Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1394 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

1394 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

1394 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
770
4 stars
462
3 stars
76
2 stars
31
1 stars
55
1-20 of 1238 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1238 total reviews
1-20 of 1238 reviews
Does the job
10/7/2010

Customer review by CarolinaRock

4.0 stars 10/7/2010 by CarolinaRock
by CarolinaRock

My son is in his second year with Upward basketball. This is a good beginner set - solid and not too hard to put together. I was able to get it together in about 1 and a half hours, with only one 10-minute "assist" from my wife. Adding sand took an additional hour, but I did it in two half-hour shifts over two days (make sure you have a funnel and small scoop/cup to scoop the sand). It takes about 6 bags of 50-lb sand. I'm not sure if he'll continue to play, but it is currently doing the trick - he's a better shot. PROs: Price, adjustable height from 7.5 feet up to regulation 10 feet. CONs: Read the directions CAREFULY before each step. Orientation of pole/parts is IMPORTANT! I didn't have a problem with this. I usually organize the parts before and read each step before I do it, but if you're the blazing your own trail type, you might run into problems.

Was this review helpful? (283) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CarolinaRock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Hoop for the Price
3/22/2010

Customer review by one2step

5.0 stars 3/22/2010 by one2step
by one2step

It took a little time to put it together, but this hoop is great and I would totally recommend it for the price. NO need to spend $150 to $200 on a starter hoop for kids. This will last them a great while, and it's been fun for the whole family.

Was this review helpful? (481) (85)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
one2step
Buckley, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for the Money
3/25/2009

Customer review by ThunderFan

5.0 stars 3/25/2009 by ThunderFan
by ThunderFan

This is a great hoop for the money. It wasn't as hard to put together as some people have said. Two women put it together in an afternoon.

Was this review helpful? (158) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThunderFan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great value
5/11/2009

Customer review by newred

5.0 stars 5/11/2009 by newred
by newred

For the price, this hoop can't be beat. I keep it in the garage and wheel it out when we want to play. Everyone loves it. Incredible value for price paid.

Was this review helpful? (174) (71)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
newred
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A necessity for kids
11/26/2010

Customer review by SpiritSunset

5.0 stars 11/26/2010 by SpiritSunset
by SpiritSunset

I have three kids that love to play basketball and when the last one broke I knew I would have to find a replacement fast. I went on line and quickly found the one I wanted- the Lifetime 1221 44" Pro Court Basketball Hoop. It has already sustained much use and is still intact. I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a sturdy, reliable Basketball Hoop. I have to move it frequently and it is easy to manuver.

Was this review helpful? (61) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SpiritSunset
High Point, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just as ordered, simple set up.
7/28/2012

Customer review by jwildog

5.0 stars 7/28/2012 by jwildog
by jwildog

I bought this online because even with shipping to my home the cost was less than buying what was in stock at the local stores. I set it up the same day it arrived with the help or my son and his best friend. Set up took about an hour and the instructions were written in such a way that an eight and nine year old both read them to me and I did as they directed. I would buy this again.

Was this review helpful? (39) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jwildog
Coral Springs, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great hoops!
9/5/2010

Customer review by zach1987

5.0 stars 9/5/2010 by zach1987
by zach1987

its prettty good product!easy to assemble but difinitely needs to people to do it. as soon we got it done, weve been playin. great value!

Was this review helpful? (92) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zach1987
Saint Albans, Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value for the money!
3/14/2011

Customer review by Reedmusic

5.0 stars 3/14/2011 by Reedmusic
by Reedmusic

My 12-year old son and I put this together in about an hour and a half. It isn't rocket science, but be sure you have the tools needed. We've had this for over a month now, and my son loves it.

Was this review helpful? (62) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Reedmusic
Marietta. GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great deal
6/9/2009

Customer review by ToolsRequired

4.0 stars 6/9/2009 by ToolsRequired
by ToolsRequired

This basketball hoop was the gift of the year for my son. He is excited about it every day, and I think it is the perfect anti-dote to his video games. Hight adjustment does not require tools, but you will need tools during assembly. All the component parts are quite light. No heavy lifting involved. Extra helping hands are recommended at the end, but I was able to do everything alone. The trick was to use a trash can as a prop, and to rotate the whole thing from side to side, as needed. The instructions are minimalistic, but the drawings have all the necessary details. I had to be very careful, in order to be sure that everything went into the right place and order. Once fully assembled and filled with water, the hoop can be moved without great effort. It is not sturdy, compared to wall-mounted hoops, and the pole is a little too close for comfort, but we have a lot of fun with it. For the money, it is a very good deal.

Was this review helpful? (46) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ToolsRequired
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
i love this thing
10/3/2007

Customer review by ilovethisthing

5.0 stars 10/3/2007 by ilovethisthing
by ilovethisthing

This product is excellent for average basketball players.My wife bought it for my 11 year old and,my 10 year old sons.And boy what a time they have with it.They play from 4pm to whatever time at night.One day they played from 2pm to 11pm for a second I thought they were turning into Michael Jordan.I don't say any thing to them because if they go to the NBA I can retire.HA! HA!

Was this review helpful? (219) (116)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ilovethisthing
EDWARDS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Quality & Price - Highly Recommended!!!!
11/4/2013

Customer review by lizandjoel

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by lizandjoel
by lizandjoel

We recently purchased this portable basketball hoop for my son's 9th birthday, which he was ecstatic about. My husband assembled it rather quickly and we were both amazed by the size. This is a full size hoop made of high quality materials. Adjusting the height is simple and even I can move the hoop from our garage to our driveway and back without any difficulties - and I'm only 5'4"!! Overall, we are very pleased with this purchase. When shopping around I realized that some of these hoops sell for over $1,000. At just over $100, plus free shipping, this one was the perfect choice. I would highly recommend this portable basketball hoop to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (38) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lizandjoel
Naples, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Portable Hoop
8/30/2013

Customer review by Coks

4.0 stars 8/30/2013 by Coks
by Coks

I bought this for my 14 y.o son, it has been a month and he is getting a lot of play time out of it, he plays everyday after school. We put it together (my son & I) in a little bit under 2 hours, it wasn't that complicated, assembly instructions were helpful, although a bit confusing at some points, but for the most part fairly easy to follow. It is very sturdy and esay to move form point A to point B once it's assembled, my son can actually move it by himself once he got the hang of it. It breaks down easy enough to put it away in our garage. It was a really good deal at the regular price but to top it all when I went to order it it was on sale for an even better price, it shipped for free and it arrived the evry next day which was a surprise because we did not expect it for a whole week. All in all we are very happy with this purchase, the price, the quality and the service that we got, I recommend this hoop to anyone looking for a hoop that it is good enough for theirr kids to play and enjoy at a very good price.

Was this review helpful? (39) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Coks
Bealeton, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does its job for a 7 year old...
6/30/2009

Customer review by StuckInNYForever

3.0 stars 6/30/2009 by StuckInNYForever
by StuckInNYForever

Easy to set up. I did it alone. Some people (and instructions) say you need 2 people, but it can be done alone if backboard is facing down with rim lined up underneath (you'll know when you get it). It is what I expected, except that the backboard is one big dead spot. No bounce. As long as you hit the backboard, the ball will drop almost straight down. Bad for adults, great for kids! My 7 year old gets so many baskets, so he is happy. And, it's easier on me because I don't have to chase after rebounds! The unit is somewhat easy to move around. It is heavy, but I pull it forward with all my weight so I can reposition it with the wheels that are in the front. Overall, I am very happy with the purchase as it is perfect for my needs (this will not be perfect for someone who is somewhat competitive though).

Was this review helpful? (41) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StuckInNYForever
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Shoot and Score
6/9/2009

Customer review by AnnaAnna

5.0 stars 6/9/2009 by AnnaAnna
by AnnaAnna

Purchased this item online with ship to store and came faster than promised. Assembly took 2 people about 2 hours. Instructions are not great but we got there. Here's a hint: When you are ready to attach the backboard, only finger tighten the screws that attach it to the pole. When you have to attach the arms to the backboard you may need a bit of wiggle room. That was the hardest part for sure. We filled our base with water as we had no sand at the time. Seems fairly stable with water. Will have to do something different when winter comes. Seems a good value for the money. Purchased this for a 10 year old and at the lowest height works well for play.

Was this review helpful? (110) (59)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnnaAnna
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great value for family fun
1/3/2010

Customer review by boysmom14

5.0 stars 1/3/2010 by boysmom14
by boysmom14

Bought it for my 6 year old and we have already gotten our monies worth. We all have so much fun as a family playing. We had to raise it higher within a week.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boysmom14
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Greak Basketball Goal!
5/1/2010

Customer review by Joker3627361264

5.0 stars 5/1/2010 by Joker3627361264
by Joker3627361264

I ordered this goal, and it came within 1-2 weeks. Well before the estimated time. I used the site to store shipment so i didnt have to pay for the ship. I read the other reviews saying that "2 adults are need mostly" but me and my 15 year old brother got it done in about 1 dollar. Me being 14. Great hoop. The assembly was challenging, due to the horrible art work in the manual. But its okay, we figured it out. The hoop overall is great. I use it everyday, looking foward to playing on it. right now we have it on 7 ft so we can have jam fest. you can dunk on this hoop, if your not looking to hang of rim, and make sure your not running a 15 meter dash before dunking. Great value

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Joker3627361264
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Need dry sand
3/11/2012

Customer review by Keepnerreal

3.0 stars 3/11/2012 by Keepnerreal
by Keepnerreal

I thought that the instructions were pretty good. You do need to pay very close attention to the drawings and pay attention to the placement of the direction of the bolts, etc. I chose to add sand, because I felt water could cause issues with freezing and busting the base. I had to buy the sand extra. 7 bags of 50 lbs of sand each costed me about $20 plus a wide funnel that was only about a buck. The problem is the hole is about 1.5" wide, and you have to add the 300+ lbs of sand through that silly little hole. Also, the sand I brought was wet in the bags, so it didn't slide down into the base AT ALL. I had to push it in with rod and tap the funnel against the base to knock the sand down the funnel. VERY SLOW GOING & HARD ON YOUR BACK! The sand would have gone in faster if it is DRY, but I did not have room to spread it out to dry. Also, it is in early March in Illinois and cold and wet. The unit is now together and workable, but basketball goal is tilted back when attached to the plastic backboard. Tighten your bolts snug but do not overtighten against the plastic backboard, which may've been what I did. Strong winds pulled the bolt heads almost through at the middle of the backboard. Since then, I've reinforced with wide washers and different nuts and reversed the bolts to go front to back. Overall ok for the price but they HAVE GOT TO come up with a bigger opening to add the optional sand and seal it up with a good cap. Hope this info helps folks.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Keepnerreal
Central IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Too Easy...
1/31/2011

Customer review by flex4you2

5.0 stars 1/31/2011 by flex4you2
by flex4you2

I read all of the reviews both on Walmart and Amazon before making this purchase. I had no problems putting this together by myself (even filling the base with 7 bags of sand at 50 lbs a piece. You can assemble the backboard to the pole prior to lifting it up which makes things very easy. I used a wooden carton, automotive funnel, and a bungee cord (to hold the funnel in place) to fill the base with sand. Everything popped right into place. Too easy... It looks great and works really well with my family.

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
flex4you2
Lynchburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/11/2012

Customer review by boston8147

5.0 stars 8/11/2012 by boston8147
by boston8147

This hoop was extremely easy to put together. I was discouraged by the many reviews citing missing parts, complicated instructions, difficult assembly, etc. I ALMOST did not purchase that item as I am a single mom with no one to call on if I ran into trouble. I am thrilled with the hoop that was purchased for my four and six year olds!!! 1)There were no parts missing! I actually had three washers left over (No I didn't forget to install them someplace! I double checked everything.) The net is included (seriously! I can't imagine anyone actually selling a a hoop without a net!) 2) As for the instructions not being in English ... They are not in any language! The instructions are displayed using pictures! (Really people just calm down and look again!) 3) As for the assembly I ran into two problems. The first was my mistake. (Yep, I was takin' my time and then the kids came along and wanted to play 20 questions!) It really would have been easier with someone to steady the hoop while I tightened things up (only needed for attaching the hoop). It could be difficult too as it is heavy and awkward at this stage. ( I managed by laying it over my kid's wagon.) It probably took me two hours to complete (I really took my time to ensure no mistakes). It would definitely be helpful to have a rachet wrench. (Only wish I'd thought of it sooner!) Definitely worth the investment (especially for small kiddos!)! FYI It holds either 25 gallons of water or 319 lbs of sand. I was pricing play sand until an employee at Home Depot (THANKS, Mike) suggested I use sand from the building materials department. Saved a few $ with his suggestion! Be prepared. Stay calm. HAVE FUN!!! (PS my 6 year old swished his first shot! Maybe he has a future in this sport. lol)

Was this review helpful? (24) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boston8147
Andover, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not what I was expecting
12/28/2009

Customer review by HelpfulDad1977

3.0 stars 12/28/2009 by HelpfulDad1977
by HelpfulDad1977

The goal was really easy to asseble, until I got to the rim.. The design of the bots to hold the rim in place were really hard to tighten, and once I got it all tighten up the rim was facing the sky more that being level.. I was also a bit dissapointed with the quality of the backboard. but, for the money it was an overall decent purchase.. I just wish now I would have spent the little bit extra for the next quality up and I'm sure I would have gotten a better quality system!! But, I guess you get what you pay for... It's a great starter kit for younger kids but if they are anyolder than 8 yrs old I would reccommend to spend the extra money and get something a little nicer that will hold up better!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HelpfulDad1977
Euless, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 1238 total reviews
1-20 of 1238 reviews