Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 69 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

1.5 stars

69 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

1.5 stars

69 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

16%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 stars
50
1-20 of 69 total reviews
16%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews
a really bad investment
7/24/2007

Customer review by sillykidsmom

1.0 stars 7/24/2007 by sillykidsmom
by sillykidsmom

I bought this vacuum in November. On the 96 day of having this, the belt burnt off. I took the vacuum apart to get the broken belt off only to realize the entire roller brush was chewed up. I couldn't return the vacuum because it had been over the 90 day return policy. I called Dirt Devil to see if the roller brush was covered under the warranty. It isn't. I located a sweeper repair shop who couldn't even get the Dirt Devil brand replacement brush for this model, they had to order some foreign brand. It cost me $23.00 plus the price of a new belt. Now I end up having to tear the vacuum apart after every couple of vacuums to put the belt back on because it slips off. I am now looking for another vacuum that is worth my money because this one is not.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sillykidsmom
Flat Rock, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I WANT MY MONEY BACK
3/11/2008

Customer review by teejaybird

1.0 stars 3/11/2008 by teejaybird
by teejaybird

THIS PRODUCT IS NOT WHAT I EXPECTED FROM DIRT DEVIL. I HAD THE UPRIGHT FOR ABOUT 7 MONTHS. IT CLOGS VERY EASILY AND ITS A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY. NOW I HAVE TO GO OUT AND BUY A NEW ONE.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
teejaybird
CLEVLAND,OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
do not buy
8/23/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 8/23/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

do not buy. belt breaks too often. clogs easily too

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
DO NOT BUY THIS VACUUM
9/20/2007

Customer review by JustMeandMe

1.0 stars 9/20/2007 by JustMeandMe
by JustMeandMe

This is the WORST vacuum I have ever owned. Constantly have to clean out the filter, VERY MESSY. Not satisfied at all.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustMeandMe
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Problems with this machine
12/26/2008

Customer review by studentshopper01

1.0 stars 12/26/2008 by studentshopper01
by studentshopper01

I just purchased this product 2 weeks ago. I put it together yesterday and was excited at the suction power I got, however when I removed the filter for cleaning I found it very hard to get it back on track into the machine. Then on the 3rd use the belt broke, HELLO! Another probem I experienced was when I took the machine apart to look at the belt, the number stated 4. The guide book tells me to purchase a Belt Style 5. So, I ask anyone who has used this machine--What belt size is correct, because apparently the company doesn't know. If I am having problems this early, just how long will this machine last, and I see that Walmart is discontinuing it, so where will one be able to purchase parts for it? I looked at filter prices, and they are too high for a cheap machine.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
studentshopper01
Pascagoula, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
don't buy
12/8/2007

Customer review by roxieinvirginia

1.0 stars 12/8/2007 by roxieinvirginia
by roxieinvirginia

i have had this vaccume for about 2 years if you don't mind vacuming and then getting on your hands and knee's to pick up paper and hairballs(2 long haired cats)then buy it other wise don't! uncarpeted floors result in nothing being picked up it just blows around everywhere. says you need to replace the filter once a year but you vaccume and half way thru stop and clean the filter.Ive replaced the filter 4 * As a test i removed the bag from my old mighty mite, that i purchased many years ago just for cleaning my car, and put in a new one. after i was done vaccuming i removed and cut it open you wouldn't believe the dust, hair. ect that the mighty might picked up. guess you can figure i won't be using the vision any more since ive lost the exstention poles and tools for the mighty might guess i'll still be on my hands and knee's... but at least my floors will be clean

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
roxieinvirginia
va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Clogs Up
12/13/2007

Customer review by Nomad413

1.0 stars 12/13/2007 by Nomad413
by Nomad413

This vacuum has several problems. First of all, it cleans very well, but the filter becomes clogged with every single used. I had my carpets professionally cleaned, and even after that the filter still becomes clogged with just the lightest amount of dirt. I have a 2400 square foot house and carpet is only in the 3 bedrooms, a hallway and bonus room. Only myself and my boyfriend live in the house, so it is not like the floors are very dirty. We have light carpet and do not wear shoes on it. I have to clean the filter and allow it to dry after just doing half the floor. I bought 2 replacement filters so I could vacuum the upstairs without stopping. The filters are $20 each if you can even find them. I love the way the vacuum cleans, I just hate changing the filter without being able to finish, and I think the filters cost too much and I hate spending 10 minutes cleaning them twice a week.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nomad413
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Don't buy if you live in the country!
3/15/2008

Customer review by jarnold

1.0 stars 3/15/2008 by jarnold
by jarnold

If you live in a rural area like I do, I would not recommend this product because of how quickly the filter gets full of dust and pet hair. It clogs up very easily. In order to keep a decent filter in it, I would have to buy a new $20 filter every week. I've used the "power brush" maybe 4 times, and today it quit working. I've only had this vacuum for about a year, but I plan to go buy a new one tomorrow because I have just had it with this one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jarnold
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
WOW!
4/14/2008

Customer review by Racham

5.0 stars 4/14/2008 by Racham
by Racham

I guess I am the oddball out here because I would HIGHLY recommend this sweeper/vacuum to everyone! It is amazing...and the suction capabilities on it is incredible! It will quickly suck up so much fuzz and hair and dust from your floors/carpets.......and will continue to do so. I LOVE the Hepa filter and BAGLESS feature. You DO have to dump it out every so often but that is a small price to pay in return for excellent suctioning power! I also love the light and scuff guard and super wide path out front......foot pedal off/on switch......and super long cord! I cannot say enough about this Dirt Devil en Vision sweeper/vacuum.....and I was not one in the past to like Dirt Devils! I am so THANKFUL to have come across this today at Wal*Mart and give it a try. The price is super cheap too!!! NICE quality.....yet light enough to pick up easily. HEAVY duty attachments too!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Racham
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I've bought two!
10/24/2007

Customer review by Eilandgirl

5.0 stars 10/24/2007 by Eilandgirl
by Eilandgirl

This vacuum cleaner is amazing...I purchased one for my daughter when she graduated from college and moved into her apartment, and then when my son needed one I went and bought him one. It works like a dream, is lightweight and even cleans up cat hair! The price you can't beat and when it works this good why not buy two!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eilandgirl
Springfield, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
P-O-W-E-R-F-U-L!!!!
2/22/2008

Customer review by nickoluvswalmart

5.0 stars 2/22/2008 by nickoluvswalmart
by nickoluvswalmart

If you don't believe what I'm telling you, try it. The suction on this vaccuum is incredible. You actually feel the vacuum pulling away from you as you're vacuuming. That's how powerful its suction is. It also has adjustable levels which caters to the type of carpet that you have. It's worth trying.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nickoluvswalmart
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great product
11/17/2007

Customer review by tervslady

5.0 stars 11/17/2007 by tervslady
by tervslady

i am very pleased with this vaccum i have serveral pets and grandchildren running in and out all the time ,it picked up all pet hair and crumbs excellent easy to use , this is the third dirt devil i have owned they have outlasted their factory warrenty. keep up the good job..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tervslady
patoka,il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Bad
2/7/2008

Customer review by MsStar

4.0 stars 2/7/2008 by MsStar
by MsStar

We bought this vacuum nearly a month ago as an interim vacuum after our Kirby became less than useless. We just didn't have the money for a really good vacuum so we figured this would be OK for a few weeks. So far it's actually exceeded our expectations. The suction is great; way better than I expected. I love the long attachment; the suction on that is better than any attachment I've ever used. The other attachments I haven't used yet. The filter does get dirty very quickly and has to be cleaned a lot and the hose does pop out every once in a while. It just takes a second to pop back in; no big deal. So far I think this is a great buy for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsStar
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Better than expected
10/20/2007

Customer review by BoiseBased

4.0 stars 10/20/2007 by BoiseBased
by BoiseBased

I was forced to replace a Hoover upright which was being held together with duct tape and I was dreading spending the money to do it. When I saw this vacuum on an aisle endcap priced at $57 dollars and some change, I decided to take the risk. The vacuum requires some assembly (three phillips head screws) to secure the upper portion to the base, but the system is light weight and the task is easily accomplished. First impressions... 1. It IS noisy, and I say that living next to an airport! 2. It IS aggressive, although not self propelled, if the beater bar is too low it will want to walk away from you. I suspect this may result in rapid wear of the drive belt for the main beater bar. 3. It did an excellent job picking up dirt, dog and cat hair and leaves (I don't know if my vacuum is the oddball or the other reviewers, but it works well). 4. The suction powered hand tool worked well on mine, much better than on other vacuums I have used/owned, with similar tools. In fact the small beater bar spun like mad. 5. The filter is a three stage unit, a pleated hepa filter, covered by a dense foam filter and an outer casing with a fiber screen mesh to catch larger debris. It did need to be cleaned after the first use, I figured it was due to the fact my old vacuum was so broken down and the aggressive nature of this vacuum. While messy, it was an easy process and I like that the two outer stages protect the inner hepa filter, and that both the outer two stages can be rinsed out. 6. The worst I can say is that I am disappointed in the way the hose attachments do not fit together tightly and will occasionally come apart while being used. Overall a nice vacuum for the price and for a small home or apartment I would think it would be hard to beat. It was a third of the price of my old vacuum and that was a nice surprise. So far as durability goes...I'll just have to wait and see.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BoiseBased
Boise, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Minor issues for a $55 Vacuum
2/24/2008

Customer review by spoid

4.0 stars 2/24/2008 by spoid
by spoid

The Good: GREAT Suction. My dog (a Brittany) sheds constantly. This vacuum's powerful suction along with the roller brush does a super job at getting the hair off the carpet (low to medium pile). It comes with a long cord, and all the attachments normally found on an upright. Yes' the dirt cup fills quickly; could be a result of the high suction capability which is what I wanted the vacuum to do in the first place. The Not so bad: Yes, occasionally (rarely) the hose will disconnect from the base. Reconnecting requires bending over. Yes, the filter has to be cleaned regularly. Requires running the outer filter cover under water. Bare floor performance is not good. It does not do a good job on my hardwood floor. But frankly, any upright like this is too heavy and can easily scratch a hardwood floor any way. The BAD: f16 replacement filters are over priced.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spoid
Conway, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Big Suction. Small Bucket
8/6/2007

Customer review by Benners

4.0 stars 8/6/2007 by Benners
by Benners

This vacuum really picks up on carpets with a ton of suction. The only problem is that it works so well at picking up dirt and hair is that the bucket fills up like 2 times per carpeted room. Once I accidentally didnt empty it in time and it filled up so much that it shut itself off. No worries though, after a bucket dump it started right back up. It doesnt work well on hardwood and tile either. It blows more around then it picks up. If youve got all carpets, man this thing really cleans!! Just be prepared to take some trips to garbage can to empty the bucket a few times.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Benners
Rogers, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
almost perfectly kid proof
8/25/2007

Customer review by roadbeast

4.0 stars 8/25/2007 by roadbeast
by roadbeast

My wife and I have had this vaccuum since xmas of 06, and have had very little problem with it. Suction is off the charts, so good it sucks up wet carpet. Only problem with that is that the main suction tube gets clogged easily when this happens. Our 3 children have stood on it numerous times, fallen on it, and it keeps on working like a champ. We have 2 dogs so it gets used quite often, and the belt just broke after 8 mos of use. Awesome cleaner for the price!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
roadbeast
Bellevue, Ne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
9/6/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 9/6/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this vacuum after my Bissell almost started a fire in my house (burning up belts). I have had it for about 7 months now and it works great. I have no kids and no dog and no problems picking up regular day to day dust and dirt. I vacuum about once a week depending on traffic and have used the brush attachment successfully when my nephew decided to feed my couch candy. Over all it's a great product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Houston,Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
it does the job
2/8/2008

Customer review by sweetcake516

3.0 stars 2/8/2008 by sweetcake516
by sweetcake516

This isn't the best vacuum I have owned. It does have power. I can vacuum up chex and other stuff and it picks it up. I vacuum two or three times a day. The little powerhead is a bit of a frustration it falls apart and it takes a bit of working with it to get it going. Though it does work pretty well. The hose does fall out when vacuuming you just need to give it a little push in and it stays..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sweetcake516
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/25/2008

Customer review by noel24

3.0 stars 2/25/2008 by noel24
by noel24

It is all right, if you vacuum on occasions. This model needs cleaned very often, and clogs up easily. I have wooden floors, so it suffices my needs to vacuum few rugs, but I would not buy this one if I lived in a house with carpet

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
noel24
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews