Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 148 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

148 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

148 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
75
4 stars
47
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 stars
5
1-20 of 140 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 140 total reviews
1-20 of 140 reviews
Be informed buyer -- I am and happy with purchase
8/27/2009

Customer review by Eruvae

4.0 stars 8/27/2009 by Eruvae
by Eruvae

I received the Steamfast at my home 2 days after entering my order online, arrived in excellent packing and excellent condition. Having read reviews for many steamers on many websites for about 2 months, I did my homework and knew what to expect. This is NOT a steam vacuum. It seems lots who buy it miss that fact. It produces aimable steam and you will need to have lots of cloth/rags to wipe up the water (and dirt). I ordered a 36 pack of microfiber cloths from Amazon to use, wash, reuse. Working out well. The machine is as advertised. Make sure you buy distilled water. 48 oz of water provided me steam for about 2 hours of "stop and go" cleaning. I believe non-stop steam would last about 50 minutes, as advertised. Attachments serve the purpose, but are plastic and melt easily as others have mentioned. I used other brushes I had around and just used the angled head to apply steam and my own brushes to scrub lightly. Watch out when you are using this on painted or plastic like surfaces. I was using the supplied brush to scrub hard crud off fiberglass tubsurround and it got soft and scratchs melt in. Do use caution, and lay off the elbow grease until you see how surfaces react to this much heat. Also be careful using it on painted metal doors, it doesn't take much heat to bubble it up. Wish electric cord was more manageable (place to wrap it even would be nice) - but otherwise it is exactly what I thought I'd be receiving. Thanks to those that took the time to post thoughtful reviews here as they were very helpful in helping me make up my mind between this and another model. Other uses: santize bathroom surfaces, toilets, doorknobs, to help prevent spread of diseases this flu season.

Was this review helpful? (119) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eruvae
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent
8/31/2008

Customer review by aclarke682

5.0 stars 8/31/2008 by aclarke682
by aclarke682

I was extremely skeptical when I first bought this but I am so very glad I did. It's an incredibly green way to clean as it uses no harsh chemicals-only water and electricity. I've used it everywhere from the bedroom to the bathroom and I am thoroughly pleased with the results. This is not a device for those who are impatient. It does take at least ten minutes to heat up, but once you get it going you have near constant steam to clean with. I say near constant because each attachment uses a different amount of steam based on either the number of outlets (like the squeegee) or size (like the floor attachment). In the shower I was especially impressed. I have very hard water in my area and it shows in the shower especially on the shower doors. It took some time and patience but my glass doors are shining and scum free now. The mildew that built up in the cracks of my shower are also non-existent with patience and the tub still looks like new after a week of use. It got stubborn stains off my hard wood floors in the kitchen that other cleaners required me to do a lot more work than the steamfast. My glass desk tops are sparkling clean as well. The only gripes I have about this unit are: 1. There is no place to keep the various accessories that come with it on the unit, I just keep them all neatly in the fill cup or around the unit when storing. 2. You get a half hour to 25 minutes of constant steam power, but once you run dry you have to wait for the unit to cool down COMPLETELY to refill it. The opening for the water reservoir expands and stays tightly shut (as a safety precaution I'm sure) which makes large jobs inconvenient. I also would not recommend doing large areas of hardwood floors with this. The floor attachment is not very wide which makes large floor cleaning projects tedious and time consuming. I use the floor attachment on various other things and around the toilet but that's it. When cleaning my hardwood floors I use a Hoover Floor mate.

Was this review helpful? (55) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aclarke682
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very helpful Product
4/29/2008

Customer review by RuffnTuff

4.0 stars 4/29/2008 by RuffnTuff
by RuffnTuff

The SteamFast SteamMax has helped me everyday complete my daily house cleaning chores, right down to extra Spring Cleaning chores done easier and faster. My house is sanitized and cleaned without harmful cleaning products. My floors are spotless, (even though I have eight little paws running around the floors evey minute). I was in a bind, I needed to paint my rooms and I needed a new sofa so, I had bought slipcovers for my furniture ( could not afford a new sofa) and with the cost of everything up so high I tried to steam clean my ceilings and walls instead of painting and yes it looked like I had painted. And smells so clean and fresh all the time now, even with pets. I'm more than pleased with this product and have spread the word around how great it works and even my windows sparkle inside and out. Mirrors I could never seem to get rid of streaks, now sparkle. I joke if you come to my house and stand still for 5 minutes you will get steam cleaned. So in the end of it all, I've saved money on paint, cleaning products, and my home is cleaned santized and much healthier for me and my pets.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RuffnTuff
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Saddly Disappointed!
8/27/2008

Customer review by LMFamily

1.0 stars 8/27/2008 by LMFamily
by LMFamily

I bought this with the main intent of cleaning the grout on my bathroom floors and the shower stall. I only noticed a slight difference, if any at all. That was probably b/c I scrubbed with the attachment tool! One reviewer was right to say that it didn't do anything that a little elbow grease couldn't handle! I also used it to clean the toaster oven rack...no success. It actually took less time to grab the old-reliable steel-wool pad and scrub (with great results) than it did to lug this machine and get a steam spray everywhere (not to mention a facial!) and it didn't get any grime off! It produces steam, yes, but I don't think it was strong enough to battle the grimy shower door moldings, even with holding the steamer over areas for a longer time. I was sadly disappointed b/c I was really looking forward to using it on other things. It didn't perform well on the simple tasks, so I won't even bother with the difficult ones. Don't waste your money! Steel-wool pads for some things and magic-white-sponges for other things work far better than this machine (and take up less space!). Great concept, but certainly not enough power! I'll be returning this product.

Was this review helpful? (21) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LMFamily
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Didn't work for me
2/21/2009

Customer review by kmartine

1.0 stars 2/21/2009 by kmartine
by kmartine

I purchased this product to clean my bathroom specifically my shower. I spent about an hour and a half trying the different attachments to find the best way to clean my tub and tile, but nothing worked for me. I was tired from scrubbing so hard and it was difficult to attempt to clean the sides and corners of the tub because of the angle of the attachments. I saw no results. The scrubbing tools do not hold up and the brushes become flat with very little pressure. I felt like I was doing something wrong because the commercials and advertisements specifically use tubs and bathrooms in the examples, but I reread the instructions several times and nothing ever happened. I would not recommend this product, and I am very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kmartine
Would recommend to a friend? No
poor quality product
8/23/2007

Customer review by wicket

2.0 stars 8/23/2007 by wicket
by wicket

the first time we used this product, the steam jet attachment melted and broke--we contacted the company several times by phone and email--no response was given and a week and a half later the piece came in the mail, with no explaination or gee I'm sorry--we have not had the courage to try it again as yet

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wicket
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not hot enough
8/26/2011

Customer review by Santiamtwh

3.0 stars 8/26/2011 by Santiamtwh
by Santiamtwh

I wanted so bad to love this steamer! Prior to this purchase I borrowed a friends smaller, hand held steamer boutght through a TV ad and loved it. It melted off dirt and scum. So I researched steamers and felt this Steamfast would give me more options. Well it did. Lots of attachments and held more water. I liked what it had to offer, but it didn't get hot enough to do much good. There was a lot of steam, but it didn't seem to matter. Walmart was good about taking it back. Now I'm on the search for a 'hot steamer'.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Santiamtwh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Excellent!
3/9/2010

Customer review by eip2010

5.0 stars 3/9/2010 by eip2010
by eip2010

I have been using an earlier model of SteamFast for the last 10 years or so and it is still working. I wanted to get a new one with more control over the steam, longer working time, etc. and after doing a lot of research decided to splurge on an Italian-made model. The product was such a disappointment in terms of power and functionality that I returned it right away and decided to try the new Steam Fast model. I am so glad I did! The Italian-make I tried is no match to this little machine. It is so powerful and the steam temperature at the hose is so high -dirt just melts away. The floor attachment is a miracle tool - just add an old towel and steam away - tiles dry up in seconds. The design is perfect, the attachments plentiful. This is an excellent, powerful machine that can serve all your cleaning needs at home - from the kitchen, to the BBQ, to flooring. Works as a garment steamer as well and cleans stains off upholstery. Wonderful tool and an exceptional value. Very compact and easy to handle. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eip2010
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Disappointed
7/18/2010

Customer review by ChandaandCory

2.0 stars 7/18/2010 by ChandaandCory
by ChandaandCory

I read so many reviews on this steam cleaner across the internet. Sadly, the steam cleaner did not live up to the other review expectations. For example, dried up Nair on my bathtub wouldn't come up with cleaner. However, the grout on my kitchen tile seemed much brighter. Still not clean, but better looking than before. I expected it to cut through the dirt on my wood floors, which it did not. I could see dirt on the microfiber cloth, but it was still very apparent on the floor. Overall, this steam cleaner was a huge let down. Also the steam doesn't seem to stay hot. Most of the time while cleaning I could put my hand in front of the mist and it would barely feel warm. This is definitely being returned.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChandaandCory
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
8/2/2007

Customer review by aliceinwonderland

5.0 stars 8/2/2007 by aliceinwonderland
by aliceinwonderland

does an excellent job with every day cleaning without harsh chemicals.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aliceinwonderland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Best $100 I've spent in a long time!
2/7/2009

Customer review by Penelopeem

5.0 stars 2/7/2009 by Penelopeem
by Penelopeem

I am absolutely THRILLED with the results I have gotten with the use of this steamer!. I admittedly had worries as I ordered it, simply because there were so many others that were more expensive. I was concerned I may not get a quality product. It has been phenominal in the home use I purchased it for. I have used it to unwrinkle drapes and a bed skirt, "mop" my hardwood and tile floors, clean grout, mirrors, the kitchen couner and stove top, the tub, and remove a mystery spot on my living room carpet. I sort of went on a frenzy and steamed anything I came across! With each room, I was more sold on this product! Ease of use was a concern for me. If a product is a headache to drag out and put away, who needs it! This thing is as easy to use as a canister style vacuume. "Roberta" (yes she has a name) now lives under the bathroom cabinet, and had become my best cleaning day bud! I only wish I had gotten one sooner! Concerns...the hose is not as heavy of material as I would have thought. Time will tell how this holds up.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Penelopeem
Temple, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
clean deal
11/26/2007

Customer review by bbrock

4.0 stars 11/26/2007 by bbrock
by bbrock

I bought this steamer after considering spending up to $400. on a heavy duty one online. I have 2000 square feet of tile floor and the grout needed cleaning. It would have cost me about $400. to have it steam cleaned professionally. Instead, I spent 8-10 hours, over several days, doing it myself with this steamer and its little included brushes. I also steam cleaned the sooty fireplace brick. It did an easy job of cleaning the floors...better than a mop. I used it on woodfloors upstairs and on linoleum and it worked great. It works okay on windows. The only reason I didn't give it an excellent rating is that I can tell it doesn't get commercially hot enough so it takes a bit longer to do the job. Also, you have to be careful about dragging it around on the floor by its hose as the hose is not metal and eventually you will damage the hose. The wheels do roll well in every direction and you can easily push the base with your foot or use the handle. I plan to use it frequently during the winter to help humidify the house and knock out bacteria on door handles. I liked the fact that if I wasn't happy with it I could easily return it to Walmart instead of having to deal with some online company and ship it back through the post. This steamer is a good value, does the job, and comes with a good complement of attachments.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bbrock
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Use it on everything!
8/17/2010

Customer review by proudmo2

5.0 stars 8/17/2010 by proudmo2
by proudmo2

I love this steamer! Walmart had the best price too! I use it on everything, especially my light-colored grout. It works great and it's easy to use. One fill last long enough to do most jobs. No cleaners are needed, only water. It's ease to maneuver around and the attachments are durable. There are several brushes for grout cleaning, but you don't really have to apply any pressure when cleaning, so i'm still on my first one after many uses. Definitely worth every penny and more!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
proudmo2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great product
1/18/2012

Customer review by lvie

5.0 stars 1/18/2012 by lvie
by lvie

I think the product is great. The brushes wore down right away. I was cleaning grout. I called customer service and they replaced brushes asap. It is a great product and thank you for such great customer service.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lvie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Steamy
5/30/2010

Customer review by kingd1

5.0 stars 5/30/2010 by kingd1
by kingd1

Works well. Very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kingd1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ok, but not what I expected
1/1/2011

Customer review by tinsel57

3.0 stars 1/1/2011 by tinsel57
by tinsel57

I have a large home with stained concrete floors. I was hopinng for some cleaning help in that area. This is not the product for that task. It takes far too long to clean the floor in a single room with this steam cleaner. However, I do find it to be very helpful in smaller jobs such as cleaning the stainless six burner gas stove top; the kitchen cabinets, the back splash grout. While I am disappointed that it's not the floor help I hoped it would be, I do not regret the purchase as it serves other purposes.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tinsel57
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Where has this tool been all my life!
4/22/2010

Customer review by ShopByMailcom

5.0 stars 4/22/2010 by ShopByMailcom
by ShopByMailcom

This tool has paid for itself at least 3 times over; the first three 8 hour days that I used it to clean the grout through-out our house. Our grout was very dirty and is white and looks new again. A wonderful machine; I would recommend to anybody needing to clean their grout.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopByMailcom
Glendale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
love it!
6/16/2008

Customer review by carebear84

5.0 stars 6/16/2008 by carebear84
by carebear84

I love love love this! It cleans pretty much everything. It's ready to go in less than 10 min. and is really easy to use. I have a 3 year old son and I can clean and sanitize all his furniture without using any chemicals. My only problem with this is it doesn't come with enough scrub pads and I wish it came with some sort of towel or something to wipe up what I've just cleaned. I have recommended this to all of my friends and family and I would buy it again in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
carebear84
Richmond, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
SteamFast SteamMax Heavy-duty Steam cleaner
8/12/2010

Customer review by BuelahGrace

5.0 stars 8/12/2010 by BuelahGrace
by BuelahGrace

As a dog rescuer, at any given time, I have 8-12 dogs running around the kitchen/dining room of my home. Linoleum. Not all are house broken. Somehow, even mopping with bleach didn't give me a great deal of comfort. I've only had it for a couple of weeks, but I'm not sure how I got along without having a steam cleaner before. I love it! Does the floors, sanitizes their bowls, cleaned hummingbird feeders ... all kinds of things of which I have not yet thought.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BuelahGrace
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
chemical free cleaning
9/25/2010

Customer review by Sudie16

5.0 stars 9/25/2010 by Sudie16
by Sudie16

I have used my Steamfast twice in the 2 weeks I have had it. I cleaned my oven, microwave, around my cooktop and faucets. I cleaned my white ceramic tile floors in the kitchen/dining, utility, and both bathrooms. I cleaned a large mirror in the dining room and the glass storm door inside and outside as well as bathroom fixtures. The Steamfast does a good job without chemicals. I like the way it removes spots and makes chrome shine. I did use plenty of microfiber clothes for the shining. I am pleased with the results. The steam output is good. I had to refill it once because of the length of time to clean all those things. It is lightweight enough to carry around with a long heavy duty cord and the hose is flexible. I have found no problem with the product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sudie16
Lubbock, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 140 total reviews
1-20 of 140 reviews