet and then the bare floor, everything is left on the carpet that you just picked up! It is the worst product, and YOU CANNOT RETURN IT!!!!! I have tried several times to just exchange it out for something else but you have to deal with DIRT DEVIL for your problems. Walmart won't take it back because of Dirt Devil's policy. Good Luck if you already own it. I found that the Bissell Pet Hair Eraser is an amazing vacuum cleaner if you are looking for something that is more quiet, considerably lighter weight for something so large, and never loses suction. I'm really impressed with it!!! Good luck, and happy vacuuming!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AEWSwords
ATL, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I hate this vaccum
12/8/2008

Customer review by ioolie

1.0 stars 12/8/2008 by ioolie
by ioolie

I hate this vacuum cleaner. I bought it because it was advertised that I would never have to deal with messy bags again. Instead every time I vaccum I have to get filthy cleaning out the clogged filter. I also have to buy new filters, which are much more expensive than the bags I used on my old vacuum. This is a powerful vaccum & it does suck up a ton of dust and dog hair. But cleaning out the filter is a nightmare and it does have to be cleaned every single time. Also, one of the supposedly appealing features is the fact that all accessories are attached to the vacuum so you only need one vacuum for different tasks. However, the hose attachment is very short and makes using it difficult and cumbersome because you have to lug the entire vacuum with you whereever you go. When you use the vacuum for carpets, the hose often detaches from the bottom so that after a few minutes of vacuuming you realize you aren't getting any suction. And finally, this thing weighs a ton. It is very difficult to haul it up and down the stairs if I want to use it in the bedrooms and also the living room. Sure, it's not expensive, but it proves the adage you get what you pay for. Don't waste your money on it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ioolie
Would recommend to a friend? No
DO NOT BUY THIS VACUUM
9/20/2007

Customer review by JustMeandMe

1.0 stars 9/20/2007 by JustMeandMe
by JustMeandMe

This is the WORST vacuum I have ever owned. Constantly have to clean out the filter, VERY MESSY. Not satisfied at all.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustMeandMe
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
do not buy
8/23/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 8/23/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

do not buy. belt breaks too often. clogs easily too

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not for good hearing
8/27/2007

Customer review by PhalbaTxshopper

1.0 stars 8/27/2007 by PhalbaTxshopper
by PhalbaTxshopper

I bought this vacuum yesterday after my Hoover upright finally bit the dust and my old standbys no longer were standing by.I should have stuck with the brand I trust because this vacuum nearly made me deaf.Not to mention I could see it would cost me down the road if I kept it and did not want to go there. It did pick up very well but sounded like any second I was going to be picking up bearings off the floor.The durability of this machine did not look promising. If you ever heard a jackhammer you would know what I'm talking about. I do not recomend this especially if you have sharp hearing. Its not woth trying to save a few dollars.It does have a great apperance and the tools are nice but....No.......Back to my old trusty brand today.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PhalbaTxshopper
Phalba Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Worst vacuum I have ever owned
8/25/2007

Customer review by tootsie2021

1.0 stars 8/25/2007 by tootsie2021
by tootsie2021

This is by far the worst vacuum I have ever purchased. I have gone through 2 belts in one week. The suction is basically, null. It does not pick up anything barely and the "power brush" does not even suck anything up. Save yourself some frustastion and spend your money on a different product. Also, you have two empty the canister a few times while you are vacuuming one room or the suction is worse (which is messy and dusty). There is a sticker on the front that says "25% more suction", all I have to say is yeah right. I should have kept my vacuum I had for 7 years that I had to put tape over a hole in the tube. That vacuum never needed a belt, and it used a good old fashion bag. I can't wait to get my central vacuum in a few weeks!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tootsie2021
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Don't buy if you live in the country!
3/15/2008

Customer review by jarnold

1.0 stars 3/15/2008 by jarnold
by jarnold

If you live in a rural area like I do, I would not recommend this product because of how quickly the filter gets full of dust and pet hair. It clogs up very easily. In order to keep a decent filter in it, I would have to buy a new $20 filter every week. I've used the "power brush" maybe 4 times, and today it quit working. I've only had this vacuum for about a year, but I plan to go buy a new one tomorrow because I have just had it with this one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jarnold
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
Horrible Vacuum
11/27/2008

Customer review by RedDahlia

1.0 stars 11/27/2008 by RedDahlia
by RedDahlia

I bought this about 6 months ago because it was cheap and I really needed a vacuum. Well I guess the old adage "You get what you pay for" continues to ring true. This thing is junk. Not only is the suction horrible but the hose constantly detaches and blows dirt right back onto the floor. Now I am having problems with the hose clogging. I took the entire vacuum apart and cleaned the hose out and then used it and immediately it was clogged again. And it's all just hair, dirt, and bits of paper. Things that should not clog a vacuum. So please, DO NOT BUY THIS VACUUM! You will be wasting your time and money because you'll just have to return it and get a new one anyways.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RedDahlia
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
stay away from this one!!!
10/30/2007

Customer review by maa1953

2.0 stars 10/30/2007 by maa1953
by maa1953

I bought this 9 months ago. I replaced the filter (could not find Dirt Devil brand, had to use Arm and Hammer brand from Walmart) and the belt. The replacement belt never fit right and I went through 3 in no time. I was told that the problem was the bearings in the brush were gone and it would cost more than I originally paid to get it fixed. This problem was not covered by the warrantee. It was also very messy to empty the filter. Their customer service number leaves a lot to be desired. You NEVER talk to anyone. They wanted to me take it to a place 40 miles away to get it fixed. Simply because it is so hard to buy dirt devil parts, I will never buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maa1953
Southern Cal
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews